paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit / MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit / MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit

MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $99

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features include:
2 piece design, interchangeable sizes
5 piece kit (3 bores, 2 tips)
Super concentric design ensures that the barrel shoots straight every time
Autococker threading or Spyder threading
Optimum porting for quiet operation and long trajectory
Bonus display/storage case and foam liner
Product Availability 
The MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
IraqiFreedomVet Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson, Smart Parts, Custom Products
Marker Setup: '03 Bushie w/ PDS
'04 MacDev Gladiator HPR
'04 MacDev Sonic LPR w/ Ram Gauge
'04 MacDev Sonic RED valve
MacDev micro gauge
MacDev Matchstik barrel set
Zenitram 15 degree ASA
Bonebrake quick disconnect wiring harness
Apache
92/45 Crossfire LP
VForce Morph
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only used a little bit of old Zap Chronic...mainly used Big Ball
Strengths: Extremely lightweight, looks good, extremely accurate
Weaknesses: None that I can think of.
Review: This is definitely a good buy. Instead of spending almost 200 for a freak kit, you get a great deal buying a Matchstik set. I'm not sure how hard they are to find anymore, I just happen to stumble across a brand new set of them for $100. It comes with three different backs and a 12 and 14 inch front. The inside of the fronts and the backs are highly polished with no defects.
I've only played one day with this set, but can already tell a remarkable difference in my accuracy. I was placing my rounds more accurately and more consistently. I also noticed that my range was a little bit farther when using this barrel kit.
Conclusion: Definitely a good buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skyjump136 Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Polished Internals
Poor Man's Lightning Bolt
ESP 3.0 IPI Trigger Frame
Empire Reloader Hopper
MacDev MatchStik Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything...you can match it.
Strengths: Price
Bore / Length Options
Accuracy
Build Quality
Weaknesses: MacDev is "redesigning" the kit to include more pieces.
Review: Overall I have no complaints with this product. The bore quality and milling is excellent. All of the pieces are perfectly aligned and the threading provides a nice tight fit on my marker.

This is a very nice alternative to the Freak. That is especially true since there aren't any inserts to worry about with this kit. It cleans itself of ball breaks much easier than the Freak and you can still match the most popular paint sizes.

Accuracy is everything that you would expect after reading the rest of the reviews here. Since you can match paint this thing makes any paint look decent.

On the downside I have read that MacDev is in the process of redesigning this kit to include more pieces. That would be a shame since the simplicity and low price are what make this kit so great. With more pieces presumably MacDev will also charge more $$$. If you can get your hands on the old 5 piece kit then go for it!

A word about the "case" that everyone is upset about...if MacDev included a nice field case with this kit it would likely cost another $20 or so. I'm glad they kept the price lower and provided a better product. Go pick up a small handgun case at your local sporting goods store. I found a decent one with hard plastic shell for less than $6.
Conclusion: I would get this kit if you can still find the old version. You would be hard pressed to find 6 quality barrels (3 backs X 2 tips) for $99! I just hope MacDev isn't making a big mistake by redesigning an already great product...time will tell.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ian1081 Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel, 3A knockout, teardrop, all-american
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro TS G3
boss bolt
boss blade trigger
C5 adjustable drop forward
2K3 e force trigger
high flow valve pin
turbo valve (stock w/ this marker)
12v revvy
MacDev barrel system
Recommended
Paintballs:
Does not matter
Strengths: 12" and 14" tips, 3 backs, Good looks
Weaknesses: Possible alignment problem

Review: I havent tried a ton of barrels, but I will say this....I'm done testing them now. This barrel system had everything you need. 3 backs (for all sizes of paint) .685, .689, .693, plus it has a 12" tip and a 14" tip. What else do you need???? Oh yeah, did i mention that it was quiet, extremely quiet and dead on accurate. I was at an outdoor field, the guy about 10ft to my right asked me to cover him while he moved up to try and get this guy that was holed up. I sent about 15 shots down range, ended up taking the guy out. The guy to my right asked if i was going to cover him and i told him that i already took the guy out, he gave me a puzzled look and was saying, when? how?...huh?. He said he didnt even hear my marker firing. (thats quiet) I did have a problem with the .693 back having a slight alignment problem with the tips, but the MacDev distributor out of CA said not a prob, and quickly took care of it. If you can still find this barrel system, you better get it, they are disappearing quickly....theres nothing better for the money.
Conclusion: $99 For a possible combination of 6 barrels with all of the most popular sizes of paint being used, why are you still reading, go buy one!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrm72 Tuesday, June 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive barrel and stock.
Marker Setup: 98 custom
dDop forward w/ on/off valve
Macro line
Lapco direct feed
32*starfire front bolt
Double trigger
Dye sticky 3 grip
Mac Dev 2 piece barrel system
Strengths: Easy to use, accuracy.
Weaknesses: My bore wasa little off from the front part of the barrel sytem.
Review: Great barrel system easy to use and to clean shoots unbelievably more accurate than my progressive. Shoots through breaks fairly well unless you have like 3 breaks. Just the back end was extremely accurate. although my boring size was a tad off in the front part. Other than that this was fantastic for sniping and close range but my favorite combo is definately the .689 w/ small front.
Conclusion: Buy it you will be extremely happy and this won't let you down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DISCOUNT Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels on various guns. Probably some others, im pretty sure ive used the pipe as alot of the people i know have it.
Marker Setup: Piranha BL
Matchstik barrel kit
stabilizer
15*assualt block
Recommended
Paintballs:
pretty much anything, ive used low quality zap and higher quality RPS and Draxxus
Strengths: Accuracy of course
aesthetics
quiet
ability to match your paint
Weaknesses: sometimes hard to get off your gun as it is very smooth
Review: I have had this barrel for a decent amount of time, i got it pretty much as soon as i got my gun. This product has done nothing but positively affect my game.

Accuracy: even though it only has 3 backs you can still get a mighty decent fit with pretty much any paintball. From approximately 20 feet away (my backyard) it is very easy to get ball on ball accuracy with no aid from a rest, just holding the gun and shooting normaly. From this distance the paint splatter is generally within 2-2.5 inches. At the chrony station there is a target about 50 feet away. Without using a rest of any kind i can get all the balls within about a 5-7 inch circle. The grouping would probably be much better if i had a gun with minimal kick but this is with a low end piranha so its pretty friggin good.

Looks: This is a very simple looking barrel, silver back and black front with straight porting and a small amount of milling on the backs. It is nothing extravagant but it is a very appealing barrel. It has a very smart looking Mac Dev jewel on the two fronts.

The only negative things I can think of when it comes to this barrel is that
a) when it is screwed onto your gun it can sometimes be difficult to get a firm hold on especially if you have paint on your hands.
b) If you ever play in a concrete wharehouse be careful as to not bang it as you will most likely dent it. I was playing on an indoor field with just a back so i could play super tight and when i slid on the concrete floor which was very slippery from paint my barrel hit the gorund and got a small dent on the edge. But most people will not do this so ya.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel i doubt u could make one better but it is not *PERFECT* as almost nothing is so it gets a nine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hell-Ectr@ Wednesday, May 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none yet
Marker Setup: spyder electra
-mac dev match stick barrel
-dye 03 sticky for e-spyders
-poor man's lignthing bolt
-odyssey halo tsa
-check it sure fit adaptor
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paint i've shot some crappy wal mart paint and got 1 break on 500 its not bad since i felt the balls almost gettin crushed in my hand when i got them in my pods :S
Strengths: -quiets my gun a lot
-shoots damn straight
-looks that kills
Weaknesses: pastic case suck but i bought it for whats inside the case
Review: this kit is just amazing it will improve accuracy dramaticly specially if ut using a stock barrel, when it comes to quality i just cant complain its perfect every part lines up well and the anodizing is verry smooth inside and out the barrel i recommend it to anybody who's lookin for a kit
Conclusion: if ur looking for a solution to your crappy barrel well here it is and comes at an afordable price too
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 20th, 2004 at 3:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

d-shade Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Kingman Barrel, CP 2 Piece
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 with 2003 x-chamber and speedy drop and few mods.
Strengths: Quiet, Accurate, different bore sizes, cheap price.
Weaknesses: No weaknesses I can think of other then the case
Review: Well after going from the stock my accuracy has gone up, but it took me a while to get use to because i was getting pretty good with the stock one.. Its a very nice barrel set. and the barrels are easy to take off but wont get loose while playing. it has a lot of porting so its much quieter then the cp barrels and has the accuracy of the cp's if not better. the barrel cleans its self pretty good too.
Conclusion: I would recomend this barrel set to anyone due to the fact that its cheap in price. and its very accurate and quiet. although i would reccommend getting a new box for the barrels like the dye boom box.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

unoudead Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American, Freak, DYE Ultralight, teardrop, progressive, JT barrels and the matchstik
Marker Setup: Black and Chrome WGP 2k3 VF cocker
ACI flame drop w/ on/off
Ricochet AK
WGP STO ram
WGP CT 3 way
Slegehammer LPR
Orracle Bolt
04' Gladiator reg
MACDev MatchStik barrel kit
Centerflag 420 4500psi 70ci
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS, Chronic, DRAXXUS Midnight..all work well (these are all i hae used with theese barrels
Strengths: UNBELIEVEABLY ACCURATE, shoots well through breaks, cheap, beautiful, made by MACDev, VERY quiet
Weaknesses: case and one of my backs (.693) has a misalignment, can easily be replaced
Review: i played a few times after i got my barrels and i couldn't believe the accuracy, and when it shoots, all you hear is a whisper anyone not knowing what barrel to buy, ur search ends here. honestly the most amazing barrel system i have ever used. AMAZING, u wont be disapointed if u purchase this barrel kit
Conclusion: i reccomend this to everyone who owns a gun with cocker or spyder threads, b/c that's the only threads this kit comes in Ahahahaa.. im and idiot.. .. well .. buy it .. absolutly amazing!! but dont take my word for it .. try it urself
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Madddoggg Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No kits but i have used the sp teardrop, j&j ceramic, whisper, and various stock barrels
Marker Setup: Custom Cocker
Matchstik
AIM Eagle body
Tickler
STO ram
Bomb 3-way
Jackal Internals
Torpedo
Sticky 3s
egg 2
Lady drop
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Multiple bores, backs instead of inserts, mirror polish, easy one the eyes
Weaknesses: "Case" sucks
Review: This is a very nice system, it doesnt have as many bores as a freak or pipe system but its doesnt matter since you wont use many of those bores anyway. The inside of the barrels are polished to a mirror shine and shoot clean in 4/5 shots. Sometime the bakc is a little hard to get off the gun but that is to be expected. The tip has a rear o-ring so alignment is not a problem. There is a .685, .689, and a .693 back so all the major paint sizes are represented. For the money i dont think you could get a better barrel let alone kit.
Conclusion: If your lookin for a kit, buy this!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splawik_NF Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
KXS by KAPP, freak by SP
Marker Setup: Z-timmy
68/4500 MaxFlo
halo b
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus - always, Marbs - if in a range
Strengths: ID coverage - most popular p'balls will fit this barrel
Weaknesses: Hmmm... The box? Nope, the largest one (.693) has some missleading in alignement
Review: Light. It's f*** light. One of the best I've used for my timmy. Cos I'm not usin' it with a cocker, there were no prob with unscrewing it from a marker. Accurate - it's for sure one of a most accurate tubes I've ever used. Quiet? OK, it is quiet, but heard other "whisper barrels". Self cleaning - for sure, but avoid crap balls. Likes good paint. I will cut one point for misalignment in the largest back.
Conclusion: Think, this is the best price/quality ratio over the market. Piece of alu worth its price. Nice work, ausies :))
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media