paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dragun TES / Dragun TES / Dragun TES / Dragun TES

Dragun TES Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dragun

Buy Dragun TES

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dragun TES
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 229
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
LCD Screen w/Shot Counter, Timer
Dragun Optic Sensor Eye
15 BPS Preset
20 BPS Capable
Aluminum Double Trigger
Custom Drop Forward
Bottomline Configuration
Regulator
Custom 3-D Milled Body
Hi-Flow 90 ASA
Hi-Flow Dragun Valve
M92 Frame
2-Piece Vertical
Dragun Thread Barrel - 12"
Top Cocking Bolt
Low Pressure Operation
Product Availability 
The Dragun TES is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
sleeperide Friday, November 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees impulse, 4x4 shocker, shocker turbo, spyder TL, spyder one, piranha ext, automag with centerflag e-grip, spyder em1
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics lighting autococker black, empire barrel kit, black ice regulator, Psycho Ballistics drop forward, 88ci 4500psi cross fire stubby, 12v empire hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new regulator and drop, plastic bolt, empire barrel kit, halo b hopper, and a nitro tank
Strengths: volume of paint P.S, the eye, light wight, price, anodize paint job, lcd grip,
Weaknesses: the regulator uses weird threading so doesn't the drop
Review: i have used many high end electro guns and this can one keep up with any of them. i never would thought that a blow back bolt can keep up with a angel or a impulse. this thing is so fast that the 12volt revy can't even keep with it. so i had to get a halo b hopper. one problem i had with the gun is the reg. it can spike once or twice per pod. so i try-ed to replace the reg, but the reg and drop uses a smaller threading then a stand spyder. so to replace the reg you must replace the drop. then another problem came up. the grip uses spyder screw. the screw is too small to use on a different drop so i had to go buy a set of screws. not a big thing but time consuming. but after that the gun will rip and take out any body that has a angel. just make sure you get a barrel kit because stock barrels are never the way to go if you are trying to get points for fashion.

The Good and the Bad

GOOD

- 15ps on semi
- lcd grip frame with shot counter, game timer
- fade paint job
- price
- looks

BAD

- regulator threading
- drop threading
- grip frame threading
- can turn off eye
Conclusion: my conclusion the gun is great for the price. but i would only use it as a back up gun. this gun is a head turner for rec ball but tournaments are cocker or intimater deal. i say if you play rec ball more then tournaments then this is the gun for you. i give this gun a 8 out of 10
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 21st, 2003 at 6:39 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

evo2f2f207 Friday, September 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra,revvy,14'' barrel(32*)
Marker Setup: 2004 Black Dragun T.E.S(black/Red) Black VL Evo II Hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Faster Hopper,....(i.e evo 2 , halo b)
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Everything
UNRELIABLE
Review: This Marker is my 2nd one and it's the worst ive used(i've shot alot of markers before) and it has ok accuracy and loud,fast(20bps), the looks of this gun are very nice and very bad put together, and just the all around performance of this gun is great. Many people have stated that it has air leaks and such, but ive shot over 8000 paintballs and ive had 100,000,000 leaks at all. this gun is good for noobs. Go to your Paintbll store and don't BUY it...
Conclusion: Bad marker,bad price and badperformance....
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 27th, 2005 at 4:45 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lecapitan Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
E-Blade autococker
Racegun evo
Angel IR3
Marker Setup: Currently: Dragun T.E.S, 12v Revvy, Intimidator delrin bolt, CP Pro-rail and on/off adaptor, Torpedo inline reg, nitroduck 4500 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't bother... really don't bother... See above, I've learnt the hard way that buying all that really wasn't worth it.
Strengths: Good rate of fire, anti-chop eye, cheap
Weaknesses: Massive recoil, noisy, disgraceful design flaws, toofast forCO2 GUN-WILL-FREEZE!!! fragile, easily breakable.
Review: Too many people have come on here writing that its a high end gun for not much money. They're wrong. It is still a low end gun for not much money. Apologies to those who genuinely believe that this is THE BEST GUN EVER. In some ways it is very good and performs better than most cheaper guns. If you want a cheap gun then there probably isnt a better performing one, although there may be a more robust one!! It is that balance you MUST consider. I definitely recommend saving your money rather than upgrading it - that way you can get an uberpaintcannon.

My main problem with the gun is the shortcuts in design. The way the feedneck attaches to the gun is appalling. My friend has one as well and on both guns it has snapped off on numerous occasions without taking much of a knock. The gun can be very unreliable even in the face of constant and loving maintenance. It is at its a heart a fast firing but cheaply made gun. Don't think that this is the answer to your prayers because it isn't. At the end of the day you get what you pay for. You may not chop as much with this gun as an accelerator and you may be able to fire faster, but its quite demoralising when you have to walk off the field holding your gun in three pieces.

Additional: Certain comments about this review cause me to say simply: whats the point in having a website with reviews by paintballers for paintballers if I cannot relay my experience. As I said to a certain critic - I'm glad you had a good experience with the TES - good for you. I didn't. Those who read this can make up their own minds. Some of you I'm sure will be fine. Others won't. Bear this in mind.
Conclusion: Buying cheap guns is always gonna be trouble. This in fairness is probably the best of what there is. However in retrospect I would spend a little more and buy a second hand higher end marker... It won't break and you will enhjoy playing with it all the more. If you do get this gun then don't upgrade it!!! By the time you have you do you'll be wishing you had a better one and will wish you had the money for it!! Some may think that this review is a little harsh :) . Please bear in mind that the score given is relative to all paintball markers as opposed to just cheap ones.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 14th, 2004 at 9:24 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

ChasingRichard Saturday, July 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dragun The One
Marker Setup: Dragun Tes
Everything stock
C02 but changing to HPA when I can afford it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't even buy this piece of junk!!!! Must read.
Strengths: None since it doesn't work!!!!! Must read
Weaknesses: Gun Fires mutlple shots on one trigger pull.
Manual horrible.
Review: This gun flat out doesn't work. When you pull the trigger it fires uncontrolably every time you pull the trigger once. I took it to two paintball stores and neither could fix it and since I bought it online I had to send the old one back get a new one and it did the same thing. If you read other posts on other paintball websites you can see this guns has a lot of problems. You can see far to many Posts with "Help my Tes is Firing eractically" questions. One site has and entire Sticky on how to fix your Tes because they don't work out of the box or even if you take it to a paintball shop. Recomendations go from having to Oil the bolt a lot (I mean a LOT) to changing out springs to filing the Sear all this for a brand new gun. Even if you get it working people are coming back asking why their guns are failing in the field.
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!DO NOT BUY THIS GUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: If you still want a Dragun get The ONE. It is about $50 more but worth it. Since my problem me and my friends bought 3 and they Rock. The trigger mechanism is completely different they don't have a Sear and this makes all of the difference. No mechanical parts to fire the gun all electronic and air neumatics. And the posts on other sites by far not as many problems. One thing UPGRADE the Bolt to an APM as soon as possible. Stock bolt sucks bigtime.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

kburdic1 Tuesday, August 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 - No comparison. Most rental fields are using the Tippman 98, and although that gun is reliable and the industry standard, it doesn't even begin to perform like the TES.
Marker Setup: Dragun TES with compressed air, power-feed hopper. Other than that, it's stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A power-feed hopper up to 20 rounds/second. Compressed air is the only way to go. Forget CO2.
Strengths: Only 1 or 2 ball breaks since I've owned it.
Weaknesses: Have an extra 9V battery with you.
Review: Most of the time, my marker is the most feared on the course. With compressed air consistently putting out 280+ FPS, no ball curve AT ALL, this gun ROCKS!! One time, I forgot to turn my gun on before entering the field, and had to wait the ten seconds for the electronics to set, but then I won that match! Adjustable power-assist setting really rocks, it recognizes when you are pulling the trigger as fast as you can, and power-assists up to whatever rounds-per-second you set it for. I have mine set for 12 usually, because my power hopper won't do much more. On the field, opponents know they are being fired upon by me just by the sound of the gun. It's clean, fast, absolutely the most accurate marker I've ever fired with a stock smooth barrel, and consistent and reliable. It's the best $300 I ever spent when it comes to paintball equipment. If you can find one in excellent condition, don't even hesitate!
Conclusion: If you can find one in excellent condition, BUY IT!! Don't even hesitate, you WILL NOT be disappointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kaball Sunday, August 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder AMG
cp 1 piece
halo TSA
clamping feedneck

Faster but heaver
Marker Setup: Dragun TES silver to gold fade
Halo TSA
Clamping Feedneck
Physcobilistics Z drop foward
BKO Reg
Dye Stainless Boomstick
Carelton 3000 air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shocktech asa tube, a must have!!!!
new gauges
better reg
Strengths: Really fast
timmy type body
many many upgrades avalible
Weaknesses: A little heavy
not made anymore
Review: Alright everyone, I bought this gun on ebay for only $25.00. Yeah really cheap. It did not have a reg, detents, drop forward, or a barrel. So I had my work cut out for me. First I got a new reg and drop forward. Installed them and put the macro line in. then I waited for the detents and the barrel. The tank that I have is really heavy but with the drop it almost centered it. After I got the barrel it was really heavy but when it's on the gun it makes it perfect. Went and shot it.... perfect, the eyes worked great, and I shot ropes. The one thing that everyone needs to get is the shocktech asa tube that prevents air leaks. it only .99 cents so go get one.
Conclusion: See above. Really nice gun if you can find one cheap and you want to put the time in
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nor KY mad man Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: Lasoya
113
Check-It Unimount
CP Stick Trigger
Reloader B
Crossfire 68/45 HP
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Switch
Clamp Feed
New Reg
Strengths: Fast
cheap
shot cap
eyes
not hard to find
Weaknesses: heavy stock switch, halo/reloader B's dont fit, stock detent, some barrels dont work
Review: When i first shot it i loved it but the stock switch is very heavy and reloaders and halos dont exactly fit so they need a clamping rise(2k2 timmy necks fit so thats not a problem)

what i really like is the fact that they can be found everywere and are very cheap

its a gun i can use CO2 in when my friend want me to play in the woods so thats cool

i like the fact that you can adjust the bps cap to 20 and actually get close to that in the auto mode(not true auto... its more of a 4 pulls 5 shots or somehting)

the stock detent fell apart not long after i got the gun but i dont mind droping 10 bucks on a cocker detent.. its nothing major

the stock reg although poor is usable... its not like it really makes a difference when you use a blowback(omni pressure) it will usually level out even when the reg doesnt
Conclusion: A great gun for those starting out its cheap easy to come by and comes with everything you need to rock just take it to someone who knows how to work with electronics and have them put a lighter switch in and also get a clamping rise and new detent if you want
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CDN_wdpballa Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders (kinda the same, but spyders suck)
Marker Setup: 2k2 dark angel w/ kapp ups and uncapped baord
Dye Boomie, JT 2 pc.
reloader b
P.E. 68/45k tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, stock one is crap.
new grips.
new feedneck (cannot fit my reloader into it)
new reg.
Strengths: Fast, very fast.
Bang for buck.
Light.
Efficient.
Super easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Chopping, for sum reason my tes was chopping when i had the eyes on.
Review: overall this gun is amazing for what you pay. i mean i got my tes for 350 Canadian wit a bunch of stuff, and it runs smoothly. the gun is pretty gas efficient, but makes you waste paint. It is so FAST. with a good hopper, and a lighter trigger it can totally rip. With a bunch of up's that i have listed you can have a great gun. i actually kind of like this gun more than my angel, because it is so light. the people at dragun are kinda messed up right now because of the split between Odyssey and dragun. my board broke on my tes (poor electronics), and it took like 2 months for it to get fixed and be in my hands again. overall this is a great gun, but its kinda scary if something goes wrong wit it. the manual is horrible, but you likely will not need it, because it is so easy to maintain.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this marker to any rec ball players, it is also a great gun for young gun tournaments. Go out and buy this gun if you are a recreational paintballer with no money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

JSCARFACE2005 Thursday, December 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion, Spyder Rodeo, crappy pump
Marker Setup: dragun tes,16 oz. chromoly, reloader 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel is a good upgrade but if you use nitro youll need a drop forward.
Strengths: Nice barrel, trigger is awesome, 20 bps, nice milling job, best gun for price.
Weaknesses: Clear and non-customizable grips, nice looking but short dropforward.
Review: This gun is a must for three reasons: Price, looks, and quality. It is the best gun for its price because it looks the best and works the best. The quality of this gun is great for the price. Ive had it for more than six months and have not had a single problem that an electronic gun should not have. Ive ran into a couple of problems with the eye where it would not read a couple of paintballs but it shoots if you just rattle your gun. The eye has its ups and downs. On the down side the eye doesnt read dark paint so always use bright or glossy paint. The good part of the eye is that it will keep the gun from ever chopping balls. They eye also keeps you from wasting air if a paintball was not fed from the loader into the gun. The gas chamber is comfortable and works well but if you shoot too fast it will freeze up which doesnt bother me at all. The only real problem I have with it is the grips are clear and cannot be replaced but can be customized. The way i customized my grips was i took pictures out of magazines and fitted them to my grips. The pictures i used were from Scarface and it looks really cool. This is a great gun and can be compared to an impulse or an omen.
Conclusion: Overall this is the best gun ive ever owned and i will keep it for a long time. I recomend this gun to anyone who really takes paintball seriously and loves to play. Buy this gun because it is awesome and you will never regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

solidX Saturday, November 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A lot of spyders dosent really compare to high-end electros probably about 1/2 of a high-end markers potential.
Marker Setup: T.E.S. Stock
32 Degrees Medium Spring
72cu/3000 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop(not necessary can be easily fixed)
Regulator(not necessary)
Barrel(not necessary but recommended)
Bolt(highly recommended: APM, JAM, etc...)
Strengths: 1.)Speed
2.)Eye
3.)Stock Barrel
Weaknesses: 1.)Drop
2.)Trigger Frame
3.)Bolt
Review: I used this gun about 3-4 times already, pretty much stock. It had a lot of minor problems but I got them fixed ASAP. I would also using a powerX or Java 9.6 volt battery, they never failed on me yet.

If you would like to upgrade this gun and go further on with this marker a conversion kit would do such as; The One Kit(Discontinued), Zip Kit, and the Zoki Kit.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun has some incredible speed but some minor problems out of the box. I wouldnt recommend this gun to people that are afraid to mess around with it, since this gun isnt exactly out of the box ready, a lot of minor problems.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media