paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo

Kingman Spyder Rodeo Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Rodeo

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Rodeo
[ View Photos (84) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 432
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-Auto,
12" aluminum barrel,
Regulator with gauge,
expansion chamber,
tournament velocity adjuster,
verticle feed,
sight rail with beavertail,
2-finger double trigger,
bottom line, drop forward,
Works with Co2 or compressed air.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Rodeo is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
shadonite Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 (good gun but not very good for speedball and the barrel isn't good at all)
Brass Eagle Raider (yeah.....)
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo with ESP C.A.M.D E-Frame
20 oz Catalina co2 tank
eVlution II hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel if you want...
An Electro hopper
Maybe an E-frame if u really wanna shoot fast....
Strengths: Really light trigger pull
Good stock barrel
Quiet!!
Good reg
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is a really good gun. Seriously......I have owned this thing for 6 months maybe more......I haven't had many problems with it....the only big problem with it was I chopped a ball (shooting to fast on a gravity loader) and a peice of the shell became lodged between the inside on the gun and the bolt....so it wouldn't re-cock and I couldn't cock it back because it jammed.....I got it out later though by spraying the bolt with water and waiting a few hours and then cocking it. The trigger pull on this thing is so light.....what I do is put some oil where the trigger is held into the gun and just shoot....makes the pull seem lighter...but I'm not sure if it acually does.I probably hit at least 10 bps on the mech frame because one time I was shooting out in my backyard. and I started rather fast.... when I finished shooting, the gun had ice crystals on it, the barrel turned to ice and also turned white, my co2 tank was pretty much a giant ice block, and the gun was so cold the coldness went through my gloves and into my hands....and I thought I got frostbite haha.
Also this gun is so quiet, I swear when I'm out shooting my gun all I hear is the sound of the liquid in the co2 bottle going *Bing* I honestly cannot here the thing shoot....except when I dry fire ......I think the gun has to be broken in to work the way I have it now ( I put more than 7,000 paintballs through this gun) and also out of those 7,000 maybe only 20 broke ONLY because I was shooting to fast for a gravity loader...The accuracy on the stock barrel is rather good......I was hitting a five inch wide pole from at least maybe.......20 ft and about every ball hit the pole. Also I was shooting at a bucket at at least 40 ft away and most shots were about maybe 3 or 4 inches from where I wanted it to hit. Now that may be sort of bad.....but considering it was 40 degrees F outside and I was using co2.....that's pretty good.....I guess.......The number of shots I get from this thing is really good...I get maybe 1200 shots on a 20 oz co2 bottle.....the gun is also very light......that's all i really have to say....

*edit* Well I bought an evo II and an ESP frame and now I can shoot a constant 13 bps.....and NO problems at all!! I've shot well over 12,000 rounds through this gun and the worst problem I ever had was that jam I mentioned earlier.......Which is VERY impressive.

*edit again* I got a C.A.M.D 2.0 board off my friend for free so now I can hit up to 17 bps and once again the Rodeo perfomed great! I've shot maybe about 30,000 paintballs though it and the only ones that chopped were because of my hopper being too slow.
Conclusion: Well I guess I got one of the good guns because I never expected a gun like this to perform the way it does now. So yeah....BUY IT
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 7th, 2006 at 8:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drakonis08 Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom (pretty god but i like rodeo)
Spyder Xtra (not as good as rodeo)
Marker Setup: sPyder rodeo w/ 3A hpa 68cu 3000psi, shocktech superfly
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric hopper for fast shooting
switch to nitro (way better than CO2)
3.0 ecd electric frame
barrel ( but stock is good) dye, J&J, smart parts
Bolt
Strengths: accurate out of the box
good price(160$ for a pakage on ebay)
looks grEAT
Weaknesses: Loud stock bolt
Review: when i took this gun out of the box, ifell in love with it. i took it outside and compared it with my bros 98 custom with an upgraded barrel and mine was still hella better. i installed i bought a new barrel but it was'nt as good as stock. but the one i bought was sh*tty and the brand was nothing ive ever heard of. this gun is great for recreational playin or tournement playing on the feild. i tried my friends Xtra and mine was better. if u buy this gun, u shold get nitro tank (aka compressed air) its way better than CO2 because it stays at a consistent level of psi even when the gas drops as CO2 makes your balls droop when its low. plus u get way more shots. if u were going to get a barrel i recommend Dye barrels or all american or j&j. the best i have ever used. I Have NEVER chopped a ball in this gun yet. and ive had this for 3 months and i went a total of 7 times. ppl that r rich should get the electric frame cause u can pull the trigger HELLA fast so u barly have to pull and all u do is tap the trigger.
Conclusion: This gun is the sh*t.
You wont regret buying this gun
Great for mid level and new players
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 12th, 2004 at 11:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jumpcannon Friday, October 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 (i like rodeo better cause more upgradeable)
Marker Setup: smart parts 14" barrel, compressed air and co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, delrin bolt, rocking trigger
Strengths: Price
Reliability
Highly upgradable
Weaknesses: Bolt friction
Feedneck
Can't really walk trigger
Review: I know there are spyder haters out there....here is the real deal on the gun.....as a designing engineer and machinist i create and manufacture stuff like this all the time....first the body.....strong and interior is well honed and polished, milling on the exterior is not absolutely perfect, but this is only cosmetic. ultimately what is important is the interior of the frame, well job. Second....trigger frame is a little cheap.....looks casted and chrome plated....but you probably couldn't tell or care. Third.....barrel......looks ok, 12"....well honed inside and gets the job done. It has really nice chamfer to initially guide ball in barrel. Fourth......guts.....bolt is ok, it gets a little scratched up and maybe because of blowback forcing the bolt upwards creating friction from the feed neck hole. Striker and valve is very well machined and works great. Regulator is allright....it needs to be snugged by the two set screws holding it in place every once in a while. Comes with a pressure guage which is great to keep an eye on your operating pressure.
Conclusion: This gun is manufactured to save money, yet the tolerances and finishes that are critical for operation are great....Extremely simple to operate and break down. I have used the sh*t out of this gun for two years and never had one single problem. I have used delrin material for numerous things...it's very popular for the fact it does not wear out from friction. A delrin bolt would be a huge upgrade. Overall you can upgrade the bolt, barrel, trigger, and run compressed air and have a very reliable competitive marker for a descent price. Other gun are like clothes.....high priced for the name. Don't get me wrong....electro guns with nice finishes and clean corners are more costly to manufacture....but you pay for it. Spyder guns have the consumer in mind and quality for what really counts.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ratters Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98.
Spyder MR2
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo.
ESP Rocking Trigger Frame.
Empire Reloader 2 Electric Hopper.
20oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
ESP Rocking Trigger Frame.
Barrel.
Stock.
Strengths: Very robust and accurate.
Very quiet.
Low and easy to maintain.
Hardly chops.
Weaknesses: Sharp beavertail (But this can be removed).
Slow.
Huge trigger pull.
Review: This is the first marker I have ever had, and for the price I paid for it, it's amazing. The barrel needs upgrading to something longer and more accurate, but it does the job. I have upgraded to the ESP Trigger Frame, which allows me to do more bps. The beavertail is also very sharp, but this can be unscrewed from the marker, all it does it protect you from the bolt. Cleaning the gun is also very easy, but does need re-oiling after use (The same for every marker). This marker hardly ever chops and is very efficient.
Conclusion: An excellent beginner and pro gun. It can be easily upgraded as you become more of a pro (But that takes time). Cleaing and maintaining is easy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 at 5:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

klockness Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other spyder's, Shutter(not even close), imagine(tested, not bad), Special Edition w/esp(nice gun), viewloader trash
Marker Setup: Rodeo with teardrop barrel, HPA, dragun compact trigger frame and body, rodeo reg, vert. adapt internals and a modified stock bolt, valve mod, vert adapt. mod, empire reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Doesn't need anything it shoots great out of the box, you can add what you want as you can afford it
Strengths: Accurate
Consistant
Very Upgradable
Regulator
Great starter
Cheap now $110ish
Weaknesses: Kinda loud with stock barrel and CO2
Beaver tail
Long Trigger Pull
Review: This is my first gun. For a while I was using my friend's Shutter. There is no comparison, the Rodeo is great. I did plenty of research. Just look at the reviews, despite some bad reviews this gun still rates near a ten. I am convinced you can't buy a better gun without spending at least 100 or more dollars extra. You can find the Rodeo everywhere for 120-130. You can take it on the field, straight out of the box and not feel like you have an inferior gun. Then you can build the gun up as you wish they make everything for this gun. When I first cronoed the gun it was already shooting around 275 fps and never shot more that 279 or less that 270. I've had a few problems when its was cold but thats mainly do to CO2 and bad paintballs. I need HPA next. The regulator is not the best, but its 1000 times better than not having ove, or the one on the shutter. It makes the CO2 shoot like comparable guns on HPA. Oh yeah, make sure you adjust the regulator properly. I have heard of several people not adjusting the regualtor on their spyder and then the gun doesn't work correctly. They blame it on the spyder being a cheap gun but its because they can't read directions. With the teardrop barrel this gun shoots really accurate. The gun was loud(again CO2) but it got quieter with the new barrel. The trigger pull is really long. I modified that a little but eventually I want to get the ESP trigger frame. The beaver tail is sharp, and got completely bent out of shape. Thats probably my only big complaint but who cares about the beaver tail. The gun already has a double trigger, small drop forward, one of the best stock barrels, vertical regulator with guage, and anything else you expect on a gun.

(update) I've been using this gun for a year. I have made several mods, to lower pressure and increase ROF. This gun has given me no major problems. Once I put HPA and a mechanical hopper this gun works like a champ, no problems, no chops. Its been used for a year as my only gun, and I have only replaced a couple of o-rings, not bad considering I take it apart and try some crazy experement with it every other time I use it. See http://www.ottersccustoms.com/index.html for lots of mods to lower pressure and what not. The price dropped on some places to about $110. Again this is still a great beginner upgradeable gun.
Conclusion: This is a great, inexpensive gun with a lot of upgrades. You can play with it as it is and feel confident in it. It can also be upgraded to perform with some of the most expensive guns on the market. Its a great deal for the price and for the beginner who would like to get serious one day and wants a cheap gun that can grow with them, you can't beat this.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 28th, 2005 at 7:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbing4life Monday, November 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The spyder compact deluex (stock) -it is no match for the rodeo.
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo-compresed air (Pure Energy 48ci 3000psi)
Recommended
Upgrades:
compressed air
Strengths: good stock barrel, low mantanence, & up grades are not required
Weaknesses: none
Review: the spyder rodeo is a great gun it shots strate it is great stock and will increace your game expierence.you will enjoy this marker and not have any problems with it. with compressed air it works wonderfully.It shoots strater and ferther the the compact has a built in pressure regulator an anti dubble feed so you will never see doubles agean.
Conclusion: Buy it and you will be satisfied. the spyder rodeo is worth every penny and at a great price it is afordable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TOF_177 Sunday, July 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, A5, Imagine, Spyder One, Tippman Pro-Lite , Shocker, Impulse , Autococker , Automag
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix
20 oz. and 16 oz. CO2
Maddman Spring Kits
CORE Anti-Chop Bolt for Spyder
CORE Coiled Remote w/Slide Check & QD
14' CORE Series Paintball Barrel
Nelson ANARCHY! Tournament Paintballs
Kingman Fasta Paintball Loader - 18v LCD
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper
ESP Frame
New Barrel(up to you stock barrel works fine)
Maybe a new drop forward
Strengths: Accuracy, easy to clean, light trigger pull, low pressure chamber and pressure guage included.
Weaknesses: None.THIS GUN IS THE BEST!!
Review: I would recommend this gun to any beginner who wants to get a great gun for a great price,or an experienced player who is looking to get a gun to hold them over for a while.
For anyone, this gun is great, it can shoot fast without chopping, it is accurate, relatively quiet, and a gun that does ont use a lot of your CO2.I used roughly 1000 paintballs(and most of it was some of the worst paint you can get)and it only chopped 2 or three!That was a huge plus for me.
Conclusion: Over all this gun is great!It can shoot fast without chopping, it is accurate, relatively quiet, and a gun that does ont use a lot of your CO2.I would recommend this gun to any one yhat is looking for a good gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 10th, 2007 at 1:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DerAdler Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Most low end mechs
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
J&J Ceramic
Spring Kit
Empire Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
All the usual stuff (barrel, etc.)
Strengths: Cheap
Not bad looking
Weaknesses: Not worth the amount of money
Review: Now I know your thinking "He said it is good because it is cheap but hen contradicted himself and said it is not worth the amount of money". Yes i realize in a way I did contradict myself but I meant it in other ways. $115 for a paintball gun is by no means a bad price. In fact it is a very good price. The problem is all you are paying for is a Xtra with a bit of different milling and a cheap regulator. With out a doubt, most Spyders are very much alike. Some people say they are all the same which is not entirely true but they are on the right track. I liked this gun when I initially got it but then realized it shot the same, if not worse then my Xtra. Yes some people say that the milling itself is wortht the money but I want to know, who actually looks at their gun during a game and thinks it looks good?
Conclusion: Just buy a Xtra or TL-X instead and buy aftermarket parts, you won't be sorry
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Chevy57Envy Thursday, July 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most of the Spyders
A Few Tippmans
An Evil Omen (Not really Similar)
A couple of Autocockers (Again Not really Similar)
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Check It Products 15° Assault Block
Spyder E-Grip
Senario Dreams T-Board w/eyes
Senario Dreams Ramping Chip
50 Gram Trigger Switch
Sundragon Snapdragon Magnetic Trigger
Custom Products Grip Regulator
Custom Products Razor Drop Forward with ASA
Micro Lines
Sundragon Dragonfly Striker
Maddman Rocket Valve
Kingman ACS Bolt
J&J Ceramic Barrel
Trinity Paintball Locking Feedneck
Upgraded Springs
Halo B Loader with V35 Board and Delrin Cone
PMI Pure Energy 68 Nitro Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
It depends on the Player.

Switching for C02 to Air is a Must (it is cheaper and it helps keep your marker from breaking those pesty o-rings all the time)
New Barrel (the stock one was alright, but you can always improve)
New Trigger Frame (I bought this marker because I wanted to upgrade it piece by piece, so it depends on the player, I went to an Electric frame to compete with everyone else that have faster markers)

If you want to go Low Pressure, I would recommend a new regulator, new valve, new springs, and a new bolt to start it off.
Electric Hopper

Also remove that flimsy beaver tail
Strengths: Easy to Upgrade
Easy to Maintain
Weaknesses: The Vertical feed is not universal
beavertail
Review: Overall just a great marker. The build quality is excellent, and there are a ton of aftermarket upgrades that you can use. If you plan on getting a spyder and upgrading, do your research, and you could easily build a marker that can compete with the higher end markers. Just make sure that the aftermarket equipment that you buy is capatible with this marker.
Conclusion: I would recomend this product for beginners and/or paintballers that enjoy modifying their markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb4life21 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Odyssey Halo Hopper w/ Rip Drive and Warrior Shell
Pure Energy 68 4500 Carbon Fiber Tank
Shocker/Nerve Roller Trigger

07 WGP Outkast Sniper 2
ViewLoader Revolution Hopper
Pure Energy 68 4500 Carbon Fiber Tank

Spyder Compact 2000
ViewLoader 200 Hopper
20 oz. Co2 Tank
16 inch Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel
Better Internals (Bolt, Velocity Shim, Spring)
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: This was my second marker and it served me well. (I sold it.) This is a great basic spyder marker. I shoot consistent and I rarely have chops. The Rodeo is a good marker for basic or beginner player. The marker is very easy to clean and all you have to do is pull out the pin and the rest should come out. A quick squeegee through and your done. Very simple. The Rodeo is very durable and can take some damage. The Rodeo is a little heavy with a full hopper and C02. When I first got the marker it was shooting not as far as it should. A new spring and velocity shim and it was running at full speed. The beaver tail gets in the way when you try to re-cock the marker. A quick unscrew of one bolt and your good. Overall this marker is nice.
Conclusion: I would get this marker for a basic or beginner player. Easy maintenance, easy to play with.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 16th, 2007 at 3:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media