paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z

32 Degrees Icon Z Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount 32 Degrees

Buy 32 Degrees Icon Z

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


32 Degrees Icon Z
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Here it is, FINALLY. A practically flawless mechanical gun. The sister gun of the popular ICON-E, the Z series gun has all the goodies and great features, minus the electronics. Add to all of this a 2 year factory warranty and you will see why this is one of the best deals in paintball.
Product Availability 
The 32 Degrees Icon Z is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
mmaxx Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Pro-carbine, spyder victor II
Marker Setup: 32 Degrees Icon Z
Empire Reloader 2
20 ounce CO2 with Smart Parts On/Off valve
Custom Products 14 inch one piece barrel
Shocktech Long Drop with dovetail
Macroline
Shocktech super fly long bolt
Check it products metal feed neck
Coming soon:
Dark Horizon titanium hammer
Custom products Grip regulator
Crossfire 47/3000
Maddman Low pressure Rocket Valve
New Designz on/off w/bleed asa dovetail
Shocktech Low Pressure Chamber
New Designz Low Rise Clamping Feed Neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel, and drop forward and a delrin bolt because the stock one scratches very easily.
Strengths: relatively accurate, relatively quiet, cheap, durable, Co2 effiecient with right springs
Weaknesses: Screws come loose (can be fixed with teflon tape or loctite)
Review: A good gun. I got this gun because of its price, simplicity and i got tired of missing people 30 feet away with the rental guns. If you use relatively good paint (3-4 cents a ball with a 35 dollar hopper and a delrin boltit wont chop at all. if u use bad paint and shoot too fast it will chop, but not that much (new bolt changes everything). Over all its a durable gun,dropped it a few times still works fine. it even works on rainy days. The barrel is actually really good for being a stock barrel, but if you do upgrade it, and get good paint (about 3-4 cents a ball) it will rule all. just make sure to lube the bolt, it gets scratched up easily(or just get a new bolt all together). the spring is fine, but a spring kit is always better. This thing is solid as a rock, 3 or 4 mm's of solid aluminum all around. not even a hammer could crack it... though i havent tried that. everything on this gun is good, not great but good. its a simple gun, and easy to maintain.I got tired of the old plastic grips so i took them off and cut up an old winter hat and rolled it up and put it in the hollow part of the frame and put athletic/grip tape around it too, now its very very comfortable to hold onto. Another modification was the trigger. i put a few pieces of thin plasic in the tape right behind where the trigger makes contact with the gun during firing so that as soon as the gun starts the shot the trigger stops and there is no over travel. and i put some tape between the top of the trigger and the grip frame so when the trigger is released it only goes as far as it needs to go to start the next cycle. so i have the shortest trigger pull and Mechanical Icon Z can have. polishing the striker helps too. i use draxxus midnight with a .689 custom products one piece 14 incher and a shocktech superfly bolt and it shoots about 7 bps max but if its accurate you only need one shot to get someone out anyway...
Conclusion: Great gun for the price. Its a very good gun for beginners.Remember get the best possible things for the least amount of money and then make it better to your likings yourself.I am reviewing this gun as if i were comparing it to other 80-90 dollar blowback markers. not against all markers
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 12th, 2005 at 4:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ethangolson12 Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder X-Tra
Marker Setup: Stock Icon-Z, 2 20oz tanks, VL200, JT Elite Alpha Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
Empire Reload Hopper
Strengths: Good Accuracy, Easily Maintainable, Good Rate of Fire.
Weaknesses: Not many parts made for it.
Review: Overall the bun would get an A-. It had fairly good accuracy and rate of fire. For it to be so inexpensive, it is a great alternative to other guns such as the Spyder Rodeo (also very good). It can stay right with the more expensive guns and even surpass them. I would prefer to have this gun any day over a more expensive gun such as the Mokal Focus 2, or a PMI Piranha Pro TS G3.
Conclusion: Any begginer, amateur or rookie should be proud to have this run.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Joey Diggs Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've used this gun since I started playing.
Marker Setup: Icon Z, 16in 3A Spyder knockout one piece barrel, 16oz chromoly tank, 32degrees standard hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, electric hopper, new sight rail, possibly an electric trigger []if you actually want to use full auto during gameplay[]
Strengths: Fairly accurate []with new barrel[], quiet, light.
Weaknesses: Kinda CO2 waster, []I find it needs atleast a half of tank to work good
Review: Even though I am new to paintball, this gun is great for beginners. Its pretty accurate once you get a better barrel and have your CO2 at the right velocity. And as said before by someone else, it CAN outfire a standard hopper, which is pretty decent, though it only happens if you do a rapid spray shot. I have only done that four times. The trigger, I've read feels "cheap" and "sloppy" its not THAT bad. Well, I suppose because I am a beginner I dont see that []well, feel that[]. Its a good gun, I got it for around 80, my whole package I made came up to 170, so its not bad.
Conclusion: Good gun for a beginner. Its cheaper then a TLX and still works as good. I know because I paintball with someone who uses a TLX and it works all the same. Gave it a 9 out of 10 because some components could be better []Like the barrel, and I dont really favor the vertical feed[]
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 4:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ICEsniper Saturday, February 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, way better
victor-a little worse
Marker Setup: 32 Degrees Icon-Z
16 in. Night Stick Barrel, 20 oz co2, EMPIRE reloader, 32 degrees spring kit, empire lube
Recommended
Upgrades:
springs, barrel, bolt, dropdown
Strengths: works decent when not broken
Weaknesses: bad everything...accuracy, reliability, parts
Review: You should not buy this gun. I own this gun, and it breaks all the time. The stock barrel is ok, but still the accuracy sucks and I use good paint like Diablos and DBX. It's 80$, but your going to need to buy a good bolt so you don't chop a ball in the chamber on average once a game, so that's about 120$, the accuracy on this gun sucks so you'll need a good barrel, 160$, your going to need a spring kit, 170$ total now and the drop down really does not accomplish anything that has to do with comfort, so if you want a good tank position there goes another 30$ for a drop, and the ball detent sucks so you might wanna look into that, mine shoots two balls about 4 times in one game and I don't shoot that fast. So the total price to make this gun decent is about over 200$, so you should just buy a 98 custom which is way better for 130$. By the way, my stock bolt broke that's how poor my gun is, the ball detent snapped off and literally flew out of the barrel, and if you don't lube the bolt like crazy you can guarantee more scratches than any other gun. This gun is not reliable, and not worth 80$, maybe 50$. When I saw a 12 in. barrel, expansion chamber and nice paint job I thought I was getting a good gun, o how wrong I was. Mines at the shop now being fixed for who knows what, an air problem now or something god this gun sucks. The trigger pull is not good either, and you can't adjust it. The velocity adjuster does not accomplish much and the manuel for the gun in the box does not tell you anything. You could get an A-5 which is way better for the price of making this gun halfway decent. I expect future problems too, and everything comes loose on this gun. Everyone else on this just tested it, I have had it for a while and I know what's it like, no body else does. The trigger frame came loose and it started going haywire and scratched up some parts in the frame. My dropdown pieces come loose all the time, the grips aren't good, and the beaver tail will come loose unless you strain to tighten it incase you need to pull it off. My hose came with a kink in it too. I'm being honest. I have this gun, so I know what's it like. Everyone else has to have pride in their product, I don't for this thing. I loved it at first, but I will have honor for my future impulse. All these other people don't want to admit that it's bad because they have it, but once they use a decent gun and don't expect fixing it all the time, tightening it all the time, lubing it constantly to work at peak because you need peak when your gun isn't good from the start, buying new parts, breaking balls and getting poor accuracy. They won't need to expect this from a good gun like A-5 or an impulse, the 98 custom blows this gun away. Any autococker would too probably. The spyder xtra for the same price is even better, my friend has one and his does not break. I would not suggest getting this gun
Conclusion: it's good for a starter, but after 10 games your going to hate it. EXPECT BALL CHOPS, BREAKDOWNS, AND LOOSE PARTS ALL THE TIME, POOR ACCURACY TOO. I'm giving it a 3 because it worked good for about 3 games.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 27th, 2004 at 2:08 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Razerak Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Black Icon z
12 oz tank
200rd hopper
Sweet spot trigger
Vantage Mask
will be getting a new barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel and possibly a trigger but this one works fine.
Strengths: Ready out of box
Looks Awesome
Accurate
Weight
Doesn't Chop
Weaknesses: Trigger squeaks alot
Barrel is really shiny
Review: This is a great gun for beginners, and I got mine for 83.99$ canadain plus tax and shipping it was 100$Cd which is a really good price. Also it looks amazine with its anodizing and it is pretty acurate with the stock barrel! But the Trigger is kinda squeaky and its plastic but still works fine. Also My gun came with a silver barrel by 32 degrees instead of the black one in these pics! Great gun it can play against most medium level guns like rodeos, tippmans and pilots and guns of the sort. Oh and about the trigger if you want use some wd40 on it and oh check that the screws are tight sometimes after you play for awhile they start to get loose but no worry thats what the allen tool they give you is for and it takes like 5 secs.
Conclusion: Great deal buy it you won't be sorry! And its one of the best guns for beginners! For the price range best in the lot buy it buy it buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 30th, 2006 at 1:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trigger Happy62 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental guns, they can't compare to this work of art though
Tippmann 98c (non rental)
Marker Setup: An Icon-Z, 12 oz Co2, 14'' Progressive Barrel ||||||||||| A 2002 WGP Prostock Autococker, Crossfire 3000psi HPA, Evo II loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic hopper because this thing shoots like a beast, New Barrel too though the stock one aint bad
Strengths: Accurate right outta of the box, shoots fast, decent air efficiency, rarely chops, great price
Weaknesses: You may need to trim your spring to bring down the speed.
Review: I ordered this gun online a while ago and when I got it, i had to take it out and use it right away. When I got to the field I went to chrony it, and when I did it was in excess of 280 fps with the velocity set as low as it could go, needless to say I had to trim the spring a coil or two to bring it down to 250. When I finally got on the field it was incredably accurate (ball on ball accuracy) and the bps was incredable, You're gonna need an electronic hopper for this one.
Conclusion: In conclusion, this gun is the best in its price class, and it looks amazing, with the exception of the spring trimming bit, this gun has my full respect.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 25th, 2005 at 5:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jerseygirl Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c-Good gun. Very upgradable. My brother has one with an rt and I have my icon with an e-frame and I can keep up with him.
Spyder Victor-Cheap gun, but the quality isn't there. No comparison.
Spyder Xtra-Practically the same gun only the icon looks cooler.
Marker Setup: -Black Icon Z
-32* 9 pc. Spyder Spring kit
-14in. J&J Ceramic Barrel
-32* Spyder Electronic 4 Function Grip Frame
-32* Flame Drop Forward
-32* On/Off Adapter
-Shocktech Superfly Bolt
-ACI Phat Performance Expansion Chamber
-Halo TSA Loader LCD *Frontman*
-20 oz. Co2 tank
*Coming Soon*
-Low Rise Clamping Feed Neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
-32* Spring Kit
-New trigger
-E-hopper if you tend to get trigger happy *evil grin*
Strengths: -Cheap
-Good stock barrel
-Looks nice
-Easy to use, maintain, and fix
Weaknesses: -Trigger is plastic with silver paint on it
-Dead spot in the trigger pull
Review: The Icon Z is my first paintball gun and it has been very reliable. It is relatively cheap and it is upgradable. I have made my gun at least twice as good as it was when I bought it. Also, the icon has more quality than it's worth unlike other guns in it's price range. It looks cool, too and with the right upgrades, it will be right up there with some of the higher end guns. However, the trigger is very cheap feeling and the velocity tends to spike (which is why I got the spring kit.) The Icon Z is a great gun for a beginner to an intermediate paintballer.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun is good for the price. If you are a beginner paintballer, go out and buy this gun right now! I have been very happy with mine. You can take it to any level with the right upgrades. And upgrading is part of the fun of paintballing right? I give it a 9 out of 10 because no gun is perfect, but this is pretty close.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 12th, 2005 at 5:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

i_luv_pb Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra- about the same, icon looks cooler
icon e- way more problems
BE stuff-no comparison
spyder imagine- pretty good but i would still pick the z

Marker Setup: icon z, all stock 12 oz tank and 200 round gravity feed hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel!! i have shot many guns and i think the icon barrel is the crappiest of them all, but im gettin a terminator so its all good : )
Strengths: -see below-
Weaknesses: -see below-
Review: -STRENGTHS-
-shoots very good.
-looks sweet as heck
-cheap
-easy to maintain and clean
-with some good upgrades, this thing could be a total beast

-WEAKNESSES-
-trigger wobbles a lil bit, its not a big deal, it just kinda makes it feel a lil bit cheap thats all
-barrel is crap
Conclusion: I think that this is an excellent gun for the money, it is cheap, looks sweet, i like the quick disconnect pin, and is just a very comfortable gun to shoot. i have shot around 3000 rounds through it and have probably only had 0 breaks (dusk paintballs are the best) in 28 degree weather. GREAT PRODUCT, GO OUT AND BUY IT!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 16th, 2004 at 5:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr.spidy Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 (Icon fires faster but is a little less acurate)
spyder victor, victor is more consistant but icon has better ROF. i like the icon better
spyder extra, its just a cheap version of the icon made by spyder
Marker Setup: spyder pilot 100% stock, venturi bolt (comes stock)
backup: icon Z 100% stock, chrome painted black(barrel, dove tail, field strip pin, velocity adjuster.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel but stocks ok
delrin bolt (stock steal bolts tear up guns tears up gun)
Strengths: Accurate. Dosn't chop balls or break them in barrel. Farily fast rate of fire
Weaknesses: Not very consistent. long trigger pull. bottem line and drop forrword come lose easily.
Review: Good for begginers and experienced players. Takes very little maintenance, fires fast and accurate. Not very consistent but good enough to get the job done. Easy to find parts and upgrades for. Looks cool. Works for both speedball and woodsball. Easy to set vilocity. Works great right out of the box. Affordible. needs few upgrade, runs on CO2 or compressed air. the body is dark and good for snipers, but the chrome is brite.
Conclusion: Good gun for little money wont have problems and if it does you can fix them. good gun to learn mechanics on.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 22nd, 2005 at 5:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shaggy23 Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip and it ain't got nothing on the Icon Z
Marker Setup: Black Icon Z, 14" Black Whisper barrel, 32 degrees 2003 Expansion chamber, New upgraded bolt, 200 rd. Viewloader hopper, two 12 oz. Co2 tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Dependable
Moneys worth
Weaknesses: Stock is ok but not the best
Review: This is one of the best guns i've ever had. I got it about 8 months ago and since than i played with i three times and its worked good every time. The upgrades i got on it is a new black 14" Black 32 Degrees Whisper barrel, new 32 degrees Expansion chamber and a new bolt upgrade. I stongly recommend this gun to beginners and up. It's a great gun shoots good and you'll get you moneys worth.
Conclusion: Go out and But it now. Cheap! and get you a new barrel while your at it, i recommend a Whisper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media