paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Taste_Me Monday, March 10th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year13 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
numerous barrels from Freak's to the Stock barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Blaze
Strengths: light weight
nice and Smooth
looks very nice (imo)
Cleans it's self
low price
Weaknesses: one pice
no o-ring so it comes loose a lot
Review: This barrel is every thing the budget concise rec baller could want. It's extremely light weight and very smooth thanks to a Teflon coating which means that it will clean its self more times than not. Unfortunately it's only one piece which itsn't too bad considering its a very nice one-pice. the biggest problem I have with it is it always seems to be coming loose epically when I go up in BPS and it's not good to have to reach up to tighten your barrel during a game. I know some one who has the J&J 2 piece and he has the exact same problem so it may just be inherent in all J&J barrels.
Conclusion: Great barrel on a budget but it's still almost nothing compared to some of the nicer, higher end barrels out there so it gets a 7
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 30th, 2003 at 1:31 pm PST
I found this review  
31 Comments - Add Comment

Crockett Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
This one has worked well enough that I've never used anything else and don't plan to.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine with 14' J&J Ceramic Barrel and modified trigger spring

-It all adds up to a nimble, superbly accurate, and durable marker
Recommended
Paintballs:
Get medium-large bore paintballs. The most accurate paint I've used in this barrel have been Evil Midevil and PMI Premium.
Strengths: -Inside of barrel isTeflon coated
-Very Accurate
-Durable
-Light
-Fairly quiet
Weaknesses: Over 6 months of strenuous service, and no problems at all

Review: It was a soggy afternoon in one of the hayfields on my farm. We had seven guys over for a little weekend fun of military style capture the flag. After 5 or 6 short games, I had racked up over 10 kills (the most of any guy there) , distanced between 10-30 yards. My weapon: A Tippmann Pro/Carbine with a 14'' J&J Ceramic Barrel. I toted it swiftly and with ease as I zoomed around haybales, popping shots from all angles. I fell in the mud, got cow crap in the gun and the barrel. I banged the barrel on the ground and trees. I don't know if the barrel broke any balls: the teflon interior makes it self-cleaning. I never know when a paintball breaks, and it never afffects preformance.

Well, as the game wound down, I realized something: Despite my high kill score, my little brother had killed me twice from short range and bragged about it in my face. So, I decided that in the last game of the day, I would get him back.

I got my chance: Halfway through the last game, he and I started exchanging shots at about 40 yards apart. My brother fired qucik shots from his formidable Tippman 98Custom. But none of them hit me as I ducked down quickly and heard them zip by. Then, I would rise up, settle my sights on his head, and pop off two or three shots. I watched as the paintballs hit in a group about half a foot low. I settled my self on a large haybale and when my bother popped up again, I put the sights on top of his head and fired a single shot. I watched with joy as the blue paintball splattered between his eyes, covering his goggles.

In over 3 hours of faced paced play, I used up less than 1,000 paintballs. My brother, with a similar gun, but different barrel used up over 2,000 paintballs. My kill score was a tad higher. So, you could even say the barrel is economical. You use up less paint!

In essence, the preformance of the J&J Ceramic Barrel speaks for itself. It can endure mud, hay, being dropped on the ground and still prefrom beautiful 40-yard headshots. That's good enough for me.

-A few people have complained about the barrel coming loose. Well, mine did at first. But, I have a Tippmann Pro/Carbine and it comes with a little clamp under the forearm grip that tightens around the barrel, making it impossible for it to come loose. I can't say that all markers have this feature, but I would expect any decent one would. So if it comes loose, check your marker to see if it has something to tighten around the barrel.

Conclusion: The J&J Caramic is an excellent barrel. Don't worry about it being ceramic. I play woodball and put it through all sorts of rough treatment. It has never failed me. As long as you don't whack it on concrete or scratch up the inside, it should work like a charm.

-Self cleaning, smooth, accurate, quite, light, and paint economical. What more can you ask for?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 6th, 2005 at 9:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmoney07 Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Barrel System
14" Progressive
14' Teardrop


Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion
-Virtue Board
-Virtue Eyes
-Virtue QEV
-CP Regulator
-CP Roller Trigger
-Redz Bolt
-Q-Lock feed
-Halo B w/ Victory Board
-J & J Ceramic
-CP on/off air system
-48ci/4500psi carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but really crappy paintballs, and honeslty, even those are fine, just expect a break or two.
Strengths: Q-U-I-E-T!!!!!
Accurate
Looks
Cheap
Weaknesses: 100% does NOT shoot through breaks or clean itself.
Way too much porting.
Review: Alrighty, so here it is. I've heard about this barrel ever since I started playing about 4 and a half years ago, but everytime I got a new barrel for any of my guns, the J & J was always in the back of my mind. And so I've had my Ion for like a year now, and I play hard, hard, hardcore woodsball, so all my stuff gets slamed around, and finally i cracked a big nice whole near the tip. So then the J & J was put in my mind. And I love this website, before I buy ANYTHING, I always come here to see what people like you think of all the things I need. And I heard some really great things about this barrel; I mean it's average is like a 9.2. Some reviews say it cleans itself, some say it shoots through breaks, but I'm here to set all of you straight. It does not shoot through breaks, well I mean any gun "shoots through" breaks, but not too many barrels keep velocity and accuracy, including this barrel. And if this is the only reason you're buying this gun, any high-end barrel does it for real, they just don't advertise it, and if you don't believe me, head over to any pro shop and as a tech what I'm talking about. One final flaw is all the porting. For those of you who don't know what that is, it's the holes along the barrel to release the air. Now I will tell you, this is the quietest barrel you will EVER, EVER shoot, and you can take that to the bank. But it's because of all the porting. And once you get a single break, the barrel is not fun to clean, so be warned. Sorry, enough with the negetives. I have a Freak Barrel Kit, a fairly high-end barrel, and I put it up against the J & J. Of course, I re-calibrated the velocity when switching barrels, and with them both shooting 280 velocity, they had the same accuracy (dead on), and acctually, the new J & J had a few feet of range consistantly over the Freak, but the main thing that got me was the noise. I mean people never knew where I was coming from with the Freak, but holy f**king sh*t the J & J is QUIET. I had my friend who was with me, and when I started shooting, 2 feet from him, he was digging through my bag to find my spare tank or something, and to give a real-life situation of how quiet this is, when I emptyed an entire hopper, and he found my tank, he stood up and in dead seriousness asked me what I was waiting for to test the new barrel. So there you have it people, for only $38, this can outshoot barrels that cost over twice as much.
Conclusion: For only $40, no barrel that isn't at least double the price will out shoot this. The only reason I give this a 9 and not a 10 is because it does NOT shoot through breaks, even though it says it should. For all the people with a high-end marker like myself, I know I was a little skeptical about buying this barrel because all the reviews were from people with crap Spyders and Tippmanns. But take it from me, this barrel is worth double its cost.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 28th, 2007 at 7:01 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

NickSeiler Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
-TIPPMANN 98 Custom stock barrel
-14" Commando barrel
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom (black)
-14" J&J Ceramic Barrel (black)
-Vertical Adapter
-Pro Team Intruder expansion chamber
-14" Pro Team Commando barrel
-Pro Team Barrel Shroud/Guard
-Pro Team Front Sight
-Pro Team Sight Rail/Carry Handle
-Pro Team CAR stock
-12oz CO2 tank
-Viewloader 200 rd. hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premiums, Vipers
Strengths: -Very accurate
-Extremely lightweight
-Great appearance
-Easy to clean
Weaknesses: -Feels/appears fragile
Review: The J&J Ceramic has been a very dependable and accurate barrel. For the price (I paid under $40 for it), it's one of the better barrels on the market. Consistent performance all around, and definitely worth the money. Your shots will be more accurate, and your gun will have a really great look to it. I've been very satisfied with the black J&J I purchased for my Tippmann. I bought a 14" and it's been working wonders.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a good barrel and don't want to spend a lot of money, buy the J&J. Heck, even if you've got enough money to go with some other barrels, I'd still recommend the J&J ceramic.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 10th, 2003 at 9:34 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

B_Manz Sunday, January 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Pilot Barrel
Stock MR2 Barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
J&J 16" Ceramic
ViewLoader Evolution 2
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't really matter, ZAP paint isn't recommended.
Strengths: Lightweight
Looks cool
Quiet
Accurate
Cheap
Weaknesses: Scratches somewhat easily
sometimes innaccurate after a break
Review: Pretty good barrel, and it actually fits my MR2. Decent accuracy, very lightweight, lots of length choices (12", 14", 16", and 20" for almost all guns)

I love this barrel, it's a lot better than my stock barrels, but to get better accuracy, i might have to turn down my velocity, but no biggie. I think i might actually be around 310 FPS, so, if i cut that down, it'll be better. Even at this velocity though, at 15 yards i got a spread of about 12" with my 16" barrel.

UPDATE 5/18/09:
After using this barrel for many games, i have realized that it wasn't very good because of my MR2. I put this on my Spyder Pilot with HPA shooting at about 290 fps and got a spread of about 5" at 40 ft. This is pretty decent i felt, as the paint was a little big for the barrel. with smaller paint it was almost ball-on-ball accuracy.

Good barrel overall, but is now in bad cosmetic shape because of rough games in the brush. Still works great though!
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to pretty much anyone, especially people with MR2s, because this is one of the only after market barrels that fit it. Great barrel for $35.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 18th, 2009 at 1:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redneck_76 Thursday, October 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CMI Ture flight
DYE Boomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann pro carbine
32 degrees expansion chamber
20inch J&J ceramic barrel
Archon Tacamo hopper

This is my marker. There are many like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my marker is nothing. Without my marker, I am nothing.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Have not found any that dosen't work yet!
Strengths: Quite
Nice flat black
Accurate
No barrel breaks yet
Weaknesses: Everybody without one s**ts there pants when they see it, very smelly
Review: Great barrel, never had any barrel breaks even with cheap paint. Hit an eight inch wide tree from 50 yards on a hip shot. Lucky shot? Maybe or maybe not. Had more one shot kills on the first day with this barrel then in my entire paintball experiance. My brother was across the field shooting at me with his e99 so I stood in plain open view and waived. After not getting hit I leveled my trusty pro-carbine in his direction and he ran off with out me taking on shot. I guess he did want to end up like that tree. That's the kind of respect you get with this barrel on the field.
Conclusion: Buy it or you are the tree.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 30th, 2007 at 7:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s2000BoY Friday, June 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
32* Quiet Riot
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Shutter, 14' J&J Ceramic Barrel, 12 OZ Co2 Tank, Viewloader 200 rd. hopper
Strengths: Very Accurate
Light Weight
Looks Great
Self Cleaning
Tough Material
Weaknesses: When screwed on to the gun, it can become loose at times
Review: Overall, for the price you pay it's a great barrel. What more could you ask for? A light weight, accurate, self cleaning barrel! I have the 14' one and I really don't have any complains about it! It looks a small on my shutter at first but the performence out weighs the looks. I recommend this barrel to any one!
Conclusion: What more do i have to say! It's worth the money and makes paintballing alot better! J&J makes quality barrels! I recommend this barrel to any one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

karchomatic Thursday, May 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 stock barrel
Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, including Brass Eagle Monster Balls (low end paint)
Strengths: Low, competitive cost
High availability
Large return on investment
Weaknesses: Cannot be modified (ceramic material should not be cut down, not really a weakness)
Review: I am new to paintball, so I speak to other new or perspective players about the Tippmann Custom 98 and the J&J ceramic barrel.

When I bought my 98, I knew ahead of time from reviews that the barrel should be upgraded. I brought the marker to my first game completely stock, and I soon found out why.

The 98 stock barrel shredded nearly 2 out of every 3 Brass Eagle Monster balls fired through it at 260-285FPS. True, it is lower end paint, but I was completely unable to play with the stock barrel. I borrowed a J&J barrel from a veteran, and went on to have a great afternoon without a single barrel break.

:) The J&J barrel is available from many, many vendors, so the pricing is competitive. It is ceramic, so I would stay away from used versions since I've heard about chipping and cracking of the ceramic coating, I cannot speak to this firsthand..

:) The barrel is available in a variety of lengths to suit may styles of play. I play woods ball only, so I chose a 14" model as a balance between maneuverability and accuracy, and I could not be happier. The barrel delivers accurately to the aim point well beyond 40 feet, using BE Monster balls.

:) After my first experience with the stock barrel, I also bought a case of RPS All Star paint, which I hoped would be less picky about my stock barrel. The J&J fired the premium paint as consistently and reliably as the low end paint, so I found no reason to fire 2.5 cent balls over 1.5 cent balls. I played out the rest of the day with the Monster balls.

:) In reply to other posts, I do not feel that the barrel is brittle or damages easily. Threading the barrel should be done with care, and the "chalk board" sound is simply due to the ceramic material the barrel is made of. I treat my equipment like a long-term investment, so I can't comment on what happens when you bang it around "like an ape".

:| I have heard from veteran players that the barrel cannot be cut down, even by professionals. One guy took the barrel to a machine shop and was told that there was a risk of cracking the ceramic barrel. (It has been brought to my attention that the barrel is aluminum with a ceramic coating- nonetheless, a professional machinist said cutting the barrel may damage the ceramic component.) Personally, I don't consider this a weakness, since it's available in so many lengths, though it should be kept in mind for those who may want to shorten the barrel.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this barrel as an upgrade for the Custom 98.
:) It is relatively low cost and delivers the same performance as costlier upgrades.
:) It is available in various lengths to suit different styles of play.
:) It is extremely accurate, even with low end paint.
:| It should not be cut down.
I would give it a 10, but I do not have enough experience to say there's nothing better (therefore a 9).
I have downgraded by 1 since I have heard it cannot be modified.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 9th, 2006 at 8:19 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

CurtDawg Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
16" 32 Degrees Nyte Stikk Barrel. (7/10)
May be a little better-ranged but overall cannot compare.
14" Smart Parts Linear Barrel. (9/10)
Doesn't scratch as easy, and is deadly accurate, but is freakishly loud, and doesn't self clean. Also, while "deadly" accurate, the J&J is more so.
12" Stock Spyder Pilot ACS 2005 Barrel - Red / Black (8/10)
This barrel definitely surprised me with its accuracy, being a stock barrel, but without a doubt, the J&J is a vast improvement.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS 2005 - Red / Black Fade.
---------------------------------------------------------
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel.
Empire 2008 Special Edition Barrel Sleeve - Red / Black.
Kingman Spyder Rocking Trigger Frame CAMD 2.0.
Halo B Loader with Rip Drive and V35 Victory Board - Smoke.
Warrior Clamping Feed Neck with Holes - Dust Black.
46/3000 Cyclone Compressed Air Tank
Empire 2008 Special Edition Tank Cover - Red / Black.
Everything else is stock on the Spyder Pilot ACS 2005.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Diablo Formula 13 simply because it is the best ball I can buy where I live, but the paint to barrel match is not bad at all. Consistent and accurate.
Strengths: Quiet.
FREAKISH accuracy.
Flashy looks.
Self-cleaning.
Consistent.
Cheap.
Weaknesses: Scratches easily on the outside.
Review: This barrel is the EPITOME of god-like barrels. Simply no other barrel can compare with original J&J Ceramic barrel in ALL aspects. The gun is monumentally and almost unrealistically accurate. The sound it makes when firing is WAY cooler than any other barrel I have used. People say this barrel is very quiet, but not really... it is just alot QUIETER than other barrels. The sound is more of a concise POP than a loud PANG! as with most other metal barrels. This is obviously due to the use of a different material to construct the barrel. It is also incredibly consistent, and I have emptied hopper after hopper through this barrel without losing accuracy. I have tested it numerous times at different distances with different velocities etc. and the results are simply indescribable. Not to mention, the barrel is light as a feather, although weight doesn't matter to me (low weight is a good thing. though). This barrel is seen on many websites for around 30-40 dollars, and I got mine from ZephyrPaintball.com for 25 bucks on sale.

Having never had a break in this barrel (I use an anti-chop bolt) I cannot verify the self-cleaning abilities of this barrel myself. However, I have had other people use this barrel until one broke in it, and this is how the self-cleaning works... When a liquid comes in contact with the interior ceramic surface of the barrel, the liquid beads up into small droplets, dispersing the density of the liquid, allowing it to move more freely along the surface of the inside of the barrel. This allows for zero friction when a ball moves through the barrel, and thus lets you shoot through paint and water almost unhindered.

The SOLE downside I can find on this barrel is the fact that the outer surface can scratch rather easily, so be SUPER careful, buy a barrel sleeve, and do not store it in a gear bag with other metallic or "scratchy" surfaces and objects.

On the 14 inch version of this barrel, there are 5-1/4 to 6 inches of unported length, if you include the back of the barrel that screws in to the marker. This provides a long distance for which the ball can accelerate with gas behind it before the gas escapes out the ports and increase accuracy. This distance is actually ideal on a 14 inch barrel because beyond that, you start to lose alot of range, and to compensate you would need to increase velocity. I prefer using 12 to 14 inch barrels to keep consistency in the amount of air I use.
Conclusion: When you consider accuracy, sound, weight, price, consistency, and the patented self-cleaning system, this barrel is simply unparalelled. I have no doubt that this is the barrel to buy for any purpose, be it rec-ball, woods-ball, speed-ball, mil-sim, anything. Hell, the linearity of the barrel makes for sort of a realistic look anyway! Ten out of ten, and as stated in other reviews, I do not grade mercifully.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 20th, 2008 at 8:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattymatt3 Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot, Ricochet 2kx, J&J 14in Ceramic
Strengths: Self cleaning, accurate, light
Weaknesses: Paint scuffed a little at the end of the barrel
Review: I really like this barrell! I haven't used any others other than the stock barrel that came with my gun and the stock barrel for my old gun (Spyder Sonix). It was very accurate when I used nitro, and when I did chop a ball (I was using old crappy field balls) it took only 2 shots to self clean it. It is very light but seems sturdy. I did notice a little nick at the end of the barrel after useing it a couple of times but, does it really matter if it looks pretty as long as it works?
Conclusion: I would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 10th, 2006 at 6:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media