paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
muggsey Monday, January 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Mostly stock barrels. A couple small-name aftermarkets. The ceramic is the best so far.
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy with System X trigger frame, SLIK nylatron bolt, and 14" J&J Ceramic barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Most paint I've tried is a little small for this barrel, but still shoots straight. My findings so far:

Small:
NelSplat
JT Tactical
Demon

Large:
Big Ball

Perfect:
Domination (WorrPaint)
Strengths: Precise
Lightweight
Inexpensive
Quiet(er)
Weaknesses: Very little
Review: I recently started paintballing again after a long hiatus, with the condition that I wouldn't spend too much on gear. This led me to try and find a setup that would be consistent, precise, and cheap. The Ceramic was probably the most important purchase I made to this end.

I've waisted a lot of paint in my backyard trying to find the best match - everything I used shot straight, and relatively consistent. Even the bad stuff (Demon), though a noticeable change, wasn't terrible. I really recommend using Domination (about $40/ 2000 rds at Action Village), as it is a near-perfect match.

My first day of play with the barrel saw a lot of guys wowing at the accuracy and consistency of the gun, and me still not hitting anybody. It turns out it takes more than good gear to be good at paintball (sigh).
Still, it is good gear.
Conclusion: Buy it. Seriously. You have nothing to lose at this price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Stormedup Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Evil Driver
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
J & J Ceramic 14"
Dye Stickies
VL 200 w/ feed neck
Pure energy 12 oz. CO2

Recommended
Paintballs:
tournament style
no specific brand
Strengths: Accurate
Range
not too loud
Price
Weaknesses: Scratches easily
only comes in black
Review: I got this barrel for my spyder and it works great. My accuracy and range have greatly been improved, and the barrel muffles the sound more too. At only 30 dollars, it looked like a good barrel, I was wrong. It is a great barrel! The only bad thing is that it scratches very easily and wear the paint off, but it is a very good deal
Conclusion: For newcomers or amuturs this is a good buy. If you want a good barrel but have short funds get this. I give this product a 9 out of 10 because a dye or evil might be better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jmotion Thursday, August 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Pilot 05 barrel
Tippmann Barrel
Teardrop
Flatline Barrel
Ion Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Pilot Acs 05
Kapp Neck
Evlution 2 Hopper
Tippmann Sock
20oz Co2 Tank
JJ 14 inch Ceramic Barrel
JT Elite Mask
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but the Eagle Paint
Strengths: Light, shoots great
Weaknesses: None that i can see
Review: Barrel came quick for 34 dollars. Shoots clean and accurate, i can even hit the same spot more than once!!! Says u can shoot through a break, but my acs bolt never breaks a shot so i havent seen it in action yet. Buy this barrel for any gun u want too see a accuracy boost, teardrop isnt as good.

UPDATE: I was lent some cheap paint and it blendered in my hopper. After about 20 balls broke i shot the gun more and i could shoot through the breaks. Barrel is great buy it
Conclusion: Buy it, well worth it and i got a free squeege with mine :D
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 27th, 2006 at 9:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MightyMace Wednesday, October 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel, tippmann 16" sniper
Marker Setup: 98Custom
- J&J ceramic barrel
- cyclone feed (Ultimate force ratchet & shaft and thunder rod + squishy paddels)
- X7 low profile offset hopper + stealth padding
- cheap crappy bipod + barrel attatchment
- double trigger
- 6 inch 3 sided weaver rail
- tasco 2x42 red dot scope
- green dot laser
- remote line + line sock
- special ops foldable stock
- rocket cock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any - just be careful of paint with dints, they seem to shoot really badly out of this barrel.
Strengths: Cheap
Accurate
pretty quiet
Weaknesses: hard to clean
does NOT shoot through barrel breaks
Review: Simple really, i wanted a cheap high performing barrel for the price, found ceramics were suposedly good so i went and bought a 20" one

First day of use it performed pretty well, its the first barrel of this length i have used and its pretty quiet which i was happy with. First game i really liked how it was performing and it was dead accurate, then the wind picked up and ruined that for me, but also everyone else so it wasn't too bad. I dont know why people have been saying the outside scratches easy, i have given it a through few bad wacks on it that you would think would scratch most barrels, and nothing. One thing is its easy to mark, but all you have to do is use a light washing-up sponge and water to clean the marks off.

Me being an idiot i think i much have stuck my barrel into the mud and i went to shoot a bunch of mud and broken paint came flying out my barrel. I thought to myself "crap, oh well it can shoot through barrel breaks" tried shooting through it and my god it was terrible, not sure if it was the cold weather messing up the bore size on the balls but it was so messed up inside i had to go and squeegy it.

However once i did it was working well again.

This barrel served me well, 23 kills in 9 games and our team won

I do believe that is a good days work, did far better than any of my other friends!
Conclusion: Great barrel, worth the money

Even though my 20" is a paint in the ass to clean because of 9 inches of porting its great

i'll give it a 9 because nothing is perfect, this barrel isn't that close to perfect but deserves a solid 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 30th, 2008 at 12:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dottom Monday, December 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts progressive 2006 (16")
End Game Snub Nose (3")
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann Double Trigger
32 Degree 6-Stage Exp. Chamber
JCS Red Hot Power tube
OPS Gear G36 Stock
Pure Energy Remote coil
Recommended
Paintballs:
Visible Impact, X-Ball (the orange striped ones from Wal-Mart, very good)
Strengths: Accurate
Shoots though breaks, mud, and snow
Easy cleaning
Light weight
Pretty quiet
Good distance
Weaknesses: Paint not so durrable
Aluminium damages easily, threads are delicate
Ummm... That's about it.
Review: This was my first barrel upgrade and I'd have to say It's great for beginners, espically if your on a budget. I got mine for $28 and it shoots as well as some of my friends $40 and $60 barrels. As any good barrel, it shoots very straight, not unexpected curves but depending on the kind of marksmen you are, distance may require some considerable arching. I bought a 14" and reccomend anyone doing wide open woodball to up it to a 16" for a little extra distance. It's a pretty large bore barrel so I reccomend larger paint. Both Visble Impact and X-balls worked great but Visible Impacts are slightly larger thus benifiting in better velocity. The bigger the better for this one.

As for performance it faired very well in the feild. Never ever... ever leting me down. Dispite it's some what delicate construction it's very durrable but scratches and gashes easily. Kinda looks cool, makes me look like a seasond player with all the battle damage:0). I've had very few breaks, almost none. Maybe one or two that I remember... that's it! Oh, the Mud and Snow.... I dove into some snow once under fire. One shot cleard the backed barrel and it shot beautifly after that. Same with Mud, Dove into some damp soil backing the muzzle pretty good. No sweat, 'Pop' and go!
Conclusion: Great choice for players under budget and for thouse guys who always put themselves between a rock and a hard place and need a trusty barrel to get them out of trouble. I give it a 9... but it really is a fantastic barrel, plus I'm very picky when it comes to picking a perfect barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazyjenkins Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-sypder electra acs stock barrel (12in)
-smart parts progressive barrel (14in)
-smart parts all american barrel (16in)
Marker Setup: -spyder electra '05 acs
-14 inch j&j ceramic
-dye stickies
-trinity front block (7d backwards)
-trinity dropforward/on and off
-new designz clamping feed neck
Recommended
Paintballs:
none from walmart
Strengths: -Much more accurate and quiet than my similar products used
-Extremely light weight
Weaknesses: -Self cleaning decent, not that important
-has 6inches of unported barrel(could be more)
Review: This barrel is a great barrel. It is more accurate than both the all american barrel and the progressive barrel. It is equally as quiet as both, but i dont think that matters too much. I would rather have a more air efficient barrel with less porting if it meant that my gun was loud. My test for cleaning by shooting through is not very accurate as i had to manually chop balls inside the barrel. Also, it is very very light, so im assuming that it might not be very durable. That, compounded with the fact that i have heard stories of chipped and cracked ceramic barrels, makes me take alot of care with the barrel. Thats not a bad thing, though you just have to be careful with it.
Conclusion: dont let the price deter you, its a fantastic barrel no matter how much its costs. i got mine for 30 bucks and it easily outperforms barrels that cost twice as much. However, im sure that there is a more accurate barrel out there. Im going to buy the full tilt ceramic and see if it is better or not. I give it a 9 of 10 for two main reasons. I want more accuracy and less porting. dont get me wrong, its very accurate, i just want more.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beetleboy09 Monday, March 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro E Basic
14'' J&J Ceramic
Ricochet Apache
20oz Pure Energy with Smart Parts on/off valve
Recommended
Paintballs:
DBX
Big Balls
PMI Premiums
Strengths: Pretty Accurate
Inexpensive
Kind of quiet
Weaknesses: Doesn't shoot through breaks well
Review: Well I have had this barrel for around a year and have had some good and bad times with it.
I couldn't wait when I ordered this barrel for $38.00 including shipping. The first thing I thought when i felt the package was, " Wow! This is light!" I looked through the barrel and it had a very smooth inside. So I put it on my gun and took some shots. It is pretty accurate and increased the distance several yards.
J&J claims it can shoot through breaks, that isn't very true at all from my experience. I turned it upsided down and dry fired and that didn't work, I tried shooting through it a couple times and that didn't do it, so I had to bust out my swab. I expected my gun to be much quieter than it was so that made me sad =(.
Conclusion: A pretty decent barrel for the money but the ability to shoot through breaks is overrated and it isn't as quiet as people say it is in my opinion.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Thomas Catlin Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J CERAMIC
Marker Setup: Powerfeed Automag w/ Level 10 X-Valve and BSA 30mm red dot sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium sized paint
Strengths: Fairly Accurate
Quiet
Very light
Very inexpensive
Matte black
Weaknesses: Overporting
Doesn't really self clean
Comes in one color (but who cares)
Review: The Ceramic is quite accurate, especially for such a low priced barrel. It scores 8" groupings from 60 ft with a good paint to bore match. It's teflon coating makes it whisper quiet and it's also quite stealthy thanks to its matte black. And with it's thin aluminum construction and teflon coating, the Ceramic is also extremely light weight.

A cool feature that the Ceramic advertises is that it's supposed to self clean after a ball break, but really doesn't self clean at all... at least not with any kind of actual effectiveness. You still have to squeegy if you break paint. I don't know, maybe I need to buy some larger bore paint to clean it out better.

The Ceramic also has too much porting. A minimum of 8" of port-free barrel is ideal for air efficiency. The Ceramic has only 6". But even higher quality barrels like the Boomstick are equally as bad. What the hell! How come every barrel on the market right now is completely full of holes? All you need is about 3" inches of porting... anything more is just wasting air with every shot.

A minor flaw is that it only comes in one color. The matte black totally suits my tastes. But for those of you who have guns that look more like alien space ships covered in sparkly red glitter, you will be disappointed.

The Ceramic is probobly the best buy you can possibly get for a good quality barrel. I got a new barrel for $28 (including shipping) on ebay.
Conclusion: The Ceramic is high quality for a low price, and it will definitely compete with an overpriced Boomstick any day. Performance-wise, accuracy could be just a tad better, but I shouldn't be complaining for the low price I payed. Still, I find myself playing with the Boomstick much more often than I do with the Ceramic.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 18th, 2006 at 2:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

onrylildevil Saturday, August 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder stock barrel, tes stock barrel, cp 12 inch
Marker Setup: Dragun Tes
Apm Tigershark Bolt
Air America Black Ice Reg
Halo Backman Tsa
47/3000 Crosfire
Remote Coil
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use whatever cheapest at the time. Patriot, Zap , Monster Balls, etc. does seem to make a difference with low end paint
Strengths: Quiet, Accurate, Self Cleaning, Light Weight,
Weaknesses: Small Ports are hard to clean
Review: Well I started looking for barrels, for my Tes. I on a budget and did some research, asked a few people, forums, looked around in paintball shops, etc. I Ended up buying the J&J Ceramic 14 Inch. Went Out to the woods with bout 10 of my fr iends to do some rec balling.
The First thing i noticed after everyone got thier guns set up and was test firing them, Is how Much QUIETER my marker was compared to everyone elses. We Broke off into teams and went out to play. This Barrel was much more accurate than the stock barrel and ranks right up there with the cp and its alot cheaper. The self cleaning is TRUE. I was the only left on my team and had 3 Peeps after me. Needless to say I had to spray paint to get out of trouble i was basically surrounded. I chopped a ball or 2 and within 3 shots the barrel was Clean. I was Pleasantly surprised the hype was real. Its accurare at a varity of ranges 3 -6 inch Patterns depending on range of course. Well I ended up Taking out the remainin three guys and i dont think i coulda done it if i had to stop to squeegie the barrel.
Conclusion: Well Awesome barrel for the price. I bought it cause i needed a cheap barrel upgrade, but I cant find anything cheap about it. Some Peeps say it chips easy, Im hard on mine playing woods ball for 2 yrs with it and no chips. After the first day I Played with it I bought 2 more 1for a tippy 98 and 1 for my Spyder E99. Oh and my friends, 8 of them that were in the game after my fiirst use< went out and bought it also. Buy it You will be impressed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 20th, 2005 at 9:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluespider Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock Viewloader Orion, Prodigy, Triad, and Triton II barrels , 32 Degrees Whisper, A-5 and M-98 stock barrels,Tippmann Flatline, Tippmann Werks, PMI Trracer Tagmaster stock barrel, Eradicator stock barrel, PMI Black Max stock barrel, Spyder Xtra Stock barre, other assorted barrels
Marker Setup: VL Orion, 14" J&J Ceramic barrel, VL Revvy 12v, VL Proseries expansion chamber, 16oz co2, homemade "left forward"(like a drop forward, but it moves tank left and forward)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have only used Big Ball, Scorch, the cheapest Draxus, VL Heavy Metal, Toxic, and some paint that I don't know what it was. Of these the Draxus worked the best and Scorch second best. Heavy Metal barely worked at all it likes to get stuck or break. Also the Toxic balls got pretty squirrelly. Big Balls were likewise not too accurate. The paint's I have tried are ( in order from best to worst)
Draxus
Scorch
Big Ball
Toxic
Heavy Metal
Strengths: Cheap, Accurate, Quiet, Self Cleaning (a little), looks ( I think)
Weaknesses: None that I've seen.
Review: I got my J&J Ceramic 14" along with some other upgrades for Christmas; a week or two later I went and tested them out. At 100' I could hit a 12" target with almost every shot. That was standing shooting pretty fast. After I broke a ball (most likely because of cold weather) I shot a few more rounds without cleaning the barrel first, and I was surprised that after 4 or 5 shots it was shooting noticeable straighter. So I guess the claims of self cleaning have some truth to them. It was by no means shooting as straight as it did when clean, but much better than the my stock barrel did after a chop. By the way, if you are getting it for a VL Orion, get the "Spider" threads.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to anybody who doesn't want to pay lots of $$$ but wants a good barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 1st, 2005 at 6:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media