paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache

Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 169
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A bend sensor in the feedneck, a unique Ricochet feature, signals the loaderís electronics as to when a ball has fed and the agitator must be spun. On the rear of the loader, the Apache features an LCD control panel with a built in game timer. Ricochet development expects the production model Apache to feed at speeds of 17 to 19 balls per second. While factory rated to 190 paintballs, the prototype held 180 without pressure on the paint. In testing, the prototype emptied itself very efficiently in 10.0 seconds of its entire capacity yielding an emptying rate of 18 balls per second. This should not, however be confused with an on gun performance rate where the flow of paintballs has more of a start and stop nature.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Wazzy Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagne
Ricochet Apache
20 oz. CO2
Strengths: Agitated & fast
Sleek
Keeps up with Ion
Weaknesses: None
Review: This thing is awesome. It is the best hopper out there. You might be thinking the Halo B is better, but I've heard some stories about that hopper, and it's only good 4 bps faster then Ricochet But this is a fast hopper. Keeps up with Ions. It does keep up with Ions, and I dont know anyone who can shoot faster the 18 bps on semi-auto. It is also very sweet looking. Thats opinion though. I did get a ball deflect (got hit in the arm as well, which didn't deflect) so I guess that is true, Only happened once though.
Conclusion: Get it unless you actually have the **need** to shoot faster then 18 bps.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 11th, 2006 at 6:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluesboyk3 Monday, July 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rico AK
12 Volt revvy
Halo B
Marker Setup: Black gen 1 B2k + upps
DRIMMY soon
Strengths: Lighter than my Halo B
Looks good
made to deflect shots
consistent
Weaknesses: Not good with gun that has blowback
false advertising
Review: Well, i love Ricochet products. Not too much on the customer service though. They shipped my 05 motor fast but they forgot to send me a new shell. I have to call them and aks them again and the packaging (if u could even call it) was horible. They just used a USPS large envelope with no padding and wrapping at all. NO JOKE. Just the shells inside an envelope. And they didn't send the feedneck o-rings as well.

Ok, back to the review. This thing looks different in a good way. It's supposed to deflect shots but never really experienced it. With the 05 motor, it can feed 16 bps consistent on the drop test. The o-ring design helps to secure the loader to the feedneck.

One thing tho is that this thing will not work as good if u have blowback and short burst of fire. I noticed some skipped shots with my reballs. Didn't happen with my stock Halo at all..
Conclusion: Good product, i purchased it and was aware of the false advertising since i know my gun and my finger doesnt shoot 20 bps, but it's having trouble keeping up with my Chaos'ed 18 bps B2K. Didn't have a good experience with customer sevice. Because of all that i'll give this a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stanleyboy117 Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo b, halo front man.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion with a ricochet apache hopper, clamp feed neck, 4 inch drop forward, and a freak barrel.
Strengths: its very Light
pretty fast
and very tuff
Weaknesses: None
Review: the reson i bought this hopper is that it was light and to keep my gun light and it did this thing with 2 9v batteries it is just under a ponder without paint . but it is not just light it is fast it is so that fast it keept up to a shocker ramping with out a missing shot. It is also tuff becuse i v droped it a couple of times form some high places and it still works and not a crack.
Conclusion: I so would recammend this hopper to any one who whats a fast light and tuff hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulsekid13 Tuesday, May 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Revolution 2, Halo B
Marker Setup: Impulse with vision and vert reg. Delron bolt, dye sticky, stiffi barrel, and of course apache loader
Strengths: Extremely light, really fast loading time, and a game timer on back
Weaknesses: none
Review: In the time that i have had mine i would say that it is equivalent if not better than a halo. Halo's are heavy and i had a lot o problems with mine. Also it feeds 20 bps no matter what other sites say i timed it the other day and it fed 20bps. An I also love the way it works as far as it doesn't have an eye sensor it works on new bend technology which is great. And of course your not screwed if our batteries run out or you have a problem it still work as a gravity feed unlike the halo or egg.
Conclusion: I reccomend that you go out and purchase an apache right now. It better than a halo and im not sure about the new empire one I have never used it before.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PBX720 Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
HALO
EGG
VL200 :-D
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Avenger3
Tiller 14" Red To Chrome Barrel
Ricochet Apache (Smoke)

ION VERY SOON!!!!
Strengths: CAN work as a gravity loader
futuristic looking
Holds 190
Upgradeable
Weaknesses: NONE really
Review: This is a great hopper, iIlove it. it looks kind of futuritic and my hopper hits have decreased alot! and if i do get a hopper hit, They ricochet, hence the name. These things are cool. the LCD screen is clear and easy to read. It does not have eyes so you CAN use clear shell paint. The Apache is 1/2 a pund lighter then a HALO and 1/4 a pound lighter then an EGG, it may not seem like alot but it is!

It holds alot of paintballs, but wear your pods anyway, this hopper will really go through them.

**If you have a 2004 Apache go to Ricochet2k.com and get their number and call them about the 2005 gearbox and paddle assembly for your apache, It makes your Apache feed .5 BPS faster then a stock HALO.**

Edit: I got the up kit, It is quieter somehow, only probis that I couldn't find out how to hold the impeller on, Model Cement does nicely.
Conclusion: BUY it. Cheaper then a HALO, unless youre shooting ungodly fast (22+ BPS) get a HALO
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 4th, 2005 at 9:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderman2009 Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle erricator
Spyder pilot
Marker Setup: I am using it with a:
Spyder Fenix ACS
LCD Ricochet Apache Hopper,
Smart Parts All American Barrel
CO2
Strengths: Great
Looks beautiful
Speedy
Prety quiet
Great options
Long battery life
Weaknesses: Not a single thing
Review: This is a great hooper everyone schould get one its has great seetings game timmer and can feed 20 balls a second it has multiple alarms on it and is a high end hopper i would recomend this hopeer to anyone who is just starting out to thoose who need a serious hopper for some serious action
Conclusion: Buy it its worth every penny and youll love it for the second u put in the batteries
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

zballer Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder tl-x
J&J performance
apache
esp frame
Strengths: Fast
Light
Easy use
Game timer
Works as a gravity feeder in desperate situations
Weaknesses: Dosn't hold alot of balls
Slows down with 25- balls in the hopper
Review: I bought this hopper 2 weeks ago to go along with my electronic trigger and it has no problem keeping up. The price stated on the Suggested Retail Price is very wrong, I paid 90$ for mine new at a store, not online. If it is in burst mode, full, or fast shooting semi and there is less than 25 balls, it will break alot of those balls, that is the only downside to this hopper. So you need to carry alot of ammo because you cant shoot fast without breaking balls with 25- balls in the hopper. I was going to get a 12 volt revy but i was shooting 13-14 bps and i decided to get this one instead, that was the correct decision on my part, great hopper.
Conclusion: The only reason im giving this product a 9 instead of a 10 is because of the problem when there is 25- balls in it. Also with its small capacity it cant afford to not shoot the 25 balls left in the hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 14th, 2004 at 3:47 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

FishG3 Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
eVLution II (tested friend's)
VL Revolution (no comparison)
Other cheaper loaders
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro TS G3 w/electronic trigger
Smoke Ricochet Apache hopper
14" Black All-American barrel
Strengths: -Fast
-Durable
-Lightweight
-Deflection (see below)
Weaknesses: -Price (kind of - see below)
-LCD screen (I have no use for it)
Review: The Apache's main competition is the Egg, so I'm going to compare it to the Egg throughout this review.

Both loaders work in the same fashion. Gravity pulls the balls down into a round cup, where a propeller forces them down the feedneck. Because the propeller actually pushes the balls into the feedneck, these loaders are much more consistent than your standard agitating hopper. At the same time, they still aren't true force feed loaders because of their reliance on gravity to function.

The Ricochet Apache feeds just as fast as an Egg w/Y-Board (stock on newer Eggs) at a minimum of 14 bps, topping out around 18. Anyone who tells you otherwise is probably full of crap. Note however that a Z-Boarded Egg will feed a few bps faster.

Half of you are probably thinking "Why do you need 14 bps - you have a Piranha!" Well, I can get my gun up to about 12 bps. Agitating hoppers like the VL Revolution top out at 12 bps, so I can only get out a burst of about 3-4 balls without risking a chop. It's also great to know that you don't ever have to worry about chopping. I couldn't say that when I had my Revolution - I bought it at my local field and chopped EVERY game I played with it that day, so I returned it.

So why buy the Apache over the Egg? It's lighter weight, twice as durable, and it's a smaller target. My friend's Egg is completely destroyed - the feedneck is cracked, the battery door is busted, the flip lid fell off and broke... and he takes pretty good care of his equipment. Hold an Egg in one hand and an Apache in the other. The Apache is clearly made of a stronger plastic. If it ever starts to break or crack, I'll be sure to update my review.

For those of you who think Ricochet's "Deflection Engineering" is just a marketing scam, it really does work. The only problem is that 50% of the time it deflects the balls right into your mask. But it will save you the other half of the time, which is more than any other hopper can claim.

The Apache also requires no sanding to fit into smaller feed tubes, unlike the Egg and Halo B. The trick is that the Apache has two O-rings around the feedneck. Different sized O-rings come packaged with the Apache, so by simply switching out the O-rings you can make it fit almost any gun.

I mentioned above that the Apache is a bit pricey. I got mine for $85; you can get an Egg for around $68. If you can find an Apache with the LED light instead of the LCD screen, you can probably save yourself $5-10 (unless you really have to have that game timer). But if you factor in all the money you'll probably end up spending just repairing your Egg or even buying a new one, you'll realize that the Apache is both cheaper and better in the long run.
Conclusion: The Ricochet Apache is a fine product that has all the speed most players will ever need, and it doesn't feel like it will break any time soon. Don't waste money on cheaper loaders. Go ahead and save up for an Apache or a Halo B - you'll probably end up buying one anyway.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 18th, 2004 at 8:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kirky74 Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
grav-not close
halo tsa backman- didnt notice too much difference acutally
Marker Setup: evil omen 2.0
apache
stock driver barrel
redz clamper
plamer's fatty stab and 20oz(with co2)
stock det 72/3000 PE tank (with HPA)
Strengths: Looks?
Bend sensor
Battery life (compared to tsa)
Bounces?
Weaknesses: Speed not as ad
Grav ineffective
Top lid
Price (80$)
Review: The apache was a buy for me because i did not like the look of the eggs and my halo jammed the cams on my omen even wtih the 2.0 paddles. So i found this and it has not let me down. The actuall feed rate is not copacetic with the ad of 19. I would say, not nearly that. It does however keep up with me. With no bounce, omen set to 25 bps straight semi i pull maybe 12 consistently. I can say that i have had no skips with the apache and no jams so its pretty well perfec for what i can do. However set on 19 bps with debounce at 1 it skips quite a few time in long ropes. No big deal as i dont need to shoot that fast anyway.
Conclusion: It is a nice product. I dont feel its 80$ nice as a couple bucks more lands you a nice used halo or even something else new if your lucky. But if your in need of something else or youve always liked the ricochet look this can be just what youre looking for.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Novakowski Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet AK - slower version of this.
VL Revolution ONE - slower, kinda sucked.
VL Revolution TWO (EGG) - The same but harder to load.
Reloader B - what do you think....
Marker Setup: 2005 SmartParts Ion w/:
*Custom Green/Black Shaved Body Kit
*Green CP Flame Drop
*Black CP ON/OFF ASA*Hybid "Contract Killer" Grips
*Shocktech Feedneck
*Full Freak w/ alum. back and 14" Green AA Front
*Ricochet Apache LED Smoke
*Crossfire & C5 47/30 N2 Tanks
*System X Tank Covers
*Pt Jr Pistol
Strengths: easy to load
good on batteries
up to 19 BPS
clip battery loader
Looks
RICOCHET
Weaknesses: None
Review: So I got this off ebay for $86 canadian including shipping and was pretty impressed when it arrived. It is beautiful.

I stickered it up, loaded it wit batteries through the EASY and AMAZING clip, and did a drop test. First time it did 140 balls in 8 seconds which is say 140 / 8 = 17.5 BPS WOW. second one was even better. 140 balls in 7.5 seconds = 18.7 BPS. Needless to say, i was happy.

After playing with it twice i needed to change the batteries (duracell works great) and that is great because 2 days if play + drop tests...

i love the ricochet look so much it is my favorite kind of loader looks wise. if a ricochet with with power of a reloader B came out I would have it in a second.

I know the ricochet factor has been argued over and over again. well, for me, it has worked and I say some ricochet is better than none.

Conclusion: Bbuy it if a reloader B is too fast and your AK or Revvy one is too slow.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media