paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache

Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 169
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A bend sensor in the feedneck, a unique Ricochet feature, signals the loader’s electronics as to when a ball has fed and the agitator must be spun. On the rear of the loader, the Apache features an LCD control panel with a built in game timer. Ricochet development expects the production model Apache to feed at speeds of 17 to 19 balls per second. While factory rated to 190 paintballs, the prototype held 180 without pressure on the paint. In testing, the prototype emptied itself very efficiently in 10.0 seconds of its entire capacity yielding an emptying rate of 18 balls per second. This should not, however be confused with an on gun performance rate where the flow of paintballs has more of a start and stop nature.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
stiffler Tuesday, March 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet AK/2K
Aany other Ricochets
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine Select, Ricochet Apache Loader, Pure Energy 48,3000 ,java feed adaptor
Strengths: Light
FAST
Super Durable
game timer
sound activated
Weaknesses: NONE!
Review: Ok this is the best hopper ever, thats all anyone really needs to know. This is a fast hopper, 20bps i mean the halo is 22bps but who really cares. This is the lightest hopper over 13bps and even with batteries and full hopper full of paint. The unique form of how ricochet builds there hoppers is awsome, so many people have almost hit my hopper in speedball but guess what? the ricochet! This also has a game timer built into the lcd screen. Its aswsome to know how much time you have left to pull that last move. It also beeps one short beep every 5 minutes (ex. 15, 10, 5) and one long beep when it hits zero. You can also turn off the sound if you dont want to have your enemy here you.
Conclusion: This is an all around good hopper, I would recomend it to anyone over the halo b or egg 2 becuase its lighter than any other hopper and it doesnt eat batterries like the halo b.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

maxwell Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
everything
Marker Setup: who cares
Strengths: this thing is as light as crap its unbelievable, its fast,
Weaknesses: none
Review: one thing its the lightest hopper that gets more than 13 bps, the customer service from ricochet is unbelievable, its more durable than any other hopper, one time i sent in my hopper and i waited a week and they hadnt got it so i called them and they said that if they didnt get in the next 3 days they would just send me a new one and that was with my 2k, not the apache but that just shows how good their customer service is
it feeds about as fast as a egg but not as fast as a halo but it still feeds fast enough
Conclusion: this is the best hopper for the price at mardi gras they were sellin them for 75 i think and my friend and his dad got 2
ricochet rules
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Dead Fifties Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 12 Volt Revy w/ X Board
Ricochet 2K
Ricochet AK
VL Evy 2
Marker Setup: 2K2 Timmy
2K4 Angel A4
Strengths: Fast, Consistent
Weaknesses: Bad O-Rings, Bad Screws
Review: I have always used a Ricochet and I like their products. I like the hopper because it is light, fast and I almost never have problems with it feeding. Every now and then I do have to shake it though. It can keep up fine with both my Timmy and my Angel. I have only taken it apart one time and the screws are already stripped near the tips, but the still work. The O-Rings are pretty weak too, I have already broken 2 and have only used it 5 times.
Conclusion: I like the hopper, and I like Ricochet, they make good products. People always ask me why I rock a Ricochet, I have never had problems with mine and I see about 2-3 Halos down every day at the field. A month ago I watched Rodney The Repairman at SC sit it the back telling his teammates "I dont have a loader, mines broken" Halos and Viewloaders break more than a Ricochet every will. Go with a Ricochet, you wont regret it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dkeeler Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Empire reloader
Marker Setup: WGP 04 prostock cocker w/ many upgrades
Diablo wrath (some upgrades)
Strengths: Light
Cool design
Fast
Fits just about any marker
Weaknesses: Spears paintballs!
Pain to clean
Review: I bought one of these not too long ago (impulse buy) cause it looked like a cool loader and it was on sale for only 49 bucks. I really liked the feed neck because it uses different sized o-rings to insure a tight fit on most any marker. I don't think it feeds 20 bps as advertised, but its close, more like 18 or so. The loader is also pretty light, which is a good thing. The problem I keep having, (and its really really really pissing me off) is the agitator is spearing my paintballs! It does'nt do it all the time, usually during the first 300 rounds or so it'll spear a ball. That really sucks because now I have paint from the speared ball being spread throughout the inside of loader, and the paintballs inside. This in turn gets paint in my gun and the barrel. You can imagine the drop in performace once this happens! Balls flying all over the place. Am I the only one with this problem? I recently took some extra pneumatic hose and made some tips for the agitator. This helped some, but I'm still getting speared or completely ripped in half balls in the loader! Its still a great loader, but if I can't fix this problem I'm gonna run it over!

**Update**
-I'm selling the piece of crap. I thought the hoses would fix my problem, but I still had some shredded paintballs, though not as many. Not to mention a couple of the hoses came off after periodic use. I should not have rig it with hose extensions anyway! Oh well, somebody will buy it, and I'll use the money to buy a victory board for the Halo- I'm gonna have to give it 5 outta 10.
Conclusion: Other than the speared paintballs its an awesome loader and a nice substitute to the more expensive halo systems. I'd give it a 10, but those speared balls are really annoying!
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 4th, 2006 at 8:00 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

red1 Saturday, June 12th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ricochet 2k ,revolution with x board (old plastic)
Marker Setup: Black Angel IR3
Tippmann E bolt
Strengths: The design and the weight.
Weaknesses: It wont feed faster than a 12 volt revolution with x board.
Review: I bought this hopper with the hope that it would do what it said but to my supprise it did not.When i first got it i put it on my IR3 and it would chop about every 8th ball.I sent an e mail to ricochet to no avail .The second e mail was not so nice to witch they responded and sent me a new motor witch seamed to help at first it would only chop when it got down to 4 or 5 balls in the hopper but the first time i played with it it started to chopping again.I kept the hopper but only for the design not for the 18bps it promised.
Conclusion: You can buy it if you want but don't do it for the feed rate .
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

nkatzboy Sunday, September 26th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Quantum, VL Revolution, VL Revolution with Xboard, Evolution 2
Marker Setup: Kingman AMG LCD
Freak Barrel
VL revolution hopper
Dye Sticky grips
Check it sweet spot trigger
50g trigger switch
32 degrees long drop
PMI Thor reg. (only temporary)
ACP delrin bolt
Shocktech spring kit
3A 68/4500 carbon fiber wrap tank
Strengths: Light weight
Built in timer
Weaknesses: BPS couldn't keep up
Body just like any other hopper, doesn't bounce balls

Review: This hopper is definatly light I will give it that. Having the timer built in to the hoppper was also nice. The good things stop there! The feed rate couldn't keep up with my AMG (modified) or a brand new Raven Primal (unmodified). The body doesn't promote ball bounce if anything all the corners on it promoted ball break. The top feed port makes it akward to poor pods into it quickly. It sits to high on a marker without modification to the hopper neck. I have seen multiple hoppers crack when hit with a ball from close to medium range by a marker crono'd at 285 spiking at 290.
Conclusion: If you can't afford something better this will work. If you want something that can consistantly keep up with a fast marker or that is easy dump pods into this isn't worth it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

nato80 Sunday, February 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200 and Archon 11 bps gravity
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c with
16" smart part barrel
Remote
Archon 200 loader
Camo stickers

Spyder Rodeo
16" barrel?

Smart parts Vibe
14" j&j ceramics
Ricochet apache lcd
48/3k DXS compressed air
Strengths: Fast
light
cheap
Weaknesses: Really slow on last ones
Doesnt do side angles well
Review: Well I put this on my vibe and I have to say I was impressed. It fed every time and wasnt to loud. It fit the vibe feed neck well but had a harder time with a plastic inline feedneck for the spyder. If you turn it on its side it doesnt do as well. It also wasnt as loud as I expected it o be. The lid is very secure so as to not spill your paint. The downside is its kinda hard for ingame loading. But you have to consider this all to it now being like $30 at actionvillage and so you cant really beat it for the price.
Conclusion: I reccomend it for its fast,relativley quiet operations and its cheapness.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

humanbeersponge Friday, June 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy with X board
Marker Setup: BT 4 Combat.
Apache
BT Collapsible Stock
Pure Energy 68cu 4500psi
32 Degrees Steel Remote
Strengths: Fast enough, my marker max's at 13-14bps
Weaknesses: Battery life.
Review: I bought the apache once i realised my revvy could not keep up with new Egrip, the apache feeds fast no problems there but the battery life is chronic. I played last sunday with new Duracell 9v's and after firing less than 1000 ball the battery indicator was red and it was shake the hopper time.

Then in the afternoon while taking the loader off my marker the neck cracked off, bizarre?

I may have got a dodgy apache but i cannot live with the poor battery life and will be getting a new shell and selling to be replaced with either a Halo B or Empire B Reloader.
Conclusion: Good fast loader, mine suffered from poor battery life. Hope you have better luck with yours.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmz boy Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B,VL quantum,Gravity fed's egg,egg2,egg3, vlocity, revvy
Marker Setup: TIPPMAN A-5(BLACK)
BT APEX BARREL
R-5 HOPPER
PCS SAW STOCK
DELUXE REMOTE LINE


PILOT ACS 05'(RED TO BLACK FADE)
SMART PARTS 14 INCH PROGRESSIVE BARREL
HALO B WITH VICTORY
TRINITY Q LOCK FEEDNECK
PURE ENERGY 3000PSI TANK(FIBRE WRAPPED) WITH DYE RHINO COVER(RED AND BLACK)
DYE STICKY 3'S(BLACK)
Strengths: Very cheap
Holds 190 more than a Halo
Game timer
"Deflection design"
Weaknesses: Lid
Shell appears brittle
Slow down
Looks weird..(see review)
Review: Well this was my first electric hopper it was a nice hopper but then mine broke the agitator stopped working and when i sent it in they said they did not make parts anymore-____-. There customer service from what i saw didn't impress me very much.

STRENGTHS

PRICE: Well this is a very well priced loader they go for about $70-80 that very fair considering Halo's Pulses and Reloader B go for 120-170. It is definitely the best high end loader out there for the price.

CAPACITY: Well the Apache hols the most out of alot of loaders. The Apache holds 190 while the Halo only holds 160-170 so it definitely pulls off a win in that category.

GAME TIMER: Well this is one of the nicest features about the Apache it has a game timer. No more trying to guess how much time is left or waiting for the ref to yell 5 minutes! The Apache really has something awesome no other loader has except the FASTA.

DEFLECTION DESIGN: Meh it a personal thing some like some don't. The design is supposed to get you bounces however alot of times it either spears the ball on the front of the hopper or you end up taking one to your face. However it does work i have has plenty of bounces off my hopper.

SPEED: Well it doesn't give you 22bps or 32 or anything but 17 is good for most paintballers. It pretty hard to get a marker going over 17 so the Apache has you covered.

WEAKNESS'S

LID: I hate the lid on the apache it is very very annoying to get used to however when you do get used to it,it's not that bad. The lid also seems tipsy and fragile however I haven't has any problems with it.

SHEll: The shell on the Apache seems very thin. However i have taken many close range shots to it and no cracks have occurred. If you however were planning on using this hopper for a long time you may want to watch for any cracks in the shell.

SLOW DOWN: Well remember the Apache is not a true force fed loader it is in a class of it's own. The apache isn't really agitated nor force fed. It is basically an agitated hopper on steroids. However since it is agitated and has no "runway" for excess balls to lay in the Apache slingshots balls when there is only 20-30 left in the hopper. This slow down isn't a large problem because usually by then you will be dumping a pod in.

STRANGE LOOKS: Well lets remember the apache is a high end loader and would be placed on high end guns ie. IONS, Bob longs,Angels Shockers etc. these guns are all designed for speed ball and the Apache has a military look to it-__-. That just seems strange to me. Putting a military style loader on a brightly colored gun that isn't scenario minded. It just looks kind of silly on those kinds of guns.

NEUTRAL FACTS

FEEDNECK: The o rings are ok i guess but i prefer a hopper neck that can be sanded down to custom fit your type of feedneck. ie Halo, Pulse etc... The o rings provide a decent fit so it's neutral.

BUTTONS/ALARM: The buttons on the Apache are small and hard to use with gloves on. However this is good so you don't accidentally push the wrong button. Secondly the alarm that emits when the hopper turns on is very embarrassing. You will have veryone turning to look at you. However it's good to know that your loader is on and ready to go!

FEEDNECK SENSOR: It is very unique and battery oriented since no eyes are required. However sometimes the balls will more up just a small amount in your feedneck. Just enough to trigger the sensor causing it to try to shove balls into your breech. Possibly causing a breech chop.

NOISE: The apache is not quiet nor loud. It is loud if it were on ALL the time.ie vl quantum etc When it is agitating you know it but really it's not enough to give away your position.

CONCLUSION: A great hopper for the price. it will keep up with your gun unless you shoot over 17bps. It has it's share of ups and downs i prefer the Halo only because it has no slow down and seems very sturdy. However it is the best priced high end loader.
Conclusion: Get it if you don't need over 17bps if you do save up for a Halo. i'm going to give it a 7.5 because it does have it's share of problems/concerns however it does have some neat features!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pb_Critic01 Saturday, May 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Quantum its compete
Garbage
Marker Setup: SP ION
47/3000
Apache Loader
Strengths: Speed!!!
Has a sensor
light
Sexy
20Bps
Weaknesses: Wobbly Cap
Review: This is a great hopper.
This little beast is very fast and will keep up most defionately.
Its senser is very keen and will be very consistant and feeds without any spaces or gaps. It is very nicely built and has a nice design to it. Its great to have this loader "shooting" paintballs into my ION. This thing is tough and very durable.

Conclusion: This is a must buy because it will force feed you to victory.
I give it a nine because nothing is perfect
But this thing is Very Very close.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media