paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
sn-95 Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott strike. Good mask, but I think the Switch is better.
Marker Setup: Pro-team F/X STO Autococker, Ricochet AK.
Strengths: Very comfortable, Cool looks, Dosen't fog, Lens removal is awesome!!
Weaknesses: Heavy.
Review: I have always had trouble with my lenses fogging up, but no more! This Switch stayed fog free for hours while I was sweating like crazy. Cleaning the lens is a breeze. I pop the lens out and thoroughly clean it everytime it gets even a little bit dirty because it is so easy. "removal or reassembly" takes about two minutes. It's very well constructed. I like my Scott Strike, but my new favorite is the Switch.
Conclusion: You won't regret buying this mask. I love mine. It's weight is an issue ,but not worth dropping a point from this otherwise perfect mask. Proto could scrap the chin-strap without breaking anyone's heart, and save some weight in the process.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigMan666 Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any Mask...
Marker Setup: Custom Cocker
Strengths: Quick Change Lens
High Visibility
Feels Great
Weaknesses: Heavy (not really)
Lens are sensative
Review: This is a great mask, as an Ex-JT user I find this mask a welcome change. It fits GREAT a very tight form fitting mask, it's breathable great venting. The lens are extremely clear with an impresive field of view. The visor is easy to adjust after the break in period. The mask is alittle heavy but not enough to make me care... The rubber is soft so it helps with bouncing long softs but adds a high level of protection which is the sole purpose of the a mask.
Conclusion: If you need a good strong mask that feels great, easy lens change and looks get that won't break you'r wallet or your jaw with cheap rubber than GET THIS.... I give it...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BWC12490 Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
JT Proteus
Marker Setup: Red Pirahna E Force VTL, Bob Long Torpedo, Tear Drop Barrel, 9 volt Revy
Strengths: VERY comfortable, and gives great protection.
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: The best mask on the market, in my humble opinion. Very comfortable, GREAT protection. Two of my friends also have this mask, and would agree that its the best on the market. And they both have tried on the Invision and Proteus and agree that it is an all together better mask than either one of them. I give this mask a definite TEN because of comfort and protection.
Conclusion: Buy this Mask, you wont be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punkA-F Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye invion smaller not as comfortible ,jt proflex lighter and vision isnt as good
Marker Setup: ton ton impulse with smart parts low rise, pure energy 68/4500 , egg,smart parts delron bolt,
nightkast ,hybrid reg,hybrid half pint ram, smart parts14" aa barrel,kapp cocking rod ,check it on/off , bulldog 68/4500 egg ll with z-board ,halo b
Strengths: It has great vision , ball bounce ,easy to take apart , double thermal lens
Weaknesses: Thermal peels off if you don't clean it with soft rag
Review: A design equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for the lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most severe of impacts.

Features:

Silicone woven rubber goggle strap. The retention strap is design to be adjusted to fit your head and stay fitted to your head.
Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custom fit and bit down to secure the strap. Just set it and forget it.
The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrificing any ear protection.
The incredibly simple 1/4 turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock you lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop a new one in, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn the tabs back again to lock it in.
Uni-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.
The first triodial lens in the world of paintball. Giving the player the ultimate in vertical and horizontal peripheral vision. All Switch lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting a new standard in visual performance.
Self venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.
i like this mask very much i like it better then invision and flex7 so if you have 60 buckes i say buy it
Conclusion: This is the best mask i have ever played in the bottom is like a proflex so it bounces ball the len is very clear even after you take one to the mask you still have good vision . the len go all the way around your eyes so you have great field vision and it comes with a mask bag and a visor
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 31st, 2004 at 3:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballalex Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision-pretty good sound, except proto much better, Jt Nvader-bulky, good beginner mask, not even comparable
Marker Setup: 02 black autococker, teardrop barrel, shark drop, powerlyte axis frame, nitro duck plasma 68/45
Strengths: very comfy, 20 second lens change, bouncy mask, awesome vision, no fogging, price
Weaknesses: nothing
Review: This is the best mask i have ever used. the dye invision doesnt give u periphoral vision and is more expensive than this ,ask. I cant even see the edge of the lens on the proto
the lens change is under 20 seconds so that always a major plus compared to the 15+ minutes of most other masks. it has never fogged up on me and it takes all of my sweat(tucson arizona meaning playing in 117degrees of pure heat) the sound capability is amazing, its as if i dont even have the mask on. the lenses are crystal clear and i cant even see the end with my periphoral vision. dye is making new accesories for it like the awesome ear game timer
Conclusion: awesome awesome , get it get it, only $60, very comparable to most other masks, but better
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

To2lyNsane Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Axiom fx/10 - Proto looks better but is a bit heavier.
JT Proteus II - Proto offers better coverage but the Proteus is like your not even wearing a mask.
Marker Setup: A-5
14in J&J Ceramic
E-Grip
Sub Zero x chamber
D.O.P. RVA
Raised sight rail
Big Drop
Strengths: Very durrable! . Super clear lens. Great looks and a great fit. Thermal lens.
Weaknesses: None really, A tad heavier than the proteus
Review: This mask is GREAT! I just sold my Axiom to get one of these and kept the Proteus as a back up. The mask has a good fit and wont move around on your head when you move. The bottom of the mask is flexable rubber to increase bounces from those pesky head shots. The lens is a dual pane thermal that has yet to fog on me and MAN is it clear! I Bought the JT axiom for the quick change lens feature which was quicker than any other mask I have owned but not all that easy. The Proto's quick change system is better by far. Turn the strap about a 1/4 turn on both sides and the strap comes off. Once strap is revoved, remove goggle fram and lens just comes right out. You can do it in less than a minute with great ease. Another thing I liked is that the visor seems to be very ridgid. It wont get all bent outta shape when you throw it in your gear bag. I hate having a tweaked out visor!!! = ) You can also get a fan and game timer for this mask but I have yet to try either out. They have just released them in several different colors including "olive green" which I think looks pretty sweet. As far as coverage goes, Its really just about right. Much more neck and chin coverage than the Proteus but not bulky like ...oh...say a JT Nvader or something which I have had and liked quite a bit actually.
Conclusion: Overall, a GREAT mask for a decent price...I paid about $65 for mine on eBay and have seen them in stores for around $70.00. I have only used it a few times so far so I'll have to see how the lens holds up over time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaRkOne510 Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Mask
Marker Setup: WGP V-Feed 03' Autococker, Ricochet Apache Loader, Physco Ballistics Drop Forward, 20oz Anti-Siphon
Strengths: Great vision, non fogging, looks, easy maintenance
Weaknesses: none
Review: This mask has such a great lens that it seems like it isn't even there. Cleaning the lens is easy, just turn the switches and pop it out. The mask has good coverage overall, no open areas like the Invision. The strap is adjustable, so wearing head protection is possible with this mask. The Switch has no sharp edges encouraging bounces.
Conclusion: Get this, masks should be your number 1 priority when it comes to spending $, you can't go wrong with this, great vision, looks, coverage, and no key weaknesses.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gilman Monday, February 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT-Nvader
Marker Setup: 40 BKO with 12" CP Barrel, Dead On Drop, Macdev Low rise, Halo TSA Backman
Strengths: Field of view, Comfort, Flexable, Easily dismantled for cleaning.
Weaknesses: Not made for glasses.
Review: This mask is outstanding. I saw it at World Cup in Orlando, FL and knew I wanted on as soon as they were available. I saw no real drawbcks other than you can't wear glases with them. The field of view was great, the air flow was great, I had no fogging at all, it is flexable so it promotes bounces, and of course it looks really cool.
Conclusion: Excellent mask, easier to maintain then the Dye Invision, same price as the Invision, gives a hair more ching & neck protection than the Invision. Get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rockerdoode Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I used a really crap PMI goggle that came with the gun package, I've upgraded guns and since I'm getting into more competitive play I decided to upgrade my mask as well.
Marker Setup: -Black 2004 BKO
-Shocktech Drop
-Empire ASA
-45/4500 Pure Energy tank
Strengths: Great Vision
VERY Comfortable
Weaknesses: Well, you do see your reflection, but no biggie.
Review: I got these for Christmas and wore them almost for an hour before my little brother punced on me and tore them off, I had forgotten I was wearing them. They are VERY comfortable and totally worth the price in my opinion. I went paintballing on the 26th and it was raining and cold, no fogging, at all...and i do a lot of running, so thats saying something.
Conclusion: As I said earlier, you DO see your reflection, but after a bit you can't even tell its there. Since it doesn't have like one of those heat sensors like in Predator I'm going to have to give this piece of work a nine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Big Head93 Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt, Scotts, Dye, you name it I have it!
Marker Setup: Full Nickle RT PRO ULE
Strengths: Vision
Weaknesses: A big nothing!
Review: First trip with this mask was amazing!! I've yet to wear a mask that had as much vision, and was as stream line as this mask! Get the yellow lens, you won't regret it! There is not one thing to improve on, you don't even need a fan in this one, no fog!!
Conclusion: If you need a new mask, don't waste your time and money on anything else. This is the mask to buy!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media