paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Diablo Mongoose LCD / Diablo Mongoose LCD / Diablo Mongoose LCD / Diablo Mongoose LCD

Diablo Mongoose LCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Diablo

Buy Diablo Mongoose LCD

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Diablo Mongoose LCD
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 86
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Newest from the Diablo Line, The Mongoose slashes into the paintball industry with one of the best paintball markers worth more than its current cost! STOCK, The gun comes with customized features such as Semi, Multi, Turbo, and Full-Auto firing modes, push button On/off features, custom carved and milled fore-grip expansion chamber, controllable rate of fire, Twisted Low-pressure chamber, and many other crazy features that lead the gun to the top! The best of the features most saught after by paintball players and paintball suppliers alike is the newly fashionable LCD Screen (Liquid Crystal Display) This screen offers many of the great features such as Game Timer, Shot Counter, Mode adjustment, and Rate of Fire! Features the NEW Style Ball Detent, Rear Velocity Adjuster, and more reliability and great performance than we can possibly stress. Try one of these guns for yourself, and watch how the Mongoose can "Tear Them To pieces!
Product Availability 
The Diablo Mongoose LCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
ppeterin Monday, March 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Only other gun I have owned was a Tippman 98 and a Sniper 2
Marker Setup: Mongoose LCD, Evo 2 hopper, Dye excel barrel, deadon drop forward, pure energy reg, crossfire 47.3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and HPA/Nitro
Strengths: Easy to clean, fix, modify. Shoots fast and well enough
Weaknesses: None- I got more than I paid for and thats enough
Review: With the upgrades it is a very accurate marker so far as my experience shows me. It shoots plenty fast but can be programmed up to twenty balls per second. It really can't shoot that fast and so I don't see the point. Once I set it to around 13bps I have had only one chopped ball. For the record thats 2 chops in about 2000 paintballs. Is that good. I don't know. I works excellent as far as I am concerned. I paid 185 (a little high but came with free entrance to local park for a year) Even if I get a higher end marker in the future I am sure to keep this one as a back-up. A lot of people who have complained about the marker either don't own one or seem to have a hard time fixing very simple problems. Even if it is a "spyder clone" it works plenty well.
Conclusion: I would recommend it as an entry level gun. I have no buyers remorse.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Diabloboy80 Saturday, February 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
High end spyders, Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Blue Diablo Mongoose LCD, Nitro, VL Revolution hopper, 18 in. knockout barrel, 32 degrees flame drop, CP ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
replace the entire air system
a new barrel
an electric hopper
Strengths: The ROF is amazing
accuracy
easy to disassemble
Weaknesses: none that i encountered
A lot of fields don't allow full auto
Review: All my friends said this gun would suck. Thats BS. Using this gun I was able to play with a pro team that was at the field and keep up with them. I would recommend this gun to any one who is coming off a spyder since its spyder threaded. I've had it for a year and still haven't chopped a paintball. Once you replace the air system it's more air efficient and seems to have a nicer shot.
Conclusion: Get this gun if your an intermediate player. Its worth it so much.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 13th, 2004 at 12:28 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cafras Tuesday, January 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
14" whisper
evo2 w/Yboard
two 20oz co2
stock barrel(not very good)
Superfly bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, VERY fast hopper, LP system(if you use co2)
Strengths: Fast,
Nice looks
Weaknesses: Read review.
Realiability.
Review: I used this one day when my normal gun broke down and my friend had another gun so I used this(I didn't have ehopper). I play in the woods so it was a good chance to test it. When I was using it I soon found that it needed a fast hopper. I did chop even with the electric eye and it was set on 7bps. The gun came broken(the reg broke strait from the box). I found that with the stock barrel I could hardly anyone. The high pressure system sucks gas bad.

The good side is that it shoots fast. The LCD is nice. You can change it through about a dozen different modes. One of the reasons I didn't like it is it takes a while to get it set where you want it.

Conclusion: This is a nice gun. The price isn't bad to. If you buy one you'll want to upgrade the barrel as soon as possible as well as get a good hopper for it. I would say its a good gun for beginners to intermediate players. If you want a gun that has better upgrades for cheaper prices look at spyders, like the Imagine.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 3rd, 2005 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sgotis03 Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL and Spyder Shutter
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose LCD
Halo B Hopper
45ci/ 4500 Crossfire Nitrogen Tank
13" Empire Twister Barrel
14" Dye Ultralite Barrel (for sniping)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Spend the money for a real good hopper. Regular Hoppers can't keep up if you want auto. A barrel is a definately good investment. Nitro would be good too (but not a must).
Maybe a new bolt.
Strengths: Out of the box it is ok. Pretty accurate out of stock.
Weaknesses: Just need a couple of upgrades to make this gun unstoppable
Review: Overall the gun is great. Especially for the price ($168.99). The electronic trigger is great. A big plus for cover men and scenario players. Just use that to pin down a guy and he won't dare come up. The gun itself is pretty light and easily can switch hands if you need to fire. The trigger is very sensitive. That might play a part on the plus side. The ROF is also great. The only thing is that Turbo mode is is that it is a faster rate of multi mode. Whatever you have on Multi, Turbo will shoot the same amount of rounds but at a faster rate. Depending on what you put it on. ex: Multi is set at 15 balls and Turbo is set at 4 balls. Turbo will shoot 15 balls at a 4 bps rate and etc..... The Auto mode is just great. 20 bps is just insane. I haven't had any leaks yet on the gun. So I don't know why would anybody say that. Whoever said that you can't put the marker on semi is wrong. Semi is semi from what I say. Every time I pulled the trigger one round came out. Even if I held it only one round came out.

At a glance this gun is great. Very few upgrades need unless you want to be a professional player. Then just spend the grand to get an Angel or intimidator. For the rec players nothing will come close on the low end side. This is my favorite gun to date. All you need is a little of this and a little of that and you will be unstoppable.
Conclusion: Buy the gun if you are a starter or rec player. If anything higher (pro or pro-am) get a more expensive gun. Don't get me wrong this gun has the capability to keep up with the high end markers too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pegerleger Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
triad (alot better)
Marker Setup: diablo mongoose with ricochet 2k and a pure energy 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything its a piece
Strengths: Fast
ok stock barrel
Weaknesses: See my review.
Review: Well i got this gun for x mas and i have shot nothing but problems. Here are the key problomes.

:Whole bottom line systme is a dump broke on me three times in 3 months
:hevyest gun i have ever seen hands down
:screws come loose after every game
:chops balls
:curves
Conclusion: Dont get this gun unless tou want a crappy gun. I have this gun im just speking the truth.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

STSaturn Tuesday, February 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Psycho Ballistics Silver Bullet LCD
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose LCD
32 Degrees 200 round hopper
20oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B Hopper (Only hopper I know of that can keep up with it.)
Strengths: FAST!, Accurate, Quiet, Venturi Bolt, Quality gun with a low price tag
Weaknesses: Can't use it on paintball fields, at least not around here.
Review: Never had a problem with this gun. Only thing that has ever gone wrong is the bolt closes before the paintball is 100% in the chamber, which is my fault for setting the gun to 20 rounds per second with a basic hopper. A Halo B will soon fix that problem though.

I have yet to come across a gun quieter than my Mongoose. After about 6,000 paintballs it got louder but a little paint oil made it quieter than it was new out of the box. Not once has this gun ever made more noise than my friends Silver Bullet, and its a billion times quieter than my Brass Eagle Eradicator.
Conclusion: Better than any gun I have run across, only drawback is that there is no lockout mode. I would still reccomend it to any fan of paintball though.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

m1l35 66 Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom, some kind of piranah

alot more reliable
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new gun
Strengths: it loooks cool
good price
lcd
Weaknesses: look in review
Review: This gun is horrible
dont buy it
just get a 98 custom
think about it,... the lcd screen is just sumthing else to worry about breaking
YOU DONT NEED IT
after i first got this gun. my friend came over that is sponsered and after useing it the first thing he said was "this gun is pretty bad"

WEAKNESS-
micro switch sucks
need really really fast hopper to not chop, but chops anyway
shoots like every other time, ... when im lucky
really weak spring. get shocktech spring kit, they work good
ghetto volumizer,... almost went through my friends hand
leaks gas, a big no no

Conclusion: Dont Buy It!!!!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

GambitPB Thursday, March 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose
20 oz CO2
Empire Dropforward
Viewloader 150rd Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper
Barrel
Strengths: Good Electronics
Fast Rate of Fire
Look Cool
Durable
Easy Velocity Adjustments
Weaknesses: Unreliable
Cheap
Loud
Inaccurate
Review: I actually got this marker when I knew very little about the actual sport (I was something like 15?). As I've been playing more and more, I've wished I'd chosen differently. I plan on getting a much better marker this summer. In terms of aesthetics, the marker looks fantastic. I have a light blue marker and it looks superb. The electronics are good, the trigger is great. It has a counter, which is quite helpful and a timer if you need it. There are 4 rates of fire, turbo, automatic, semi automatic and multi. You can set the bps to anywhere between 4 bps to 20 bps. At any rate, you'll need not only a good electronic hopper to max it out, but also a field that will permit anything other than semi. One feature that I absolutely love on this marker is the rear velocity adjuster. When you're up to chrono, if you shoot over, all you have to do is give it a twist(s) and you've got what you need.
Since this is an older marker now, it's harder to find parts for it. It doesn't help that it's got metric fittings. Which means it's tough to find valves for it. I found this out, because the gun started leaking from different sections, which didn't bode well at all. It was leaking at the space between the hose and where the tank screwed in, which was solved with a drop forward.
Conclusion: Honestly, I have to say this marker has served me well, but in the recent time when I've started to increase my playing (I now have money) the marker has started to become a little unreliable. Old age? Maybe. Buy it? If you really want to. I would save up an additional $100 and get a slightly better gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UltimatePaintba Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Esprit
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose Black w/ red accents
Empire Barrel Kit
Spydder Adapter Kit to adapt Q-Lock
Red Dye Sticky's 3 ESP for electro spyders
Black Dye Hyper 2 reg
Dye Guage
Red NDZ EZ on/off
CiP Sweetspot trigget
Snatch Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
grips
and reg
Strengths: Derlin bolt
Fastttt
Lcd screen
Nice milling
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isnt great Grips suck
Reg is uncomfortable but its personal preference
Review: This is a great marker for the price and u have to remember its not a 800 dollar gun here ppl. With a few adjustments and a few ups it can shoot like it though the first thing i did when i got it out of the bix was open it up.. i found the derlin bolt to be nice and light and another quick adjustment i made was taking the trigger spring out...it makes it flimsey but i find it worth it dor the increased amount of bps u can rip out...with the spring in theres no was y could ever get to the clamed 21 bps but with it out it makes it seem a bit easier(still wont be able too )

With and upgrades on/off and reg i found it too be more effective on air allowing me to get almost 1300 shots out of a 68 4500 cf tank
Conclusion: All in all with a bit of work this gun could keep up with the best of them
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pindrop Tuesday, September 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every noid electro on the market today...every spyder and so on..
Marker Setup: Mongoose LCD Mk 1 Pro Backman Setup, PMI Razor, HALO TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak All American Barrel (its on the way) Evo2Y Hopper, T-board and T-Switch Trigger, Zenthian Trigger, Lowrise feed neck, Drop with bleed...EYES
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Light, Compact, Freefall, Sturdy,
Weaknesses: Stockgrips,
Review: This marker is amazing. I shoot a Mongoose LCD Mk 1 Pro Backman setup. I shoot 25 BPS, on a 32 Degrees expansion chamber and a freeflow valve setup, My Mongoose reaches freefall at 25 BPS which is much faster than it comes stock. I have done major mods to the marker. I am fully capable of shooting 30 easily with my current setup but I do not have a marker that will allow that. This marker is great, I do not purchase a marker for what it is, I purchase it for what it can be. This is a super sweet gat and I would value it at around 150$ to 200$ at the very most. I found problems with the block when I tried to break 30 BPS but other than that it is FINE. I purchased a new board (T-Board Mongoose) and switch (T-Switch) total of (60$) I got a new trigger (Zenthian 30$) This thing is faster than it was before (20 bps) not it free falls at 25 BPS so I am amped...Really...When I get HPA...this will be my marker forev....atleast until I get my impulse..
Conclusion: Buy it, buy a barrel, buy a new board if your serious into paintball, new trigger is a must, new block, new gas thru grip or even go HPA! I am speechless beyond this point..The marker really is a great creation. OH GET DYE GRIPS...A Must! For its caterogry I give it s 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media