paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
warren3 Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatlines - no comparison
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with response trigger
Tippmann 98c
Pirahna eForce SRT
Recommended
Paintballs:
Not sure
Strengths: Didn't really find any
Weaknesses: Ball breakage, not very accurate
Review: I wanted to write this review because I bought the barrel due to the recommendations of this site. It just does not work on a Pirahna marker. I wonder if it is because of the bolt to barrel assembly, but I would be careful with spyder barrels on the pirahna markers. I put the barrel on and used various types of paint and they all broke. From lousy field paint up to evils and marbilizers

I wanted to let anyone that is looking at a barrel for thier pirahna that this is not the one...
Conclusion: I'm sure it is a great barrel on other markers, but not on a pirahna.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

budokaiboy Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatline, System X 2 piece clear tip
Marker Setup: (3) A5's, (1) Custom98, (1) Zeus G1 pistol. Flatlines, E-Grips, Response Triggers, drop forwards expansion chambers.
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY. That's why I just equipped every single marker I own (4) with a J&J ceramic.
Strengths: It's cheap, self-cleaning and you can use the cheapest paint you can find.
Weaknesses: Well it doesn't have the range of my flatlines.
Review: Well I bought one of these barrels so one of my spare A5s would have something other than a stock barrel. I read good things about them on this site. I bought mine from http://www.firstcallpaintball for $32.99 plus $6 .00 for shipping. It arrived in like 2-3 days. I put it on one of my A5s and took a few shots at an abandoned tractor trailer that sits where we play. It seemed a bit loud even though it's heavily ported. I didn't do any quantitative testing like 2 inch groupings at 50 feet or anything but they seemed to all group fairly close together from 70 feet away but as I said it was just me shooting at a truck. What impressed me was after about 10 shots I chopped a ball and just as advertised the next ball came out perfect. I spent this last weekend cleaning my flatline more than I actually played, due to some cheap-o ZAP paintballs from Dicks Sporting Goods. I decided then and there that I'd sacrifice range and laser accuracy for reliability.
Conclusion: I just ordered 3 more of these for a total of four! It's cheap it's self cleaning and it's as accurate as a non rifled or flatline barrel can be. I have to buy paint for myself and 2 kids and I can't wait to go buy some Blue Streaks from K-Mart and play all day on the cheap. Not to diss the flatlines. Flatlines are great but unless you run mid-range to Marbalizers you get breaks. With a flatline, one break and that's pretty much that until you squeegie it. With these you can wait till the end of the game or even the end of the day to squeegie your barrel if you want to!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 26th, 2001
 
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This barrel is really good. Its quiet and is accurate as hell. It added range too. It doesn't look bad on my model 98. It actually looks good.My friend bought a Dye Boomstick for 120.00 and he likes my barrel better than his. I have never broken a ball in it. It makes my gun a lot lighter. Everyone I know that has a gun is buying this barrel. It is EXCELLENT
Weaknesses: I have found nothing bad with this barrel. I cannot complain. I have owned it for a year and am kicking all of my friends butts with my accuracy.
Conclusion: I have a 12" barrel and it is amazing. I used it for my Model 98 and it looks good. I have found that Diablo paintballs work the best. Not a single broken ball. I think this barrel is worth at least 70.00 but I paid 49.00 for it. It is definately worth what it costs. All of my friends love my barrel. It is miles better than the 120.00 DYE boomstick. I would definately recommend this barrel to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, June 17th, 2001
 
3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I guess I'm the only one in this review section that doesn't find anything good about this barrel. I will have to say that it's light weight and I like the green color.
Weaknesses: It's the only barrel of all that I own that is able to break paint in the Micromag. I use Marbs. For the some reason the first or second round always braks. My BOA and Smart Parts never break paint.
Conclusion: I'm sorry but I just do not like this barrel. I'm glad it works good for the rest of you.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

matthew1513 Tuesday, April 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 98 custom platnium
ncstar 30mm red dot
jj cermaic 14inch
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use spectrum and they work very good
Strengths: Extreamly accuract
Light
Quiet
Looks great on a 98c
Cleans broken paint
Price
Weaknesses: It can scatch easily
Review: This is by far the best barrel I have ever used it is so accuract that I could shoot a 1 foot diamenter target 80% of the time from 60feet away. I once shot a freind from 100 feet away in mid game with this barrel.
Many people can say that it will break easily that is not true my barrel has been through alot of damage and it has only scratchs on it
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cheap but excellent quality barrel go with the jj ceramic
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rowsdower Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Progressive, BT-16 Barrel Kit
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
14" J&J Ceramic
Custom made 11" solid wood dragunov stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Last time I used Ramp paint, but I've heard these barrels can vary in bore size, so you'll want to try a few. At any rate, bigger is better on this one for me (All-Stars and Marbs rolled right out of the barrel.)
Strengths: PRICE!!!
Accuracy
Light-weight
Easy to clean (usually just shoot right through)
Weaknesses: Scratches
I've heard the ceramic chips, but, hey, I throw paint, NOT MY GUN.
Review: I was in the market for an upgrade barrel on my BT, when I came across this little gem. I had read a dozen or so reviews about it on this very board, so I decided to try it out. I was firstly impressed with range and accuracy. In a little backyard test, I switched back and forth between the J&J and my stock 8.5 incher, aiming at a 4"x4" target 40 steps off (sorry, I didn't have a tape measure in my pocket :) With traditional point-and-pray aiming, it took 2 shots to hit my mark with the J&J, versus about 8 with my stock barel.

Next came the field test. I'm a woodsballer, so I was initially concerned about mobility, as I had an extra 6 inches in front of me. Surprisingly, it didn't really change much for me. I like the extra length, as it begins to feel more like a real gun, even rifle-like with my butt stock mounted. This is a plus for me, because I like the big-gun feel, but some might not. I had great accuracy all day, with only one ball break, but that was due to bad paint, not the barrel. And what I've been told is true, just shoot right through your breaks, and it cleans 'em right out.

In between rounds, I matched it head to head against my friend's BT-4 Assault (essentially the same gun as mine but with an M-16 styling) lighting up a nearby tree. My shots were easily twice as tight as his, not mentioning his throwing a few wild curves in the process.

My only negative, thought not really, is back to length. The size allowed the other team's captain to see my barrel following one of his guys from behind a tree, ruining my proposed ambush. Watch your cover, though, and that isn't usually likely to happen. Besides, I bought a long barrel because I wanted a long barrel, so it's my own fault if I can't use it, right? And the flat finish WILL scratch, though this isn't really a concern to me, since I'm shooting my guns in the woods, not trophy-casing them.
Conclusion: If you want a better-than-stock barrel, but don't want to eat Ramen for a week, this is the way to go. I give it an 9, because while there are other barrels that out shoot this one, the low price/ high quality wins for me, plus its an easy cleanup, which always makes me smile.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beamers96 Thursday, March 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT rifled 14" barrel-little louder, less accurate
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom w/ custom camo, homemade stock, J&J 16" barrel, LAPCO spyder to 98c barrel adapter, Pure Energy remote coil, custom sight hood, 20 oz. CO2 tank, and sometimes a TASCO red dot sight.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've used many low-end paintballs and they all worked in this barrel. Most of them were even white box brands and all worked great.
Strengths: -Very quiet
-Pretty accurate
-Self-cleaning
-Tight groupings
-Good range
-Great price!
Weaknesses: -Paint scratches after awhile? The only thing I could think of...
Review: This barrel has been great to me. I use a 98 custom (a normally loud marker) and this barrel made it very quiet. It has tight groupings and good accuracy. I can shoot a pudding cup from 60 feet away with about 90% hits. The barrel is ceramic and self-cleaning, so in the chance you break a ball in it, after about two more shots you're good to go with normal accuracy again! It has great range and when I play speedball I stay in the back and do just fine from there with this barrel.

I've had it for three years and I just noticed a few small scratches a month ago. I really could not think of any weaknesses to it. Even with a barrel adapter it shoots great! It has worked great in about 4 different markers, so I know that it is not just the marker.

I play sniper when in the woods so quietness and tight groupings at long disances are very important to me and this barrel supplies that!
Conclusion: I would definitely reccomend this barrel to any player. It is quite cheap (mine was $35) and very reliable.

NOTE: I have used only a few barrels (about 7) so I have no experience on better barrels, although that should not change anything in my review.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

arpphoto Thursday, January 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel on an Spyder E-MR1
Marker Setup: Spyder E-MR-1
Polished Internals
J&J 12" Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Polar Ice
Marblizers
Strengths: Self Clean
Accurate
Looks and feels nice to the touch
Light weight
Weaknesses: The outside finish scratches easy.
Hard to remove grease stains.
Review: 12' J&J Ceramic Barrel on a Spyder E-MR1;

I purchased a 12" J&J Ceramic Barrel for my E-MR1 since it was cheaper than most other barrels and seemed to be good idea (self cleaning, light weight, etc).

HERE ARE MY FINDING -

GROUPING WITH POLAR ICE - 6 shots – no wind – no sights – standing position

40 - 60 feet - 7" by 7" some balls were right on top of each other

60-80 feet - 9" by 9" with one or two out in the 12" by 12" area.

100-120 feet - all shots in the 16" to 24" groupings with one miss.

I like this barrel.

I have since bought a 14” J&J and also a 14” DYE Broomstick Ultralite, it will be interesting to compare the 3 barrels.

It is also good at shooting other paint, but I highly recommend using the best paint you can get, it will not only get you better groupings and less breaks, but it will help you to develop your marksmanship and spend paint wisely.
Conclusion: Good barrel for the money! Self cleans but better to clean with a squeegee if you’re not in the middle of a hectic game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shifty1987 Friday, August 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" PMI Razzor
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel and J&J 14" ceramic
Collapsible CAR stock
3 point Sling
Adco imp red dot sight
G2 pistol
Holster from OPSGEAR
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used PMI Premium and they worked great.
Strengths: -Accurate
-Self Cleaning* (see review)
Weaknesses: Nothing worth mentioning
Review: I used this barrel this past Saturday, and it rained like crazy. I cannot attest to its self cleaning of paintballs, since I never broke a single ball (shot half a case), however I did notice that it got rid of the rain inside the barrel very easily. The first 2 shots were a little curvey, but after that it was clean and dry and super accurate again.
Conclusion: I would say this barrel is definitly worth getting. Plus its only $35 in most places.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bambo Friday, July 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used J&J barrells before, only used some brand that I keep forgetting what its called. Definitly not as good as this one though.
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
14" Ceramic J&J Barrel
Pure Energy Air
Trinity Sick Body
Empire All Black Tank Cover
Eggy 3 Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
None of those cheap crap paints you usually find on fields. I mean some fields do sel good paint which shoots really well, and then you have those other ones which just suck but your forced to buy them to play. Mainly Mid-Higher end brand balls.
Strengths: - Quiet
- Very Lightweight
- Self Cleaning
- Accurate
Weaknesses: None that I can think of really. Haven't had any problems while using it.
Review: While its not an All American barrell or a Dye. I would say this barrell holds up on its own and is very good at it.

When I first got it I was surprised at how light it was compared to my last barrell and adds almost no weight to my marker when I put it in. Also it was very much quieter, you'll notice this very quickly while playing, atleast I did comparing to the fact the players around me had the Lapco Big Shot lol. You obviously hear about the fact that when you break a ball that within 2 or 3 shots later its clean and you can shoot straight. That is true. I had a few ball breaks but that was due to the bad paint from the field, previously fields I went to had much better paint and did not chop. After the break I kept shooting, the balls would arc and go to the side but after a few shots it was shooting straight again. Of course there is still some paint here and there thats left but nothing serious enough to ruin the course of the shot. Accuracy is really good too. You'll definitly see your range of shots get larger and your accuracy get better while shooting with this barrell. Again you might complain you don't see the accuracy get better, but before you go on saying that you should get your paint, better the paint you have, the better results your going to get.
Conclusion: Definitly reccomend this barrell to anyone. I mainly see people with Spyders, like myself, or Tippmans shooting the J&J so I'd say that anyone with a Spyder or Tippman should definitly pick one up. It'll help you alot. Giving it a 9 because of how well it preforms but like always theres always something better so you can't really give it a 10 and there are barrells that I've seen, like the lapco and all americans, that shoot straighter then this barrell. However this is still an amazing barrell that I love using.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media