paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z

32 Degrees Icon Z Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount 32 Degrees

Buy 32 Degrees Icon Z

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


32 Degrees Icon Z
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Here it is, FINALLY. A practically flawless mechanical gun. The sister gun of the popular ICON-E, the Z series gun has all the goodies and great features, minus the electronics. Add to all of this a 2 year factory warranty and you will see why this is one of the best deals in paintball.
Product Availability 
The 32 Degrees Icon Z is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
32nick Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: 32 degrees icon z, 6-stage expansion chamber, elbow, and whisper barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel and probably a 20oz CO2 tank
Strengths: Shoots fairly hard, Distance is good.
Weaknesses: Sometimes chops paint, but all kind of do that.
Review: This gun is awesome. It shoots far and hard. If you are looking for a cheap paintball gun for around $70 this is your gun. My gun fires very straight and only chops paintball sometimes. I would definately reccomond this gun mostly for begginers, so if you are one buy this gun.
Conclusion: Buy this gun, its great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HxC Battlecat Wednesday, October 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Sypder:
Sonix Pro
Shutter
MR1
Xtra

Tac 5 Recon
Marker Setup: 32 Degrees Icon Z
16" spyder snyper quiet barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell
maybe grips
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I went out to play with this marker a few days ago and it prefermed incredibly. i play conservative so im not a paint waster but a couple times i found myself shooting awfly fast on this machanical with NO chops. someone wrote"if you put an electro grip on this, itl be sweet" i thought that was retarded because you might as well buy an electro for twenty bucks more. besides, the way it is now is great. a few people complained about chops but ive experienced none. This gun is light, comfortable, speedy, powerful, and affordable. On top of great performance, theres great managability. its easy field strip and fits most marker accessories. Ive never played with the stock barrell, i use a CMI 16 incher and that takes a lot of the loudness away, some people complained about accuracy but SERIOUSLY, all my shots were about 3 to 1 inch apart from each other when i really tried. the air it uses is about average, doesnt kill air fast but its not a dream either, so you might want a 20 ounce for more play but i prefer a 12 ounce for the weight and comfort. on of my favorite things about its air usage is all the shots are consistent on accurracy and distance (and this is with cheap monster balls). Some people might look for more in a gun especially in speedball (which sucks) but its better than anything ive ever handled under 100 bucks. if your a begginer or an intermediate player looking for something long term and durable, buy this.
P.S. sorry if speedball sucks but i dont get what i need from it, wheres the hiding, the surprise, the sneaking, flanking, and dodging. maybe its just me but i hate it when the enemy knows your there and its a lame sluggfest of who shoots the most bps. wheres the tactical advantage?)
Conclusion: Buy it, read review, its short, and everythings there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big Evil Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Tippmann, Autococker, ICD, Shocker...
Marker Setup: Icon Z - just bought it, only used once

Update: I have made several changes since this review, read review below. This is the list of upgrades I've already done.

Freak barrel kit, Halo loader, ND low rise, Modified stock bolt (polished, venturi delete, smoothed bolt face), Polished factory striker, Inside of marker body polished, 32* Spring kit, 32* Turbo Valve, Palmer Stabilizer, Electra ACS rocking trigger frame

Marker is now set up to run LP (low pressure). I'm working on a break-beam eye installation to eliminate chops.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any Spyder upgrade should fit, so pick your flavor and rock out.
Definitely upgrade the trigger, bolt, and barrel.
An agitated hopper is a must if you use an electronic trigger frame

Strengths: Price
looks
easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: Stock trigger
Gun needs tweaking out of the box
Review: I got a nice deal on a package that I couldn't pass up. For the Icon Z, 16oz tank, JT Axiom thermal goggles, squeegee, barrel condom, hopper, Extreme Rage tank cover, Redz 2-pod carrier, and a 200rd load of paint was $170. I'm just getting back into the sport and I couldn't afford another Autococker, but it seemed like a decent deal for what it is.

Anyway, the first time out here's what I've noticed.

First, the safety would not engage properly. No big deal, I just put a thin - roughly 1mm thick - washer between the trigger and the frame, problem solved. This will also take some of the play out of the trigger that some had complained about.

Second issue was velocity. In the chrono booth I couldn't stay below 285 (field speed limit) to save my life and even with the adjuster backed all the way out I could still trip the chrono at 360-380 for some reason. It took some tweaking and I ended up having to cut the spring - not a good idea.

Third issue was ball breaks. Lots of them. Again, I did some tweaking, but it's still not right and I need to do some research and figure this one out.

On the upside, the gun is a great platform for someone who likes tweaking things. As this gun is mechanically identical to a Spyder Xtra, there is no shortage of parts to make this one evil little marker. The first upgrades I'd recommend are a good hopper to keep the paint feeding properly, a good barrel, and a decent trigger upgrade. A feed neck is a necessity if you want the hopper to sit low to the marker.

Update:

In the past couple weeks I've pretty much torn this gun completely to it's bare parts and gone on an all out endeavor to make this gun operate more to my liking. The upgrades I added in this review are what I would recommend for anyone who wants a Spyder (or Spyder clone as the case may be) that can hang with the big dogs. I've gotten this gun to run LP, fire enough cycles/second that I can't walk the trigger fast enough to choke the feed, increased shots per tank, it's just a better gun.

Conclusion: I'd say buy it if you like to tinker with things and plan on upgrading. I am in no way disappointed with my purchase. Out of the box there are issues to address but nothing major and the issues at hand only give reason to do the upgrades most will do anyway. I'm giving it a 6 out of the box because it's not perfect - but it could be. With the right parts this thing could easily hang with the big dogs of the industry.

Updated score: 9, and that's only because it's not perfect just yet.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 6:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

selmac Thursday, August 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
various pirannas, 98c, BE eradicator
Marker Setup: Icon Z, custom wood grips, custom trigger job, full freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
metal feed neck, electro hopper, barrell, spring kit
Strengths: Looks, decent stock barrell, good balance, well proportioned
Weaknesses: Long stock trigger pull, need a vert elbow to put on hopper
Review: for the price u can't go wrong with this gun, this gun looks really snazzy! u can get up some decent rates of fire with it, came with a 12" barrell alot of cheaper blowbacks only come with 10" barrells, nice short drop forward allows u to use ur CO2 tank as a stock,

only problem I have ever had with this gun is the vert feed. it comes with washers on the 2 screws holding it on. with the washers on the screws don't go down far enough to adequately hold it on when it is laden with a hopper. this caused my hopper to fall off my gun during one game when I was hiding from 2 players, I reached to pick up the hopper and got shot by one player I jumped back and got shot by the other. the morale of the story is take the washers off the vert feed screws it takes 10 seconds and will save u big time.

one slight inconvienince with this gun is that if u fire quickly using CO2 the whole gun gets really cold so wear gloves and u will be fine
Conclusion: Best gun for the money just take the washers off the feed neck screws and wear gloves
-1 for feed neck problems and having to wear gloves
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

team explicit Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Icon-z
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel and a electronic hopper
Strengths: It is really fast for an 80 dollar gun
Weaknesses: The trigger is weak
Review: I got this gun for a starter gun and it hasnt broke down yet or anything but i would recommend a new barrel and a electronic hopper i was playing with my friends and i had him he popped out from the corner and didnt even see me but then i started dry fireing so i got shot 3 times in the chest. it sucked
Conclusion: This is a good starting gun and anyone that is just starting should get for there first gun instead of a cheap Brass Eagle
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KnownKilla Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra/ Spyder Victor 2
Marker Setup: 32 degree Icon E w/ viewloader revvy and crossfire HPA 3000 psi tank/ custom painted barrel and beaver tail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel, whisper is a good upgreade.
Better trigger, something steel for less cheap trigger feel
DYE gel grips
Strengths: Quick trigger, light, accurate, affordable, good starter gun
Weaknesses: Barrel hop because of weight, cheap feel in trigger, only a knockoff brand
Review: I have been only playing paintball for about two weeks. I am totally in to paintballing. The Icon E is a geat gun for begineer both because of the price and the quality of the gun. I have shot my buddy's Spyder electra and its exactly the same thing. The gun rarely jams and never breaks paint. It is real light and easy to run with and its just as deadly as some of the higher quality guns. Whoever says that 32 degrees doesn't make a good affordable electic trigger gun is full of sh*t. I have taken out plenty of players with better guns, its all about seeing the field open up and picking your lines, not how much you spent on your bright yellow jersey. PLAY HARD--THRUST
Conclusion: Great entry level gun. I rate it as a 9out of 10 of entry level guns. Still tippman and Dragon are better for only a couple bucks more.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fun Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder compact, Spyder TL, and Spyder extra.
Marker Setup: Icon Z, 12 oz co2, 200 round hopper, see through elbow, and a coustom teardrop barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Cool looking
Shoots good
Fast
Easy cleaning
Weaknesses: Bolt scratches (dip in motor oil) Barrel not very good
Review: Good gun make sure you check screws after every game. Un cocks its self every once and a wile. I have shot around 1,000 balls I have only broken 1. Put rain-x in your barrel. Great gun I love it. When the sun hits the gun it glares but it does not bother me.
Conclusion: Great gun get it if you are thinking about getting it go on you will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

westwahawk51 Monday, May 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Icon Z
Java feed neck
Ricochet AK
Smart Parts tear drop barrel
Psychoballistics Bullet drop forward
Kapp gas thru grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electric hopper
Strengths: CHEAP
Very accurate gun with minimal upgrades needed.
Weaknesses: Trigger is loose


Review: I got this gun last year for Christmas. Right out this gun looked great. I pulled it out and it was all ready to use. I took it to my backyard and fired off a few rounds and it was awesome. I knew right away though that I needed to get an electric hopper. Very accurate and quiet.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun for beginners on up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

killfrenzy Monday, May 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor II
Marker Setup: Icon z- stock marker with 20oz tank & electronics
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrade barrel & drop forward
Strengths: good marker for money
looks good
quite powerful
very quiet
Weaknesses: drop forward comes loose
barrel upgrade needed
Review: the Icon-Z beats most of the competition around this price range e.g. Spyder Victor & Spyder Victor II. it has a sleek areodymic look and performs great in cold conditions. Pretty good marker for beginner / intermediate & you won't be disappointed. only downfalls are parts coming loose & barrel, other than this a good buy!
Conclusion: great buy for the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Robbie2004 Wednesday, May 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Marauder and Eradicator...... not even close. Icon Z is 10000 times better
Marker Setup: Standard Vl 200 Hopper, Straight Feed Eblow, Stock Icon Z, 12oz C02 with butt stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel depending on your preferences: example, sniper, close - long range shooting.
Strengths: Fast, Durable, looks like a beast
Weaknesses: Shinny, nothing alil camo tape wouldnt fix.
Sight rail is pointless
Review: Fast Firing
Durable
Looks like a beeast
Intimtating
Easy to use and clean
Very Cheap and Reliable
Hasnt chop more than 3 out of 2000 balls
If you maintenace it regualrly, it will shoot like a dream

This gun is awesome, i bought it in a package off ebay for under 180, it is amazing, i play in the bush alot and it never chops balls, it is so silent and its intimating, its a beast and half. will mope ne other gun, Brass Eagles stand no chance against this gun!!!
Conclusion: Great Gun, Cheap, Reliable, a must have for beginner to intermediate!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media