paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z

32 Degrees Icon Z Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount 32 Degrees

Buy 32 Degrees Icon Z

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


32 Degrees Icon Z
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Here it is, FINALLY. A practically flawless mechanical gun. The sister gun of the popular ICON-E, the Z series gun has all the goodies and great features, minus the electronics. Add to all of this a 2 year factory warranty and you will see why this is one of the best deals in paintball.
Product Availability 
The 32 Degrees Icon Z is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
pmfman Tuesday, March 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Spyders
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 (main gun)
Response Trigger
DOP Rear Velocity Adjuster
DOP bolt
Double Blade trigger
Maddman spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dont waste your money to do any upgrade more then $10. instead of spending hundreds apon hundreds to get it as good as a $300 gun...just buy the $300 gun!
Strengths: Easily upgradable
Weaknesses: Wayyy too much trigger pull
Chops more then it should
Ugly (personal preference)
Ball feed
Review: I dont own one of these but have used many times. It honostly isnt that great unless you are using it as your first gun. but even then, you can get way better for simmiliar price, such as a 98 Custom or a JT Tac 5 (eventhough a Tac 5 is about the same stock quality)
Conclusion: Unless you are buying it to learn how to play paintball, stay away from it and most else made by 32 degrees
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xcountry33 Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: 32* Icon Z
Shocktech Supa Fly Bolt
Alamo Ciy Paintball Delrin/Stainless Steel Striker
Shocktech Spring Kit
Shocktech Velocity Shim Kit
Dye Spyder Sticky 3 Grip
Smart Parts All American 12" Barrel
32* Whisper Barrel
Strengths: Plenty of customizing options and Cheap
Weaknesses: You get what you pay for.

Bolt
Striker
Springs
Barrel
Review: There are two ways to review this gun. First is what you get right out of the box. Second is what you can do to the gun to make it your own. That really is the best way to look at this gun. It is a great starter gun if you either don't have a ton of cash to drop on a top of the line marker, or are just kind of curious about the sport and dont want to get stuck with the crap ass POS rentals you'll find at most fields.

First, the gun out of the box is about what you'd expect for a gun that costs $80 or so, with a few little bonuses. The gun does come standard with a drop-forward and an expansion chamber. These pieces are certainly nothing to write home about. The drop-forward is fairly short and shallow. The expansion chamber is fairly small. Nevertheless, consider these added bonuses as opposed to selling points. The gun's selling points really are its durability and simplicity. Put simply, the gun is solid, well made, and easy to maintain. You can take it out of the box, go out on the field and play simply by screwing on a bottle and the barrel. Disassembly is relatively painless. The bolt and hammer pop right out by pulling a retaining pin out. The rest of the gun breaks down with a few simple tools that pretty much anyone should have anyway.

At the same time, the gun isn't a top of the line PB work of art that will make you Lord of all you survey. The gun does a credible job of hurling globs of goo at people whom you wish to harm. I.e. this is a good recball gun, no more, no less.

The key strength of this gun, however, is its abundantly available upgrades. If you want a gun you can truly call your own, this is a great platform to begin with. For example, when I purchased this gun, my funding for this new hobby was limited. I couldnt afford to drop even $200 on a gun and still be able to buy the other gear needed to enjoy the sport. So I bought this one and enjoyed its mediocrity for what it is. Once the bug of paintballing had firmly established itself into my psyche and funding became considerably more abundant I was left to decide whether I should huck my old friend out the nearest window and buy a swanky new gun, or start replacing damn near everything that came stock on this gun. The problem with buying a new gun at this point is that pretty much any new gun you can find that isnt over $1k will still require various upgrades to achieve its maximum potential. Though funding is not much of an issue anymore, this is still a simple hobby and I seriously dont need to drop $1k+ on a marker to be used a couple times a month to shoot my buddies and various strangers.

So I have upgraded the old Icon into something that is basically just a shell of its former self, clearly for the better. This marker is truly a wonder for anyone who enjoys tinkering and playing with their toys. Since the Icon is to the Spyder E-99 as the VW is to the Audi, there is an abundance of aftermarket parts you can choose from to drastically improve the performance of the marker. Technically the only thing you can't buy aftermarket the the body itself. Buy a new one of those and I think you don't technically have an Icon anymore :P

Since I have made the upgrades that I have (see above for my current setup), the marker has made vast improvements in both accuracy, range, and efficiency. There is still plenty of changes I can make to the marker to improve these things even more!

All in all, I would say I have already spent more than two times as much on upgrades as I spent on the marker itself. Yet I have still barely spent what a stock A-5 or Ion would cost, and I dare say my gun is better than either of those right out of the box. Do they have greater potential? Possibly, but you would have to drop a great deal of cash to get them to their greater potential anyway.

For what it is, for what it costs, the Icon is a solid beginner's gun.
Conclusion: This gun is right for some people, its not right for others.

If your funds are limited and you dont want to have to be saddled with rental guns, this gun might be right for you.

If mom and dad shower you with expensive and hollow toys because they are trying to buy your love, this gun is probably not right for you.

If you want to start cheap with a gun that has great potential for future modification, this gun might be for you.

If you make yourself feel better by convincing yourself a $1k gun will immediately make you better than any sucker using a less expensive gun who's been playing for a decade, this gun is probably not for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 26th, 2007 at 1:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crenchy Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: Everything that came with the gun in the package except hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
Maby a better trigger
Strengths: Lots (anything thats not a weakness)
Weaknesses: Chops allot in colder weather
Screws come loose
Accuracy can be a problem
Review: Well this was my second gun cuse i got the crappy Brass Eagle Eraticator. Not much to say about this gun except that, it ROCKS! And it proves that ya dunn have to pay much for a good gun. If you do play in colder weather the only thing i suggest is that you get an anti-chopping system for this gun, cuse it like to chop in colder weather (tipical Canadian weather eh non reliable) It's good for both newbies and advanced paintballers. No really down falls exept that the screws come loose sometimes and as I said above chops in colder weather. Make sure your CO2 isnt too cold either or the CO2 will shoot up into the hopper area and blow the balls.
Conclusion: This is a pretty good gun, i've only had troubles with the things listed above, the accuracy thing can be fixed by buying a better barrel or cranking up the fps some.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 30th, 2005 at 6:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

I LUV PB Monday, December 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tipman 98c (only tested but pretty mutch the same like the Icon Z)
Marker Setup: -Icon Z
-32 Degrees hopper
-stock barrel
-20 oz Co2 tank with on/off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel (if u want to, stock barrel is pretty good though)
-Electric hopper
Strengths: -Looks
-Quiet
-Fast
-Cheap
-Accurate
Weaknesses: -long triggar pull
Thats it mostly
Review: I'm a new player and i just started to play paint ball. this is the first gun i bought because of it price and because of all the good review it got. this gun is very reliable to me, i tested the tipman 98 custom and its practically the same but the tipman is $160 and the Icon Z is only $100 and that is a huge difference.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun to anyone who plays paint ball because this gun is like any other gun is like most other gun, it is reliable, fast, quiet, accurate and it has good looks, just like any other gun. i hope this review helped u out to pick this gun out because it really is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Iwishiwas Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a spyder victor and a Spyder victor 2. It kills both of them. The trigger pull is a lot shorter. and chops a lot less.
Marker Setup: Icon Z
12 oz tank
empire reloader
rebel 02 four function grip frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better hopper, DEFINETLY!! A grav hopper cant keep up with this gun. maybe a new frame too cus the trigger is bad. It is painted plastic and wobbles a bit
Strengths: accurate
NOT a gas guzzler
good
Weaknesses: Trigger
Too fast for reg hopper
Review: This is a really good gun. Its my first gun and im just gonna upgrade it. at about 90-100 dollars this is a good buy. New barrel is required tho cus the stock isn't that good. overall a great gun to buy. It is easy to pull and great for every day play.
Conclusion: Great product, get it, great for beginners.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bluephoenix Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Icon Z, Smart Parts Tear Drop barrel, In Yo Face off set sight rail, VL200 hopper, 20 C02 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, but the stock performs fine. A new trigger frame and maybe a regulator
Strengths: Great for price, good stock barrel, cool design, compatible with most spyder accessories
Weaknesses: Trigger pull distance is too much, trigger frame is a little uncomfortable, shots sometimes inconsistant.
Review: You know that saying "you get what you pay for"? Well that doesn't apply here, because this gun is worth twice the 80 that I spent on it. I only broke one ball in my first thousand, although I'm not that fast a shooter. Originally I wanted a Rebel, but I didn't want a power feed, so I went with the Icon. Even now, after my friend bought this brand new tippmann 98 and slapped on some of those M16 upgrades, I couldn't be happier with my Icon. The best thing about this gun and many like it, is that there are so many potential upgrades. barrel, xchamber, frame, bolt. not that the Icon isn't great without them, but if you had the cash, you could easily make it perform better than a higher end gun (don't you love it when some litle rich kid walks in with his 900 dollar Autococker and you beat the smack outta him with you're litte semi-auto...I know I do :)

Conclusion: In it's price range, it's probably the best gun out there. Because of the fact that.....well....its just good. It's quiet, accurate, and has an awsome design.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 30th, 2004 at 2:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wenyadh Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black maxx: not a very good feel compared to the Icon Z
tippmann 98 custom : heavier and less accurate but built stronger
many others that dont compare
Marker Setup: 32 degrees Icon Z (almost all stock)
upgraded spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
New spring if you get a lot of c02 spikes.
Barrel
agitated hopper
maybe a new trigger
maybe a regulator
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Strengths

-cheap
-durable
-light
-vertical feed
-pretty decent rate of fire
-stock barrel is very accurate compared to other stock barrels
-spyder barrel threads
-good for woods or speedball
-VERY easy to clean and take apart
-expansion chamber

Bad

- it can be hard to get the velocity over 250 FPS with c02 ( new spring helps a lot)
-vertical feed uses an elbow
-with stock spring you have to put the velocity all the way up thus not the greatest gas efficiency. ( again new spring will help)
-the trigger gets a little wobbly after a while ( dont notice it while playing)
-when using c02 consistency isn't the greatest
-
Conclusion: This is a great marker once you spend an extra $5 on a new spring. Anyone that doesn't have a load of money should look into this marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

knockout350 Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stingray
Marker Setup: 20oz tank
whisper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
whisper barrel just because i like its look and how quiet it is.
this is where i edit it after about 6 months.
u WILL need a new velocity spring
Strengths: Speed
Acuracy
Easy maitnence
Weaknesses: Oh this will be fun check bellow.
Review: This is a good gun for the money but if ur looking for a realy good go just go ahead and upgrade to an led.
this is a piece of !@#$ gun. and unless u have extra money just lying aroun and want a gun that will just disapoint u DO NOT BUY. let me tell u y.
my first game i played with this thing it broke (but that just turned out to be busted O rings in the expanshion chamber).
second game i played with it it broke. this time the ball detent shattered in the barrel. so i had to buy a new ball detent + it chiped my bolt.(the warenty didn't want to cover it).
i fixed it up and went out with it again and u know what IT BROKE. this time due to the volocity spring. Thank god that there was a guy there that had a spring from an old spider with him, and that fixed it up good, for about 3 games. then i had to go back and replace all the O rings on the ENTIRE gun, and after that it finaly started to work well.
Conclusion: Do not buy at all.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 12th, 2005 at 6:41 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

insaneicon03 Wednesday, November 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders.. xtra, victor, Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: icon z(stock ), vl200, 20 oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
Phyco Ballistics drop, new barrel(stock is fine), good hopper
Strengths: accurate, sweet lookin', fast, good trigger pull, quiet
Weaknesses: none that i can think of. none come to mind
Review: i have only had this gun for about a week and only shot about 300 rounds of core paint,and all ready i can tell this is gonna whip everyones butt. ive only broken 2 balls but i dont have any upgrades, and its on a count of i shoot to fast. perfect gun for me and i would reccommend it to anyone. got mine for $78 and it doen't have any flaws.
Conclusion: all i can say is to get this gun. it is the best newbie gun to me besides the 98 custom. if u buy this gun, it will not fail you. im just saying... if you shoot fast, make sure you buy at least a 12 volt revy. your gonna need it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 19th, 2003 at 2:04 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Tarster Monday, March 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
5 year old Autococker with threaded barrel and autohopper. friends spyder... Maurader
Marker Setup: 14in JJ preformance, 20oz, 14oz brass eagle CO2. Icon Z, normal hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and a auto feed hopper
Strengths: Fast firing, accuarate, cheap
Weaknesses: I would say you should get a diffrent trigger and Hopper.
Review: I would say when I got this gun I could outshoot the standard gravity feed hopper with ease and I know that I only paid ~100$ for it at Paintball Shack in Corvallis Oregon, btw they are awsome.. Anyways. Yah so this is a great gun for beginners to intermediate. I would suggest that you get a JJ Preformance barrel and a different Hopper if you are trigger happy. This is an awsome gun I love it.
Conclusion: This is an awsome gun and i would recommend it to all who want a good but cheap gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media