paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dragun TES / Dragun TES / Dragun TES / Dragun TES

Dragun TES Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dragun

Buy Dragun TES

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dragun TES
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 229
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
LCD Screen w/Shot Counter, Timer
Dragun Optic Sensor Eye
15 BPS Preset
20 BPS Capable
Aluminum Double Trigger
Custom Drop Forward
Bottomline Configuration
Regulator
Custom 3-D Milled Body
Hi-Flow 90 ASA
Hi-Flow Dragun Valve
M92 Frame
2-Piece Vertical
Dragun Thread Barrel - 12"
Top Cocking Bolt
Low Pressure Operation
Product Availability 
The Dragun TES is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
nihil2004 Monday, November 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse
Marker Setup: Empire Reloader
5 gram trigger
Freak 14" Barrel
Delrin bolt
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded trigger (switch and trigger)
Nitro
Fast loader
Maybe a barrel
Strengths: A lot of bps for the price!
Weaknesses: DOSE can be picky
stock grips are crap
front block can leak
quirks
Review: I picked this marker up on ebay for 175... and that included a co2 tank, the freak barrel, and the trigger upgrade - roughly 60 in extras. You just can't that price - which made this a great entry level electronic marker.

I used the freak barrel when I played because I it got slightly better range, but in the practice range several of us could not tell the stock barrel performed any differently otherwise.

I had some trouble with the sensor right off the bat, and never nailed down the actual problem, other than the super cheap paintballs at Wal-Mart just did not register. The local paintball park's ammo worked without a hitch though. Any problems with the DOSE can be remedied by disabling it. Before you load the dragun, hold the trigger down for at least 8 seconds (nothing on the display will indicate it's turned off).

The performance out of this marker was good at first, even with CO2. Outperformed similarly priced mechanical markers by FAR (when it performed, that is).

Parts that have broken on my TES with very minimal wear: grips, ball detent. The stock bolt showed the wear of a bolt 10 times its age. Leaks popped up, had to pull out the hose and reg, put teflon tape on threads to fix.

The TES is super easy to disassemble, and this includes the electronics. In an hour I was able to tear out every wire and circuit board, resodder some bad spots, and had it all put back together without any problems.

If you want to redo any of the air system, watch out since the stock hoses and inputs are metric. So if you want to put in an on/off... you'd have to replace the regulator too. What's up with that?
Conclusion: It's not a bad marker for the price, if you've got the know-how to get through the kinks. I was running along side guys who had paid just as much (after their upgrades) for their markers and the TES outperformed them because it didn't chop, it was faster, and has better range than the Wal-Mart special.

All that said, the TES is low on quality control! The stock grips, regulator, bolt, and pneumatics are crap. Software glitches pop up on a regular basis as well. And don't expect any help from the manufacturer (are they even in business still?).

If you're new to paintball this qualifies as a good starter gun if you want to go with electronic. But finally, I will say that this gun is not the best for you if you're not willing to tinker with the internals. Out of the box this marker is decent for the price, but if you're an experienced paintballer pass on this and look elsewhere.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 25th, 2005 at 10:52 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

longballin Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98, spyder electra dx, spyder amg, spyder imagine 04, spyder victor, phantom pump, diablo 2, Impulse, the list could go on and on
Marker Setup: black TES
14in all american freak
sweet spot blade trigger
25g switch
tes full force bolt
Halo B
68 3000 low pressure
micro line kit
check it clamp feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
fast loader
bolt
switch
micro line kit
feedneck


Strengths: Very very fast!
Easy maintinace
Eye
Very light!
Stock barrel
Price
Weaknesses: Ball detent
Leaking
Easy to lose parts
Not well built
Review: All right, dont know where to start. Well lets start from when i got the gun. I bought this gun twice, the first time i returned it becasue it had leaking problems, the second time i kept it and fixed the leaking problems. When you get this gun, the FIRST thing you HAVE to do is strip the gun entirily. This is becasue the TES is put together kinda slopp( i learned this the first time i bought the gun) Feild strip the whole gun, clean everything and re-oil the o-rings. After re-assemble the gun, hook it up with COMPRESSED AIR, do NOT use C02. The C02 will casue the leaks already in the gun to become worse and not fixable. Then check for leaks in the front block (you will probly have them there) Take the front block off and and teflon tape over all 3 o-rings making sure not to allow any black part to show. Put the front block back on and re-check for leaks. If there is any more leaks, find them and telon tape them.
Next thing you need to woory about, the ball detent. Never in my life have i seen a crappier ball detent. The ball detent cap is GLUED on! THer are no threads so dot wry about breaking those. Take off the cap (shouldnt be hard, jus keep screwin the cap too the right untill it pops off. MAKE SURE YOU DO NOT LOSE THE SPRING AND BALL) After this is off, take some super glue and glue the cap back on, easy as 1, 2, 3.
So now that your leaks are takin care of and the ball dentent wont fall apart, you are ready to fire your TES. Hook it up with Nitro and shoot some paint through it. Check for leaks after just in case.
This gun is one of the BEST guns for the money. I bought this gun KNOWING i would have problems with it. But for $159.00 i wil take that chance. Make sure you take care of the problems and get and extra ball-detent
along with the extra parts kit and your set. This gun does need a couple upgrades to get it into shape along with some time, but overall its a perfect tourny gun for the money.
Conclusion: You willl have problems, just takes time. If your not patient, dont buy this gun. But if your lookin for a already kick butt tourny gun for cheap, This is the way to go. If you have problems with the gun in anyway go here www.pbreview.com , previous owners will gladly help with your problems, and you will be able to fix them in no time.
solid 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 11th, 2004 at 3:41 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PBObsessive Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra (no comparison at all)
Electro Spyders (imagine, e-99 avant)
WGP 03 Vertical Cocker
Dye Matrix
Marker Setup: Dragun T.E.S., PMI 68/3000 N2 tank, J&J Ceramic Barrel, 4.5 inch Bullet Drop w/ on/off, 12 volt revvy with vortex impeller
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (stock is decent though)
Electro Hopper (ABSOLUTELY MUST HAVE)
Nitro (I really wouldn't use co2 with this gun)
Bolt (APM Tigershark)
Strengths: Cheap
Looks awesome
fast
eye
cool case
Weaknesses: Manual sucks
A little heavy
Stock drop sucks when using a large nitro tank
Review: The Dragun TES is simply fantastic as far as mid-upper level guns go. I would expect to see a price tag of $400 on a gun of this quality, yet the price is only $170. Wow. I'm going to break this review down into several categories:

Accuracy: The TES with nitro and the stock barrel is a fairly accurate gun. My shots went exactly where I wanted them to go, but there was the occasional curve and I had 2 barrel breaks (not chops) in 1000 balls. Not too shabby. With my J&J Ceramic, this thing was dead on. Every ball on target, no barrel breaks in another 1000 balls. I could get a consistent grouping from about 75 feet during rapid fire.

Consistency: Again, this is with nitro. I was shooting +/- 4 at the chrono. That's pretty dang good. I have the regulator set for 350 psi.

Battery Life: I've put 4000 or so shots through the TES and the original 9 volt I put in still works, so it isn't a battery eater.

Looks: I have the plain black, and it is sweet looking, especially the milling. Excellent cosmetics.

Functionality/Reliability: On the field this gun preformed up and over my ever expectation. For whatever purpose you intend, this gun will not let you down. I've heard many stories of leaking front blocks or messed up boards, but mine works just fine. I either got lucky, or Dragun stepped up their quality control.

Features: I'm going to break down the features now.
-Eye: Photo eye isn't as reliable as breakbeam but does its job. Can't "see" dark colored paint. Not a big issue. Just turn the eye off by holding down the trigger for 8-10 seconds.
-Regulator: The regulator is decent for a stock reg. It is consistent and has a fair recharge. I had to replace the guage because of a small leak, but no biggy. I probably will upgrade to a CP Grip reg eventuallu, but the stock reg is very capable.
-Drop Forward: The drop forward frankly sucks. It doesn't drop low enough to allow proper screw in of a large nitro tank. You could probably use a 47 ci but the guage and fill nipple are usually what get caught. Oh well, a bigger drop is fairly cheap.
-LCD Screen: It's easy to navigate - 2 push buttons. Easy to change the bps cap, dwell, timer, counter, etc. The TES has two fire modes - Semi and Auto. Auto isn't really auto. It's just a more trippy version of semi.
-Grips: The grips are big but that's not an issue for me. I'm used to spyders which also have beastly grips.
-Feed Neck: It fits my revvy perfectly, but you have to sand an egg2 or halo. It's hard to find a new feed neck.
-Case: The hard case is very nice. It looks cool, protects your gun, and is durable. I can fit my gun, stock barrel, extra parts, barrel condom, and small toolkit inside. Note: You can't fit a 14" barrel in the case very easily.


All in all, The TES is a great gun. It's a huge step up from any entry level gun, and has the looks and high end features of a gun 5 times it's price. If you're looking at low level electros, stop and look at this. It's better in every way for a similar price.
Conclusion: Awesome. Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Morox Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Strengths: See below.
Weaknesses: -Plastic cover over the trigger frame
-Trigger felt pretty loose. A little wobbaly
Review: Strenghts-

-The accuracy of this marker is insane. I was very surprised.
-Preset at 15 bps. Can be changed up to 20 bps.
-Milling is nice. I have the gold fade which looks pretty awesome
-Has a decent regulator
-Anit-chop eye
-Decently light marker in weight
-LCD display
-This marker comes with a carrying case which contains a barrel plug and some allen keys.

Overall, this gun would categorize in the intermediate markers. The price of this marker may fool you into thinking it's an average low end electro gun. Well the setup up of this marker can be compared to other markers costing much more. An anti-chop eye itself costs over $100. This marker can be set to fire at a maxiumum of 20 bps. The stock barrel is far above average. The accuracy will blow you away. It also has sick milling and it's lightweight. They even throw in a free carrying case for the gun. This may be called a Spyder clone, but this can rip like most Spyders can't.
Conclusion: I recommend this for intermediate players who don't want to spend over $500 on a marker. The TES came to $300 Canadian in total for me. I am very impressed. There are onl a few drawbacks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IBenDrnkinAgeen Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None really, just moved through the tippmann ranks and found myself with this marker.
Marker Setup: Dragun TES stock, upgrades soon to come.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a drop forward with more drop......and more forward. After market barrels are always nice, though i was HIGHLY impressed with the stock.
Strengths: air efficient, excellent out of the box, F-A-S-T!
Weaknesses: DF, easy to scratch
Review: Alright, i found this marker on sale for $189 dropped from $299. I read a little more adn found that the only color that was this price was the only one i didnt' like, a silver/gold fade. I sat on it a while and decided i could give a rat's ear what the marker looked like as long as i liked it. I LIKE IT!!! The thing rips, first of all. I have a VL Revolution and will soon be investing in a halo. not that i out shot my hopper, but i could have easily if i wanted to. I literally got it in the mail, took the box out, opened it, assembled it, and played and i couldn't be happier. Ugh.....the joy. Seriously. Just buy it. Now. Go.
Conclusion: Stellar
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

player4 Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
any tippman
spyders
timmys
dm4
Marker Setup: spyder imagine
low pressure
Bandit bolt
maddman valve
14" night stick
evo II
Recommended
Upgrades:
obviously a hopper
regulater with a drop
bolt
Eventually: barrel, internels
Strengths: LOOKS
rof (not 20 but fast)
stock internals
plenty of upgrades
accuracy is decent
feel
Weaknesses: Scratching bolt
Regulater
Manual
Quality control
Review: Let me start off by saying, this is a great gun, and has an awesome price. Also people need to realize this gun is just a jacked-up spyder, so that is what this gun is: a spyder.

LOOKS: the pictures don't even come close to justiffing how beautifull this gun is. It is always mistaken for a timmy.

rof: I bet this has to be the fastest hybrid blow-back marker.

stock internals: like i said this is a jacked up spyder, but the stock interals are awesome, excluding the bolt

plenty of upgrades: go to the maker specific accesseries for spyders. Every upgrade, excluding trigger stuff and bolts, will work and fit on this gun. Every stock part can be replaced.

manual: I enjoyed reading the TES's manual. Absolutly nothing can be learned from reading it. I was amazed at how much detail the manual actually got into. In one part (and definetly by far the most imformative part) the manual reads, "Problem: gun doesn't fire. Solution: cock gun. Now i don't care how much of noobie you are, that is a pointless solution.

feel: the overall feel of the gun is nice. I like the cheap plastic grips (even though in less than six months or so they are upgrading the grips to a extremly nice grip) because they conture nicley to my hand. Also when shooting the gun, the gun does not have as much kick as stock spyders, whcih is always nice

scratching bolt: the stock bolt is aluminum, replace this asap!

reg: the stock reg isn't very ajustable or efficent. It's nice but it needs to be replaced, plan this in your bugget.
Conclusion: This gun rocks! If you are even considering this gun, definetly look into it. There are plenty of them out there, and i bet someone at your local field has one. It is an awesome value, and the gun looks like a beast! I beleive that it does have some weaknesses though, such as quality control, that prevent it from being an awesome marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 6th, 2004 at 1:52 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

draguntes212 Thursday, May 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Imagine
Spyder Rodeo
Other Blow Backs
Marker Setup: Blue/black Dragun TES...14" J&J Ceramic Barrel....Empire Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Regulator/Drop Setup
New Bolt
0-600 psi gauge
Strengths: looks, bps, price, alot to upgrade, lightweight, eye
Weaknesses: owners manual, need to play with parts
Review: After taking it out of the box i was already amazed at it. It looks so sleek and the paintjob is amazing which is definitely a plus. I took it out to my backyard to shoot and was even more impressed. Ran about 500 balls through it and not one break and almost everything hit a tree from 150 feet away w/in about a foot radius or less. I was impressed withe the stock barrel greatly. I am currently using Co2 and i know many people have said that using co2 is not the best for it because of broken o rings and the possibility of getting liquid co2 in the internals. I have not experienced any problems so far using un-a/s co2. I then took it to play in a game of woodsball and within the first 5 minutes or so i had my first kill right in the chest from 80 feet away. The rest of the day i continued to eliminate people and my friends were very impressed with my gun. The only problem i had was with the gauge. The "face of the gauge" turned to the left a little and when i unscrewed my tank and dry fired it a couple of times the gauge still read 200 psi. I screwed it in and the gauge shot up way past what the psi should have been and i had to play with the regulator a little to stop it from burping. After i had fixed that problem, it worked fine but the psi was still reading high and the gauge pressure kept rising. I am going to buy a new gauge for it in hopes that it will give me a better pressure reading so i wont go above 500 psi and start to burp again. There were also no breaks in a case of paint. Also the speed was awesome. I was ripping the trigger really well. There is no automatic mode as stated though. More like a reactive trigger.
Conclusion: Overall i think this gun is a great intermediate gun for those who are looking to start to play tourneys and things like that. For the price and the availability for new parts, i will be looking forward to keeping this gun for a while. I give it a 10 even though there was a gauge problem.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 9th, 2004 at 12:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HiATEUs Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL (the TES will fire faster but the TL is more reliable)
Marker Setup: TES -(stock)
eVLution II
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Simple design
no-chop eye
High ROF
Weaknesses: Quality Control
Review: Let me make this clear right up front. You will have problems with this marker. If you in anyway feel unwilling\uncomfortable working on paintball markers this is not the marker for you. If you do not understand how a Spyder blowback operates you are not ready for this product. Be prepared to troubleshoot and repair every possible leak point.

On to my experience with this marker.
This marker worked fine for the first 2000 rounds then my Sear came out of adjustment. Unfortunately (as opposed to what the manual says) there is no Sear adjustment provided and my TES was sent back to Dragun for a warranty repair. Three weeks later I receive my marker back. Yes the Sear had been manually adjusted but the cup seal leaked and the Low Pressure chamber O-ring had blown out on pressurization. So far I have a small seep at the pressure gauge that I just havenít felt like fighting yet. Iíve gotten a good day of play out of it and as always impressed with the sheer volume of paint the TES can put out.

Which brings me to my next point. Buy yourself a replacement main spring set (10$) and a TES replacement part set (20$). I would go as far as to say, do not buy this marker without the two items above. You will need them much sooner than you think.

On to what get after all this work.
You will not be able to over shoot this marker. The 20 bps is not a put on. Get a hopper to keep up.
You will not chop paint.
You will be able to troubleshoot and work on 70% of all the paintball markers in the field today.

Conclusion: This marker is not for everyone. If you simply canít afford a marker with the same attributes and are willing to put the time into fixing all the flaws, you will have a really great machine.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gmw13 Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Gameface "Bonedaddy" my wife got me for an early Christmas gift ($100.00 RTP Kit). - NO fair comparison possible... WGP 03 VF Autococker - I like the TES better so far.
Marker Setup: Black/Red Fade TES with HPA and a Riccochet 2K Hopper. No gun upgrades...yet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, the Riccochet 2K can't keep up with it, so a Halo B is in my near future. The stock barrel is good, but a Boomstick would be better. My HPA tank has a Bulldog regulator and it just barely fit's so I may look into changing the drop forward. Other than that it's a great marker as is.
Strengths: Speed, Anti-chop eye, looks, accuracy and most of all the price!
Weaknesses: Clear grip (ugly) and the owners manual should be called an owners "pamphlet".
Review: First you need to understand that I only play paintball on the weekends with my kids. So I begin looking to upgrade my marker and I am tossing back and forth between the WGP 03 Vertical Autococker and the TES. I go for the Autococker because I hear they are more accurate and I like to snipe. I just could never get used to the trigger, so I chop constantly with it. I decide to order the TES and sell the cocker and it has been the best decision of by 6 month paintball life! This marker is excellent!

It is an excellent value (I got mine new for $207.50). I can't find another marker with an eye for less than $600.00! In case you don't know, the eye prevents the marker from shooting unless there is a ball in the chamber. This means little or no chopping! I have yet to chop ONE ball with it!

It is accurate. It is very close to as accurate as my cocker and my cocker had the WGP two pc barrel. Truth be told, I really can't tell the difference in the accuracy but I haven't had it that long.

It has a great trigger. This is my first electronic marker but I have tried a Fenix and an E99 and I like the TES trigger better. So far, I am impressed with the battery life too.

It looks great. The Black/Red fade looks formidable on the field, but it's not so obnoxious that you can't play rec ball with it.

Most of all, it's just an easy marker to get used to and feel comfortable playing with. You can take it out of the foam-lined plastic case, throw a hopper and some air on it, load it and play...with confidence!
Conclusion: Unless you're going to spend $900+ on your marker, get the TES! Don't make the same mistake I made! I firmly believe that this marker is the best value on the market for the foreseeable future!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zappaint Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
uhhhh similar used products ... in the price range there is no similar products... this blows them all away. But in this price range there isnt many guns that have a "eye" so i can't really compare.
Marker Setup: Dragun empire T.E.S , Bullet drop , lapco bigshot 14" and Custom products 14" barrels. dertrin bolt, Compressed air, Empire Reloader Loader. "back up -- ACI maverick, Armson stealth barrel, upgraded velocity spring, red dop optic litheum powered sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Basicly preformance items such as a detrin bolt, maybe new regulater and barrel.
then the opinionated comfort items such as drops.
Strengths: shot 8,000 w/o break
20 bps capable
Pure AWSUM!
Weaknesses: Maybe the Grips because they are plastic.
along with trigger.
Basicly nothing Great GUN!
Review: the gun is a very strong gun. Preforms perfect.
Very little upgrades.
plastic grips and trigger.
Basicly buy this gun because with my set up i find this gun to preform amazing on the feild.
20 bps capable.
You pick how many bps.
Ive never had a ball break except when i turned the eye off and set the gun to 18 bps, That doesnt count because that was my fault.
Conclusion: I RECOMEND THIS GUN TO ANYBODY... PREFORMS ASWSUM AND IS PRETTY MUCH FLAWLESS I GIVE IT A WHOPPING 10 OUT OF 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media