paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator

MACDev Gladiator Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Gladiator Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Gladiator Regulator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 04 Gladiator is better than ever before - with higher flow, improved reliability and new 04 features!
Product Availability 
The MACDev Gladiator Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
internetrush Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 04 'Cocker reg
Marker Setup: WGP 2004 VF
Centerflag 90/3000 Fiber
Evolution 2 Loader
PHAT Barrel Kit
Strengths: Consistant
Beautiful with Black
Weaknesses: touchy
ASA hole is positioned crappy
Review: Well, i got tired of shooting within a 10-20 fps so i decided to upgrade my regs... first the LPR and now this.

Strengths
- Highly adjustable
- Very stable
- Looks l33t
- nice grip

Weaknesses
- Screw on bottom is too touchy
- Input hole for hose is kinda on one side

Ok, This HPR is VERY good. I like to see people b!tch about how much they paid for their guns and why mine works so good and i only have 2/3 of the money that they have in their guns. *laugh*. Anyway when i initially installed this i had a few problems, such as the thing comes preset to throw out like 1200 psi. My 3 way leaked constantly and it wouldn't cock right. So when you order this reg (trust me you want to) turn the screw all the way out first... then you can adjust it inward as you start. Another problem is that the crew is very touchy 1/8 of a turn = like 1/2 the psi, this gave me problems initially but once you figure it out its easy to adjust. The last complaint i have about this reg is that the input hole for the ASA is not right in the middle as it should be, because when the hose went in there the hose was 5" in length and fit onto my drop well. But as i turned it in and the thing spun around it ended up on the other end when the reg was tight and i had to order a new hose... Not a big loss but it was a pain waiting a week for a hose.

There is really nothing else wrong with this, my menial little quarrels up above are nothing to do with quality. This reg has worked for 3 months now perfectly, i shot maybe 6 drops of oil through it and have shot about 6000 paintballs. Still works wonderfully. I didn't like my original reg because the oil would backup in it and i would have to clean it about every case of paint, since about every 2 times i play i put a little oil it it to make sure everything is sliding correctly. With this one it shoots it right through into the gun (where its supposed to be). And i haven't had any consistency issues to date.
Conclusion: Order this reg if your marker is black...it matches perfectly and with the high performance that ive seen i wouldnt want another reg if someone gave it to me.

9 out of 10 b/c the ASA hole gave me a 2 hour headache and a week wait.... Otherwise it would be a 10

Happy paintballing
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SeaWolf Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock Inline WGP Reg

-ANS Gen-X2
Marker Setup: 2k3 WGP Vertical Autococker
-10" Stainless Freak Barrel
-MacDev '04 Gladiator Regulator
-Kapp Reflex Trigger Frame
-Kapp Twisted Cocking Rod
-Kapp Delrin Ball Detent
-Kapp 15 degree ASA
-Shocktech Bomb 3-way
-Shocktech Superfly Bolt
-Shocktech PHAT Hammer
-Palmers Micro Rock LP Regulator w/ Rock Knob
-32 Degrees On/Off
-Macroline
-WGP STO Ram
Strengths: -Very Consistent
-Cool Milling
-Great Design
Weaknesses: -No place for a guage
-Colors
Review: This regulator was a little strange at first. If the pressure was too high, my hammer wouldn't open the valve enough to get a higher velocity. If the pressure was too low, of course, th velocity would also be low. It will take a little time to sweet-spot on an autococker because you have to deal with your LP reg, your inline reg, your main spring, and the valve all at the same time.

After everything was tweaked, my velocity seemed to go from 260, to 240, and then to 190, but then it would come back up to 240, and then to 260. The pattern was a consistent 260, 240, 190, 240, 260, 240, 190, etc... I emailed MacDev and got a reply within a week. The technician told me to turn the seat over. I did so, took it to the local shop, and I chronographed it with my airsmiths facilities. I was getting + or - 1 for 99% of the shots. The reading was between 264 and 265 most of the time, but once it spiked to 271. I'm sure it was just a small paintball that rolled down the barrel easily.
Conclusion: Overall, this regulator is great. I'd recommend it as one of the best on the market, especially for the price. The only other regulator that I've seen get equally good reviews is the SideWinder. The only reason you should pick a SideWinder over this regulator is if you like the color or the milling of the other one better. The silver is cool, but I really wish they would have made the '04 Gladiator in chrome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer505 Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
there is no regulator as good
Marker Setup: on all my guns i have used this regulator or angel air
Strengths: consistancy, comfortablility, cool looking, nice to hold
Weaknesses: no gauge port. it is more consistant than my angel air. 2 colors
Review: first off people ask how consistant a reg is. well i will have to say that macdev does not know any other word except for pure perfection. i own both of there guns and my 6 other guns that i have now are all equiped with these regulators. this regualtor is the most consistant reg ever made. on all my guns it shoots 234, 234,234, 234, 234, 234, 234, 234, 234, 234. i put this on this persons tippmann and it shot 278, 278, 278, 278, 279. it is the most consistant and best looking reg. it will improve any gun and the word shoot down can be completely eliminated from your vocabulary. the flaw is that it has no gauge port which can be easily fixed problem.(guages on asa, and if you are a cocker freek under your lpr) the other bad thing is it is more consistant than my angel air. my 600 dollar air goes up and down one to two psi, but with this reg is only 80 bucks and it does not even have a differential in psi.
Conclusion: MacDev= God.
enough said. if you want the best dont bother with the rest.
if looks arnt everything except the colors and get the greatesr regulator ever made.
I give this regulator a 10 and this is the only regulator that i have ever given a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

penguins_r_kewl Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: VERY consistant, small, looks great, made by Mac Dev.
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I get +/- 5fps at the chrono on my spyder (good for a spyder). This a very great looking reg. The 04 is a big improvment from the 03. I like the placements on this reg, the bottom adjustment and bottom hose screw in hole thing is nice. This reg has very nice milling and is very small. This is the best regulator in its price range. Its Mac Dev so you know its made with real high quality.
Conclusion: This is the reg to get. $80 isn't cheap but this regulator is well worth it. Too bad I have to sell it =( .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cockerguy9311 Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Orracle, Mac Dev 04 glad reg, ACI Bulldog 47/3k, Dead on bullet dropforward, Evo II
Strengths: Easly adjustable, consistant, fast
Weaknesses: None what so ever
Review: This reg is awesome, I hooked it up to my gun the second I got it. Of course I had some trouble getting the steel hose to fit because I had a BM that was fed through the side, but I got it. The reg only needs a little Dow 33 at the top and screw it in and its ready to go. It's recharge rate is great! I took my gun down to the field and threw some paint in it, no shoot down what so ever and the balls were straight on every time, no velocity changes like my BM (of course I'm sure there was 1 point where the glad reg went up 1 for a sec but I didn't notice if it did lol), but I was only shootin about 10 or so balls a seconds with one finger against the trigger as fast as I could. I'll find out ounce I get my Worr Blade next week. Another thing I love about this reg is it becomes your grip and the hose isn't in the way any more, an you can adjust on the bottom near the hose with ease.
Conclusion: I recommend this reg to anybody with a fast gun angels, timmy's, whatever. Its easy to use/adjust and its easy to install. I have only seen this reg 2 places, but I only know about 10 pball sites. Buy it, its definently worth the $80!!!! (If your wondering how big it is, its about the size of a BM, 3 inches when screwed in and about 3 1/2 for its full length)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 6th, 2004 at 3:44 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

iaxz Friday, September 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock WGP reg, Black Magic reg
Marker Setup: Complete custom %100! down to the screws. umm, mac dev reg, orracle front, E-Blade, rat, Kaner barrel .....ect
Strengths: looks, consistency, the air port is on the bottem. I love that.
Weaknesses: No gauge mount
Review: Ok. I love this reg. I have had it for a while now. I think it takes a while to figure out a reg good enough to write a review that people can trust. The reg looks and feels great. Side by side it out preformed a Black magic reg on a 2003 Orracle. The pressure adjuster is a small Hex head screw on the side of it. Very VERY VERY! slight adjustments only. I think I am running mine at 75 psi. Yeah it is LOW! I usually shoot anywhere between 260-265 FPS when I shot slow and 255-265 when I let is go at about 15-20 bps. I could turn the reg up to about 125 and shoot harder but I like the fact that is is nearly impossible to chop a ball. Put it this way. My PMI tank reads ZERO and I can still have a couple weak shots. You can shoot SOOOOOOO low with this thing. It is a little pricey. I got mine from a friend on e-bay for $80.00 free shipping.
I love it! It also comes with spare parts.

GO FOR IT!
Conclusion: Hmm, if you have the money and want a HIGH quality reg, buy it. Be sure to read the manual first. You can break it when you install it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dan E Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
veritcal max flow
Marker Setup: 2k2 imp with complete freak kit, new designz delrin bolt, new desginz front cap, eclipse solenoid optimizer, eclipse magno blade trigger, eclipse fangz dwell cover, north west products drop and of course the gladiator.
Strengths: it looks good, somewhat consistent after some work (i will get into that more later)
Weaknesses: touchy adjustment, you have to have the ability to rig with it
Review: ok this reg is ok i guess now but when i first got it it worked good then went to hell so i decided to investigate so i broke it down and cleaned it out (there is something in it that mac dev used for lube that is blue and sticky and i have no clue what it is but it needs to be taken out and relubed when you buy one but back to the story) i relubed it using shocker lube and put it back together and it worked pretty good but still not up to my expectation so i broke it back down cleaned it back out and took what that guy said down there to do and made a little device so it would hit the same spot all the time and rigged it in there and it works great now so i would keep it now

i edited my old review cause now that it works my old review didnt give the gladiator or mac dev justice its a pretty good reg i would probably buy another if i needed one
Conclusion: this is a pretty good reg but i have not been able to shoot it over the chrono yet but it doesnt heat up like it used to so i know that it is at least alot more consistent than it used to be but i did have to take it apart and remove that blue goo that mac dev put in it so that is why i am not giving it a 10 i think if mac dev would use shocker lube or something similar it would help it alot because when i buy a reg that is $75 i expect not to have to rig or even clean it out and relube it but after all that i did i am pleased with it so if you need a good reg i would suggest one of these so go buy one right now
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 17th, 2003 at 2:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Redeye_Jedi Friday, July 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS GEN X-2, stock one
Marker Setup: In relation to my air setup, I use the gladiator with all MAC DEV products. The conquest 68/4500 and RED valve and hammer kit.
Strengths: The all MAC DEV combo is the way to go! Low pressure is easy to have, but the key is efficiency. The gladiator reg is built for low pressure operation. It has a output range of 0-500psi. Works extremely well at 200-300 psi. I leave mine at about 280. With a high flow tank like the conquest, this tank can regulate a very consistent flow with NO drops! The port where you screw in a line (steel braided or macroline) is at the bottom of the reg...I like this because it gives you a better grip. I owned the ANS GEN X-2, and it just doesn't compare to a reg like this. The gladiator is a simple design that works very well.
Weaknesses: There is nothing bad about this reg. Some people wish there was a port for a guage, but I believe a guage should be on the gun, not on the reg. You want to be able to hold on to your reg for a nice grip. My advice to those who want a guage, is to buy the Shocktech vert asa with guage port. That way your guage is lifted above your grip hand.
Conclusion: This reg is awesome, no need to read any other review, if you want consistent efficient shots, and a well build reg, don't get mad, get glad...GLADIATOR!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

big guns Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vigilante...No wheres close
Marker Setup: e99-16 all american (freak in mail)-gladiator reg-rocket L.P-5 inch NW drop-68 4500 raptor rex
Strengths: -consitent
-consitent
-consitent
-looks and feels good
Weaknesses: -if it gets dirty,it will decrease in performance
Review: The Good
This is an AMAZING product! I was getting +2 fps from an e99!The consitency is god like,no shoot down drop off of any kind,very comfy, low profile.

The Bad
If you get it dirty it will get cranky....
But even when it got dirty I was still getting +6 fps!
I havent used co2 with it,but I wouldnt because I heard it sux with co2...
Conclusion: You MUST get it. It is an amazing product,you just got to take good care of it,and it will take good care of you.I wish I could give it an 11+.

As for the guy that gave it a 1...If you would have cleaned it,there wouldnt have been any problem.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

homerman4 Friday, July 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BL Torpedo
Marker Setup: Black 2k3 BKO
2k2 14'' All American w/ freak front
2k3 Mac Dev Gladiator Reg.
Palmers micro rock lpc
AKA mitey max
zenitram valve
zenitram ASA
Empire loader
high rise
48/3k pmi hpa
dead on drop
Strengths: High flow
easy to clean
New Milling
Weaknesses: needs an asa adapter for stock bko blocks
Review: This reg is a very good reg. It takes about 800 to a 1000 shots to brake in this reg. After that it is very consistent. This reg is also very well shaped. The new mill job is very nice looking.

I cant really think of any thing else to write in the body but i need 100 word !!!!










Conclusion: With my makers setup i shoot 260 fps at around 180 psi. At the chrono +/- 2. Not bad for only 80 dollars.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media