paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Crossfire Air System / Crossfire Air System / Crossfire Air System

Crossfire Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Crossfire

Buy Crossfire Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Crossfire Air System
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 238
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Prices start at $95 for 47ci and are $169 for 68ci, $179 for 88ci and $189 for 114ci. Features: 850 psi fixed output, manufactured to CGA & ASTM, high flow design, and lightning fast regulation when firing.
Product Availability 
The Crossfire Air System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (24):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
rt owner Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nitro duck, Smart parts maxy(not inline), PMI, and Evil
Marker Setup: Species timmy w/ 70 stubby LP and J and J kit and Kill stick (RMR paintball) bolt
Strengths: Price! And quality!
Weaknesses: None!
Review: Now I have to say that everyone is saying "dropoff" Never had it and I shoot a timmy at fast firing rates. Now I think the people posting drop off sometimse don't know what they are talking about. I have a spyder and durr it sucks!!!! This tank sucks becuase it didn't make my gun fast. So don't listen to some of these reviews. I had there 10 year old kids at my local shop I work at wanting to return there tanks becasue they saidit slowed there gun down. So theres alot of bias reviews and opinions. Look how many pages this tank has! amazing. I love my tank. I have 3 and 1 on order and picking one more up at IAO. I like PMI tanks and Evil but both are pricey and crossfire preforms at the same. Evil does adjust out put but other than that not worth it. I would suggest this tank to any one. I have all my friends shooting Crossfire and I have a PMI also but I never shoot it since it's a 88 cubic Inches. I love these tanks! Now price wise they are great! I had to return a tank becuase they sent me LP instead of HP. They told me to send it out. I sent it out...Now lose in money! NO! They send me a MO for 20$ and 10 free pods, and a few sticker sheets from CP, Crossfire(kinda bad stickers but oh well), Empire and JT. I love the help. My friend got his tank fixed from them at IAO. Mostly they took off the reg and stuck a new one so he's back to 850 psi output after his was only going 840 out put but no biggy!. I never had a problem. I use to have nitro duck when I use to play on a team for them. They has sucky fill nipples. They always leak out and no seal. They still have not fixed that. Pmi is pricey and Evil if you need another reg for output then I would get that over a maxy(even inline) Crossfire is a great company that I hope stays around.
Conclusion: A sure buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tman-89 Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI tanks
Marker Setup: angel 4
egg 2
crossfire 68/45
Strengths: This tank is extremely consistent and among the best I have ever used.
Weaknesses: Normally, other tanks have obvious weaknesses. Im still trying to find one for this tank.
Review: Crossfire tanks are simply put: if not one of then then the best tank out there money can buy. I have not experienced a better tank out there. Crossfire has done an outstanding job in making sure that their products are really well made. They have really outdone themselves. If you were going to buy any other tank, I would reconsider and buy this one!
Conclusion: If you dont have a tank, GO OUT AND BUY THIS ONE NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 5th, 2004 at 2:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Monday, September 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 88/4500 and 68/4500
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
PPS Brass barrel w/ Apex tip
X7 hopper
APE E-grip
Response Trigger
Vortex mod
QEPH
Palmer's Male Stabilizer
Armson Prodot sight w/ Lapco offset rail
OPSGEAR G36 folding stock
CMI micro-coil remote
Strengths: Solid
Lightning fast recharge rate
Stable output pressure - very consistent
Weaknesses: After it was broken in, there were none
Review: I've got an 88 cubic inch, 4500 psi, 850 psi output iteration of Crossfire's fiber wrapped tanks. I was really excited when it showed up on my front door. It's a pretty big bottle, but at 88ci, that's kinda expected. I use a remote, so it's not like I have to heft it around. I've played with it on-gun before, and it's just slightly too big for comfort, but a drop forward would go a long way to help that out.

When I first got it, there was a tiny leak at the threads of the 7k burst disc. I checked out Crossfire's website and they said that it was no big deal; it happens occasionally on new bottles. Just empty the bottle and put some thread sealer or teflon tape on there. I did, and it's been perfect ever since.

One of my teammates got a PMI 88/4500 at about the same time I did. The first major test of our tanks was at a big scenario game, and he blew the seal on the fill nipple about halfway through. To date, he's been through maybe 3 or 4 nipples (in about 3 months). I don't know if it's the tank or how he fills them, but it's getting understandably annoying.

As for the performance of my Crossfire tank, I couldn't be happier. It's got my velocity to +/- 3 fps on a Tippmann blowback. And even at 25 bps (yes, Tippmanns can cycle that fast... no, its not really recommended... no, I don't play with that ROF, I was only testing stuff out) there's no shootdown that I notice.
Conclusion: This is arguably the best air system out right now. Once I worked out that initial air drip, it's been the perfect propellant system. I'm very happy, and you will be too if you pick one up.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 24th, 2007 at 1:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BluedogsV8 Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
My First Nitro Tank
Marker Setup: Red anodized, 1/2 milled AKA Viking #714
Dead-On Drop Forward
Black Macro-Line Kit
Strengths: Very Heavy Duty Tank
Weaknesses: Weaknesses include regs that don't do what they say they do
Review: This tank 3000 psi 47 ci, Claims to be 850 psi fixed output--not
After being sent back to crossfire and a new reg put on, still no 850 psi.
Even though it puts out more than enough pressure (about 785-795psi), I still wanted 850 psi. All tests were performed buy a local certified airsmith so it was the reg and not operator error. I did allow for several thousand shots for a break-in period.
Conclusion: I can't say that I'll spend my own money on other Crossfire products but as for their customer service, their are super fast with attempted repairs
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Omega6_Virus Saturday, December 1st, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: I have a Bob Long Intimidator, with Mac Dev Gladiator regulator.
Strengths: It's a great entry level nitro tank for people with m98's made to run off nitrogen.
Weaknesses: I got my trigger modified down to a 1mm pull and I shot about 150 shots without paint through my gun really fast. I have had the tank for about a year with no problems. The thing that scares me is that I honestly only had it filled about 10 times. Like I said I was shooting really fast one night, nothing faster than you would probably see a tourney player going at. So I took i off and went to sleep. Next day I put it on and I get a horrible recharge rate. For new players getting a nitro tank, recharge rate is the time it takes for a certain amount pressure of air to enter into the gun for it to fire a ball with enough veloctiy to leave the barrel on a correct course. I found out the regulator on the tank is not the best. But what should you expect for about $150. I will be selling my tank once I get it fixed by crossfire.
Conclusion: Don't get this tank if you are going into the tourney scene and plan on shooting a lot of paint. If you have a $200 gun get this tank, if you spend like$400 for an Impulse or a bushmaster or anything better don't get this tank. You will end up selling it and getting something better. I gave it a 4 because its good for some but not for others. A 5 would be more fitting but since most people who shoot compressed air have exspensive guns are on a budget buy something cheap this tank is horrible for them.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jjgoforward Thursday, August 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first HPA tank to own.
I have rented Chromaly Pure Energy 72/3000/ 68/3000 Crossfire Chromaly
Marker Setup: Diablo Reincarnation 2 LCD BBS w/ EYES Black/Silver Fade
Halo Frontman TSA E'hopper
14" J&J Ceramic
Carlton/Crossfire 88/3000 HPA
Strengths: Better consistancy over CO2
Better efficiency over 68/3000 Chromaly
Lighter than 68/3000 Chromaly
Weaknesses: Tank is VERY long.
Not as light as 4000 tanks.
Review: After about a year of frustration with paintballs going everywhere except where I was aiming them, I began to try to figure out an economical way to make the best of what I have. Jeff from Action Center Paintball suggested that I start with switching from CO2 to HPA. However, I didn't see the $175-$250 for most of the high end HPA systems as economical. I found the 88/3000 Crossfire/Carlton at just a little over $100. It is one of the best paintball purchases I have made. The first time I used it, it was obvious that the tradjectory of the paintballs were much more consistant. Also, Chrono-which used to be a beast with CO2, became a piece of cake. My velocity is usually +/-4 fps with the Crossfire/Carlton. It was usually +/-10 with CO2. Still with a 3000 tank I was not sure how often I would need to refill during a good day of paintball. With the combination of the 88 cu Crossfire, and the tank I have been able to play three hours without a refill. In those three hours I went through about 1100 paintballs. This is easily as good as I would do with a 20 oz CO2 tank. With the 68/3000 chromaly rentals I was using I would have to refill two or three times in a three hour afternoon.
The 3000 Carlton tank is a little long, and it is difficult to stretch a tank cover onto it. Also with my marker, it makes it a pretty long reach to the forgrip if the but end of the tank is against the front of your shoulder. I have seen guys put the tank on top of their shoulder. This could be a good remedy, but it is a little uncomfortable to me. If you have deep pockets, a 4000 stubby Crossfire tank would probably be better.
Conclusion: If you are price consious (Jeff at Action Center would say cheap), and you want HPA, this is a great way to go. 88/3000 Crossfire/Carlton. I will give it an 8 because of the extra length, and the extra weight over some of the Crossfire 4000 Stubbies I have examined. However this combination is a great buy.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 9th, 2008 at 3:30 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dees_Troy Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Air America, CP Air, PMI, Centerflag, AGD Flatline, Java, etc.
Marker Setup: Delrin Turtle Mini Midget Autococker
e2 eBlade with Powerex 9.6V battery
MP4 Ram
Tickler LPR
Twisted products LPC / front block screw
CP Shorty HPR
MQ Valve
Pulse with RF chip
45/45 CP AIR tank
Deadlywind Wisper carbon fiber barrel with full Freak set of inserts
Strengths: Reliable
Fast Recharge
Great Price
Weaknesses: A bit heavy
Review: Crossfire tanks are almost an industry standard now. They have incredibly fast recharge rates and are extremely reliable. You almost can't go paintballing without seeing at least one Crossfire tank. The price is also very good.

I've had a couple or 3 Crossfire tanks and the regs have always worked flawlessly without any leaks. The one leak I have encountered came from a leaky fill nipple which was easy and cheap to replace and can happen to any tank.

The stock gauge is fairly large and easy to read. This can be a good and bad thing. Large can also get in the way of your wrist.

Crossfire regs are also not made with the lightest materials and are not the smallest regs on the market, so they can be a bit heavier and longer than some other products.
Conclusion: It's a great product at a great price. You really can't go wrong with a Crossfire tank.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psychoscrooge Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
co2 tanks and a dxs hpa tank
Marker Setup: chipley series 5 autococker,revolution 2 hopper,88/3000psi crossfire,JT PROTEUS 2
Strengths: Light!!!
Weaknesses: It has none
Review: To start off with it is a ownage tank if u can get for under 100 dollars or even 180 or so but it is sweet its light does its job and seems to let me shoot more then from my dxs same size.....and it doesnt hurt that it looks sweet but i wish i woulda got a stubby but thats a easy fix just gotta buy a drop forward now
Conclusion: It freaking owns buy it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fatal CC Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Co2 (the devil gas)
Wargames 50/ 3000
Smart Parts 47/3000
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Warrior Body
NDZ Trigger
CP Shorty Reg
Progressive Barrel
Max-Flo Mini ASA
Crossfire 45/ 4500
Strengths: Low Weight
Small Size
Amazing amount of air in such a small tank
Weaknesses: Price, $209 highest $190 lowest expensive
Carbon Fibers arent the strongest
*see review*
Review: Review For: Crossfire 45/ 4500 Fiberwrapped Tank

Ok So I first went into the nitro feild with a Wargames 50/ 3000 tanka and that was big, heavy, cumbersome, and just all around eugh. I wanted to go back to co2 so badly. I then bought a tank from smart parts and slapped that on my ion. It was lighter smaller, and a bit nicer but the weight was what was pissin me off. I then went to buy me and invert mini and though, i need a carbon fiber tank.

I picked up this bad boy at orderpaintball.com. The tank got here and I am more than impressed. Its 4500 psi and it only weighs 2 lbs! the same weight as the mini. Light marker system? I think so! So the performance, then handleing and everything on this tank is great. Last tank I will ever buy, but for the price, I'd hoope so. This tank, like all good nitros is pricey. If you want carbon fiber but dont want to put out the cash then I say go with the pure energy 68/ 3000, but I sya go the extra mile of performace and grab one of these tanks.

I do advise all tank users though, carbon fibers are not as stong as aluminum. If you are a scenario player then pick up an aluminum or brag a hella good tank cover because the carbon fibers have been known to break if droppped on a rock or something hard and pointy. Its only from things that I have heard but its not worth the risk.
Conclusion: Great nitro, Last one I will ever buy. I reccomend this to anyone who want to own on the paintball feild, especially fowards and midis. Id giv her a 9.5 because a product can always be better.My official rating is a 9 because nothing deserves a 10 and they are just handed out round here.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chikin pickle Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none. (well co2 in the sense that it fires paintballs but the similarities end there.)
Marker Setup: '05 prostock autococker
'06 freak back, 16" all american front, .691 and .687 stainless inserts.
crossfire 68/3000
DYE rhino cover
DYE sticky 3 grips.
ricochet AK hopper
Strengths: Didn't break my wallet
consistent
no leaks
lightweight
Weaknesses: Reg is longer than some of the other tanks I have seen.
Review: This is a great tank, crossfire is the reg with the second best recharge rate on the market, (Around 10 miliseconds I beleive) and is cheap for fiber-wrap tanks. I only paid $160.00 for my tank. So $200 for the tank and all the what have you, threadsaver, fill-nipple cover, and my rhino cover which some tanks cost alone. Now, unfortunately this tank has a long regulator, but a thin one, so you can combat this by getting a S-rail an mounting it farther forward on your grip-frame. I don't notice it now that I have a rail-ASA. My tippmanns ASA stuck out from the grip-frame, where the ASA on my 'cocker is flush with the back of the frame, so it's unnoticaeble.
I can't really say anything about the consistency, because the consistency of your shot is determined more by the inline reg than the tank's regulator.
Conclusion: One if the best tanks in paintball, and reasonably priced.
Why not get it?
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 10:05 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (24):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media