paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / National Survival Games Splatmaster Rapide / National Survival Games Splatmaster Rapide / National Survival Games Splatmaster Rapide / National Survival Games Splatmaster Rapide

National Survival Games Splatmaster Rapide Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount National Survival Games

Buy National Survival Games Splatmaster Rapide

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


National Survival Games Splatmaster Rapide
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Double-action semi-automatic, single 12 gram powerlett in handgrip, 10 round box magazine, snub-nose brass barrel.
Product Availability 
The National Survival Games Splatmaster Rapide is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
amhildreth Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster, Sheridan Jackal
Marker Setup: stock setup with no add-ons
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel, front grip
Strengths: compact. durable. spin clip. unique looks. collector item
Weaknesses: frequent paint breakage. cannot field strip. parts not available. double feeds. loud.
Review: This was NSG's attempt in the late 80's to compete with the new wave of semi-autos that began to blossom on the fields. Although labeled as "semi auto", it is actually a double-action. The gun has a very long and stiff trigger pull. For something this compact, the pull and kickback greatly reduce the accuracy. To its merit, the barrel is actually easy to clean with a T-stick, or by undoing one screw and removing the barrel for a pull-through. The Rapide uses a unique clip system that came in a 20 or 40rd capaciity. 4 chambers that each held a set # of balls. When empty, just spin the clip 1/4 turn and keep shooting. Despite a detente wire, the gun wouldn't always feed correctly - causing frequent paint breaks due to pinching if fired too quickly. The unported brass barrel quickly corroded if not cleaned out after play, and has a very LOUD report. Durablity depended on the model. The composite guns (solid green, solid black) seem immune to any kind of abuse, while the limited see-through (clear) were prone to stress cracking after only a few years of play. The Rapide isn't as complicated to take apart as first seems - just take some extra time and space for all the screws. Roughly 25 shots can be garnished from a 12 gram before changing. There is no quick-changer, so it always helped to have someone cover you while undoing the 6-7 turns to remove the 12 gram knob. Some "upgrades" were available in the form of a C/A and direct feed adaptors.
Conclusion: The Rapide was somewhat outdated on the fields even when new, and is by no means considered "competetive". With the barrel polished out, and oil given to the internals, it can be a fun shooter for rec games and a real head-turner on the field. Its compact pistol stature does make it useful for tucking tight behind air bunkers, but unreliable accuracy, long trigger pull, kick, and paint breaks tend to make these more of a collector's item than anything else. If you find one for sale, then by all means purchase it, because these are harder to find (especially in working condition) as the years go by.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 13th, 2004 at 6:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TZX-ZX Sunday, November 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster Rapide
Splatmaster Rapide Comp
GZ 2000
Early BE (Pre-Golden Eagle)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-Grip, Taso 14" Nickel barrel, LAPCO grip block and drop, Hand-polished internals, CAR stock with RVA. (Main Gun)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extended brass barrel if you can find it.
Alligator Kit.
Direct Feed kit or 40 round Magazine
Strengths: For the time it was made:
Extrmely Light
Balanced
Range
Weaknesses: Trigger pull
Rate of fire
Accuracy
Review: Well, this is a review for both the Splatmaster Rapide, and Rapide Comp.
First let me warn anyone looking to buy these guns: Their time has gone, owning one should only be out of novelty as these guns are far obsolete and past their prime, it is simply not practical to play with them anymore.

Let's start out about how the gun is operated. Unlike how the box of the gun advertises, it is NOT a Semi-Automatic paintball gun, it is double action. That means that pulling the trigger both cocks and fires the marker, it is not blowback action. This is where a key flaw to the gun's design comes out. The trigger is rather stiff, hard, and excrutiatingly long. With the Comp version of the gun (Rifle form) this isn't as much of a problem, seeing as how the stock is there to keep the gun balanced. However with the pistol, with the huge trigger pull, the barrel will probably be pointing at the ground. You have to really compensate to get the Rapide on target.

The gravity feeding clip is a rather neat trinket, however it is more pain than practical. Even when the gun was new, new magazines were hard to come by, and are even worse today, so you're pretty much stuck with hand-reloading your magazine. The magazine also makes the gun hard to holster, which almost defeats the gun's role as a sidearm in pistol form. The 40 round clip for the Comp is about twice the size, and the plastic slide mechanism has a tendency to break if you try to pull off the magazine too hard or fast.

Range is suprisingly very good for this gun, in pistol or Comp form, however the range doesn't really give you anything because the gun really isn't accurate out of 20 feet max. Really sad compared to some of the guns that the rapide was competing with, even the original Splatmaster far outshines the rapide when it comes to accuracy. Thats of course if you can get it to shoot consistently. The biggest complaint back in it's day was that the gun easily double-fed and often times the trigger would 'jam' where a ball wasn't sitting perfectly in the breech, or double fed, and when you pulled the trigger all the way, the bolt would slice your ball in half, shooting out a mess of paint. You couldn't clean the barrel without disassembling the whole gun either. The chopping problems with the rapide were bad, especially if you were trying for rapid fire.

The key problems with the rapide come with the way it was built. The rapide was never a top-of-the-line gun. It was a last ditch effort by NSG to keep themselves in business, along with the GZ-2000. I've serviced and fixed many rapides for people, and they all share common problems: Leaks around the C/A adapter, and the valve assembly going fubar, where the cocking arm fails to reach all the way back to grab the bolt.

Some good things about the rapide and comp, is that they are very light guns. The rapide is fairly balanced as a sidearm, and the Comp is an extremely comfortable and cool looking rifle (Almost seems as if it's modeled after the Australian Owen Machine Carbine from WWII). But looks only get you so far. It's made of the durable plastic the Splatmaster is, so although it isn't metal, you still won't be able to break it unless you are trying to.
Conclusion: Final recommendation: Don't buy unless you're a collector or someone who wan'ts the gun for novelty. This was never a competing gun, and shouldn't be used as such. This gun was say, the Sheridan XGS Jackal of it's day. Cheap, double action, and entry level. However with the lack of replacement parts and NSG going out of business, if something goes wrong, you're screwed. The way it's built, the accuracy, the feeding system, the consistency, and extremely long and ungainly trigger pull seriously work against the gun.

All in all, it's not a safely reliable sidearm, main marker, or any other role. The only thing it's truley good for it novelty and collection. Below-average, even for it's time.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 9th, 2003 at 9:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The original splat master and it has a better trigger pull but i do not like pumps
Marker Setup: tippman 98 splat master rapide side arm
Recommended
Upgrades:
hopper upgrade and barrel extension
Strengths: good side arm always good in a situation were your main gun doesn't work
Its the coler green instead of metalic so in a war in the woods its harder to see
Weaknesses: hard to find parts the manufacturer went out of business so you cant really find one
Hard trigger pull
Its not very good for a main gun because of its small ammo load
Conclusion: good side arm
If you have a splat master rapide CO2 screw ill pay $20.00 for the one piece
Its very durable and reliable
if you have the piece email me at runningback041@aol.com
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Robroadway Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
nothin
Marker Setup: i dont use anything on it cuz i havent played long enough
Strengths: takeing one good shot
Weaknesses: missing
Review: i haven't played paintball for a long time cuz i haven't played before for long, it is my dads gun, he has not used it for a long time it is a really good gun,it is awsome in a paintball match, i love it, mainly because it's my dads :) this gun is hard to find if someone is selling one , buy it!
Conclusion: get one, it is very useful for secoundarey and only it's good but the gun is hard to fingd if you have one KEEP IT!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Commander bond Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: I was lucky enough to get two complete rapides with constant air. I have 3 sets of 10 round tubes each double taped sten gun style. I don't have the original magazine so I have six 10 round tubes taped together in groups of two quick change style. I keep 3 double tubes in sterling submachine gun magazine pouches (60 shots).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Constant air adapter, stock, forword grip, tactical sling, hopper adapter, red dot sight.
Strengths: Durable, somewhat accurate, lightweight, simple to operate, trouble free
Weaknesses: Range, Double Action trigger, accuracy.
Review: I was lucky enough to get two complete rapides with constant air off eBay. I sold the other one and the one I kept is one my favorites.

This is a fun rec gun. You have to keep your attention on reloading which isn't that difficult because you can see the balls dropping down the clear tubes as you fire. I keep the tubes in sterling submachine gun magazine pouches.

I am new to paintball and have many beat up and refurbished markers. Each one of them is very challenging and fun to play with.

During my first skirmish I had trouble with the double action trigger. I was not allowing the trigger to return all the way between shots. Now that I am used to the trigger it is quick enough for my needs.

I was quite surprised to land some shots around 50' sometimes on the first shot. (Or perhaps somebody else is aiming at the same person.)

I have the complete marker with the plastic stock and the front pistol grip.

Because I don't play paintball competitively I am not too worried about winning every game. We play 15 minute games so i get plenty of plaaying time. I have only played three occasions; usually in an auto scrapyard. There's lots of obstacles to move around and a lot of close quarter action.

I was lucky enough to get a complete rapide off eBay and its one my favorites.

This will also be fun to do a military mod in the future. Think stenmaster SD or perhaps splatsterling Mk 4.

Conclusion: I originally bought most of my PB markers just to modify and play with so used and cheap fits the bill. Also when I play we are all using older markers so the playing field is fairly equal. Sort of like everybody having a muzzleloader.
I like the military retro submachine gun looks compared to many modern Paintball guns.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 at 9:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

abbabibble Saturday, July 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, really...
Marker Setup: spyder shutter, modded beavertail, other than that, it's pretty much stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
umm... adapter to hold the actual 10 round tubes... (can make one yourself... i did...)
Strengths: -Accurate
-extremely durable
-"wow" factor
-just plain functional.
-works just fine thru ball breaks.
Weaknesses: -Long trigger pull , but you'll get over this quickly...
Review: Jeez, where to start?
this thing is the best sidearm to happen to me in the entire history of forever. i've tested others, but they don't compare in my opinion. It may not be the most high-performance marker out there, but it gives an insanely good feeling to completely pwnzor someone that has a high-performance marker with this baby.

the high-impact polymer plastic doohicky stuff makes it so you could prolly drop it out of a low flying plane, land, pick it up off the ground, tighten the screws, and go play with it.

its holsterable, and if you can't find a holster, you can make one... (not hard...)
the rotating hopper thing, i think is pretty ineffective, so i just made something else(mentioned above in the upgrades section)

its nice to know that this thing'll work through at least 10 ball breaks, and its highly easy to clean out. T-stick it, then use a fuzzy swab.

this thing, i found has VERY, VERY good co2 efficiency. i got about 50 shots outta one 12 gram before it started to go "phut-phut-phut..."

these can be expensive, but i bought mine offa ebay for 26 bucks.
Conclusion: overall, a VERY nice sidearm.
if you find one GET IT. you'll love it too.
i give it a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pnda_express Sunday, October 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster-better
pgp-better
tigershark-better
even a laredo-better
Marker Setup: 2004 bko with j&j, egg II, cp drop, cp on/off, dye stickies, bulldog hpa, superfly, bob long torpedo.

98 rainmaker with dye stickies and a j&j and 12vlt revolution.
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are some but they wont help.
Strengths: Looks sweet, rare, worth $, at least it shoots.
Weaknesses: ACUURACY, and definetly the co2 usage(only 10 shots off a 12 gram), and clip.
Review: I got this a while ago for some backyard woodsball and for some collectors value. I put in a 12 gram, shot 10 shot, sometimes not even that, and the 12 gram was out. So you get 5-12 shots at the most. The uther bad part is the acuuracy. After about 40ish feet, it dramatically curves to the left or right at a 90 degree angle. This makes the range crappy too. Whats good is its collectors value and what its worth. Id say with the box its worth about $60 maybe. It was unique because of the side clip. The clip does make it hard having to count the amount of shots you take. After every 5 you gotta spin the clip. Overall, good for a last resort or some backyard woodsball. This gun was just to save the survival games buisness. I think the splatmaster is much better.
Conclusion: If you wanna collectors gun, DEFINETLY get one. Other than that, thee only good for a very last resort and maybe backyard -ball. Ill give it a 7 because it has some value.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Agent_47 Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is the only old school pistol i've used
Marker Setup: Tippmann c98: quiet riot, 32* RVA, Lapco sight rail, ADCO 4x15 rifle scope, DOP powertube& bolt,
Recommended
Upgrades:
i don't think there are any...
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: My neighbour has this gun and i finally got to test it today! |:D

Pros
Light- this is one of those gun's that can easily be carried
Compact- basically same thing as Light
Accurate- While the range wasn't good, it has pretty good accuracy
CO2 usage- it was alright. i got about 30 shots out of a 12 gram.
Quietness- it was quieter than i thought it would be, considering the barrel has no porting
Looks- it kinda looks like the Luger pistol, which i think looks cool
Durability- its been in my neighbours basement for like... 15 years.

and now the cons...
Cons
Trigger pull- god i hate that trigger. it's long. its heavy. your finger can get pretty sore after a while
Refilling on Paint- unlike paintball guns with hoppers, this can be a b**** to reload on paint, since there's 4 little sections of..... paint holding..... places... and that can kinda time consuming
Range- I have no experience with pistols and i don't think that they go far. this is no exception. it would drop after about 30-40 ft if i shot it straight
Conclusion: this is a really cool gun and i wouldn't mind playing with it some time. but due to the trigger and range.... its gets a 7
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

caplucky Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster
Toy Cap Guns (Just slightly more accurate)
Marker Setup: Icon-E (Black)
32 Degrees Expansion Chamber 03 (Black)
Spudnuk'l Nylatron Bolt
Halo Frontman TSA (Clear)
J&J Ceramic 14"
NW 8" Spoon Drop Foward
20oz CO2
Macro Line (Black)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A nice spot on the wall for display.
Every upgrade they make, especially the fore grip.
Strengths: If you drop it 30ft out of a tree it doesn't break.
Weaknesses: Not very accurate, very hard trigger pull, balls jam in breach, was expensive
Review: O.K. where to begin, I bought this gun around 1988 for a whopping $129+tax and some Splatmaster paintballs in those plastic tubes you see at stock games for $16/100rds. This was my first excursion into paintball, my buddy bought the Spatmaster for $99 since he didn't believe he needed the Rapides blazing firepower. We quickly read the instructions and marveled at these high tech cutting edge paint guns, after timidly charging the 12gram co2 cartridge (the 12gram screwed in the bottom of the handle and was pierced by the valve chamber, screwing it in sometimes didn't work to well because it took a few good turns before it was pierced and could leak out a good amount of co2 before you cranked it all the way, they had a quick changer that worked in only a few turns which was a big improvement) we took some practice shots at a nearby tree. The guns seemed to shoot hard to us, and were more accurate than we thought they'd be (we had never shot a paint ball gun before this so excuse our new found wonder at this opening statement) after shooting through a 12gram which gave an average of 25 quality shots, we saw how some of balls would slice and arc off target. The magazine would hold 20rds in 4 chambers which had to be manually rotated to keep feeding, the drawback to this was sometimes a ball would get stuck in the bottom and not come out making you dry fire because you couldn't see if a ball loaded or not. Now the trigger pull on the Rapide is very hard, after all it is truly a double action. You have to physically force the new ball into the chamber with the bolt by using your trigger finger. Now this will lead to the gun shaking and throw off your shot once and awhile, which leads to why the fore grip was a must ( the fore grip could be mounted at 3 positions 90, 45, and 30 degrees) to give you a accurate shot. I did make some very nice snapshots and long ball shots with this over the years but there were many, many ball jams, breaks,or wide shots. Back in the day there was a paintball which should not be named, California Magnum, these balls came out and were packaged and promoted very well. Unfortunately that's all the effort put into them, these balls were cheap 200rds@$15. The majority of them were more oblong then spherical and more rubbery than brittle, and Splatmasters did not like them at all. They constantly jammed in the actions and broke in the gun more then on the target. This led me to upgrade my Rapide to over come this fall back. I put on the longer barrel extension which seemed to be easier to load the balls in (probably not but for $20 I hoped it did) it also had a cool looking muzzle brake and site on it, then I got the rear stock and fore grip, which made the gun more comfortable and gave a nice steady shot, then the massive 40 twist feeder. I almost bought the 7oz co2 tank bottom line but it was around $160, TASO made one I believe it was called the alligator which also came with a feeder adapter that slide on over the standard feed slot and custom brass barrels. I was going to upgrade the Rapide to its fullest but during a game while adding a new 12gram the gun started a slow leak in the handle, nothing much but it was leaking. So after the game I took the screwdriver to my Rapide to see what was leaking. Everything looked fine, no broken or split seals all parts looked unbroken and I checked for tightness. Well I cleaned it all up and put it back together and put in a fresh 12gram an d woosh, it now leaked like crazy. Snow started blowing out everywhere and the 12gram bleed itself dry in moments. Took it apart again after it thawed out checked everything again and found nothing. My gun was officially dead, my buddy took it apart and couldn't find anything wrong either. On the verge of my massive expensive upgrade to my Rapide my gun refused to be helped, thankfully the Sheridan KP3 was on special for $199 so instead of making a great mistake I bought one of the most accurate markers ever (although I almost bought a Brass Eagle Jaguar for the same price) and realized what real paintball marker was. Overall this gun is a very poor design, and if you take it apart it will never work again, but it served it's purpose and started me and my friends on the paintball journey. So all you players that complain about Brass Eagle markers being crap, a Brass Eagle marker would have ruled on the Splatmaster field.
Conclusion: I give this "marker" a 4 just because of the pure sentimental value it has with me, and they were the first markers to make paintball mainstream. Otherwise never, ever take into battle with even as a back up, you have a better chance throwing the paint at your opponent (I seen that done before too)
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

surferman09 Saturday, May 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: spyder esprit w/java expansion chamber, cmi tru flight 14 inch barrel
splatmaster rapide side arm
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
Strengths: indestructable
fairly accurate
Weaknesses: large grip
kills co2
weird hopper(i didnt like it)
hard to pull trigger
Review: this gun wasnt the greatrest gun ever made..i loved it when i was 6 years old but it was terrible when i started playing games..i stil use it as a sidearm but im planning on replacing it with a sheridan pgp.the trigger on this gun is horrible and i was unabelt o find a way to make it easier to pull..overall this gun was kind of junky
Conclusion: considering it been my sidearm for every game of paintball ive played..i must admit its saved me a few tiems so its not too bad..but in the long run u would be beter off buyin a sheridan pgp
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media