paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5

Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Chipley Custom Machine

Buy Chipley Custom Machine Series 5

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Chipley Custom Machine Series 5
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 10.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $390

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A professional level cocker at an entry level price. Built with all the same internals and pneumatics as the J2. The difference between the Series 5 and the J2 is mainly aesthetics, and weight. And like everything else from CCM, the S5 is warrantied for life and proudly made in the USA. The S5 comes in polished Black, with polished pneumatics. Each of the components is hand tested and inspected to ensure the highest level of performance and reliability. Now shipping with the CCM 12" Barrel.

- 12" Aluminum One Piece Barrel
- CCM Clamping Feedneck
- Laser Engraved Insignia
- Hand Inspected and Tuned
Product Availability 
The Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
bradu Tuesday, September 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
1999 WGP left feed cocker, slide trigger, tricked out palmers, dye, etc... (the slide trigger is better than wgp's hinge)
2003 WGP vert cocker with hinge, tricked tickler, belsales ram/3way, freak, rat valve, oracle bolt, etc... Not even close, the Chipley blew this gun out of the water, no contest.
Marker Setup: Chipley mini drop
Matchstick Barrel 14" .689 back
PE 68ci 3000 hpa
Eggy 2 Y-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is the ONLY upgrade you will ever need to do
Strengths: Light weight, Awesome Trigger Pull, No chopping at all...
Weaknesses: Only one..., stock barrel. Acceptable but there are better ones out there.
Review: Well,

I got my new cocker and played with it for the first time Sept 19th, one word, awesome... The trigger is amazing, makes a hinge look like crap. Smooth pull with almost no effort, first day out with it and I never short stroked once.

I have owned 2 other cocker's in the past one slider and one hinge, never liked the trigger on either one, sold them both they were so crappy. Not this baby, it won't be going anywhere.

Incredibly light too, the only cocker I've ever had my hands on that may be lighter is a Dye ultralight and it's pretty close...

The gun is quiet as hell, cycles ultra smooth and has a very unique look.
The only drawback (and I mean the ONLY drawback) is the stock barrel is not great, but that is true of almost any gun you buy, a barrel upgrade is the first upgrade most people do. (I'm thinking to go with a Matchstick kit from MacDev)

Couple of other nice features, clamping feedneck stock, delrin/alum bolt stock, stainless cocking rod/pump arm/timing rod stock, pneumatics are among the best out there, no need to upgrade ever. No need to pull bolt to adjust hammer lug, no need to pull cocking rod to adjust velocity, all Chipley's are hand tuned before they leave the factory, and they have a lifetime warranty..., Sweet!!!

Conclusion: Buy one, if you can afford the J2 go for it, if not the Series 5 are pretty much the same gun without the fancy milling, trust me you will be impressed...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 9:45 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Mder Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99 Avant (only thing better is the speed, but only by one bps)
Marker Setup: Primary:
CCM Series 5 (black matte)
System X Drop Forward w/On/Off
Evlution II (smoke)
68 CI 3000 PSI Crossfire Carbon Wrapped Tank

Backup:
Spyder E-99 Avant
Evil Delrin Bolt
32* Clamping Feedneck
Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward w/On-Off
12V Revolution w/X-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit - the stock isn't bad, but its always nice to have a kit

Accessories:
HPA/N2/Compressed Air - its all the same stuff, just call it what you want
Agitated Hopper
Strengths: Lightweight, fast, short trigger pull, recoiless, price, has some delrin
Weaknesses: Looks, no gauge port, paint job
Review: Pros:

Lightweight:
Without a tank, and a hopper it weighs only 2.5 pounds. Even with everything its very light for a cocker. If you have a light tank, then you're all set with one of the lightest cockers made.

Speed:
For a mech cocker this thing rips. My friend got it up to 13 bps consistantly. I can outshoot my 12V Revolution (it only feeds like 11 bps for real) with it if I try. Everyone I shot all thought I was using an electro, since they saw a huge barrage of balls coming at them.

Delrin:
The bolt is half delrin half aluminum. The part that is aluminum is the part that doesn't touch the marker so It won't scatch. The pull pin is also delrin. All you need is a delrin back block if you are going to go all delrin.

Trigger:
This thing is set very short. I could pay $20 to have someone else do it, and get the same results. Its not the shortest pull, but its good enough.

Barrel:
It is almost a real self cleaning barrel. After a break or chop, I shoot like twice and its fine. Even with paint in the barrel it's still pretty accurate.

Recoil:
Since its a closed bolt marker it has very little recoil. The result of this is better that you can hold your gun straight for longer. It isn't true that closed bolt markers are more accurate, its just that they have less recoil resulting in you staying on target.

Price:
It has an amazing price of $390. When I bought it it was $500. For what you get its a great deal.

Cons:

Looks:
It looks like a matrix without milling and much skinnier. Personally I don't mind, but for all you who want a cocker with sexy milling like the orracle or outkast this gun isn't for you. I don't mind since people always underestimate the gun, then I shoot them and they think otherwise.

No GaugePort:
I wish I could put a gauge on both the regs, but there isn't a port for one. I know that the LPR runs from 0-70 PSI and I've got it set near the middle, but I don't know what the inline reg is set to.

Paint Job:
For 2004 CCM released two different paint jobs for the black Series 5. One is a matte and the other is a gloss. The matte scatches very easily, for me this is bad since I can't stand scratches, but I'll get over it. If you get it in another color (very rare) you might not have the choice between matte and gloss.
Conclusion: Great marker. I wouldn't recomend it before a tournament, unless you already have a cocker that's not as good. It makes a great second gun, and first cocker. If you want to be different and have a lesser known cocker get this gun it's great.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 1st, 2004 at 6:49 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

guitarocker15 Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Icon Z, my gun
PMI Piranha
This gun makes the $300 Piranha I played with seem like a dollar store pickup.
Marker Setup: i dont remember its not mine, i think it was all stock stuff though
Recommended
Upgrades:
it doesnt need any upgrades, but if you can find anything wrong with it i congradulate you
Strengths: shoots hard, very quiet, extremely light and accurate.
Weaknesses: none..maybe the price..
Review: This gun is flawless! I went paintballing with a guy who had this gun. It was scary. It shoots like a frickin sniper rifle and is as quiet as BB gun. It also leaves hecka fat welts. It's really light, easy to carry around, and once you've got someone in your sights, theyre gone. Its about as loud as when i shoot my gun without and CO2 in it. I can't say enough about the series 5. There's no reason not to buy this gun..if you find it at a price you want buy the heck out of it
Conclusion: It kicks butt
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Brutus Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2001 WGP Vert. feed Autococker (Friend let me use a couple of times.)
Marker Setup: CCM Series 5, Ricochet AK, St!ffi Switch barrel kit (with CCM control bores), SystemX 68/3000, CP Dovetail and On/Off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kits are a good idea for most Autocockers (or so I'm told). In the right hands it's probably fast enough to warrant an electronic hopper (I use a Ricochet AK, but I doubt I'm that fast yet). Other than air (CO2 is a BAD idea) and an air source adapter it's pretty nice right out of the box.
Strengths: Fast for a mechanical marker.
Delrin Bolt.
Nice warranty.
Great bang for the buck.
Weaknesses: Grips and frame could be more comfortable.
A factory air source adapter would be nice.
Review: I had to wait WAY too long to get my grubby little fingers on one of these. It's really just a well put together Autococker with some nice accesories. The one I bought is a 2004 which means it has an adjustable front reg and CCM barrel instead of the smart-parts one (remember kids... smart parts pattented EVERYTHING, so now we all must quake before their mighty army of lawyers... sorry, the AKA thing really burned me so I take snipes at SP when I can.) With a barrel kit on it the shot grouping is far superior to my previous marker (a spyder imagine with a Dye Boomstick, what a waste of a good barrel). You get alot for what you spend, but you still spend nearly $500 for the 2004, that's alot of money for someone used to $150 spyders, but the performance is worth it if you're gonna play often. My only complaint is the grip, which can downright uncomfortable for wusses with soft little girl hands such as myself.
Conclusion: Odds are if you're considering one you don't need a review to tell you which way to go. Most of the folks I know who are buying these know exactly what they're getting into. That having been said, I love mine and would buy it again given half a chance. Who needs those fancy ultra fast electros anyway... Given that I see it as the best marker in its price range it gets a ten, that by no means makes it as good as markers costing more.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Custom Bushy Thursday, February 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 2k2 with all the goodies
Marker Setup: CCM- Series-5
Palmers pneumatics
Kapp drop w/ on/off
macro heavyflow line
superfly bolt
PMI 68/3000
evlution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
better bolt the progressive it comes with is fine and macro line is a must for all guns
Strengths: light
best mechanical trigger
small profile 3/4 the size of a normal cocker
Weaknesses: none
Review: I just recently purchaced this fine specimen and its lovely. It may not be to pretty but it beats my 2k2 WGP with ANS pneumatics and ANS reg with ANS internals and an STO hinge with superfly bolt. The trigger pull is sick I can walk the trigger with ease no joke. They gun is light way light and with the upgrades I have done its only lighter. Stock reg is good but no slot for a gauge.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to any cocker fan because its simply the best non-electro cocker I have ever shot or owned. I love my Bushy but it is no cocker I will tell you that.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Justinrq4 Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
lots of autocockers, timmies, impulses, shockers, angles,
Marker Setup: series 5 autococker, pmi drop, halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
you dont need any upgrads, even the barrel shoots great, if you want get an eblade, im gona get one
Strengths: everything, I love this gun, accrate, fast, smooth. what else do you want
Weaknesses: short strock, once u shoot it a few times youll get use to it.
Review: man, o man, I love this gun, i used it today, and it ripped. i could shoot this gun so fast everyone could not believe that it did not have an eblade. theres not much i can say. it is the best of the best for a mechanel. some people said that it look bad in the rewiews but thats not true at all., it looks verry cleen. i got lots of complants on it and every one was impressed. most people think you need to have an electro to play tourmants and only one of our guys has an eblade, and we all tear up those electros.
(i still love electros)
Conclusion: i recommend this gun to anyone even the pros, well youll need an eblad if your pro. pick on up today.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 16th, 2004 at 8:02 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

House Friday, October 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
System X
Black Magic
Orr-acle
Marker Setup: CCM Series 5
12V Revy
Stiffi Front / Freak Back
CCM Low-Rise Feedneck
Dye Gauge
CCM Drop
ACI On/Off
WGP 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
As with every marker, you need to decide on what barrel other than stock you are going to put on it. The CCM drop is a great choice for this marker also.
Strengths: The best low cost auto-cocking marker.
Weaknesses: Not bling bling. Who cares!
Review: This marker rocks. Pure and simple. It is not the prettiest out there, it is more of the stealth or sleeper style. The mechanical trigger is awesome. The internals are silky smooth. It works awesome with the included low-rise clamp feedneck with the Revvy. I put on a Halo and no-rise and had feeding problems... They come well protected in a foam lined plain box, pre-timed and ready to hook up your air lines, drop, tank, and hopper. It comes with the Smart Parts Progressive barrel in matching matte black. It will work fine until you can put something else on there. I also decided to add the Dye gauge so I could see what the reg was doing. It seems to keep up just fine even while you are ripping through the paint. The CCM IVG is really a great idea also. No more screwing around with the cocking rod to adjust your velocity!
Conclusion: If you want an awesome cocker, don't have to pick your hair or check your gold tooth in your reflection on it, and don't have to play with the price tag still on it to impress your friends, then this is the marker for you!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 27th, 2003 at 2:24 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fossilhead Thursday, October 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k1 STO, Fireball mountain autococker, 97 autococker
Marker Setup: Chipley Custom Machine Series 5, Dye mini drop PMI 45cu in 5000 psi tank, Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel of preference.
Strengths: Every upgrade a player could want is already on this thing! The best mechanical trigger.
Weaknesses: Zero Zip NADA
Review: Some people think the body isn't pretty. WHO CARES This marker is all about performance. For the price it's a steal. This is the same company that makes the Works Autocockers. And this has the same parts. If you have any doubts check the reviews on Works. You couldn't ask for more for this price. If you really want a bright blue and green marker with poorer performance there's plenty out there that you can waste a grand on.
Conclusion: Pro or Rec players should pick this one up. It's a great marker at a great price. Use this as your primary marker and sell your pink electro whatchamabob
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

simonsaysguy Monday, September 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Series 5
7 piece matchstick kit
ccm on/off and rail
68/3000 cf tank
egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you want this marker to rip better than anything:
eblade or raceframe
Macdev Gladiator
a barrel kit
all delrin bolt and backblock if you go electric
Strengths: sexy
smooth
accurate
fast
reliable
comes upgraded with excellent stuff
CCM
sexy
Weaknesses: None that are important.
Review: I have had NO problems with this marker. It has worked perfectly for me through all my games and tournys. Which have been over 15 days worth of playing. The quality and reliability alone make this gun awesome. It shoots extremely accurate...and the trigger pull is almost short enough to walk. When it shoots it is very smooth and quiet. The upgrades on this marker are almost top of the line so you dont need to upgrade at all. This marker looks simple but it is sexy. All my friends see my marker and want to make love to it.
I will always cherish my series 5.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a mech marker buy this one. If you are looking for an electric marker buy this one and put an eblade or raceframe on it. I can guarantee that you will not be disappointed with this marker...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

chris in va Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra with a few upgrades/mods, but hardly 'similar'
Marker Setup: Stock series 5, blue anno
CP 12"
Bullet drop, mid size
Empire Reloader
Pure Energy 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eblade later maybe? At this point, I'm thinking it may not be an actual upgrade. The trigger is *that* nice.
Strengths: Solidly made, very smooth action, easy to work on. Very high quality piece of workmanship.
Weaknesses: Plain milling, regulator hose position is awkward. Not weaknesses though.
Review: This review will be updated periodically the more I use it. Right now, after having my Spyder Xtra for a few weeks, this thing is butter. Smooth, very quiet, comfortable to shoot. I was the only one not chopping balls in the cold.

The marker is actually user-friendly. The velocity adjuster is easy to use. I can't believe how easy it is to clean...just pull the bolt, that's it. I haven't tinkered with the pneumatics yet...and don't plan to anytime soon.

The Series 5 now comes in blue, red, green or black if you buy them at a designated CCM retailer. Only the flat powdercoated black is offered from the factory (EDIT: now comes in anno'ed black). Also they ARE drilled for the 'eye' now if you get the '04 model. Delrin/aluminum bolt too. The feed neck is fantastic. The '04 markers come with a proprietary CCM barrel instead of the Progressive.

*One thing though, if you get one be sure to inspect the barrel carefully. Mine had some deep gouges inside making it horribly inaccurate. I sent it back to CCM for analysis, and it seems some debris got lodged in the polisher, causing the scratches. The new one they sent back doesn't have that and works good. My cup seal had to be replaced too, but I think some teflon tape got sucked into the internals somehow.

Update: I'm enjoying this marker more every time I use it. After 2 months I still haven't chopped a ball yet...using very cheap paint. In cold weather I purposely tried to chop by short stroking, couldn't do it. Very, very reliable. Also, my stock barrel came back in from CCM today, so I got to compare it to the CP 12" on there. The stock barrel is a little less accurate, but that's to be expected. I like the CCM barrel's looks better though. Beautiful milling and anno job is superb.

Update II: Several months later and STILL no problems. No chops, breakdowns or anything for that matter. I haven't touched the marker save for oiling the ram and ASA. Another thing that suprises me is the 'CCM' factor...as in, "oh, thats a Series 5...cool".
Conclusion: Can't beat the quality for $475. (EDIT: Now they are less than $400 and come in anno black instead of flat). I realized upgrading the Spyder to a reliable marker would cost me more in the long run than simply getting the CCM as-is. Now that they drill for the eye, it's an even better deal. One more thing I just found out, it comes with Hogue Colt 1911 grips. Nothing fancy, but they are well known for making very good rifle/handgun grips. They're very comfortable if simple.

What an amazing piece of machinery.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 4th, 2004 at 6:33 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media