paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
                            
lawnboi Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt masks, pmi, scott, invision
Marker Setup: b2k4 w/pds
evil detonator reg
halo b
crossfire 47/3000
Strengths: -Easy lens changing
-Good venting
-Comfortable
-Good protection
Weaknesses: -There a bit bulky but that is ok
Review: This is the best mask i have ever tried on. The lenses are of the best clarity and changing them is the easiest of all the masks i have ever seen. This mask has good venting so when you breath your hot breath wont bounce back up into your face. It is also one of the most comfortable masks i have ever worn, when im playing i cant even tell im wearing this mask.
Conclusion: Very good mask worth the money. If you have a junky mask get this one cause it is one of the best
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 21st, 2005 at 4:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Beau Robinson Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision.
Marker Setup: Proto Switch with faded lens.
Strengths: Great view, easy to switch lens in and out, durable, looks, and is extremely comfortable.
Weaknesses: Have not found any.
Review: When I pulled my mask out of the box I kind of stared at it for a moment. I read the manual and took out the lens. When I first tried to put back in the it was a little hard. But after that it is really easy. I would reccomend one thing which is a faded lens so you can see in the sun. Though it isn't needed. The mask did extremely well. The only thing is, it is a little big. So you have to keep a very low profile.
Conclusion: My over all thought is that this mask is worth every cent. I would reccomend it to anyone. If you are thinking about buying one you should.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

young1 Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt proflex, profilers, dye invisions, 32degrees.
Strengths: Foam is good and low profilers. The lens come off easy.
Weaknesses: They fog up after alittle and they are muffle your voice.
Review: Proto switch goggles are nice goggles and the lens are easy to take off and clean but the lens fog up to easy at times so that and the goggles muffle the sound of your voice and its hard to communicate. The foam in the goggles are nice and the goggles are a nice fit.
Conclusion: These goggles are great but I wouldnt get them do to the fogging and muffle.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clintoballs15 Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jt flex 7, invision, various rentals, vforce morph
Marker Setup: silver bullet
egg 2
20coz
4+4 redz dimension
Strengths: Comfort, no fog, stays on well
Weaknesses: Pinches the nose closed
Review: Great mask i highly recommend this mask to anyone who is looking to buy a new mask. I got it from my friend who won it at a pb 5man turney. one of the better deals in life. only paid 20 for a 70+ mask?
I use it in rain ,heat humidity and it never fogged on me once



BUY PROTO SWITCH if your too cheap to go out and buy a profiler which are the best ever
Conclusion: BUY it now
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tybalt68 Friday, December 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt nvader, jt flex,
Marker Setup: spyder xtra, dye excel barrel, esp grip, shockteck superfly bolt, wdp spiral mini regulator, dye 70 ci HPA, and a egg on top. all chromed up and looking sexy.
Strengths: No problems with fogging, field of vision, ease in dismantling/cleaning, overall appearance.
Weaknesses: With the chrome lenses there are reflections inside the mask. you get use to it.
Review: this is an awesome set-up. well designed for performance on the field, stripping and cleaning off the field, and just in the way it looks. it's as easy to take them apart as they claim. a couple of twists and everything starts popping off. it's a little more difficult to put back together, getting the lenses to seat properly in the frame, but with a little practice that gets quite easy as well.

with the two-ply thermal lenses i've had no problems with fogging. they do tend to scratch, but hell, what doesn't?

it seems rather low profile which creates less things to get shot at, but that also means a little less coverage. it's give and take kind of thing, you'll have to decide what you're looking for. i'm happy with the balance of the proto.

the look and color choices are awesome, as are all the various lens styles. they might not be for rec or forest players, but everyone else will love them. go for the olive mask with chrome lenses for a nice master cheif/ halo type thing. i have the chrome lenses which rock on sunny days, and look the $H!T. however, they get so dark inside small reflections of light bounce of my stunningly sparkly eyes and back onto the inside of the lenses creating a bright spot or two that you have to get used to and learn to look through.

as nice little bonus, new lenses seem to have some sort of futuristic coating (dare i say teflon) on them that allows paint, at least cheaper/thinner paint, and water to roll right off like a car that was freshly waxed, making those pesky head shots a breeze to clean off.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this mask. it scores at least a 9 across the board in any catagory i can think of, and can even make me look sexy. I was the first on my team/crew to get a proto mask, but within two month almost everyone has one or has one on order.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Friday, November 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage X-Ray - A cheap mask that doesn't compare with the Switch.
I tested a JT Elite - Also not nearly as good.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-Grip, Flatline, Centerflag Regulator.
Strengths: lens is terrific
No fogging
Quick lens change
Comfortable
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Nothing yet
Review: After reading the good reviews on the Switch I decided to buy it and haven't
been disappointed. With the X-ray I would always have fogging problems,
but not any more! This mask has it all: great vision, no fog, easy lens change,
comfort, and a quality construction that will last years. So far I've been hit twice just
below the lens and cleaning was a snap, just twist the snap lock tabs and pop them
out; You can then take the lens and frame apart. You can see so clearly with this mask
it's like you're not wearing one at all. You can hear well when wearing it too. And the foam
is very comfortable. This mask has everything I want.
Conclusion: Go out and buy the Proto Switch. You won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tshepp Monday, September 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline, Collapsible stock, E-grip, remote, and 20oz.
98 Custom Camo, Lapco Bigshot Beadblast 16", DOP double trigger,and 12oz.
Strengths: Craftsmanship, fit, and appearance.
Weaknesses: The visor needs adjustment occasionally.
Review: This to me is a great mask for anyone, it fits great, looks as well as it fits and is a snap to disassemble completely to clean. It is the thermal version which kept the fogging to a very bare minimum on me, I get extremely hot playing woods-ball in my exo-armour. The field of view and clarity of the lens is amazingly wide and clear. The price was fair for the qualities you will get from the Proto Switch.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this mask to any player regardless of play.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ltgir Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: ion in my sig
Strengths: Looks cool. (especially in blue)
Small profile.
Great range of view.
Upgrades available.

Weaknesses: See below
Review: This mask is awesome. The biggest weakness of this mask is its price. (MRSB 60-65$) not that bad. Its a little heavy but most people can live with that. The lens are kind of tricky to get out but They pop back in without trouble.The bottom of this mask is made of some type of rubber/plastic stuff. This is great because if you get shot in the mask it might bounce without hurting. there are two upgrades available, the game timer, and the fan. You are able to see about 180 degrees especially without the visor.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this mask. (reasons above)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 27th, 2006 at 6:12 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

theprotokid Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any thermal mask
Marker Setup: ProStock Autococker black, Apache Loader, 20oz A/s tank
Strengths: Doesnt fog
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy, but doesnt really bother me
Review: When I first got this mask, I was very impressed. Very nice look, nice visor and goggle bag that came with. There is really nothing to complain about except dont clean the inner lense with windex or anything harsh or the thermal coating will rub off.

Some people think it might be a little heavy, but doesnt really count as a weakness.
Conclusion: Get this mask if you have on good for you, if you dont buy one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VEX Tuesday, August 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flex 7, invisions, flex 8s
Strengths: Protect very well, Flexible mask part.
Weaknesses: Bad lenses, pinch your nose shut. kinda ugly
Review: The goggles protect very well even a lot of your neck, lenses are ok but you have to change them all the time or they fog up quickly and severly. They pinch your nose shut a little so it makes breathing difficult (like having a stuffy nose). They are kinda bulky. And they don't look that cool either.
Conclusion: Mine were free but i was still disapointed. I though i was getting something like an invsion but the lenses crapped out and they felt big and they wobbled on your head. i think all they got going for them is that they keep your face together.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media