paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit / Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit / Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit

Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
-Versatility Combined with Convenience
-Small and Easy to Transport
-Durable Chrome Moly Construction
-Lightweight Design / Superb Accuracy
-Available in Chrome or All Black
Product Availability 
The Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
f2f4 Tuesday, April 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Too many barrels to think of. Everything from the stock BlackMaxx barrel to the St!ffi.
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything nice, as there are different backs.
Strengths: - Impressive case
- Perfect honing
- Perfect finish
- Quiet
Weaknesses: - Absolutely nothing
Review: One of the first things you notice with this kit, when you open it, is the case. Rugged nylon, double-stitched, and thick foam padding encases the barrels in what is known to us humans as "luxury".

The barrels themselves are most impressive, from the perfect chip-resistant mirror shine on the outside, to the very impressive honing on the inside, all the way to the fact that as you look down the bore, you cant even see the seam where the front piece screws into the back. And speaking of backs, there are three included, and are more than enough to use any kind of paint you may wish. The extensive amount of porting reduces the shot signature to more of a drawn-out "hiss", as opposed to a loud "pak-pak-pak" sound. Then again, this could merely be the fact that I am shooting a Matrix... Either way, the quality, combined with the looks that stand out (don't trust the pic up above, it is a little outdated) make this kit one of the best buys I've seen.

Some of the first people to purchase these kits had problems with the quality control, but that has been fixed.
Conclusion: For under $100, this kit astounds me. The quality is up there with the Dye Ultralite (yeah, I'll probably catch some flack on that one...), and there are more than enough bores to choose from.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick (Heavier...but better all-around)
J&J Full Tilt 2pc (quality is simliar to Boomstick.)
Marker Setup: I use this kit on my ULE RT Mag.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever fits the backs. High grade paint is, as always, highly recommended,
Strengths: -Price
-Weight (or lack thereof)
-Sweet case
Weaknesses: -Not the greatest barrel out there...so what?!
-Only comes in 2 colors
Review: The first thing I noticed when I pulled it out of the box was the excellent case. It's heavy-duty nylon, with large stitched Empire logos on either side. It has a nice handle on top, as well.
The other first impression was-holy crap, it's light! I am used to barrels with stainless back like Boomies, and of course the aluminum Empires are lighter...but still, they are very light for an aluminum kit.
The 4 piece kit is the perfect compromise between a single-bore barrel and a gigantic kit like the Freak. You son't need an insert for EVERY DIAMETER (Freak...pssh.) The 4 pc kit is perfect because it can handle smallish, normal, and largish sizes with no rpoblems. The only disadvantage I can see is that it only comes with one tip (14".) While it is a good size, I always like to have a 10 and a 16 in there for hard-bunker speedball and airball, respectively.
You might compare this kit to the MacDev Matchstik kit; they are both around $100 USD. The Matchstik has an extra front in addition to the three backs, but it only comes with silver backs, not black like the Empire (and it's MacDev's polished silver and not actually chrome, so it's hard to match with stuff.)
The barrel shoots well with the appropriate paint. I noticed that it shot through breaks quite well, returning to the normal flight path after 4-5 clearing shots (of course, squeegeeing is always recommended.)
Of course, there are higher quality barrels out there; for this price you can get 2 backs and a front for a CP 2-pc, or a Freak and an insert or two. But, for those people like me who don't tend to shoot paint that ranges from .680 to .695 (who does?!) a basic kit like this is perfect.
Conclusion: A great kit at a great price; also check out the Matchstik kit if you want to keep your options open. The Empire kit is flawless.

Oh yeah...I noticed the new review category (year made in...) and while I can't quite understand why it's there...at least it looks nice.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 25th, 2004 at 6:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Prospekt Friday, September 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder stock barrel, All American, Ultralight.
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant
DYE Sticky
Palmers Male Stabilizer
Crossfire 47ci
Delrin ACS
12V Revy
32Degrees Magnaport
Mod VA
Mod Trigger
Empire 4 piece barrel kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs....this is a kit.
I do like hotbox and torq - not too expensive yet pretty good.
Whitebox sucks.
Strengths: Insanely lightweight
Easily interchangeable
Bore sizes are milled into backs
Sexxy
Cant damage bores
Weaknesses: Not as well known as the freak...it goes unappreciated.
Review: Well, when I bought this barrel kit, I was a barrel kit virgin. I did not want to go through the long process of ordering a barrel online as I did with all my other parts, so I checked the paintball shop. I asked around, the general consensus was that the Empire kit, although the same price as the Freak Jr kit, was better.

I bought it.$172.23 Canadian. SHIAT! That blew almost as much as I blew on the stabilizer. But anyways, I noticed right away how light the barrel was. I checked for imperfections but found none. I admired the slick case it came in. I found a good size for my paint and took it for a run.
Nothing bad to say here. With the solid reg and the accurate barrel my gat was now pwn quality. Unfortunately I was facing 2 angels and an army of puffing Ions, which made things difficult.

I did notice a significant improvement in my accuracy, so I am grateful for that. I like quality, so I'm happy about my purchase.

Conclusion: I think my stock spyder must have been quite good, because the barrel did not SIGNIFICANTLY increase my accuracy. It was hard to tell, though.

But, its a good buy, you can't dent the backs if you drop them, which is why freaks aren't so good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mar-T Monday, August 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X, Empire 4 pc. barrel kit, ESP C.A.M.D Sweet Spot Trigger, Elec. Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
XO Whitebox paintballs (.689), or anything...
Strengths: -Accurate
-Quiet
-Looks Sweet
-Case
Weaknesses: -Only comes in all Black or Black/Silver
Review: PROS:

*VERY Accurate, i was target shooting, distances varied from 20 - 150 feet, hit 45/50 targets

*Pretty Quiet, In the forest was about 50 feet behind an enemy, shot and ducked, and he had no clue where the shot came from, then i shot him in the neck

*Range, this thing can shoot straight as an arrow for 100 feet then begins to lob, it has range

*Looks Amazing, yes it does shoot as good as it looks

*The case is very nice, kinda big but that doesnt really matter, nice to show off haha =P

*I doesn't chop a balls, atleast i haven't yet

CONS:

*None really, just there could be more colours to match the barrel with your gun
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel for anyone, it is amazing and you wont be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 22nd, 2005 at 9:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilmafia3613 Saturday, February 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, teardrop, freak, all american, xcel, etc.
Marker Setup: Tippy 98 custom wit psycho ballistics double trigga, empire 4 piece barrel kit, custom paint job. Also Smart Parts Impulse with blade trigger, evo2, tapeworm, etc.
Recommended
Paintballs:
blue streak, really about nething with the diffrent backs.
Strengths: diff. backs, accurate, range, kinda quiet
Weaknesses: sux shooting through breaks
Review: This barrel is overall pretty good. For the money there are better barrels out there. This barrel does not shoot well through breaks though. If u break one then expect to break about 10-20 more and then following up that are 10-20 more and then following the 10-20 more. But it rarely breaks. This barrel has alot of strengths though. The accuracy is great!So is the range. The diffrent backs are great for diffrent paint. Also Its kinda quiet.
Conclusion: i would buy this product over most just because of the quietness, diff.backs and the accuracy. Warning: This barrel will not shoot through breaks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

mechaniczac Monday, September 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Well lets see I've used a freak barrel kit way better but more expensive, i have a jand j ceramic and a jt 2piece which is not a good and my baby boomy
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98 vertical bottle, double trigger, response trigger, 12v revy, nitro , and of course empire barrel kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Hard to say i just experimented a little and found that cheap walmart paint broke but anything better than a diablo will do i would recommend marbs but not every one can afford a case so i would recommend diablo or pmi premium but definitely not blue streak or speed swirl
Strengths: multi-barrels
quick change
common bore sizes
Weaknesses: breaks walmart paint
can forget which bores are each barrel
Review: This barrel kit is worth its money i bought mine for 100 bucks which is pretty good for a multi barrel kit my freak set alone cost 200 but i did get the all american barrel
its no boomy though but if you want get a ceramic it will do you some good i have never ever had a ball break in my ceramic
Conclusion: This is a great barrel kit for 100 but i would recommend buying a all american barrel 2 piece kit and buying a insert every now and then it will cost about the same at first but will be better in the long run
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 15th, 2003 at 7:18 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Raiders32 Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Products, Smart Parts Teardrop, Dye Xcel, Flatlines, ect...
Marker Setup: WGP Prostock '05
Empire Barrel Kit
Pure Energy 3000 psi 48ci
Revvy 12v
Recommended
Paintballs:
Considering it has 3 different backs for sizing, it doesn't matter. I have used spank with great success.
Strengths: Different bore sizes to help accuracy. Price. Nice Case
Weaknesses: Not as many options as say a 7 or 11 piece kit... ;) Duh....
Review: Great price for a barrel kit. I was able to pick mine up for 75 at a local shop. Heck that is near the price of just a barrel itself. The kit has 3 backs to help find the right paint to barrel match which is such an important aspect. The barrel is light weight, yet very durable. I have only had a single ball break, yet noticed no problem. Just squeegied the barrel and continued on.

The case (yes that is important) is great and does a very nice job protecting the kit. Very handy.

Very accurate on my '05 prostock. From other barrels I have used, this ranks up there when the best of them.

Conclusion: Overall there are better kits for more money, but for the price I must say this is defintely a smart purchase. I have a friend with the 11 piece by Empire on a 98, and he is just as pleased as I am with mine. The Empire barrel kits and great for those casual players looking for a step in the "up" direction.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Facader Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
the stock wgp prostock barrel
16in. boomstick
progressive barrel kit
stacks up much better than the competition listed
Marker Setup: WGP Prostock 04
Empire 4 piece barrel kit
32 Degrees Remote
Empire Reloader OR Ricochet 2kx
Co2 or N2....whichever i feel like using at the moment
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premiums fit the .67 the BEST
Strengths: Accuracy
Very few breaks
Solid construction
Porting is perfect
Can take a hard beating
Weaknesses: Can be hard to take apart
Too long for speedball
Review: This is a great barrel for a great price. I first bought this expecting nothing more than your normal cheapo 4 piece kit, and was proven WRONG! I am VERY happy with the performance. (besides the black barrel looks great on my red prostock). Also, if you decide you need more backs, just buy the different sizes after you've bought the 4 piece kit. After OVER 5000 balls i had broken 1 in the barrel because i short-stroked the trigger. On top of all of this, it is easy to clean, although there will be paint stuck in the porting if you get shot there, or break at the end of the barrel. The accuracy was also holding its own out on the field. I got over 20 outs from about 60 yards away (I understand this also takes a certain amount of talent and practice too) and went through about 2000 balls in one day with around 60-70 outs in the first half(I stopped counting after about 1000 balls). Overall, this is a great barrel, but i don't recommend it for speedball, also, use a rubber canoper/jaropener to take it off if it sticks in place.
I give it a 9 just because i do play a great deal of speedball and need a shorter barrel.
Conclusion: Buy it if you're a recballer, tourney baller, anykindaballer. This is a great all-around kit for a decent price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lowrlevelracin Wednesday, May 5th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts all american (for my mag)
stock dragun barrel
Marker Setup: 2004 Dragun "The One" Empire barrel kit, PB bullet drop forward, Bob Long Torpedo Reg, Macroline, Shock Tech Superfly timmy bolt, Dragun ultralite trigger, HPA, pressure is at about 200 psi. Halo B with rip drive.
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything good and round
Strengths: different bores
good looking
Weaknesses: out of the 4 pc, i got 2 flawed backs. bad shoot thru breaks
Review: well...where do i start? the kit looks great and its cheaper than the 11pc and the freak but i wish i woulda gotten a good allaroudn barrel like another all american....i dunno.

i get the kit in, lightly screw the .691 barrel back on, and Wait a minute, it just jammed! it jammed so tight i had to get it sent out to get the barrel back off! no lie! and im not dummy, it wasnt crossthreading, and the threads were clean. (im a mechanic)so since that barrel back doesnt work i use the next one down .689 i think. well guess what...? after having about 1/2case of paint break through my barrel, i finally saw the next day that the barrel bore had TWO flat spots in it! ugh! so the barrel backs are used now, how can i return them? im saving up and getting a pipe or freak, maybe freak jr. i know that i just got a flawed system, but everyone else is saying the same thing, doesnt shoot through breaks as well as it should, and comes with a 14 inch tip out of the box......sorry, if i wanted to sword fight, i'd bring a sword, not make my gun as lengthly!
Conclusion: from my experience, i'd like to melt them down for scrap, but it seems to be a 50/50 rep around here......sounds to me like somebody needs to fire the quality control guy down at empire.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

sgt carman Monday, February 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP progressive, Dye Aluminum many stock barrels, SP AA's, Boomsticks etc...
Marker Setup: 2k2 cocker, empire kit, HPA, 12v revvy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Blaze
Strengths: Accurate, light, multiple bores
Weaknesses: doesnt shoot through breaks well, just get a sureshot squeegie : ) .
Review: This barrel is awesome, some initial manufacturing problems ment that the first batch wasnt nearly as good as the ones being produced now as you can tell by the reviews. the bores are accurate as the .687 of a freak and the empire are the same bore (works perfect with blaze)
Conclusion: Definatly a good buy, best bang for the buck. I would recomment this barrel to any player. So far you cant buy extra bores or lengths but hopefully that will come soon.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media