paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo

Kingman Spyder Rodeo Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Rodeo

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Rodeo
[ View Photos (84) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 432
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-Auto,
12" aluminum barrel,
Regulator with gauge,
expansion chamber,
tournament velocity adjuster,
verticle feed,
sight rail with beavertail,
2-finger double trigger,
bottom line, drop forward,
Works with Co2 or compressed air.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Rodeo is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Robert W. Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna E-Force 2004-good gun-no gauge, Tippman A98 Stealth Package--really big, too big and its a ripoff
Marker Setup: Kingman Rodeo--Electronoc Hopper--Stock Barrel--20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, Electronic Hopper
Strengths: Very good right out of the package, Quiet, nice look, great trigger pull
Weaknesses: Barrel
Review: I decided i needed a new marker so I went looking for one, and found the Rodeo for $130 on the internet. I took it out of the package, set it up, and was amazed at how great it shot with all the stock supplies. Once you upgrade this is a sweet, semi auto that beats out Tippman and Pirahna, and anything else. It's a great gun
Conclusion: If your looking for a reliable, yet great gun the rodeo is perfect for a semi auto. I have shot over 2000 rounds and it hasnt chopped the ball once. It's just a great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neo250 Monday, September 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom (Hated the feel)
Tippman A-5 (Not a bad gun)
WDP Angel 4 Fly (Awesomely fast gun, way too much power for my needs)
I hate to say it, but a Brass Eagle Samurai..doesn't compare, in my eyes the worst piece of plastic made
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo-Camouflage
Pure Energy 12oz CO2
EVIL Spyder Venturi Bolt
New Designz Sypder Clamping Low Rise feed neck
Smart Parts Freak Barrels, Smart Parts JR Freak Barrel set
VL 200-Black, VL eVLution II Smoke, Ricochet Apache LCD Motorized Loader - Smoke
JT Flex-7 Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Smart Parts FREAK Barrels
-Electro Hopper (VL eVLution II, Ricochet Apache LCD Motorized Loader - Smoke)
would be a good idea, but not necessary
Strengths: Feel
Accuracy
Look
Price
Reliability
Weaknesses: Hard to Change Parts, get a pro to do it for you.
Review: Ok, now for the fun...
I bought this gun online, but haven't yet recieved it. (I ordered it yesterday) so for the time being, I'm using my friends. We use the EXACT same marker, I mean I copied his when buying mine because though I've been playing for a year, I'm a rookie.

So the first thing that attracted me to this particular gun as opposed to the famous WDP Angel 4's was the price. I loved the fact that it was so cheap.
For me, price is nothing to worry about because my parents are well off and can pay for it.
But that wasn't it. I saw this gun and instantly fell in love, because it featured everything I was looking for. The power I need without the excess of 20BPS firing at 200-300FPS.
The look is just outstanding. Sleek, stylish, something good to look at.

Then I moved on to the reviews, on here.

I found what I was looking for instantly. Alot of people were saying that the generic barrel was accurate, but it could be better.
I find the generic barrel is amazingly accurate, and for a company that isn't what you'd call high end, (Isn't low end either, somewhere in the infinate void in between) well, I was quite surprised to say the least.

I moved on to the grips. The Trigger grip is comfy and in a good position. When I started playing, the arena we played at offered alot of guns, but the best for rookies was the Tippman 98, so I took it. I HATED the feel of it, so I switched it for an older Spyder.
The foregrip in this gun is awesome. Any gun which includes a good foregrip deserves an A+, and I liked it.

The trigger itself isn't too tight, like the PMI pihranas.
I didn't believe how awesome it was. Maybe we used too much oil. Who knows?
So we got on to the field a few weeks ago and I was using his Rodeo, which he had only bought like a few weeks ago, but he also had an S.P. 2k2 Impulse. Go figure. So he let me use the Kingman.
It isn't a 20BPS like the Impulse, or an Angel, and with a Viewloader eVLution II, it sat at a tidy 8-10 BPS. Which I like.
I also like the fact that its a semi. 1 pull of the trigger, 1 ball. Not 1 click 50 balls. thats a waste.

When we were on the field, I noticed that NO balls chopped. Not one. This was surprising because the Impulse chopped 3.

Hahahahah.

So, anyways, we had been on the field and it showed no wear. Then something happened which I never anticipated. The balls fell out of the hopper! -_-" go figure, just my luck.
Conclusion: So in conclusion, I'd like to say that this product is definately a good buy for beginners or intermediates. There is just so much to love about this gun.
Enjoy your playing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 19th, 2004 at 8:15 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Bacardiboy006 Wednesday, September 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor, Brass Eagle Triton(DIDNT COME CLOSE THE RODEO)
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Gravity Hopper (200rds.)
20oz. Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE guns good out of the box.
Strengths: Very accurate
Doesnt chop balls
Light trigger pull
Weaknesses: No major weaknesses.
Review: The gun is great. I took it out of the box, filled up the CO2 and shot about 6 or 7 hoppers full of paint. NO BALLS CHOPPED!!! . The only bad thing about this gun is that not all paintballs shoot good in the gun. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. If you want your gun to shoot strait. Invest in good paintballs. Other thatn that this gun is a 10 all the way. It has a good design, great redulator, and one of the best stock barrels ive ever seen.
Conclusion: Buy the gun!!! You will love it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pjblacklock Tuesday, December 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo, all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a barrel, but the stock barrel shoots prety accuratly
Strengths: Accurate, doenst chop balls, this product has worked great.
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: I love this marker. This blows my buddies 98 custom out of the water. It has a very light trigger pull that feels very good. I have taken over 1000 shots on one 20 oz co2 tank and its still not empty. I dont know why people have been having problems with this marker but it has worked very well for me. This is an all around good marker.
Conclusion: I would highly reccomend this marker to beginner and intermediate paintballers. I would defienly give this product a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Jonny Bravo Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, Tippman 98C, Piranha
Marker Setup: Rodeo, Spudnuk'l LP bolt, 32* magnaport valve, polished striker, 14 inch J&J ceramic, Check It Surefit feed adapter, 32* springs (medium main, weak valve).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, vertical adapter and reg (see below)
Strengths: Great looks, nice feel, pretty accurate out of the box
Weaknesses: Regulator, vertical adapter
Review: The good: Out of the box this is the best of the non-electro Spyders. Cosmetically this marker is very pleasing, especially to the rec/woods ball player. The matte green finish on the body is combined with a brushed aluminum finish on the barrel, feed neck and beaver tail. The only thing shiny on this gun is the trigger frame. The trigger has no side to side play. The drop forward keeps the gun well balanced with a 20 ounce tank. Finally, the marker has steel-braided line, which is colored green for a nice added touch.

The bad: Kingman chose to make the vertical adapter on this marker non-standard. Therefore, if you have any desire (or need in my case -- more later) to upgrade your reg, you must also invest in a standard vertical adapter. Some possibilities are the CIP 15* assault block, the Bob Long vertical adapter, or a 32* VA. Make sure you budget for this should you upgrade. Also, you'll need to add in some new steel-braided line and standard to metric adapters if you keep the stock drop and adapter.

The ugly: The regulator on this marker is very air-restrictive, and in the case of my rodeo, very poorly constructed. It came out of the box firing at 500psi at just over 200fps. After adjusting the regulator, I was able to bring that speed up to a respectable 295 at 800psi. I then started to tweak the settings and add some aftermarket parts, including a new bolt, valve and spring kit. Through all my testing I fired around 500 rounds through the marker. When all was said and done, I was able to get it running at 300psi and 285fps. Certainly a respectable set of numbers, however to get this I was using a ton of gas.

It came time to take my rodeo out on the field and play some ball. I gassed up my rodeo and noticed something wrong right away. Looking at the gauge, I saw it was reading 850psi, even though I had made no changes since setting it up two days prior. I figured this had to be a gauge malfunction. I set up over the chrono and was firing under 200fps. I spent over 2 hours then troubleshooting my marker and trying to get it in working order. After my efforts, I had an airsmith at the field look at it. His conclusion was the same as mine: the regulator was shot.

I now must purchase a new VA and regulator. Thankfully, I had planned to do this anyway. Unfortunately, I had no intention of doing it after firing less than 500 rounds.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker, although I cannot in good conscience give it a stellar score. For choosing to use a non-standard VA and including a poor regulator I will subtract 3.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004 at 11:57 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

mpepe Wednesday, December 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman's- used a few different setups. All worked good, stock were not as accurate as the rodeo is. Tippman's always felt too long for me.
Xtra- stock- definatally not as accurate upgraded- not much difference, nice to have the adjustable regulator on the rodeo.
Shot various other markers. Some were very nice and expensive but for the price this gun is hard to beat and you don't have to worry about silly electronics.
Marker Setup: Rodeo, Empire Reloader, 20oz CO2, CP 14' barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric Hopper, HPA(but that goes for any gun) not that co2 is bad, just not as consistent, Barrel if you want
Strengths: Bombproof, No silly batteries, Accurate stock barrel, Adjustable regulator, Looks, Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Beavertail is pretty sharp, they could have sanded the edges down.
Review: This gun was surprisingly accurate right out of the box. In all honesty there is not much difference in accuracy and consistency between the stock barrel and the CP. The stock barrel is slightly larger bore than the CP and that may account for the slight improvement using the CP. I would have no problem playing with the stock barrel. It is nice to have the adjustable regulator. Mine seems to be a bit of a gas hog, but it has been pretty cold each time I've played, maybe that has something to do with it. I've been getting only about 800-900 rounds out of a 20oz bottle. Haven't shot any liquid out yet. Haven't chopped a single ball. The trigger pull is definitely lighter than the Tippman's I've been using more recently, you'll probably want an electronic hopper.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for anyone. As my first gun I am very satisfied. You really can be competitive with this gun out of the box. Spend a little on upgrades if you want and you have a very nice and good looking gun. Check around, I found it for $115 which is pretty good for what your getting on this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

ohchiz84 Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom- Pretty comparable, Rodeo much better out of the box but if you plan on putting a lot of money into upgrades on your gun i think a tippman might be the better choice. It really depends on personal preference and what you want to do with it.

Some cheap pirrahna or something- Not nearly as good
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo stock, 14" JJ ceramic, 20oz CO2, java 200rd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-E hopper if you like to shoot more than probably 4 or 5 BPS
-something behind the trigger so there isnt much slack (its sensitive, but it goes too far back)
-Barrel if you want to spend the money. Ive tested a JJ Ceramic, Progressive, and AllAmerican. At short and medium range I couldnt tell the diffrence between an aftermarket and the stock barrel, though at longer ranges it does tighten the pattern some. A new barrel isnt at must though (well if you play back and snipe at distances you should get one), from what ive tried Id say the JJ and All American are my two favorites id go with the JJ bc its about the same costs half as much.
Strengths: Powerful
Comes with reg
Pretty Accurate
Can shoot fast
Weaknesses: Chopped a lot using crappy paint in cold, not with good paint
Review: OK, I'm fairly new to paintball, I've only been playing a couple months. This is my first gun. A guy I know was sorta pusing me toward a tippman, but this marker got good reviews on this website and it was hard to pass up the $120 price tag and all the nice features like a regulator and exp chamber that come standard. I was looking for a gun that was cheap but would keep the game fun for me and stay competitive with higher-end guns.

Ive played with it twice so far. The first time I took it out i was a little worried. I hooked up my tank and started to adjust the regulator up from the factory setting to 700-800psi; but the gauge wouldnt move past 400psi, so I was freaking out and running around trying to get people to help fix my gun for an hour. I had the screw way out and went over to the chrono expecting my ball to roll out, but it read at +370fps. So I think my gauge is defective, it doesnt really matter though. Dont piss your pants if it happens like i did, you just have to guess and test your first outing to get a good setting. The regulator itself keeps your shots consistant, and it helps especially when your tank is low while non regulated guns shoot all over the place. I'm sure there are much better regulators out there, but once youre shooting at mid range factors like wind will probably affect your accuracay more than having your gun shoot maybe 1or 2 fps out of the muzzle more consistant with a better regulator you just spent $50+ to upgrade to.

Anyway, after that I started playing, and I chopped like crazy. Probably 50-100 balls out of the 600 or so i shot. But the field paint was really cheap stuff and it was below 40F and most other people were having the same problem.

Second time I tried it, it was great. I used better paint and it was warmer, mid to upper 50s F. Never had to take my squeegee out of my bag and i shot about 750 balls. The gun is pretty accurate, I was target shooting from about 75 feet with a guy who had a lower end autococker, and I thought I was shooting better than he was.

I think it looks cool too. It has a nice looking body, and I've had a couple people comment to me on the camo anodizing. Someone had never seen a rodeo and thought I got it custom painted somewhere
Conclusion: Personally I'm very happy my rodeo. Yes, the angels, autocockers, automags, etc will have an advantage over you. But the Rodeo can definetly keep you competitive, which is what I was hoping for out of $100 gun. It has a lot of nice features, and its a good cheap markerright out of the box, you dont have to throw hundreds of dollars into upgrades for it, unlike other markers like tippmans. Its a good starter gun, and if I had to choose anothe first marker for myself id pick it again.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 17th, 2005 at 8:13 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punkmr123 Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i've shot many different guns and by far this gun has power and its shot is very persice.
Marker Setup: i use the rodeo and it's stock at the moment other then the automatic hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new trigger. The stock trigger it comes with sticks some times so id recommend a new trigger. Also a new barrel if you don't like the stock barrel on it . i also would say get a automatic hopper for it.
Strengths: Spyder Rodeo has power and its shot is very persice.
Weaknesses: The Trigger
Review: For the many different guns that ive shot (tippman 98, spyder compact 2000, piranha pro ts,ect.) the rodeo is by far the best gun. if played in 7 games so far with it and i haven't had a single ball brake in the barrel. Spyder put the gun together well. the weight is equaled out well. The gun is very good for tournaments easy to fix if something happens. The only problem i had was with the trigger and how it kept't sticking. Overall very good gun, i would take it any day.
Conclusion: Good gun. good for all players. i would request it for any player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

milo#11 Tuesday, January 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman - xtra and imagine
Tippmann - model 98 and custom 98
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo nothing yet but I have a 18 in Dye boomstick barrel.
Strengths: Shots straight and doesn't break but about 1 or 2 balls in a day.
Weaknesses: Not any that I have found.
Review: It is a great gun for anyone that shots it. Don't have to worry about balls breaking because it does really well. Shot straight. Very reliable gun. Does not cost a hole lot and is a gun that you can play with and have a lot of fun with.
Conclusion: Great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VagabondStarJXF Wednesday, August 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Paradox MF1
Inferno
Marker Setup: Primary - Spyder Rodeo (Green): 8" Armson Pro Barrel, Kingman ESP IPI 3.0, eVLution 2 Hopper, Evil Scion 68cu HPA/Nitro System, CIP 15* Assault Block, Bob Long Torpedo Regulator, CIP Full Force Delrin Bolt, Lapco Clamping Feedneck, Maddmann Rocket Valve, KAPP 800psi Microgauge, Marksmann Addon Drop, Maddmann Springs, Belsales Macroline Kit.

Secondary - Pre 2000 Autococker (Black): STO Ram, Outkast Adjustable Front Regulator, Angel Inline Regulator, Dark Vengeance Delrin Bolt, Fake Suppressor, XTreme X-10 Drop, Marksmann On/Off Adapter, 20oz CO2 Tank with Anti Syphon Tube and On/Off Valve, WGP Ammo Box Hopper... and the rest is stock!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Delrin or Nylatron Bolt
New Barrel (I originally went for a 14" Ceramic and now I'm on a 8" Armson Pro)
New Springs.
Decent Hopper.
Strengths: Cheap, cheerful, stylish and reliable marker that's very easy to upgrade. Worthwhile upgrading too.
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel.
Stock Bolt.
Stock Front Block (ASA, LPC, Reg).
Stock Valve.
Review: I got my Spyder Rodeo back in March (2004) and the first thing that hit me about it was the way it looked. The milling and the matte finish made the color scheme, Green and Silver, appeal to me (which is strange as I normally go for Black and Red). It was almost ready to rock right out of the box, just needed to add gas and ammo. I got it running and that's when I started noticing little problems. I couldn't chrono the marker anywhere above 250fps. Then I noticed that I couldn't raise the reg above 500psi. I stripped and cleaned the marker in the hopes of finding what the problem was and noticed that the tip of the bolt was being destroyed by metal beneath the feed neck. The funniest error I found was the stock valve. I played for 3 months before my marker stopped working. I decided to take out the valve for the first time to clean it thoroughly and found that it'd been put in backwards. It was a miracle that it had worked at all! Over the course of the following 4 months I changed the springs, the bolt, the valve, the front block and the reg in order to correct this problem. I actually upgraded almost everything on this marker during this period but it was those particular changes that made the difference. I actually liked the original LPC and ASA block but had to remove them because the reg was not held on by a standard ASA. I'd wanted to upgrade it anyway but necessity an' all that...

Now for the good points. All the pieces came off easily and were replaced just as easily with aftermarket parts. It was unbelievably easy to upgrade this marker, customising it to the way that's wanted without destroying the aesthetically pleasing appearance. I've posted a pic at http://www.spyderea.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=12661 if you want to see what I've done to mine so far. It's affordable to say the least and it's much better looking than the Spyder Pilot which was released at the same time. It's immediately comfortable in the hand thanks to the wrap around grips that come as standard on it. The balance is nice and, at stock, has a fairly good range and accuracy. It may not be an Electro marker but I had a lot of fun with it before I added an electro trigger frame. I found it extremely easy to maintain but being a Spyder that shouldn't be a surprise, I guess. It's a simple marker that can stand out from the crowd, whether it's upgraded or not. I didn't chop at all when my marker was running stock internals with different barrels. I went through about 6000 rounds with a zero break record. That's kinda amazing really considering how fast I got firing with the thing (years of playing light gun video games really helps).

You want a cheap but cool looking paintball marker? Get a Rodeo.
You want a marker upgrade project that'll give major kudos points? Ditto.
You want something that's reliable and fairly accurate from the get go? Ditto again.
You want something that'll work out of the box without any fault for the rest of your life without you ever needing to maintain or upgrade it? Then go spend $1500 on a high end marker that's been maxxed out at the factory and pay someone to maintain it for you. Either that or keep dreaming.

This is a cheap and cheerful marker that has more potential than most markers. It won't be the most 'bling' but it don't need 'bling' because it's just got 'style'. It's a diamond that's been pre cut for you. You just need to let it shine.

*edit* I'm updating my Rodeo projects. Follow my progress here: http://spyderea.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=17731
Conclusion: It loses a lot of points on a few things but regains a lot on upgradability and overall reliability. It definitely regains points for pure style as you've got to really go out of your way to make it look bad. Easy maintenance also brings back a few points but the fact that you really need to oil the marker up before your first use subtracts again. The final score is only pushed back up by the 'fun' factor. It's a lot of fun to own, use and upgrade. Taking all this into account I have to give this marker either an average 6 for stock or a hefty 9 for the results that I've achieved with it. That's an overall of 7.5 so I guess I'll round it up to 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 27th, 2007 at 5:34 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media