paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
mookie Monday, August 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Too many to count.
Strengths: Lens removal and replacement system,
It looks better in person than in the pictures
Weaknesses: Uncomfortable, stiff, dense foam, fragile
Review: My first impresion was I had something that wouldn't break the second I put it on but I was wrong. The first thing I did was figure out the lens system. Simple enough. I then put the mask on. I was not impressed with the foam. It was hard and uncomfortable. There were gaps where the foam came in contact with my face and I do not have an irregular shaped face in anyway. Due to a law suit with a player that claimed that his mask "flew" off, chin straps are now required on all masks. When I put on the chin strap the tabs on it broke when I connected the corresponding part to it. I then looked in the mirror to get a good look at it. This mask is huge. The biggest mask I have ever seen. After that I read the manual all the way through and in it, it said that there was a goggle bag included. After seaching the packaging inside and out I couldn't find the goggle bag that they spoke of. For the price I paid for it, it should have come with a goggle bag.
Conclusion: I think that dye/proto could have done much better with this product. Its not that great of a product. They rape you with the price. The only good things about this are the looks and the lens system. If you are looking for a durable mask, get something else.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 16th, 2004 at 3:36 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

pb_fiend18 Thursday, April 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Profiler (better)
2009 Tippmann TP420 single (way faster, easier switch lense for less price)
Dye i4 (makes the proto look as weak as the toilet paper I wipe my ass with)
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
Todao Board w/ upgrade chip
Dye Rotor loader
48/4500 Guerilla Air tank w/ MythG2 Reg
CP 14" .693 barrel, CP reg, CP on/off ASA, CP Sling Trigger, CP feedneck
Shocktech Superfly Bolt, Shocktech spring & shim kit.
Strengths: soft rubber. I have actually got bounces off this on a few occasions.
Weaknesses: Quick Switch Lense. more accurately: "quick remove lense, but good luck getting it back in."
Review: I bought this mask spring of 2006. This has been my primary mask since then until now. Lets just say it served its purpose. Its now at the end of its days, resting in the bottom of my trash can. The foam has fallen off for the last time. And I will not subject myself to ever change the lense again. Ive changed it probably once per year and its never gotten any quicker. It was advertised as a "60 second lense switch" but I soon found out they really meant that it is "60 seconds to remove the lense, then 60 minutes to put it back in"(not an exageration). The first time I took the lense out to clean it, it took 2 people to get it back in. One person to hold the mask just right, and a hulking body builder to pry on the goggle strap attachment to get it to lock into place. The lenses have that anti-fog coating on them so you can only clean them so many times before the coating is flaking off like dandruff. Worst part is that it just keeps flaking off like there's layers upon layers of that crap. The goggle straps have the soft rubber on them to grip but that turned to some kind of sticky goo the first time it got hot in my car and went through a chemical change.They are still a sticky goo to this day. That grip rubber was needed because aparently these goggles were designed for people with epicly huge domes. It was often a hassle to keep them from sliding down my face while running. Overall this mask was over priced, over hyped, and designed by someone with alot smaller dome than which it was designed for(if you catch my drift).
Conclusion: Not worth what I paid for. I give it a 5 (average) only because there are alot of bad paintball masks out there that are overpriced. Most of the companies put the bare minimum into them, never test them, and reap the rest from advertising them as the greatest thing that hit the market.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 8th, 2010 at 10:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WangInc Monday, May 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Mask
Marker Setup: Bt-4 combat, stock
Strengths: Well built and very comfortable
Weaknesses: Fogs almost instantly
Review: The mask fits and looks great, however in my experience it fogged up almost instantly (within 2 minutes of putting it on). The mask would get extremely hot and sweaty, and it fog up causing it to be very debilitating. Un\fourtunately i had a bad experience but I have seen others with the mask and they enjoyed it throughly
Conclusion: Maybe it was just my mask, or a bad lens, but I wouldn't recommend this mask because if it fogs, it is no longer safe! Grab a V-force, it was the best $40 i have ever spent.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hman769 Wednesday, October 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every other mask out there
Marker Setup: Texas Storm Timmy
Evil Pipe/Empire 7 piece
Alias LPR, Front Block, and Volumizer
Shocktech Bolt
Shocktech Ram
Hybrid Ram Cap
CP roller
W.A.S. 2.7
Halo B
Strengths: Great fit
Easy lense switch
Great field of view
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: This is a great mask, and another great Dye family product. I really like the "switch" technology in comparison snap in lenses, which seem to never fit quite right. I really like the looks of the mask as well as its function. A mask may not seem like something that would really make a difference on the field but it really does. This is really nice
Conclusion: Great mask and the price is not bad at all. The quick switch allows you to completely remove the lense very quickly to clean it which, makes things sooo much easier.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noclueone Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT flex mask, Jt head shield.
Marker Setup: Viewloader High Voltage with a Carbon Fiber Barrel, with an vl evolution 3 hopper, with remote
JT Tac-5 with a sniper barrel
Tippman Custom with e grip and Viewloader evolution 3 hopper
Strengths: Low profile, field of view. Availability of lenses.
Weaknesses: Issues with fogging and the visor. My visor has now broken off.
Review: I loved my proto mask at first. i had no fogging issues and it was very comfortable. However. After about 2 months of use (we play every other weekend) the anti fog coatins had worn off and I has terrible issues with fogging. I bought a new lens and it fixed the problem for about an month. I have tried anti-fog solution and I even wasted money on a proto fan for it. It stills fogs up after 10-15 Minutes of play. I also had problems with the visor. I took a close range hit to it and it broke the tab for it.
Conclusion: Over all it was good for a while but unless you can afford to buy lenses every two months your just as well off with a Wally world special.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tundrawulf Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite (Wal Mart Special)
Marker Setup: ACI GRIFFIN with an 18inch barrel, an ACI Expansion Chamber, and home made, welded tube bipod
Evil Omen 2.0 (My New Baby)
Strengths: Ease to switch the visor
comfort level
vision range
Fog resistance
Weaknesses: Throat protection is the only weakness i can think of
Review: I really enjoy this mask; I find it gives me a level of comfort and protection that fits my style of play.

When I first put the mask on I could not believe the field of view. It was like I didn't have the mask on. The only thing is that I can not wear my glasses when I wear the mask. But then again I don't wear my glasses when I play anyway.

It literally takes a minute to switch the lenses. I got a tinted thermal lenses with mine and when I got it, looked at the manual and actually did the switch, all together one minute. It is just that east. My sister that is mechanically inclined can follow the manual and do the switch without a problem.

I have not had a fog yet, and I was playing in the snow the other day. The fog resistance on this mask is really good; I might say it is close to the best

and the comfort is substantially better then my old Elite mask (garbage)

The only thing that I could think of that was wrong with the mask was in the throat area, but in reality, almost all masks are the same in this department

All in all A1 mask, recommended!
Conclusion: This is an awesome mask, easy to clean to; I recommend this mask for not just beginners but for pros and armatures to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnickerzBoi Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: ION
14"Dye Ultralite Red tip Black back
Dye Hyper 2
Cp Rake trigger
CCM feedneck
Check It On/Off red inside with chrome holder
Cheap grips i took off my Spyder

and soon!
ShockTech Superfly bolt
Element Paintball V2 Frame
Strengths: It doesn't fog!!!
Weaknesses: Looks i guess? when you are looking strait on
Review: Well i love the mask but when i first bought it it was a little big for me! but now im smart enoguh to realize that i was wearing the strap too low ya im stupid... but the mask is great! i love it worth the money if you wanna buy it i would it's nice!
Conclusion: Buy it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pballfreak725 Saturday, July 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman mask that comes with 98c- sucks!!!!!!!!! DONT GET TIPPMANN MASK!!!!!!!!!!
Marker Setup: ion stock, redz cam lock, redz 2 piece 14inch pepper stix, halo b with rip drive, evil scion tank, dye rhino cover
Strengths: Comfy
Roomy
Style
Protective
Customizable
Weaknesses: Big and bulky
Review: Ive had this mask for a long time, and its served me very well. Its nothing like a small speedball mask, but its okay. I only play speedball, but i played woods when i got it, so thats why its so big. Its roomy and comfy but very big and bulky. Ill probably customize mine for speedball. Its a nice mask and is reliable for pertection and reliability. This mask wont fly off ur head. ITs pretty cool and ill keep it for a while longer. Get it if u play both woods and speedball. i wouldnt make the same mistake over again if u play JUST speedball.
Conclusion: Nice mask roomy and comfortable

Too bulky and big
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmndr suds Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proteus
Strengths: Comfortable
Fast and easy lens change
Looks
Weaknesses: Crappy thermal lense.
Review: It doesn't fog easily. you won't be eating too much paint if your hit in the mouth cause the bottom half is rubber. the soft foam around the eyes wont hurt u if u to make the strap really tight. the 260 degree field of vision allows you to use your periphial vision in a game.
Conclusion: Get it if you have the money, it's very comfortable, don't bother with thermal lenses.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protopber17 Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
v-force armor nice but really no match for the proto
Marker Setup: Blue 2006 Proto Matrix w / virtue
cp roller trigger
Blue Halo B with rip
45/4500 macdev legion air lp

Strengths: Fit
Fast lens switch
Good price
Field of vision
BOUNCES
Weaknesses: Kind of big
personal preference but i dont like the foam
Review: I picked these up from my local store for 65 bucks and he gave me the fan with it for free. I havent used the fan yet but i hear that it is not very good. The strengths pretty much some up the rest so yea. need 50 words need 50 words
Conclusion: You will not be dissapointed, my friend likes these better than his v-force profiler
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media