paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z

32 Degrees Icon Z Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount 32 Degrees

Buy 32 Degrees Icon Z

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


32 Degrees Icon Z
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Here it is, FINALLY. A practically flawless mechanical gun. The sister gun of the popular ICON-E, the Z series gun has all the goodies and great features, minus the electronics. Add to all of this a 2 year factory warranty and you will see why this is one of the best deals in paintball.
Product Availability 
The 32 Degrees Icon Z is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Yo_987 Thursday, December 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year58 of 67 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray 2: Junk
Avenger: Nothing Close
Tippmann: Same
2K Cocker: Better, more expensive tho
Marker Setup: 2K Cocker w/12v revy, kaner barrel, and 9oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, but stock isn't bad
Strengths: Accurate with bore match, cool, awesome value, light trigger pull.
Weaknesses: trigger is cheaply made, low ROF, wrong bore match and your sunk.
Review: Strenghs:
A very good all around marker. Pretty cool, but the best part is its awesome value.
The quick disconnect is a big help: only has like 5 parts to take out to clean it up and it takes what like 10 secs.

It is VERY accurate with the right paint-barrel bore match. I cannot even begin to tell you how accurate it is when you get the bore sizes right. I used to regularly take people out over 150 feet away in 2 shots or less by just angling the gun up.

Weaknesses:

The trigger feels so cheap. that's i think what the other reviewers are defining as "slop" Not a big deal, just a little bit of that cheap feel.
sight rail scratches very easily for some reason.
Worst of all, if you put paint in it that isn't the right bore size, you can't hit a thing.
Conclusion: This gun is hard to rate because of the paint-barrel match issue. Its all or nothing in that regard, either you get a good bore size and it shoots almost perfectly or you don't and it sucks. So it hinders your ability to go to some tournaments and such that require the use of their paint (which prolly isn't the right bore size) unless you have a barrel kit that has inserts and stuff.
It is a very good gun, the BEST gun i have EVER seen for $80. As everyone has mentioned, it looks exactly like the E-99, because it basically is. So you're getting a mechanical version of the E-99 for $80: Awesome deal.
I'd recommend it to anyone looking to get into the sport and some intermediates that want a medium-performance marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2004 at 6:33 am PST
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder1691 Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month41 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Vicor and Aggressor
most other Semi autos
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor with a 14"razor barrel, E trigger, and 20oz. pure energy tank (Icon Z is 10 times better)
32 Degrees Icon Z 14"razzor, 32 deg hopper, 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, trigger, and maybe an E-trigger
Strengths: -Accurate
-Quiet
-Great Stock barrel
-Good Price
-Great looks
-Very fast
-light trigger
Weaknesses: Nothin really, trigger seems alittle loose, but it still Rocks
Review: I started off with the Spyder Victorr which was a good gun to start with, but it did not have the quickness or the power likei wanted. Then i seen the Icon Z for a 100 buckls and i thought it looked sweet so i gave it a try, and it was awsome, better than any Spyder semi by far, (it made my victor look like a pump) the gun was accurate quiet and fast as any other gun out there. It also looked Sweet.
Conclusion: If you are lookin for a gun that fast, reliable and accurate buy a Icon Z for a 100 bucks instead of wasting your money on the Other semi autos, this gun will beat and anyaout and can run with any Electronic out there if you deck it out with some easy to find upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Swlax4life Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna vtl 2k3 or something like that- for the price get the Icon z
Marker Setup: Icon z, elbow, 12 volt revvy with x board, 9 oz. co2 tank, 16 in 2 piece spyder knock out barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel but the stock is pretty good
Electric Hopper
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Light
Good beginner gun
Weaknesses: Longg trigger pull
The Screws on the neck piece and beaver tail come loose
Review: I am a new player, but right away I noticed that this gun is good for it's price. The stock barrel works good (for a stock barrel and all). It is quiet. It comes with a lot of features like the low pressure chamber, expansion chamber, and so on. One weakness is you need the elbow cause the hopper doesnt fit right on the gun. The screws come loose every so often so carry a little screwdriver with you. The beaver tail also bends if you drop it. But it is a really good gun and i made a good desicion in getting it
Conclusion: For it's price buy this gun. It's well worth it. It out performs my nieghbors spyder flash and tippmann 98. Upgradable and I encourage any beginner or novice player to use this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 18th, 2004 at 11:43 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PiercedJD Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months24 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
genesis surge II - decent, but not as upgradeable.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel ( of course). If you plan to use a larger bottle you will want a better drop forward, as the stock drop doesn't balance the gun well with a large bottle. ( although the incredibly light barrel adds to that effect. better hopper
Strengths: good looks, totally upgradeable, fast out of the box
Weaknesses: trigger feels a little sloppy, but maybe it's just me.
Review: opened the box, set the velocity adjuster and let'er rip. gun is ready to go right out of the box. Only flaws so far are that the trigger has a little more slop in it than I would have liked, and it definitely needs an electro-hopper. I was getting quite a few dry fires once I started rocking the trigger ( but I guess it's a good thing that it outfires a standard hopper in stock form).
Conclusion: great starter gun. for the price I can't think of any gun I'd rather have. I kind of wish I had gone with the led model now just for sheer fun factor, however I can always just get the 32 degrees trigger frame for it and VIOLA! giving it a 9 because of the trigger slop.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 18th, 2003 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

N Carolina Sunday, February 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra
black maxx (no relation)
Marker Setup: icon z
200 round hopper
20. oz c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger this one kinda suxx
electric hopper
new barrel (but this one is fine)
Strengths: good stock barrel
fast and accurate
cool paint job
Weaknesses: bad trigger
hopper sits kinda high
drop forward comes loose
Review: This gun is fast and accurate. The paint job is pretty cool and the barrel is great for a stock. I would recommend getting a new drop forward and a new hopper. All in all a pretty good gun for begginners and up. Also this gun has not busted any balls and not froze up any 29 degree weather.
Conclusion: I would reccommend this gun to begginners and up. A great gun for reck play and speed ball with some good upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Z3r0g4m3r Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eradicator
Tippman 98 Custom and A-5
Marker Setup: Icon-Z full stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
You don't need a whole lot maybe a barrel or trigger but nothing is necessary
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Doesn't chop
Quiet
great stock barrel
Weaknesses: I had trouble putting the striker pin back in
Review: I got this gun about a week ago now and i finally got to field test it today. I went up against my friends in woods ball i was pretty outgunned i mean if the y didn't have a 98 custom then they had an A-5 or a bob-long gun. I held my own surprisingly though. This gun is just as accurate if not more accurate then the 98. I only had one ball chop and all my balls went straight. I caught somebody running for cover about 200 foot down a path and all i had to do was aim a few feet above his head and i nailed him in the back. So i good long range accuracy and you could rock the trigger easily without any balls breaking. Most reviews say the trigger seems flimsy but i prefer the trigger the way it is.
Conclusion: Its only 74$ it stands up to some of the better guns out there and is great for starters so im giving it a 10-10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

appollo Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Imagine ( pretty much the same but electric)
-icon E of course
Marker Setup: Icon Z with teardrop barrel and ricoche G2k Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Agitated hopper if you have a fast rate of fire,
-A new Barrel (of Course(although Stock is pretty kick a$$ ),
-Bigger Drop forward if you are a front player.
Strengths: -Shoots fast
-Quiet
-looks pretty sweet
-ballanced pretty well
-no choped balls
Weaknesses: -mini drop dosn't do much for me
Review: For those of you out there who have a low budget and are desperately needing a new marker, [me :( ] getting this marker will be the right choice. first of all the stock barrel is surprisingly accurate, second of all its pretty quiet for a mechanical marker. also it is easy to clean and maintain, comes with quick disconnect pin and what not, which makes for easy field striping. the gun is ready to go out of the box, you will probably need to oil it a little bit first, but small amount of Crisco will do the trick. i have fired around one thousand rounds of paint ( im not sure what brand) and i have only chopped about 2 balls.

the only thing I did not like, was the Allen wrench that came with the gun was to big to fit into the bolts that hold the mini dropforward.
Conclusion: All in all, this gun is pretty sweet no major problems, in fact no problems as far as the actual playing with the gun goes, so i highly recommend this marker to any newb to the sport or any rec player who just wants to have fun. it also works pretty well in speed ball to but for that u need a new drop.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003 at 8:44 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Chattertooth Friday, September 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Bone stock Red '04 BKO
Kapp drop zone II with on/off
ACI bulldog 47ci 3000 psi regulated at 800 psi output preset.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator or better expansion chamber, Barrel is a must, delrin bolt, new drop forward, grips.
Strengths: Cheap, Cheap, Cheap to upgrade. Dependable, well made
Weaknesses: Loud, A lot of recoil,
Review: This is a very good starter gun. I would tell anyone who is looking to get there first gun and not trying to break the bank for a quality marker to get this because it is cheap and you wont have to fix it every 10 mins like some other markers out there. With just a few upgrades you will be hanging in there with the tippmanns and other low end markers. If you want an electronic then the icon e is a good one too.

I own a black Icon z with a 4 stage system x expansion chamber, Shocktech superfly delrin bolt, C-5 delrin and aluminum bolt, Dye sticky grips, 32* spring set, Aci zero gravity graffiti series barrel. I have had no problems yet and i have been using it every other week up til now. I also take it apart and clean and oil it after every use.

Its accurate, efficient and upgradable. On the other hand it is loud, a tad heavy but not bad at all, and has some kick. I am willing to answer questions if you have them, to help you decide on whether to buy or not.
Conclusion: Buy it. It cost about $80 maybe even less if you search online. Easy to use, maintain, and upgrade. I give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

097 Thursday, September 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel 02 (good beginner, gets crappy later :P )
Marker Setup: Icon Z, 12oz, 9oz (backup), 200vl hopper, 2 extra pods.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sigh Rail, Drop Foward, Electronic Hopper and Trigger
Strengths: -Accurate
-Powerful
-Silent :)
-No kickback! w00t?
-Sweet lookin'
Weaknesses: Drop foward gets loose sometimes, could use harder trigger frame (but even this is optional)
Review: I'm going to come out an say it right now this is one of the best guns I have ever used. I own a Rebel 02 BL, and have tested many other guns, but this one...oh lord *drools* This gun just kicks ass. I gave it a Demon 16" Sniper barrel, and I modefied the sight rail and put a hunting laser (found it at Wal-mart for $18) and it kicks ass now. Especially in senario games and night games, hence the laser upgrade ;)
But as soon as I opened the box, I took it out and tried it, and it was just incredible.

Its true that the drop foward and trigger frame come loose sometimes, but every gun does that. Also the ball curves at long distances, again, every gun does it. But of all guns I've gotten a chance to play with, this one has the least amount of ball drop. How much less you ask? I got a head shot from 80 feet away. Sure I had to "mortar" the balls into the target, but not by much, in fact they went straight most of the way.

There is no need to buy dumbnut $1,500 auto-wankers when you can buy a gun like this, spend $50 to upgrade it, and have it rival auto's. All my friends have $200+ guns, and when we play, my Icon Z is the only gun that doesn't break on-field.

Great gun for anyone, and because its so much more durable than $200+ guns, you can cap noobs with too much money to spend ;)

P.S.- Oh wait, its not their money, its their parents'! HAHAHAHAHAHA......suckers....
Conclusion: Great gun, perfect for rec and senario play. Great for speedball once you get it a couple electronic parts.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

garybest89 Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Icon Z
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Spyder Sprint e-frame
Dye sticky grips
PMI Pure Energy 20 oz Co2
chrome Check It feed neck
Vl 12volt Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
12 Volt Revy
Sure fit feed neck
Strengths: Fast
Great stock barrel
Never chops even the cheapest paint
Weaknesses: The screws on the feed neck come loose
You need an elbow
Review: Great gun all around. It has a great stock barrel. I've put over 4,000 Blue Streak paintballs and other cheap paintballs through the gun and I didn't have a single chop.
The bolts on the neck loosen easily but a little Lock Tight will fix that problem. The trigger is a little sloppy but that can be fixed easily also. Its a very good gun for anyone,
and its cheap. Why pay big bucks for those Timmys or Cockers when you can pay $80
for the Icon Z, and for a little extra you can make it just as good.
Conclusion: I'd reccomend this gun for anybody.
Get this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media