paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Brass Barrels / Palmers Pursuit Shop Brass Barrels / Palmers Pursuit Shop Brass Barrels

Palmers Pursuit Shop Brass Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Brass Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Brass Barrels
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
They are available for Spyders, Angels, Cockers, A-5s, and Automags up to 14".
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Brass Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Corey Dom Wednesday, February 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
High end:
-Stiffi 14" carbon fiber

Lower/mid:
-CMI thunderpig
-Apex
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
--------------------
A5-A2 kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint that isn't dimpled will work just fine
Strengths: -ACCURACY

-looks?
Weaknesses: -Doesn't deal with breaks very well.

-Weight
Review: I just got this barrel today and immediately rippend open the package and looked it over. I ordered a 12" non-ported with black powdercoat. the outside was evenly coated with no marks or scratches and the inside was mirror shined brass. It looks great on my gun (I like the little bit of gold color visible on the tip).

I aired up (CO2 as i was out of air) and took it ouside with 40 rounds in my tac cap. this barrel shot awsome. it was like my A-5 has never performed before today. i was hitting a barrel that was over 125 feet away with 4 out of 5 balls. I just have crappy paint because it the middle of winter here and there is no use in me buying expensive stuff, but this barrel shot it beautifully. About half of the bag is dimpled, and i could tell which balls where dimpled because the ones that weren't flew perfectly straight.

After seeing the performance, I was giddy like a little girl and went searching through the bag and filled the tac cap with the best stuff i could find. The second hopper was ball on ball precision.

I figured I could get in another 40 rounds before it got too dark to see my shots, so I filled up again and just opened up with a fast 10 rounds. i got a break on the tenth shot. not sure if the cyclone broke it or it chopped somehow, but the barrel didn't like that at all. the next 20 shots curved everywhere.

Also, i thought that this barrel would be loud without the porting, especially on a Tippmann, but i was supprised. It is loud, but not nearly as loud as i expected. and it has a shot pop that is different from the normal report.

This barrel is way better than my stiffi. The stiffi is quieter and lighter, but it doesn't come close to the performance.
Conclusion: This barrel isn't the quietest, or the lightest, but if you are looking for accuracy PPS brass is the way to go. This is the best barrel i have used. I was going to give it a 9 but i can't think of any single barrel that beats this one.
PPS brass gets a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wolftune Monday, August 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dream Series Barrel Kit: Very accurate
WGP Barrel kit: Less accurate but solid
Lots of inidividual barrels (dye, J&J, Lapco): rollouts on a cocker, just fine otherwise
Marker Setup: Palmers Pursuit Shop Cherry Pyre with Apex tip
Armson Max Duty sight
Lapco shoulder stock/drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
I recommend DXS gold for pumps, bronze for semi's. However, these barrels do shoot most paint well.
Strengths: No rollouts
Shoots all types and sizes of paint well
Customer service
Weaknesses: Weight (?) for some, maybe, though I like how it balances the marker toward the trigger.
Review: I have 2 PPS barrels, one on my Pyre pump and one on my PPS Blazer. I've also shoot one on an A5. In all cases, I was impressed.

Accuracy:
They're accurate. They tend to shoot high end paint as well as any barrel kit I've tried. That being said, you might get a tiny bit better accuracy from a barrel kit matched perfectly to any given paintball. However, with the ball to ball inconsistency and in the event you need to use different types of paint, this thing does everything well. With my Pyre pump, I can get headshots consistently at 75 ft., no joke. I attribute this to the consistency of my barrel.

No rollouts:
For those using blow forward markers, rollouts can be a problem. They even happen with barrel kits once in a while because of ball to ball inconsistency within a bag. I've never had a rollout on my PPS barrel. Playing pump, that's critical.

Porting:
With porting, this barrel is relatively quiet. On my Pyre, you hear more of a 'pssst' than a 'thwack'. I imagine that an unported barrel is loud, but I haven't tried it.

PPS:
It's nice to know that you're using a handmade barrel, made in the USA, by a small shop in California. They can match the barrel to your marker, modify the barrel (nickel-plated, painted, etc.). The customer service and warranties are excellent. They just about always answer phones and do always return messages.
Conclusion: This barrel is an excellent choice for those that want accuracy and ease of use without having to deal with barrel kits. While seemingly pricey, remember that most good barrel kits are more expensive. I highly recommend this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 31st, 2009 at 7:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crudeidol Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The closest barrels would be J&J Ceramics and Hammerhead kits, but this is a step up so far
Marker Setup: -AGD ULE Automag, Classic LVL7, Intelliframe, 12" PPS Brass
-Tippmann A5 12" J&J Ceramic, Q-Loader, Longbow Stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
The Brass doesn't seem to be too picky.
Strengths: Accuracy, easy to clean, looks killer
Weaknesses: weight (well, I'm not bothered by it)
Review: The Brass has pretty well outshined all the other one-piece barrels I've used. I love my J&J's but this is my new go-to barrel for the days I don't feel like messing around with my Hammerhead kit. It's easy to clean and looks great on my 'Mag, and will look even better on my A5 when the barrel adapter comes in the mail.
Interestingly enough, the first time I took it out on the field it was at a store opening. they used reballs, and the barrel guided every one of them right to where I wanted them to be.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a simple, reliable barrel, and doesn't want to mess around with kits and backs and inserts.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the Dregs Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock autococker barrels
Lapco
Freak
Sp Progressive
Marker Setup: Autococker Superstock SF
45/4500 Crossfire
Palmer's 9" brass barrel with wedgits .690 bore
Evil Smokestack
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything, really
Strengths: Ability to fire whatever you put into it
looks
quality of machining
price
Weaknesses: A bit plain looking.
Louder than a non-ported barrel.
Review: I just got this barrel for my 'cocker. I heard that Palmers barrels shoot straight no matter what you put in them. i didn't believe it, but I love the idea of having wedgits in place to stop closed-bolt gun rollouts. So I got me one. It was a bit pricey even without porting.

I have used it a couple times since and i have been amazed.With Draxxus Bronze, this barrel puts the balls right on top of each other. It is even pretty consistent with the white box gumball mystery paint I tried out. I have not had a single rollout since I bought this barrel, and I got the big .690 bore.

I love the shiny brass color and it gets a lot of remarks. It is just a plain tube, so if you are looking for fancy machining or graphics, look elsewhere. Black, brass, or nickel are your choices, or anodized however you like for a ton of cash. It is also heavy for its size.

The barrel is very high priced for a single piece without inserts. But when you factor in the quality of the barrel, and the fact that it works just as well as a barrel with a bunch of inserts, it is a very good deal.
Conclusion: I hate to be a fanboy and rate this thing a 10, but it does exactly what I want it to, looks great, is hand-made, and comes at a good price. What else can I say? 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 2nd, 2008 at 4:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mxmtl Monday, February 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
There are no barrels I know of that compare.
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Superstock
+ CCM 45 Auto Trigger Frame & Pump Kit
+ WGP Karnivore Regulator
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Excellent Performance with Inconsistent Paint
Weaknesses: Slightly Heavier than Most Barrels
Review: I ordered a 12" .685 unported barrel with matte black powder coating from Palmers Pursuit Shop to see if it would live up to the hype. Up front, I will say that it did.

I tested it at the chrono range on my 2005 WGP Superstock with CCM 45 auto trigger frame and pump kit. It has fully stock internals. Pressure was set to 300 psi, and the IVG was adjusted to 285 fps maximum. Paint used was 1 bag (500 rounds) of 1 month old WPN Elixir that was sitting in my paintball caddy for two weeks.

With the exception of short stroking the pump a few times while practicing my auto triggering, I had no barrel breaks. I have sized WPN Elxir at .684 to .690, especially when it is no longer fresh. At the chrono, consistency was +/- 2 fps at 280 fps, with occasional spikes +/- 5 fps. I've shot WPN Elixir through a 2000 Series PowerLyte Scepter kit in better weather, and I did not get results anywhere near this.

I was not able to properly test accuracy since it was raining that day.

Weight of the barrel was only 9.4 ounces on my USPS postal scale. I have a 12 " JT stainless steel back barrel with aluminum tip which weighs 9.1 ounces on the same scale. I think people exaggerate the weight of these brass barrels. On the gun, it did not feel any heavier than stainless steel backed barrels with aluminum tips.

After my positive experience with this barrel, I will be ordering another: 12" .690 with wedgits and dual spiral porting.
Conclusion: If you have a closed bolt marker, need to match paint to prevent roll out, and you are tired of matching paint with your kit throughout the day to prevent breaks, I recommend these barrels.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stangdude22 Monday, January 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic, Stock MINI
Marker Setup: MINI
ANS 68/4500
EVO3/ Empire Reloader
Palmers Brass
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any I guess, but I love Anarchy with this thing
Strengths: One Barrel with amazing accuracy
Weaknesses: ... Heavier than most
Review: Well I saw my friend with one last time I was out who loved this thing to death. So I decided to give it a try. Though this was alot heavier than the stock barrel, it wasn't bad. Actually balanced the gun out. Then I got around to firing this thing. I was able to hit a 2-3 inch wide cactus 10 out of 10 times at about 60-70 feet. This is the most accurate barrel I have seen to date.

I'll never use another barrel.
Conclusion: Very reasonable price for the performance you get. A must get
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Red_Dog_69 Thursday, January 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
APEX Barrel, Smartparts Progressive, stock A-5 barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5. Core CQB Wire Stock w/ RVA, 10" PPS Brass Barrel w/ PPS APEX Adaptor. APEX Tip.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Stingers
Strengths: Shoots any paint very well. I have never broken a ball in this barrel.
Weaknesses: This barrel simply has no weaknesses.
Review: This is the best single barrel that I have ever used. It will shoot any paint very well. I've shot year old paint through this barrel, and it shoots great. It will shoot cheap paint just as well as good paint. It's simply the best single piece barrel available.
You can read all about why it performs so well on their webpage.
Conclusion: Buy it. That's all I have to say.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadoflame Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts linear, grouping is larger.
CCM carbon fiber, just as good, but lighter
Marker Setup: Odyssey Bodied CCM Sniper
-Odyssey Body
-CCM Pump Kit
-stock Dye copy hinge frame
-Hogue .45 grips
-PPS LT valve
-PPS Fatty Reg
-CCI Stick Feed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Procaps/Draxxus/X-Ball/Origin if you get the small bore one
GAP, RPS, and random junk if you get the standard bore
Strengths: The barrel is plain, no funny confusing curves. heavy weight is stable. option for wedgits
Weaknesses: Heavy weight may be bad for some. Brass needs to be kept clean.
Review: This review is for a black powder coated 13 inch .685 tight bore brass barrel with wedgits

Quality: 8pts

The black powder coating on my barrel was uneven and had dots and bumps that were noticable. However, these imperfections aren't noticed during actual gameplay. The powder coating is very strong though, I usually sit my barrel of the edge of a bunker for support and usually end up sliding it back and forth to keep on target. The sharp edge of the bunker left no mark on the barrel. The coating did get shaved a bit when i placed an alluminum Sheridan muzzle break on though.
The brass on the inside of the barrel is honed to a mirror finish and is very smooth, but doesnt feel any smoother than my Smart Parts barrel, that is, testing with my fingers.

Performance: 10pts

Testing this out at the chrono range, i missed my target several times, but the barrel missed at the same spot each time, which is good because the barrel is consistent even though the user didnt aim on the spot. Later on at the end of the day, i decided to shoot some steel poles. i shot, missed, shot again, missed the same spot again, shot, missed the same spot again, leaned a little bit to the right, shot, hit, shot, hit,shot,hit Again, the barrel is precise and has a very nice grouping
The field owner wanted to test out this barrel since the beginning of the day, but lent out his pump to some one. At the end of the day when he got is pump back, we went to the range and tested the PPS to see how it compares to a 12 inch CCM. There was no noticable difference in perfomance, neithar seemed better.
The weight of the barrel keeps a more stable hold on the target, but weighs you down when moving and tires the arms out a tiny bit more.
I ordered mine with wedgits since I play pump to prevent any rollouts that may happen. This is really nice because I wont have to worry about changing inserts or backs for minute changes in paintball size.

Durability: 7pts

After the first day of playing and as of right now, the barrel shows some slight tarnish on the inside. i guess ill have to be cleaning this barrel after everyday of playing.
I have heard rare stories of how PPS barrels can get dinged and dented from extreme diving barrel first into the ground and hard slides spearing into bunkers, but I dont do crazy extreme moves and wouldnt know. i highly doubt that you could dent or bend brass playing tourney ball even.

Price: 8pts

Base price is $45(w/ wedgits), powder coating, +$10, change length to 13", +$10. 65 dollars for a custom made barrel that rivals with a CCM kit, you cant beat that for 65 bucks. However, 65 for a single piece is a bit on the expensive side, CP singles are only $40. If i were to add porting, it would have costed another 40 bucks or so, but that hurts efficiency.

Customer Service: N/A to product quality/performance

This barrel is from Palmer's Pursuit Shop, and they have excellent customer service. I ordered this barrel over the phone and had planned to go pick it up, but things came up and I couldnt make it to the shop. I asked if any of them were going out to WAP to play, none of them were, but Craig was nice to offer to drop it off to the field owners for me. I took the offer and paid by credit over the phone. Excellent customer service.
Conclusion: This barrel averages out to an 8.25 in my review, but I'll have to mark an 8 for this after roundind down. Remember, a 5 is average, which is where my smart parts linear belongs.(I'm too lazy to write a review on that crap barrel)

If you want a nice and heavy single piece barrel built the way you want is and can shoot all the small bore paints(or big bore if you get the .690), call PPS right now.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 2nd, 2007 at 6:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media