paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
IHsharpshooter Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann Barrel, Smart Parts Progressive
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, J&J Ceramic Barrel (16")
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any...only had one point in the day when i chopped paint and it wasnt from the barrel, but actually the hopper.
Strengths: Great accuracy and range, much quieter than stock.
Weaknesses: I heard it scratches easily. Im not stupid enough to do that though!
Review: A great barrel overall. It has awesome accuracy and consistency along with that. I never have had shots randomly veer left or right. Ive never had it chop paint or break paint either. It looks wicked, and is light and doesnt get in the way. Also, i used it during an 8 hr scenario game this past weekend and had absolutely no problems. During the game i was running, and slipped in the snow. The tip of my barrel jammed into the ground and immediately got filled with wet mud and snow. Because of the teflon coating inside the barrel i was able to shoot off 2 or 3 rounds, and it was clean again. Also the price is awesome for the value of this barrel (usually sells around $40).
Conclusion: Buy it!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 1st, 2005 at 4:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AKA_Viking_Guy Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrels, Dye Exel, Javalen
Marker Setup: Viking With A Viewloader, 68CI 300PSI tank, drop foward with shut off, and a spyder with same tank setup and tank. with Cerimic Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
The best I found to match the J&J Cermic is the dusk by darruxxes (Sold at sporting good stores, and retail stores)
Strengths: Easy to Clean, Quiet, most accurrate, and is light and strong
Weaknesses: Can Chip Easy, can fall loose from gun with no o-ring.
Review: I think it is a good step up from the stock Barrels, I use it on a spyer that I have, and works well, It seems to be a good Mid-Range acuurate barrel, it will come loose from the gun easy, but I found that putting a tank O-Ring on past the threads, and a firm tighten of it Stops it from working loose from the gun, you do have to strech the O-Ring over the threaded end, but it works Nicely for a "Lock Ring". The Performace is probly about average for this price rang, Its big advatage is that it cleans its self very well. I also found out that it is abou like the telfon skilet, give it a drop or two of oil (Regular paintball oil, NOT 3 n 1 or motor oil) in it before play, and swab it out with your swab, it improves its performance enough to tell. Over all I Rate as a good step up from your stock barrel of your spyder, or other mid priced guns. I have been happy with it for the price, it not as good as the two peice, but as long as you use decent paint in it it works well.
Conclusion: I say that it is a Good step up from your stock barrell that came with a tippman or a spyder or mid price gun, it is a good mid-range accuracy barrel for the price, and it on major plus is it asy to clean I Rate it a nine because there is always room to improve.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazy_hoodlum Saturday, December 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
: J&J ceramic
Dye Ultralite
Dye Boomstick
Hammerhead system
St!ffi
Marker Setup: ION- 14 in. UL- Pmi 68ci 4.5k- CP drop- CP on/off- power angle- QEV- Egg2
Cocker- St!ffi - AIM 21 body- Zero-B - Shocktech LPR- Sto ram- stock internals- Egg2
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever tickles your pickle
I prefer Blaze, or Evil
PMI works fine.
Strengths: Quiet
cheap
shoots well
Weaknesses: Slips loose sometimes
Review: Shoots almost as good as my friend's ultralite. This barrel is only $35 despite the MSRP. Smooth interior allows for quick cleaning because i broke a ball using the quantum or the revvy! (crappy hoppers, both of them!) Sorry, I'm just bitter at those hoppers, but the barrel is very quiet, even without my suppressor. Black color looks good on my green Spyder. I can hit 10 balls right on top of each other at 40 ft. Doesn't come with an o-ring, so it comes loose after a while, but no biggie. Just retighten and you're good again. Feels brittle, but it's really teflon coated metal. It's not all ceramic.

Edit.: I use it on my Ion sometimes, and it's really quiet. I still think it's a great barrel. One of the best barrels for the price.
Conclusion: Great replacement for your stock barrel. Excellent bargain for $35. better than other 1-piece barrels I-ve used.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 10th, 2006 at 11:55 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

hummerking Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other aftermarket barrels, too many to list. none come close, except my old boomy, but the J&J was quieter andmore accurate.
Marker Setup: stock spyder EXTRA (backup/loaner) w/ 12" J&J ceramic
TIPPMANN A5
egrip w/ gta double trigger and home mods
dop internals
shocktec drop and front grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
absolutly any paint will work with this barrel, even the crappy feild paint we are forced to use. but the best is, believe it or not, pmi premiums/bigballs or marbs.
Strengths: wicked quiet
super accurate
self cleans IF u get a CHOP
super light
Weaknesses: Scratches kinda easy
Review: i bought the 12" for my spyder EXTRA, b/c we all know that stock barrels suck. it was a huge improvement over the stock. when i bought my A5 it came with the 14" model and it kicks ass with the egrip.

i have done tests with both the 14" J&J and the 14" boomstick. at 50 feet(yes i measured) i shot 10 shots at a board 16" wide. the J&J had groupings of 3 inches(meaning all the balls struck within 3 inches center to center) the boomstick had groupings of 6 inches.

i had the chance to try different lengths of the J&J(10",12",14",16") contrary to poular belife there is no diirence in accuracy. the only difference was the 16 was a little bit quieter thean the 12" and 14".
Conclusion: if your looking for a great after market barrel get the J&J ceramic. if u play speed ball and want to wrap around your bunkers then go for the 14" or 16", but if u just play rec ball, get the 12" b/c it's the perfect length to be able to run thru the woods w/o hitting stuff.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Slick6 Sunday, July 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock only
Marker Setup: Stock A-5
J&J Ceramic
32* x-chamber
CO2
Strengths: Tight spread
Quieter
Light
Now comes in flat blackto match my marker
Weaknesses: I worry about scratching it as it "feels" fragile even though it's not
Review: I was anxious to pick this up from my local shop, but was a little aprehensive from a few of the reviews stating that the barrel had inconsistent bore size and was susceptible to breaks. However once I got it I found that it matched several brands of paint very well. Compared to the stock barrel my A-5 is still a noisey pig, but there was a noticable drop in noise compared to the stock, as well as a vast improvement in accuracy. After about 600 rounds I had ZERO breaks. They say it's supposed to be able to shoot through them, but I wouldnt know.



Conclusion: Overall I was very impressed. I picked mine up for $36 and am satisfied that I purchased a low cost upgrade comparable to many of the more expensive barrels.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 18th, 2004 at 10:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Raines8416 Monday, August 4th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 60 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Barrels, Boomys, Freaks, Pipes, tons more.
Marker Setup: Free Flow Cocker w/ Eblade + Pipe
Recommended
Paintballs:
Higher End Paint. ex) Marbs, El Tigre, All Star, Evil, Premium
Strengths: Weight.
Weaknesses: Color, Durability.
Review: When I bought my gun the seller gave me one of these barrels since he had no use for it anymore. I already had a couple boomsticks so I just set it aside and it never got used for quite some time. When I was playing one day I decided to try it out since it just sits in my gearbag never getting use. I remebered all the great reviews about how it rarely breas paint, and when it does it shoots through them so easy. Right off the break I start shooting and the first shot goes pretty good and the next shot break. So I get to my bunker and shoot it a couple times to "Self clean" it, and the first couple shots come out but the barrel is far from clean. The third breaks once again so I said screw it, and pulled out my straight shot. I continue with the game and probably not even 100 shots later another break. So I go through the whole previous proccess again. After that I play some more finnally get through most of the game without a problem but near the end of the game it happens again. I got so frustrated I just walked off the field. (I was using El Tigre this day too, so it wasnt a paint specific problem). I threw the barrel back in the gearbag only to take it back out later to trade to some kid for his CP barrel, which I tested the game after and it shot great with no problems.
Conclusion: The barrel is OK if you just have good luck with it I guess. The color sucks though, doesnt match anything, and its the ONLY color. Not too durable, I nicked mine up just from hyperball tubes. This is the only product I have ever hated. (I even told the kid whose CP I traded for that it sucked and I hated it).

Sure its a cheap barrel, but if your on a budget deffinatly get a CP barrel. CPs are surprisingly strong, and shoot awesome for a $25 barrel. Not to mention just look 10x better.

I give it 3 since its a unique concept, and its not super expensive. Although I would deffinatly not reccomend it!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

Har2021 Wednesday, November 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Custom98 ACT, J&J 12", HPA 3000psi, rocket cock II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Triumph, mid-sized paint
Strengths: Light, easy to clean the vent holes, accurate, still shoots accurate when paint breaks
Weaknesses: Easily scratched on the out side. Scratched the out side surface on a tree trunk
Review: This has been an excellent barrel so far. After a game this last Saturday I looked down at my barrel and noticed paint coming out of the hole vents...I had broken a ball but I did not even realize a difference in the shot. I squeegeed it out and very little paint came out.
During the games was amazing. There was a ravine that I shot across and the distance on my shots were amazing. There were a lot of newer players that were shooting through little holes in the bunkers. I was able to get a bead on there position and put a ball on the lens.
I got a number of one shot one kill shots. That was nice because the other team couldn't tell where the shots came from.
I really don't think a tippmann can really be that quieted by a barrel or a rocket cock. The action is the loud part.
Conclusion: This is the only barrel that I have had besides my stock barrel. It has given me a real advantage. I don't need to shower a bunker hoping one lands on target. I can shoot accurate slap shots. Highly recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tubb Friday, May 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
Electric Viewloader Force
16" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Works great with most paint.
Strengths: ACCURACY! Light weight.
Weaknesses: Easily Scratched. Doesn't feel durable.
Review: When I first bought this barrel I did some what of an accuracy test. Using my gun and some terrible paint that I was given from a paintball park, I used both my stock barrel and my new J&J barrel. It was very evident which one was better. The J&J was! Versus the stock barrel this was by far a better pruduct. Unlike the stock barrel the J&J barrel felt a little less durable (to me, Thats your opinion) From random distances (The same for each barrel of course) I was able to put 4-8 holes in my target (out of approx. 40 shots) with the stock barrel. Remember this is terrible paint. And with the J&J barrel I had AT LEAST 15-20 HOLES in the target with Approx. 40 balls. Like I stated earlier the paint / powder coat will scratch VERY easily. I definatly recommend this barrel. With my gun, the shots while in 3 burst mode are within 6 - 8 Inches of each other. The 6 Burst mode was a little less accurate, but this can be expected with almost any barrel. Hope I have helped out someone.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great barrel. You won't regret it. With its accuracy, and light weight. It can't be beat for this price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

doomie77 Monday, August 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder barrel, BT Apex barrel
Marker Setup: Blue/black Spyder Pilot ACS '05, Egg3, Dye sticky3 grips, Redz clamping feedneck, 32 degrees spring kit, 16" J&J Ceramic barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything medium to high end. I use Visible Impact (formerly Scorch), which I would put at mid grade level.
Strengths: Lightweight, good looks, accurate, self cleaning, quiet.
Weaknesses: Can be scratched easier than most other barrels. No biggie.
Review: This thing rocks. for the money, I can't think of a better buy for your marker. Super lightweight, very durable. I took it out to a local field this weekend and found I was much more accurate with this barrel than with my stock, and MUCH more accurate than my Apex. (Apex is for distance anyway) I just couldnt get over how much more accurate my shots were.

It also looks sexy. It has a matte black finish, and has a slightly rough feel to it, I believe this is the ceramic coating on the aluminum. The porting is well done as well, inset in 3 grooves that go about 1/3 the length of the barrel. This barrel is also a prime candidate for an Apex tip mod. Turn your J&J into a super flatline with an on/off switch. Sick.

Conclusion: Snatch this thing up NOW if you are looking for superior performance at an inferior price (haha). You wont regret it, trust me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 6th, 2007 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boomerisnuts Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
unless you count a stock triton2 barrel
Marker Setup: Blue to black fade spyder pilot
14 inch j and j ceramic barrel
Shock tech top cocking spyder bolt
blue Dye sticky grips
lapco clamping feedneck without holes
evolution 2 hopper with y board
i will be switching over to hpa and then i getting a new board and a new drop off
triton 2 (soon to be sold or given away)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs that that are .688-.691 (this is the typical size of the bore in this barrel and paintballs that size will work the best)
Strengths: -Looks
-Accuracy
-price
-allowed me to shoot through brakes in the barrel
-range
Weaknesses: None, except if you aren't careful you could scratch it
Review: This barrel is awesome! i was blown away by the accuracy this barrel gave me. it is nice to shoot and actually be able to hit people that i previously couldn't hit before. just because it is cheap do not let that determine whether or not you will get this. when most people see something cheap they think it is crap. well this is not crap this barrel is awesome.
Conclusion: you definitely get your moneys worth. Buy this and see the difference!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media