paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (86):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
tango_down Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year208 of 230 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
*Tippmann stock barrel
*DYE boomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
14" J&J Ceramic
5 in drop forward
GTA RT
Double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any accept Brass Eagle crap.
Strengths: *Accuracy
*Range
*Self cleans
*Almost never chops balls.
*Very inexpensive (around $40.00)
*Quiet
Weaknesses: Might scratch easy ( I haven't noticed because I take good care of it)
Review: This barrel has excellent accuracy. My friend has a DYE boomstick and spent $115.00 on it. I on the other hand bought a J&J ceramic for $35.00. Our barrels are exactly the same in sound and accuracy. It is so accurate that my friend was about 85 feet away and popped up from behind some barrels. My first shot hit him right between the eyes.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to anyone. Don't think that just because its cheap it isn't good.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 6th, 2005 at 5:26 pm PST
I found this review  
79 Comments - Add Comment

Menohl Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month142 of 148 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Stock Barrell
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
32* Star Fire Bolt
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
Brass Eagle Red Dot Sight
32* Coiled Remote
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Blue Streak Paintballs and they worked just fine, but i did shoot some other brands throught it as well such as Worr and Marbilizer and they worked just as good.
Strengths: Auto Cleaning
Increased Accuracy
Very Quiet
Weaknesses: None
Review: When i bought my Tippmann 98 one of the first things that became apparent to me was that i was going to need a good upgrade in the barrell department.

I did a little research and as much as i wanted to go with the Flatline Barrell i just wasn't ready to sink that kind of money into a barrell yet.

I found my 14" Ceramic on ebay, and got the barrell with shipping for $28.50.

I recieved it on a Thursday and had it out in the field the following Saturday.

Now the first thing i had to get used to was the accuracy of the shots, i was quite blown away at how accurate the barrell was and how consistant my shots were staying. This thing was a god sent!!!

Breakages... Well i had 2-3 balls break on me throught the day, and i must say that the Teflon coating worked like a champ, i just fired another round, and the problem went away. Just to satisfy my curiousity, i ran a squeegee and a swab through it at the end of the day, and much to my suprise there was little to no residue on it at all.

Noise... This thing is MUCH quieter than my stock barrell. I found that many times when i was in an ambush and i fired, my targets could not figure out where i was for awhile, this barrell is much quieter than the stock barrell, and that makes a big difference in how fast you get spotted when you are sniping.

Fit to gun... My barrell did come with an O-Ring, and it fits my Marker like a glove. it is snug, and it does not move once screwed in.

Durability... I know that a bunch of people have said that this barrell chips real easy, well all i have to say is that it IS A CERAMIC BARRELL if you smack it against rocks and tree's and such, eventually you will chip or break it. I used mine all day in spool fields in woods fields and i never had a problem with the barrell chipping.

If you chip or break this barrell it can only be because you are throwing your gun around like an ape and in that case you deserve to break it because you don't know how to care for your equipment.
Conclusion: This barrell is a must have for Tippmann 98 Custom Owners!!! Even if you are thinking seriously about the flatline barrell, go get this one first, you might find that you no longer want to get the flatline! 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 4th, 2004 at 6:47 am PST
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment

dawump Wednesday, November 21st, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month129 of 135 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All Automag: Standard 11", Snake Boa 10", Boomstick 14"
Marker Setup: Powerfeed Automag 68 with custom drop forward and forward grip. Rosewood grips and Nitrogen
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've tested with old and new paintballs including VERY old to test breakage. I've shot small and medium bore paint of various brands.
Strengths: Looks. It really looks great with my Automag.

Weight:
138gramms compared to 330 for a Boomstick the same length

Consistency:
I havn't found a barrel that creates better shot grouping. This is a very slick barrel. The less friction the less the paintball is likely to spin so better accuracy.

Porting:
The porting is good. Only the last 3 inches are ported which makes it silence the shot.

Price:
VERY affordable
Weaknesses: Havn't found anything yet. It is so light that I'm concerned that it is fragile, but from what I have heard from others this is not the case.
Conclusion: People will argue FOREVER about what is good and bad about a barrel. Instead of saying "This barrel is the best" here is a comparison between the 14" J&J and my 14" boomstick. This is based on my personal experience of both barrels, and my knowledge of the theory.

1) Length
A barrel really has two different TYPES of length. There is the overall length and also the "active" length. Any part of the barrel that is ported serves various purposes ( depending on who you talk to ) but once the paintball gets to the porting the gas escapes through the ports, so the acceleration phase is over.

The 14" J&J has 10" of unported length which is very healthy. The 14" boomstick only has 7" of unported length which is on the short side for gas efficieny ( and if the paintballs are too big then there is another whole 7" of ported length which creates friction but that's another story.

Weight:
The J&J is way less than half the weight of the boomstick.

Accuracy:
I find that the J&J is more accurate. I'm not going to go into the "why" because that is a quogmire of debate. Perhaps it is the ultra slick surface that creates less friction, or that it is a slightly bigger bore than my boomstick so it's much easier for most paint to get through it without a struggle.. I don't know ( or care ).

Paint Match:
Paint is definitely getting smaller, but I still find that paint is still on the tight side for my boomstick. The J&J is more likely to be tolerant of more paint because it is a medium bore barrel, and also has less ported length. The Automag barrels use a Nubin to hold the paintball in place before it is fired, so having paint that is too small is less of a problem than with some markers where it can just role out the barrel.

Broken Paint:
It is said that you can shoot through paint breaks with the J&J ceramic barrels. You can. There is still an impact, but less so than the boomstick. When I break paint in my boomstick it becomes a sticky mess and I HAVE to remove the barrel to clean things up... and ALL THOSE PORTS!!! The slick surface of the J&J seems to allow subsequent paintballs and air to "self clean" to a certain extent. I havn't really had much experience yet with the J&J though with broken paint on the field so I don't really know.

Breaking Paint:
The J&J seems to break less paint than my boomstick. The boomstick is still pretty good though - the only time it breaks paint is when there is a bad paint to barrel match, and that is true of any barrel. The J&J is bigger though, so this will happen less.

Summary. They are only $30-$40 on ebay.. what possible reason is there to not buy one?

Keith
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

f2f4 Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year52 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
- Stock E-99 barrel (meh...)
- ThunderPig 16 in. (better than stock, but still had barrel breaks rather often)
- Proto 12 in.
- Dye Ultralite
- Empire kit
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Recommended
Paintballs:
- Just about anything, as long as the paint is round you shouldn't have problems!
Strengths: - Inexpensive
- Light
- Shoots right through breaks
- Very tight shot groupings
- Quiet
Weaknesses: - Finish can chip (hasn't happened to me, thankfully...)
Review: I recently picked up the Ceramic at a local pro-shop, and haven't regretted it. Not only is this the lightest barrel I've held (besides the St!ffi, but that's about three times as expensive...), I also like the way I can shoot right through a barrel break, even though that hasn't happened yet to me with this barrel *knocks on wood*. Also, this barrel delivers literal laser strings of paintballs to your target, all while being extremely quiet.

In short, I was most impressed with this product.
Conclusion: Absolutely THE BEST barrel for less than $40 I've seen. Personally, I don't know how J&J makes money selling these, but who am I to complain?!?

Get it. You'll thank me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:26 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

kruelness Friday, November 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years42 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boom Stick, freak, pipe........................................................
....
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Red2Blue Color Change
-GTA Double Trigger
-Ricochet Apache
-DOP Rocket Cock II
-GTA expansion chamber
-Response trigger
-J&J 14" Performance Ceramic
-32* Starfire Bolt
-Titanium rear bolt
-Dye Sticky Grips
-Custom Milled , polished internals
Tippmann 98 Custom Black
-Collapsible Stock
-3pt. tactical sling
-Flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
Higer quality, OFCOURSE
Strengths: -Light
-Self Cleaning
-Best bang for the buck
-Consistency/accuracy
-Porting
-Looks
Weaknesses: Nothing of importance
-Scratch, because i bit the terf
-Differant colors ,but black works
Review: WEAKNESS

First off with the explanation on the weakness well more like wear and tear. The barrel is EXTREMELY durrable, I was at my winter time indoor retreat and had triped on the air bunker and dove my barrel straight into the sand. Seeing as I have an RT ripped a few shots into the barrel at the same time. It was pretty gummed up and I cleared it out witha few shots and some dry fires and was good to go, keeping me in for the remainder of the game. After I examined it there was a cratch but beyond that, that proves that if a 6'3 man can land on the gun driving the barrel in the ground and gum it up and continue playing, WOW! Other than that good luck wreaking the barrel.

S T R E N G T H S

Where to start, at the end of weaknesses.

Durrability, well, good luck breaking this thing without anything shy of a cutting torch or a cut off wheel. Besides a MINOR scratch this barrel has lasted a substantial amount of time and still looks great. I am so impressed till this day that I am going to go out and buy their EDGE ELITE barrel kit. CANT WAIT!!!!

Looks, I personally like the sleak smooth design of the barrel which makes it more appealing on most guns. Once again color options would have been nice but no biggy.

Weight, the Cermaic weighs in at 138 g VS the Boomstick weighs in at an astonishing, earth shattering, arm breaking....330g. Ok so its doesnt weigh a ton but its still NOTICEABLE.

Protiing, well the Boomstick has 7" of unproted length(using more air) VS the 10" on the Cermaic. The Umported portion is waht gives you your accuracy. Porting mainly serves a purpose to vent your propellant. Since we are doing measurments the length of this barrel is think is perfect. Anything over 14-16" reduces velocity and increases air consumption.

-Consistency, Side by side comparison of me and my buddies 98(with a boomstick) showed the grouping on the cermic to be slighty tighter at differant ranges, most likely due to the porting placement(simple physics).

-Paint breaking, I had noticed significantly less break as soon as I got my barrel over the stock one, which isnt saying much, a stock 98 almost shoots better without a barrel(i tried it once). Cleaning it was easy, ran what was left of the paint and sand under a tap, put my hand on one end and poured warm water through the other, squegee(which was only to dry the barrel). There was little to no residue before I cleaned it. ITs way easier to clean than a boomstick, BY FAR!

-Price, way cheeper than a boom stick and over all a better barrel

------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------

Update: I am still using this barrel and have modded my gun. I am still going to get the edge elite kit. This barrrel still works just as good as the day I bought it with regular Use. There are a couple minor scratches, virtually no noitiable scratches. I am More impressed with this barrel now that it has been through th epaces for some time and still manages to impress me every time i use it. What can I say they got this right.
Conclusion: Best bang for the buck. Its everything you could ask for in a barrel and more. Definate must have upgrade and would gladly recommend this barrel to anyone. I am so please with J&J Performance that the next barrel systemi am getting is on order, its their EDGE ELITE system....CANT WAIT! MANY THUMBS UP!!! GET IT!!! U KNOW U WANNA.. Any questions or conerns feel free to send an email or make a post.

why are you still reading this reveiw is over, stop reading, go onto the next review, STOP immediatley, sease and desist, refrain from readin any further, u have no life, go out and blast another person away in paintball, have fun, bye....Ok just havin fun. Send me an email if you read this all of this paragraph i am curious to see if anyone did.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 17th, 2007 at 3:15 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

bbt8401 Tuesday, March 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year40 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Teardrop
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c, 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, 12" Smart Parts Teardrop, 7" drop forward, Dye Sticky Grips, 32* Venturi Bolt, Lapco rear velocity adjuster, 12v revy w/X-board, Polished Internals
Recommended
Paintballs:
Haven't really noticed much of a difference in paint, but haven't really payed attention. I just use what ever I can get for the cheapest. Not a paint sensitive barrel.
Strengths: Very good paint spread(Very small). Very accurate. The ceramic allows for a very smooth inside. Not paint sensitive. Very good. Looks good too. Quiets it down quite a bit.
Weaknesses: Nothing really. Can't say anything bad about it. Doesn't do anything bad to my gun. The only thing that I can say is weird is, all J&J barrels I have ever looked at, has the same little chip in the front. Whether it is a Full Tilt of a J&J ceramic. It doesn't affect the performance at all, but it is weird.
Conclusion: Very good barrel. Definately recomend. I love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

jbfletch Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco BigShot (JJ is better)
Marker Setup: Tippman Custom 98
Polished Internals
Tippman Response Trigger
Dead-On-Paintball Double Trigger w/ guard
Tippman 8-Stage Expansion Chamber
Performance Spring set
12" JJ ceramic barrel
Camo Paint
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo formula 13
Strengths: Accuracy
Lightweight
Quiet, quiet, quiet
Weaknesses: None
Review: I wanted to test both the JJ Ceramic barrel and the Lapco BigShot. I bought both of them at the same time. I meant to buy the 14" Lapco Bigshot, but I guess I accidentally ordered the 12" Bigshot. I recieved the JJ barrel a week before I got the Lapco. I recieved my JJ along with the Diablo formula 13's. My friend was playing around with just the barrel and my new Diablo's. He took the barrel and put a paintball in it and blew through it like a blow-dart gun. The frickin' paintball flew by me and splattered against the wall. Of course we both said Holy Shizzle! I couldn't wait to play with this setup. I played about 15 games with the JJ and man was it great. We all played with Custom 98's and everybody was complaining that my gun hit them from too far away and they couldn't touch me. I was killing everybody and I am still killing everybody. I got the Lapco in the next week and I played 2 games with it and sold the barrel to one of my teammates. The Lapco didn't have the same distance, accuracy, and quietness as the J&J.
Conclusion: Get it and kill people. I would buy it twice. You will love the distance and accuracy you get out of it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:37 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Arbites[RAT] Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock (obviously)
Armson
Flatline
Marker Setup: Primary: A-5 w/ 12" J&J Ceramic, E-Grip, NW 8" Drop Forward, 3A HPA tanks (88/4500 & 43/3000), Extreme Sports & Hobbies A-5 Sliding Stock, and stock internals.

Secondary: SMG-68 w/ Lapco dual adapter, 20oz Siphon CO2 w/ SP on/off and a special order 12" J&J Ceramic on order.

Loaners: 68-Specials w/ 14" J&J Ceramic, 12v Revolution hopper, Lapco dual adapter and 20oz Siphon CO2 w/ SP on/off.

Pump: SL-68 w/ 14" J&J Ceramic
Recommended
Paintballs:
Experimenting, but few problems.
Even Storm works well.
Heard PMI Premium works best, using now.
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Self-cleaning (see below)
Best accuracy to cost ratio on market
Weaknesses: MSRP above is wrong
Manufacturer & dealers sell for $45+/-
eBay for $30-45
Review: This is a great barrel and is available for a wide variety of markers, and even more if you look at a barrel adapter. For the newer players, nothing will positively effect your performance as much as a barrel upgrade - NOTHING. And because this can be an expensive sport to start, you want the best bang for your buck. Don't waste your money on other barrels that will be an interim until you can afford a better one. I know many experienced players that can afford better barrels that don't bother. I even know a few that use a Flatline on an A-5 that carry a Ceramic on the field as a back-up in case they get a break in the flatline (which is a nice barrel, but is essentially impossible to try to clean in the field).

Is it QUIET? Yes, there are a few on the market that may more quiet (and you pay the price for them), but there is a huge difference between stock and this. So much so that in a game I played last weekend where I used my 68-Specials, I had several people come up after they saw my marker when I was walking off the field. One asked if that was what I had been using with a little confusion. He recalled the sound of the 68-Special being like "Anti-aircraft fire", but he didn't hear that on the field (and I had another buddy using a second 68-Special equipped the same playing next to me). This barrel even made the 68-Specials sound closer to modern markers - I can't wait for my SMG-68 barrel!!

The claim about it being SELF CLEANING is also very accurate. Will it be spotless, no. But we're not talking about wanting perfection, we're talking about rounds flying in at you after a barrel break and you wanting to get them before they get you. Paint in the barrel needs only to have some quick dry-fires through it (tip feeder over or turn off power feed) and you are back to shooting with the repeated barrel breaks you suffer from most barrels without a full cleaning. Yes, a wipe will make it better and a full cleaning & drying is the only way to return to 100%, but it is a great advantage.

Need further evidence of how good this barrel is? I own 8 markers, 7 have removable barrels (the other is an SMG-60). My primary marker (A-5) has a 12" Ceramic. The loaners I keep up for friends (four 68-Specials) all have 12" or 14" ceramics. When I use my pump marker (SL-68) I use one of the barrels from my 68-Specials. And I have been impressed enough with these barrels that I have placed a special order for my classic / fun marker (SMG-68) to also get a 12" Ceramic.
Conclusion: Get it. You won't be disappointed in the performance or the cost.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 8th, 2004 at 8:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kingfisher_X4 Friday, January 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Stock Barrel, Stock barrel from many a gun, Aradus Adjustable Bore Barrel (on an Autococker), DYE Ultralite 12"
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, 12" DYE Ultralite Barrel, ADCO Sure Shot Sight, Dead On X-Core Expansion Chamber, Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward, Lapco Rear Velocity Adjuster, GTA Double Trigger Kit, Response Trigger System, Ricochet 2000 Electronic Hopper

2 ArmoTech Zeus Pistols (Sidearms)

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Stock

Pure Energy 20 oz. CO2 tank w/butt plate, Pure Energy 12 Oz. CO2 tank w/butt plate, Pure Energy 9 Oz. CO2 Tank w/butt plate

*Coming Soon: ArmoTech Mars EVO*
Recommended
Paintballs:
Personally, I use only Diablo. All the time. They work pretty well in this barrel. I got some cheap Afterburner paintballs for Christmas from a friend and they were crap, so no judging by them. I've also used some WGP Tournament Paintballs, didn't like them, and they didn't run to smooth through the barrel. Lots of chops with those things.
Strengths: -Very Cheap
-Quite Accurate
-Pretty Quite
-Good looking
-Very Light - lighter than my Tippmann GTA 8" barrel
-Stronger than people give it credit for - it's not COMPLETELY made of ceramics, you know...
Weaknesses: -It just feels like it will break in your hands... but it won't really
-Coating will get scratched if you hit it on something
Conclusion: Great buy for anyone from newbie to tournament and semi-proffesional. Awesome price, and an all-around great barrel. Don't go too long though, if you get it... of course that's my rule of thumb for all barrels - 14" is my maximum.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

SpyVsSpyder Saturday, March 31st, 2001
 
15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Ok, first off, they say it is a light barrel.. it is very light. Second, they say it is quiet, i have found it to be relatively soft. Third, their biggest claim about this barrel: shooting through breaks.. not a lie. I have found that with a ball break, it takes 1 to 2 shots to be back at normal accuracy and consistency. Oh yes, and its only $40. I mean, c'mon $40.
Weaknesses: Well, nothing is perfect.. getting paint out off all of the porting can be tricky, but the inside of barrel is clean. It shoots a decent spread but maybe not the best.
Conclusion: I used a 14" with my spyder tl plus. Combined with a remote it made my gun very light and well balanced. It shot a decent spread. The thing that impressed me the most was that it shot through breaks as advertised (which aren't always truthful). I think for the $40-$50 it costs (depending on where you buy it) it is a great barrel.. especially if you are a rec player who wants quality minus a huge bill. Oh, and there has been concern about the color.. who cares? But, if you are one that does, it is a dark greyish charcaol color. I have an all black gun and it looks very nice on it. For me this barrel is a ten, I am a rec player, for a tourny player, I couldn't tell you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (86):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media