paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel

Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 45
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $59

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its 12 inches long, has a .687" inside diameter, a bead blasted finish, and porting. Small paint is recommended.
Product Availability 
The Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, April 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick 14": The boomy was nice, but the AutoSpirit was better
32 degrees carbon fiber: Again the AutoSpirit simply out performed
J&J ceramic: only on my gun for a moment because game was starting and my velocity with this barrel dropped significantly
Marker Setup: Autococker that started stock now the only thing stock left is the hammer
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo or RPS All-Star
Strengths: I have yet to shoot a barrel that was more accurate especially when clean
The barrel was also CHEAP ($50 if you look)
Also, this barrel makes more of a difference with gas efficiency than any other barrel that I've heard of
Weaknesses: It does tend to be a little bit louder than most barrels
Also, when I do end up with a break (very rarely) the accuracy goes straight to hell
Choice of colors: anyone you want as long as it is black
Conclusion: If you want your gun to be efficient and accurate then you need an AutoSpirit. For the price to performance ratio nothing is better
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak: much higher price a great shooter when you have the right paint for the autospirit it's more accurate and effecient than freak.
cp: same as above
boomstick:same as first
could go on and on
Marker Setup: 2001 cocker
to many upgrades to list
68c.i. maxflow (thebest)
Recommended
Paintballs:
SMALL to medium small. RPS marbs are my favorite so I never have a problem!
Strengths: The most under rated barrel ever produced. This barrel has accuracy to spare. Paint shoot through after a break is as good if not better than any barrel. Why is this barrel under rated! It's not pretty to most players. (I love it who doesn't like black on a paintball product) Another reason is because it doesn't say DYE on the side. This is THE barrel for small paint. It is cheap and more than pays for itself with the short to extreme long range accuracy. Was that a long enogh reaon to buy it?
Weaknesses: The only problem I can think of is only a problem to some people. It's not pretty enough.
Conclusion: BUY IT!! This product does deserve a 10. I can't imagine a barrel being better. Hey this is MY opinion after many succesful games using it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Diablo Matrix, Trinity Reg, THOR reg, Centerflag Reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any RPS, small bore Diablo
Strengths: Above average accuracy (maybe its just my gun), quiet (why is it that nobody knows how to spell quiet around here?) and low key. Cool thing is that it matches the color of my marker. Bonus!
Weaknesses: If you're paint is slightly bloated, you're going to get breaks -- a lot of them; but then, I guess that goes for any barrel.

I really don't have anything bad to say about this barrel.

**I was actually supposed to get the Big Shot, but the store clerk gave me this one instead... and I didn't realize it until after I brought it home.
Conclusion: If you've got the money for high quality paint and are looking for a cheap, accurate barrel, this is the one for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marc Thursday, March 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
11" PMI Performance, 16" Armson Stealth, 10" Hellfire, 14"Boa Express (best barrel i've ever shot to be quite honest)
Marker Setup: 99 rf cocker, pmi perfect drop, benchmark trigger frame, lightening bolt, shocktech bomb 3-way, other stuff...
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo, and only diablo
Strengths: well the good.... this barrel came with my 99 r/f cocker with benchmark frame (paid it 360 bucks Canadian, really really cheap) so i was pleased to be getting an aftermarket barrel.

Well this barrel is pretty accurate, and i am VERY pleased. First day i got it i hopped on the field, now its hard to explain but there was a guy in a building about 25-35 feet away, and the only opening was a very small window, i'd say about 1 foot wide by 2 feet high. I nailed him through that small opening, not once but EVERYTIME. He finally called out and left.
Since then i've been pleased with this barrel.

Even through chops it performs well, i had an ANS Phase II bolt and the heap of crap was always chopping or pinching, since then i went backto my stock bolt no chops, and my lightening bolt sure be arriving any day now.......
Weaknesses: Its a little loud, and i always get called for chrony checks during tournies when we finish a match and i'm walking off the field.

Standard barrel plugs don't fit, use a barrel condom.
Conclusion: Awesome barrel for the price, i only use Diablo paint so finding a paint to match the barrel bore is no big deal.
There are better barrels out there (such as a BOA) but the price is considerably higher.

I really like my autospirit, and i've been happy with the performance. I'm giving it a 9 because no barrel is worth a 10 in my opinion.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ronin-san Tuesday, February 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
taso winforce (for my mag), cp and flatline (for my 98c)
Marker Setup: blue powdercoated minimag w/kapp drop zone and on off asa
low pressure 98C drop forward, 12v barrels listed above
Recommended
Paintballs:
pro ball seems to work good. blaze works good too.
Strengths: WAY inexpensive (50 bucks, sometimes more for rare markers)
HIGH quality
WICKED looking
VEERRY accurate
EXCELLENT company reputation
Shoot through chops without NECESSITY to squeegee
Weaknesses: .687. some say small paint only. well I dumped a hopper of proball through my mag, and only one chopped. EVEN when it chopped, there was no difference in accuracy. Shot through the break in 3 shots or less.

How that's a bad thing, I dunno.

some say it's loud. Not really, and considering the length, it's a good speedball barrel.
Conclusion: WONDERFUL barrel with a hard to beat price considering it's accuracy and build. This is a GREAT barrel. Instead of buying a Boomstick, why not buy an autospirit and a big shot for your marker. 2 barrels, different bores for different paints. I LOVE my autospirit. 10 because of price vs features.

if it costed more, it'd get a 9 or 8. You can't beat the price and quality. really.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomy, Freak kit, boomy titanium, j n j full tilt two piece, Infinity 14, armson stealth, armson pro, pmi perfect barrel, truflight, ect....
Marker Setup: 2001 2.1k red dark angel, warp feed freak kit nitro duck 90 ci 4500, Nw drop forward,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Team colours for the lapco.
Strengths: I like this barrel for those who are priviliged enough to play EXTREME front. I play right tate and am always the farthest up the field. This barrel is compact light small, its got OK accurracy ive seen better but this barrel is good. if this barrel was availible in 14 inch it would be very hard to beat. For my angel it shoots more accurrate at 55 feet than it does at 45 feet ??? but I like cuse Ive taken out many o snowman with it.
Weaknesses: It could be more accurrate but im not one to complain you pay for what you get.
Conclusion: This barrel is great, good price good for eny type of play. reasonble price. I like this barrel, TRY IT ON YOUR GUN BEFORE YOU BUY IT!!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GOPHER11 Monday, November 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomer, jt, j&j, jt, aluminum, stainless, freak
Marker Setup: gen 5 silver bushy w/ glad, stickys, and dye aluminum
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: great blowout, never needed a squeege cuz i just shot like three times and it was clean!
cheap
fitted my gun great, made it look sweet
durable
Weaknesses: loud, but who cares!!!
not the most accurate i've shot but for 50 bucks its still good
Conclusion: probably the best barrel for the price. a must have. great first barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, October 18th, 2001
Strengths: Great price - I purchased it from G3 for under $50.
Really well made - very slick black anodizing, smooth internal finish, beautifully machined. Anodizing is durable, I've used mine for over a year with minimal wear.
Light weight.
Good length - doesn't interfere when getting into a bunker as a front player.
Handles paint break well - if you break, shooting a few more balls thro' usually restores most of its accuracy. It's smooth bore except for a tight cluster of vents near the muzzle, which helps.
But still long enough for superb accuracy (see next line).
Accurate, when matched with smaller paint - the Autospirit is for small bore paint, period. When you pick the right paint, the Lapco is more accurate than any other barrel I've used (DYE, SP, J&J, Palmer, Longshot).


Asking an Autospirit to shoot big paint is like trying to fit a size 5 shoe on a person with size 10 feet. Use your common sense - use the Autospirit with small paint, and the Lapco Bigshot with big paint. At the price they're selling for, it's totally within reason to own both barrels.

As an aside, I've used an elliptical Palmer barrel (on a Typhoon and recently on a Palmer Cocker) for years, so I have nothing against "one barrel fits all" approach. I can honestly say that the Palmer barrel was able to handle most situations. However, I find lower pressure guns seem to be more sensitive to barrel/paint match. I use the Lapcos with a Palmer Cocker that shoots at 340psi input pressure, and the two different Lapcos seem to work better for that marker.

Weaknesses: If you like flashy gear, the Lapco is very boring looking - plain black. I don't care what it looks like, I'm into performance, so this doesn't bug me.

No choice in length. If you want a shorter or longer barrel, you're out of luck.

As I mentioned above, this is a barrel for small paint. To really take advantage of the Lapco barrel design, you really should pair the Autospirit with its large bore counterpart, the Lapco Bigshot. I haven't found either Lapco or their retailers emphasize this point, so it's something I had to figure out thro' using the barrel and reading others use of the Lapco.

It's louder than a barrel with more vents, but not so much that it's a deal breaker.
Conclusion: At 11.5 inches, the barrel length should work for most people. This falls within the range of functional length (most would say between 10 to 14"). Black goes with everything. The barrel is easy to clean due to the minimal porting. Sturdy and light weight. Most importantly, it is very, very accurate.

It really should be used with a big bore barrel if you expect to shoot a wide variety of paints. So you'll have to have two barrels. But because the Lapco is so accurate and so inexpensive, I don't view this as a problem.

The low price is NOT indicative of low quality - while not fancy, it is extremely well made. I would still buy this barrel even if it was closer to the price of other brand name barrel makers.

10 for the accuracy, quality and low price. 1 point off for the lack of choice in colour & length, which may bother some players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 8th, 2001
Strengths: This barrel delivers it is a very good barel if u match the paint correctly
i used several different paint brands.....and the best match was diablo blaze witch its not terribly expencive
i shot 15 balls at a target 55' away i had a 6" radius....only one ball missed the 6" radius.........i think thats the best results ive ever gotten from any barrel ive fired.......
Weaknesses: i cant think of anything
Conclusion: well i used a bushmaster with a gen ex regulator..........i also tested the same gun with other barrels and dint get the same accurasy results.......i think it is a great price for the barrel.........and i dont think it is loud at all.........if u are a front player and u are looking for one shot one hit barrel....the auto spirit delivers
remember to match your paint.......i will give this barrel a 9 becaose i dont think there is a 10 out there
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nitro Friday, September 28th, 2001
Strengths: Phew....... My buddy gave this barrel to me because he sold his spyder a while ago and it saved my arse last nite.(paintballing on a thursday?yes) i was shooting anarchy paint and the ball rolled out of my barrel so i had to use the lapco for the 1st time. it shot pretty good, fairly accurate, and i got to shoot straight while every 1 was lobbing at me because they didnt have good paint barrel match with those paintballs and there boomys.
Weaknesses: IT SAYS SPYDER ON IT!
Conclusion: How long is the barrel you used? 11.5
What gun did you use it on? PMI Piranha G3 Pro EXT
What paint works well in it? Nelsons Anarchy
Is it worth how much it costs? For the price i'd get it over a dye excel.
How does it compare to similar barrels? Kicks dye excels arse
Would you reccommend it to someone? ya, sure, alrdy have

i gave it a 10 because for the price you cant beat it, its no boomy or my ultra-lite but for a addition barrel with smaller bore its awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media