paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt

Psycho Ballistics Superbolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics Superbolt

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics Superbolt
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $149

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Another great Psycho Ballistics pro-marker! Available in Beadblasted Silver, Black and Blue.
Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics Superbolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
HampsterFist Thursday, May 5th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Autococker. This one's a Minicocker clone, operates similar. Will need some fiddling with right out of the box. For players new to autocockers you may want to look up how to adjust timing and trigger etc etc
Marker Setup: SP Ion XE - Virtue Board, TechT lvl.7v2 Bolt, 360 QEV, CP Shorty Reg, CP Sling Blade Trigger, CP Clamping Feed neck, CP Barrel .689, 8" Custom Drop Forward, Empire Reloader-B, ACI Bulldog 68/4500

PPS - Super Stocker

WGP - Black Magic Sniper 2 Pump - bone stock

PB - Superbolt w/ Sanchez Machine Superbolt Pump Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, I'm not sure what the bore is on the factory barrel, but I find paint just rolls right out in the closed bolt position very often.
Strengths: Light weight, simple bolt removal
Weaknesses: Bolt is not upgradable, not adjusted correctly out of the box
Review: I got this marker on a trade, unused by a buddy who traded me this for an impact gun. Upon receiving it I first noticed it came in a nifty little psycho ballistics carrying case, and opening the case I found the raw marker. Keep note that these were never shipped with regulators or bottom lines, you'll need to add your own. Borrowing a reg and bottom line from one of my spare markers I gassed it up and unlike some of the other reviews mine did not leak at all.

Taking it to the backyard to make small adjustment and test fire I found that the stock barrel's bore was quite large and allowed the chambered paintball to roll right out of the barrel. I later swapped it with my other Sniper 2's barrel which has a .684 bore and was able to confirm that the stock barrel was the problem with that issue. I'm assuming the stock bore is somewhere in the ball park of .690 or .692 ish.

Going back to the stock barrel shooting test, when I began to just let it rip (as fast as pneumatic trigger can rip that is =P) I found that it shot quite decently. Also I was able to get enough shots off and retime the marker a bit to where the trigger pull was pretty short for what it is, and it didn't chop any of my paint.

A few days after testing it out I ended up obtaining a Sanchez Machine Superbolt pump kit, and installing it to try it out in pump form, as at the time I was looking for another pump. In pump form it fires very well, I didn't have any issues with it as a semi, and as a pump I may have just eliminated any issues some of the other users have had with leaks from the pneumatics. For a clone this thing's got some decent accuracy, and despite having issues with the stock bolt being un-upgradable, I don't really feel the need to want a better bolt anyway as it shoots just fine. Right now it's equipped with a 12gr quick change and T-Stock, fed from a Winchester 50rnd hopper and for what it is, and for the low cost of it, it's a pretty decent marker, but if you like to tinker and are the type to attempt to max out and upgrade everything, you may want to look elsewhere, otherwise the stock bolt design is going to piss you off.

As far as air efficiency goes, in Semi form I can't really say, as I haven't played much with it as a semi, in pump form with my 12 gram quick change on it, it's so so on air, I get about 25-28 shots per 12 gram give or take 3 shots depending on day, not the most efficient marker out there, but it's not too horrible I guess... though it places it just slightly above the air efficiency as blow back pistols when powered by 12 grams >.> maybe get a few shots more.
Conclusion: As far as I'm concerned, this is a decent marker. My primary issue with it is the fact that it came from the factory with such a large bore barrel that allows the chambered paintball to roll right out once the bolt rests in the closed bolt position. Stock pneumatics aren't the prettiest out there, but the one I received worked fine. The trigger frame that comes with the marker is adjustable to a fair degree as well, you can adjust the trigger in everyway that all good cocker trigger frames can be adjust from, but keep note that the adjustment screws or bolts, whatever you want to call them, are fairly short, so even though everything is adjustable, it's not adjustable to a wide degree. You won't get a super short trigger pull, but you will get a very comfortable one. Rating is as follows -1 for un-upgradable bolt, -1 for barrel, and -1 for adjustment screws on frame being too short limiting adjustments, I had to actually remove the trigger from the frame to retrieve an adjustment screw that I adjusted too far and had to get it back into place. 7 overall, but this is not a bad marker. I would recommend it to the budget minded casual player who's looking for something accurate and light, but doesn't want to spend too much. Note: You will definitely need to upgrade the barrel, no doubt, and you will need a reg and bottom line of your own.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chasethebarber Wednesday, July 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really...it's my first Autococker.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, custom made foregrip(made by me, for me), Kingman TL regulator/drop forward, homemade expansion chamber, JCS Folding Stock, 50 round hopper, alternating between a 12in Progressive, 14in TearDrop and 16in Razzor for the barrel.

Psychoballistics Superbolt Autococker, Empire .681 2-piece barrel, Psychoballistics roller sear, Sanchez Mini pump kit, Sanchez delrin bolt, VL 12v Revolution, unsure of the reg and drop forward, Guerrilla Air Myth 48/3k
Recommended
Upgrades:
Delrin bolt
(if you can find one. Had to buy mine secondhand. Go lurk around in forums...you might get lucky)

Small bore barrel
(either a Dye Ultralite or Empire 2-piece back will work with the included barrel tip)

Some would suggest new pneumatics, but mine worked fine out of the box. It really depends on how yours is when you get it.
Strengths: Very light
Very Accurate
Quiet
Wicked looks
Efficient
It's an AFFORDABLE Autococker!
Weaknesses: Pretty steep learning curve
Needs small bore barrel
Review: I was looking into getting a pump gun, but was kinda skittish of the price for a good one. During my search, I stumbled across the Superbolt. Having never seen an Autococker-like marker for such a low price, I decided to do a bit of research. The reviews on this site were rather helpful in explaining what to expect, so I decided to take a chance on it.

I ordered a black Superbolt with a regulator/drop forward already installed(unsure of the brand, but the logo seems to be an angry looking yellow fish...anyone know?) and the sear/pump kit for $150 bucks shipped. I grabbed the barrel, tank, and bolt by searching forums and taking advantage of weekend-only specials on sites like Actionvillage.com. Total cost: $200 for a Cocker, mini pump kit, hpa tank and accessories. Not too shabby.

When it arrived this morning, I hooked up my co2 tank to leak test it. There was a small leak on the lpr, but it was just a loosely attached piece. Once that was fixed, it hasn't made the slightest hiss. It took me a while to time it due to being new to Autocockers, but once timed, it cycled quite well. The trigger will probably take some getting used to, but that's not a big deal.

Timing done, I then loaded up my Revvy with some 3-month-old Stingers and took it outside to test it. The .681 Empire back made roll-outs impossible...with the advantage of underbore. It shot straight and true with only a few hooks due to the old/dimpled paint. I was amazed with how quiet it was compared to my Tippmann(but then again, I am comparing it to a Tippmann...). The trigger pull is light, yet crisp. I managed to short-cycle it a couple of times, but that's only because I'm not used to it yet.


EDIT: I have installed the pump kit in order to get rid of the co2 issues. All I can say is "WOW". It went from small spread to ball-on-ball accurate. I can repeatedly hit a dumpster at 70 yards(not including fluctuations from the co2, of course) with a little lobbing. I am severely impressed...can't wait to play with it tomorrow.

EDIT: I played with it yesterday and was absolutely impressed with its capabilities. I only got a couple of kills, but it was no fault of the gun...I was still playing like I had my 98, so I moved up too fast and got taken out once I got isolated. I made several headshots, with only one bounce(just barely grazed the side of the mask @45 yards). It drew many looks and even prompted some players to go after me first so I wouldn't get around and one-ball them. I suspect that once I play with it a bit more, I will be able to do just that.
Conclusion: So far, I love it. It's great marker for those who want to try out an Autococker, but don't have much money to spend. It looks wicked, shoots straight, and is very quiet. It's a bit difficult to learn, but is really quite simple when you figure it out. If you want an accurate gun that will attract loads of attention, you won't find a better deal than a Superbolt.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2010 at 1:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sdlm Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other cockers, Depends on setup which is best this one or them
Marker Setup: 2000 Cobra Angel LCD
Warped sports snatch
Warped sports Detent
Warped sports breech knob
Preadator II board
CCM mid rise
Lapco bigshot 12"
Powerlyte speedshot 14"
all the cobra goodies (ss hammer, bolt, internal porting, etc)
2001 E-mag
12" SS all american teardrop
pf hl stanless steel body
lvl 10
98 rainmaker
lots and lots of internal mods
12" SS bigshot
14" dye excel
98 Shocker sport 4x4
2k2 firing piston, fill poppet
eclipse delrin bolt
OTB frame
vert max-flo kit
18" Dye "glued" boomstick
board mods
classic mag, pgp, tigershark, talon, tippman 68 special, Pirahna and others...
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good regulator, hopper, HPA system.
Strengths: Price, Looks, Adjustable reg stock, light
Weaknesses: Kinda cheap worksmanship, Terrible on co2, some parts don't interchange.
Review: Well, this is an Autococker allright, and has many of the same good and bad things about it. The tigger pull was average for a hinge frame cocker, not really smooth a bit crisp but short, and could be adjusted. If paired to a short, crisp 3 way like the shocktech bomb the trigger would be very good.

It has a somewhat funky bolt system, but it works well it does make the pump arm a bit shorter so this part won't interchange. Some of the worksmanship was a bit cheap, the anno scratches easy and the body is made out of softer aluminum so stripping screws is easy.

The performance was good, matching the WGP cocker in most cases, except that everything felt short and crisp but nothing really felt smooth about the thing. For the price I have never seen a cocker match it. One thing that was bad was it's Co2 performance, I have ran cockers on co2 forever, both new and old and they never seemed to mind. For a long time in my pre 98 cocker I ran unregulated Co2 Vertical without any issue. This cocker froze up within 100 shots and was unshootable, the bolt had to be manually cocked. This is probibly due to smaller surface area in many of the parts not allowing for quick cold dissapation.

The stock barrel was acutally suprisingly good.
Conclusion: While it is not constructed to the same durability of WGP products it is hard not to reccomend if found at a decent price, performance blows any triligy out of the water and equals any of the older WGP cockers.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 11th, 2007 at 9:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Lightning Delux, and most WGP cockers.
Marker Setup: Superbolt Autofocker, Planet Eclipse Eblade, Tboard, Planet Eclipse Ram, Palmers Rock LPR, Chipley Machine HPR (occasionally swapped with a Wrath's stock reg), Shocktech superfly bolt, random front and back blocks, shocktech #1 drop, shocktech on/off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Three-way, and barrel.
Strengths: Low cost, fast, pretty efficient.
Weaknesses: Needs extras to get running.
Review: As i mentioned in my review for the Lightning Delux, i spent the past couple weekends working on these two guns. This one is my favorite between the two. It is lighter, smaller, and smoother shooting.

Hook up a reg and asa, and you're good to go. Time it (or die trying lol), and set the velocity, and watch it rip. For a mech gun, it's pretty darn fast, if i do say so myself. 8bps is a typical speed, which aint bad at all for a mech gun.

It's very small, very nicely milled, and has a very smooth feel to it. Firing it is very fun in itself. It's a good gun for what you pay, it's just a major pain in the ass to time.


Update 11:12:06

I played all day with this gun today. The only problem was the occasional barrel burst, but that was more the paint's fault anyway. With my revvy on it, i never chopped.

I've noticed that the gun has a warm up period when you air it up. You have to pull the trigger a few extra times to move the pump rod back and forth while the LPR gets up to pressure. Then it's back to normal.

This gun is fast, accurate, and gets good air efficiency. Because i had small bore paint, it would roll out, so before i'd come out to snap shoot, i'd shoot once, so a round would be chambered, then snap shoot. It acted up on me one time, started acting weirdly for a few shots, then went back to normal. That was right about the time the sun went down, so i'm guessing it was the regs adjusting to temperature change.

This is a very very solid gun. I've timed it once in three months. So far it's my 2nd favorite mech gun ever, second to the RT mag.

I enjoy shooting it, people think it's a nice looking gun, and it has a very good ano job on it. I've got shocktech parts on mine to fill the gaps, i get great performance from this marker.

Update May 18th 2007

I have installed a number of upgrades on the gun now. Including a PE Eblade, Tboard, PE ram, Palmers Rock LPR, superfly bolt, a new front and back block, etc.

I got the eblade and ups installed and working on the first try. Great sucess. This gun has proved to be one of the best hundred twenty bucks i've ever spent. It's a great platform to stick upgrades on.

Still a really good gun, even after quite a lot of use.
Conclusion: Try it out before you buy, you might just be suprised.

Absolutely outstanding.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 18th, 2007 at 6:31 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

vladvlas Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics Superbolt
-Check It Drop
-AIM feedneck
- Maddmann springs kit
- Belsales Evolution LPR
- Belsales Evolution 44 Magnum Ram & QEVís
-CP short Inline Reg
- SLIK bolt
-J&J Edge
-Empire Reloader II
Recommended
Upgrades:
three way
feedneck
E2
Ram
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Looks
-Price
-Upgradable
Weaknesses: Bolt&back block
doesn't come with Reg and Drop
3-way and Ram leaks
Review: First of all this gun is great for a cocker at a descent price. The gun looks awesome and is very light. It comes with an awesome gun case but it's no use once you put your regulator and bottomline on the gun (unless you modify the foam in the case by cutting it up). The cocker needs to be timed usually right out of the case. Changing the barrel also helps to straighten more of the shots. The twist and Lock bolt is a neat idea but it makes it so you can only buy the stock bolt and only from Psycho Ballistics.
I can not use stock valve and hummer spring with 300 psi, only 450 psi. I buy Maddmann springs kit and now use marker with 290-300 psi.
I drill back block and now can use any Evo length bolts. I like SLIK . Now I want put on my Superbolt E2 frame.
Conclusion: I think if you want a good LOW-PRICE cocker. Get this 1. If you simply put on an E2 e-blade this cocker could run with the best ie: Karnivore's, Superstocks etc. Even without an e-blade it is still just as good if not better than any other mechanical cocker. This cocker not for beginners.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Maytherman Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other mech cockers and eblades
Marker Setup: alias and the new cocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
reg and bottomline kit of course.
since the bolt is a twist, it kinda sucks that u can't get any upgrades. so many a different back-block then a bolt.
trigger frame.
feedneck
Strengths: CHEAP
LOOKS AWSOME
Timed great from box
Light
consistant from box
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Bolts a twistlock.
Not assembled the best. Ram was sorta loose. no biggie.
Review: I got this gun off of ebay after seeing how cheap they were on a few other sites. 100 bucks brand new is a great deal, for one of the tightest milled cockers. I got hooked up with a bob long new style reg and just a simple asa. the gun looks awsome. My tech said that it was timed pretty decently from the factory so he didn't mess with it much. went to the chrono with some paint and i was surprised. for shooting 20 balls in its lifetime it was pretty darn consistant. i got 272, 272, 270, 269. but then there was the odd ball which was at 239. but thats perfectly fine with me since the gun still needs to be broken in. a lot of people downed on the 3-way, which got me worried when we were first airring it up. but its solid.

the only thing that kinda sucks, but with fine tuning it will probably be fixed, is that this hinge frame is sorta easy to short stroke with. it may be just me, but i chopped a few with what seemed to me, to be full trigger pulls. but whatever. its fine, a few shots later it shot threw it.

Also, with only a few shots, wear on the gun was pretty noticable. the bolt was scratching already, and between the back block and body where a few scratches. but nothing too huge.
Conclusion: This is a really great gun for the price. once you pay for everything, your looking in the ballpark of around 200 bucks if you know where to get good deals at. and you can't beat that for a good looking and shooting cocker. I am very satisfied with the gun and got a few envius people at the field that might try and get one since its such a good deal. gets a 10 for great performance out of box, even for a cocker!, and being so cheap and good looking/shooting.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sportzchamp91 Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Superbolt
select fire eblade
orracle tickler lrp
CP reg
Function on/off drop forward
Viewloader revolution
Air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit
Trigger frame
Autococker 101 tech video
Strengths: Light, small and fast
Weaknesses: Small trigger frame
Review: I got this gun on my birthday almost a year ago. I have always wanted an autococker and I found this one new for $90 so i bought it. I didn't know anything about autocockers when i first bought it. i had trouble with leaking out the barrel, but then I learned that you have to cock it before you gas it up. I also had leaking in my asa but some teflon tape fixed that. After I fixed my leaks and learned how to use it it and now it works perfectly. The only problem I have with this gun is it can't take an aftermarket bolt, but you could probably drill the back block to accept one.
Conclusion: This is a very good gun. But if you don't know anything about autocockers before you buy it you should probably get the autococker 101 tech video. that would help with everything from maintenance to timing. Overall this is a good gun, small accurate light and easy to shoot.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 29th, 2006 at 7:59 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

alphasnail Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Freak Barrel kit
PMI 68ci 3000psi tank
halo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Design
Weaknesses: Bolt
Ball detent
Barrel
Review: Ok,i bought this gun brand new out of the box, first time i bought it the spring in the trigger frame was to short so the gun would not cock, then when i first got to use it the balls kept rolling out even with the barrel kit and since then i have tryed many brands and the best of gotten is the occasional ball roll out. and another problem i have had was the ball dentent was messed up so every now and then 2 or 3 balls would roll out. so i bought a new detent and that still didn't fix it, so i took one of my friends new prostock cocker and it still kept loading more than 1 balls at times. but on the positive side this guns is surprisingly accurate, when it works, i have found my self making some nice shots and not on accident. i once was playing air ball and i was at the break box and i shot a guys barrel that was sticking out, he was all the way in the far corner. the gun is very light shoots nice.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this gun to beginners as I am one, I would say this is a project gun. I would of been much happier with a syder than this.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gmkid05 Saturday, April 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mags, 03 & 99 Cocker stock w /orracle 3 way and orracle bolts
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics Superbolt
-Smart parts Drop
-Orracle 3 way (def recommend)
-System X Inline Reg
-J&J Ceramic & stock barrel it came with
Recommended
Upgrades:
A whole new gun, mainly 3 way and front lpr and good low pressure inline reg, i used a evil detonator reg and those seem pretty good for the price so go with that i guess.....
Strengths: Its a cocker ....well the design..... and its got some nice engraving in it
Weaknesses: The whole front block is a pos (once aagain you get what you pay for)
Review: Well i got this gun for 115 shipped of eBay, of course U GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, so if your expecting to just fire this thing up and go u got another thing coming. My front block didn't leak at first it came timed nice out of the box but velocity was down and shot maybe 10 feet, so it needs some work out of the box, came with a nice case too until you upgrade ur gun and have to cut it to fit. Overall with some new parts (3 WAY AND LPR ARE THE FIRST!!!!!!!!!) this gun is pretty worth it, i just don't understand how you put so much quality in the design of the engraving and not put the same quality into the parts of the gun....... The engraving is nice i can quit looking at it lol
Conclusion: If your gonna get a cocker and upgrade it, i would say buy this one, its got a nice body and good internals, the trigger is ok but definitely needs a new front block kit and a good inline reg (around 400 psi) that's really all it needs REMEMBER EBAY -$100 BIN!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunker_king_23 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye cockers
Marker Setup: pycho ballistics super bolt with e2, empire b, evil pipe 14'', system x slider uni mount
Recommended
Upgrades:
e2( e blade)
barrel
system x slider unimount
beaver tail
Strengths: Accuracy
Close to a dye ultra light cocker
Weaknesses: Front end kit has scratches stock barrel due to design of barrel
Review: I got this gun on my b-day and when i first saw it i was soo excited. Dustin at underground paintball sold it to me and he did a hell of a deal in my opinion. i played alot with it and i was hitting people from the start cause of its accuracy. not of a gas hog if u get a system x slider unimount cause theres this button where u hit it and the air will turn off. the stock frame is ok but if u wanna shoot people alot just get a e blade. stock barrel looks cool but sucks its fat but its a 2 piece.
Conclusion: Get this gun if this is gonna be your first auto cocker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media