paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
HeWhoAtePie Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force Pro Vantage--Dye Invisions
Marker Setup: --DM3
-CP in-line reg and LPR
-CP rail drop
-CP roller trigger
-WGP barrel
-CCM feed neck
-32 degrees on/off
--Halo B hopper
--Center Flag HPA bottle
Strengths: -Looks
-Good protection (big)
-Comfortable
-No fogging/scratch resistant
Weaknesses: -Bigger profile (big)
-Hard to get lens out on your first try
Review: I bought this mask used from a guy who owns a field i like to play at for about $30, which is a great deal considering the list price is twice that amount. I have not had one problem with fogging yet, which is my biggest gripe with masks, and it gives a great field of view, and not to mention is very comfortable and is quite stylish. I bought a mirror lens to top off the look, and now I look like a total bad-a$$ on the field....jk. But it really does look great.
Conclusion: I'll give it an eight just because it isn't THE BEST mask out there, but it defiantly comes pretty close, I highly recommend.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evil101 Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
The SKUL mask (made by game face)
rental
JT flex 7
Marker Setup: Syndicate Misfit
Halo tsa frontman led
12oz CO2
Strengths: Fits
Chin strap
Fan
Thermal lens
Flexy mouth cover
Looks
Compact
Weaknesses: None
Review: This mask is great, you can actually feel the fan working and its not that loud. It fits my head perfectly and it never gets loose or anything I recomend it for any player. The chinstrap keeps it on and the fron covers my chin perfectly and gets bounces. GO BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Like I said its great GO BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

demeegod Monday, August 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None, first mask/goggles
Marker Setup: Plain ole 2k3 Cocker with Egg2 (z board-it was cheap why not?), and PMI 68/3000 HPA.
Strengths: No Fogging
Light
Good Coverage
Cheap on Ebay
Weaknesses: None that I know of yet.
Review: I can honestly say I don't have anything to compare but visibility is great, as sweaty as i am I have NO FOG whatsoever (I pushed the mask against my head once and a waterfall of my sweat sprayed down my face yet no fog).

It covers ear and a good portion of head without looking goofy. I also got lucky and found the FS for $34 on ebay brand new. So, inexpensive, good vision and no fog.

If anything I realize that the venting could be better designed, common sense of ventilation mean that if you have to *sigh* then you are breathing too much of your own CO2. The fan upgrade was a huge improvement.
Conclusion: I'd recommend it to anyone but I can't compare but I have no issues with this model.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Psycho_warden Thursday, February 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Nvader
JT Spectra
Marker Setup: Acid Black/Blue Stock Class Phantom
Strengths: Comfortable, Very good vision, No fog, Lens Removal
Weaknesses: Price, chin strap
Review: I got this mask. They shipped it very quickly and all that good stuff. Now onto the review. The mask I ordered was Black and Blue, to match my new Phantom. The colors look very good on the mask. And the visor just adds to the looks. The lense is one of the best points of the mask. It allows for a very good view of the field. I cant even see the sides where the lense meets the frame. The lense that comes with it is a double thermal clear lense. I took the mask off and breathed into the inside of the mask to see if I could get it to fog, but no luck, the anti-fog concept works very well. The bottom part of the mask is soft enough to allow the occasional bounce while keeping you in the game, but protects very well. The mask breaths really well and has good ventalation. I am wearing it right now and have been for about 30 minutes, and no fogging or breathing problems yet. The lense removal is very quick and simple once you get it down. I have two lenses for it, the clear one and a chrome mirrored one. If you get gogged, go to your bag and do a quick change of lense, and your back on the field in less than 5 minutes. This mask is very comfortable, and I have a pretty big head, it does put a slight pressure on my nose, but my nose is huge, thats what happens from breaking it three times.

There are only two problems that I could find in this mask, and both are not that bad. One is the price, I got this mask for $75 shipped, but this mask is a very good mask and is worth it, plus the DYE Invision and V-Force Profiler are more. Second is the chin strap on this mask, but all masks are required to have this now ever since someone had their mask "fly off" on the field.
Conclusion: A very good solid mask. Good for big heads and has never fogged on me. Comfortable and quick lense change.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 17th, 2005 at 11:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drgirth Monday, June 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT spectra
Marker Setup: 14 inch dye ultra lite
2003 autococker with eb2
blah blah
Strengths: It fits really well easy to take out lens.
Weaknesses: No fog but had alot of problems with condensation.
Review: good mask but like i said i have been playing for 16 years and never had a condinsation problem. Spent more time messing with my mask then playing. Buy a Jt spectra or flex 7 and you wont have to worry about it. Sorry if i piss people off about this mask but it sucks.
Conclusion: If you buy this mask get a new lens and a fan mabey it might help
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXblinkXegoXx Friday, November 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flex 7, Profiler.
Marker Setup: gold 2k3 shocker, dye stickys, freak kit, nitro, halo b, he bolt kit.
Strengths: comfortable,streamlined, nice looks, very adjustable, chinstrap feels NICE, as does the whole mask, vision.
Weaknesses: ummm... NONE!
Review: lets see. first off, this mask is COMFORTABLE. i didnt even know the mask had a chinstrap until i bought it, and it was a very very pleasurable suprise. i cannot tell you how much a difference a chinstrap makes in the stability of the mask as a whole, and the field of vision is superb. this mask fits like a glove, and the lens change is very easy, the first time might take you a minute, but once you know how to do it its about 30 seconds tops. this mask is all around great, its flexible, but not too flexible in the face, and the lens are very hard to scratch compared to flex 7's. in fact, i bought these to replace my flex 7s cuz the lenses kept cracking, and with the switches, they wont break for a long long time, and when they do, its a sinch to replace.
Conclusion: This is a superb all around mask as i have stated above. Ill keep it short and sweet, comfortable, affordable, clear.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spidey Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only other mask used was JT softstream....no comparison at all.
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
14" silver progressive
green 12V revvy
12 oz co2 w/ cover
CiP sure fit feedneck
Strengths: Durable
easy-changable lense and cleaning
strong protection
crystal clear vision
super comfortable
Weaknesses: Slightly heavy
see your reflection in the lense
fogs after 2 hours (just me personally)
Review: I was looking fo a strong thermal mask that would protect me. I found exactly that. This mask in my opinion is one of the top-of-the-line masks on the market. Solid design. clean lenses quickly via the switch system. lense is practically invisible unless you look closely and see your reflection, but while your playing you just forget about it, it doesnt disrupt any vision at all. I seem to be able to fog thermal masks...I have the switch turbine fan on its way to me right now, look for my review on that later.
Conclusion: This is definately a great mask for someone of any level. It will probably be the only one you'll ever need. I give it a 9 because of my fogging problem, but keep in mind thats just me, i've heard it doesnt fog for others.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 at 3:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CJA102 Saturday, September 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor 2
VL 200
Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel
12 once co2 tank
Strengths: Paintballs to the face is a breeze.
Sturdy and cover large area of head.
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: The mask in the field play is very useful. Taking shot to the face is easier to take then one to the body. The structure keep it from not smacking you in the face when a paintball hit your mask. You can see a wide area like your not even wearing a mask. Easy to clean goggles in the mask. Yet like other mask use a smooth soft cloth to prevent scratches. Also you can buy different't goggles from a wide range of colours to chrome, Yellow fade, and Grey fade. The mask also covers your ears, because a paintball at your ear can make your ear bleed. Lastly when you sweat, the cushioning a round your eyes keep the sweat out
Conclusion: Very good for it's price. I strongly suggest you get this mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TyphoonX Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Mask
JT Proteus
Marker Setup: Silver Angel Speed
Master Tech Volumizer
Master Tech Snatch Grip
G-3 Barrel Set (coming)
WDP Twist Lock Gated Feed Neck
Strengths: The lense changing is quick and easy. They mask looks good.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have had a few masks and none of them can compare to the Proto. The ventilation is better than any other I have ever had. The lens changing system is awesome. The foam that Proto uses is the most comfortable foam I have ever had in a mask. I can hear things going on around me better then in previous masks.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a new mask look at this one. You certainly won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

falsetoothgod Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt elite, flex, and that peice of crap that came with the stingray 2(first gun)
Marker Setup: 02 autococker, boomstick, nitro tank, hinge trigger frame
Strengths: The lense is amazingly clear, lense can be removed from frame in under 30 seconds
Weaknesses: It is a tad heavy and it's not rubber
Review: I bought the cheaper versionof the mask (et i think) planning to but a thermal lense in it. It is the most comfortable mask i have ever worn. Even the non thermal lense doesn't fog ecxept in the rain wich is expected. I would sudgest this mak to anyone
Conclusion: Great product for a great price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media