paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Chevy4life8 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months78 of 86 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy
Ev0 II
Halo tsa
Halo B
Shakers
Empire B ((tested))
Marker Setup: -custom Shocker
-Q-lock feedneck
-14"AA barrel
-halo B /rip drive
-45/68 tank
-hybrid grips
-CP on/off

-Ion
-14" proggressive barrel
-48/30 tank
-Q-lock feedneck
-Evo II loader
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This is a great allround loader I love it. Very fast,reliable,and duriable. One down side is if your useing soft paint or have a broken ball it the loader it will most likely jam.If it jams turn off the loader and then take all the paint out and turn it upside down and just pull the broken/jamed ball out.Not the easiest thing to do in a game but i have done it before.GOOD LUCK. It has pretty Good customer service it depends wat kind of person you get to talk to though. Its realy nice because you can customize your loader because there is alot of different shells you can buy they run about $45-$90 depends on the styler you buy. Even cheap used Halos are a good deal i got my Halo B/Rip drive for FREE wen i bought my shocker and tank .New or used there a great loader i would recaimend this loader to anyone if there willing to pay $105 new $75 used *ONLINE*.

Strenghts
1.Fast
2.Reliable
3.Very Duriable
4.Pretty good customer service
5.You can change the shells
6.Runs on low batters
7.Quiet
8.Door never pops open when you dont want to

Weaknesses:
1.When it jams in a game its almost impossible to fix with out getting shot, but iv done it once ^^^^SEE REVIEW^^^^
2.Door isnt tht easy to open
3.takes about 3-4 mins just to change the batteries
4.Alittle pricey but worth ever penny
5.Jams if theres broken paint or if your using soft paint
Conclusion: This is a great loader if I had to buy it agian I would.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 22nd, 2007 at 11:30 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

cockercane Wednesday, January 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year43 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shakers
12v revolution w/ x board
Egg (just tested)
Marker Setup: Angel Force 4 Fly
Cobra trigger /w magnet mod
Cobra valve
Cobra v2.0 bolt
Cobra snatch grip & breach knob
Check it Unimount

'02 WGP STO Autococker
12" DYE boomstick
WGP hinge
ANS front pneumatics kit w/ QEV's
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
ANS GX phase II reg
15* ASA
Shocktech supa fly bolt
Kapp fx beaver tail
Sys X drop & on / off

Halo-B w/ rip V board
68ci. 3000psi. Crossfire hpa.
Strengths: Quiet
Well built, solid.
Fast
Weaknesses: Jams are a pain
On / off button too low profile
Review: I've read complaints about the halo having too much torque for the ball detents, causing multiple feeds per cycle. If you have a closed bolt gun like a 'cocker, don't worry, this hopper is perfect being that the bolt is only open when you pull the trigger.
EDIT 02-Sept-04:
I bought the Force Fly Angel 4 and this Halo works beautifully with it. I do not have victory board and it keeps up with the Angel with no double feeds to speak of yet. Once I get Victory... it'll be interesting to see if the AF4 Fly gets even faster. he he he he!
EDIT 19-MAR-05:
I made a mistake by not tightening my feedneck and the HALO flew off onto pavement and the lid broke off. Being unable to replace the needed part due to backorder, I had to use a friends Evolution (egg) hopper. I was amazed at how much slower the egg was, even with brand new batteries. Walking the trigger of my Angel seemed almost futile, it seemed like I was shooting one ball every three pulls. The Egg that I used had the Y board upgrade.

On / off button is straight forward, push once to turn on then push, hold (until the light turns red) and release to turn off. The button can be hard to work with wet or slimy gloves. I overfilled the hopper during a fight once and the motor turned off. (thats what the Z-code software is all about. Keeps motor, belt and electronics from burning up if the feed mech jams up Z code also shuts down if the eye is covered in filth) In that situation rip won't help you! you have to turn the hopper off, dump out some paint and turn it back on again. That's hard to do quickly if you can't feel the button through gloves and paintballs are whizzing past yer head.

QUICK FIX IDEA!
Remove the cotton off the end of a Q-tip, roll it into a ball and place it over the button (red dot) and use electrical tape to secure it in place. That gives the button a greater profile that's easier to feel and push with gloves on. That may also help protect the plastic "film" that covers the button, just use something soft like cotton.

The halo; unlike the viewloader revolution (12v), won't allow you to shake paintballs into the feed neck if the batteries die. That's where the rip drive comes in! Its like winding a clock to keep it working so you're not dead in the water. Thats a cool feature.

The halo differs from other hoppers due to the fact that the paintballs or "ball stack" in the feed tube is constantly held under spring tension (like shells in a regular gun clip) so as soon as the breach opens another paintball is forced; by spring tension, into the breach. No chopping! Fast? That's an understatement.

You have the choice of using either one 9v battery or six AA's. One 9v battery is much lighter but it bounces around in a gigantic void big enough to fit six AA's. The Odyssey website recommends six AA batteries. Using a 9v battery would severely hamper the speed of this hopper. Fresh batteries are a must, this hopper isn't such a battery hog if you unplug the battery harness in between playing.

This hopper is heavy, but that's no problem being that I'm actually a cyborg.
Conclusion: The engineers who designed this hopper really used their brains and made a great functioning product. H.A.L.O. (Highly Advanced Loader Operations) really lives up to it's name.
This hopper is the perfect combo with my 'cocker, although I'll never shoot fast enough to out run it (thats a good thing). I'm pleased I spent the money to get it and I haven't had any speed chops since. It's definitely worth the extra money for this loader because it will keep up with any future marker purchases that you make. The HALO was a little excessive for my 'Cocker but it was right there to throw atop my Angel soon as I got it. This loader works great on my Angel 4 fly as well with no double feeds.
EDIT 02-Sept-04:
I did a stupid flying commando dive / roll which broke the very bottom of the shell on the feed neck. I used super glue to fix it and its held up for weeks. Although covered by warranty, I understand that it's cheaper to buy a new shell than it is to ship it back to Odyssey for repair. You must send to them for warranty repairs.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 27th, 2006 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
43 Comments - Add Comment

drexelshafter Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months42 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg 2, Reloader B
Marker Setup: Black Dusted DM5
Fuse Bolt, Soon to be an Orange Bolt
Stock Board, Soon to be a Musashi 3
Psychoballistics Z-Drop
Nitro Duck Plamsa LP 68/4500
Halo B Z-Code w/ Rip Drive
Strengths: Rip Drive
Speed
Solid Construction
Odyssey Customer Service
Weaknesses: Battery Hog
Thick feed neck
Can't read black paintballs
Review: Got in my Halo B about five weeks ago. After putting it to good use, heres a pretty detailed overview.

USAGE

Before putting this bad boy to the test, I did have to do some sanding to the feed neck for it to fit my marker. Grab some 800 grit paper, and give a a good sanding. Don't go all out, or your gonna sand too much, and it won't fit snug. Done! Battery compartment door is a bit low profile, but no problem. Opened it up, threw in the 6 AA's.

*Side Note* Stop complaining about the weight! Yes, its six batteries. No, its not that freakin' heavy. Go lift some weights if you can't possibly support six AA batteries in your hopper, girly man.

Put the hopper on my DM5, gased it up, and went outside. Hopper lid doesn't look shabby at all. Whipped out my pod, slapped in 140 rounds of pink/blue Marbalizers. Wouldn't suggest putting in anymore paintballs then this amount, because it could possibly cause jamming. Here's where I checked out the Rip Drive. Manually, you can feed the balls right into the neck into the marker. Sweetness. This allows you not to use your batteries, a good thing when your at the chrono, or when your battteries are dead. You can also turn it counter-clockwise to have that bad boy fix any jams into the gun. Quality. So lets test this sucka out!

TESTING PERFORMANCE

Aiming at a tree, I let this bad boy rip! 140 rounds straight, prolly around 14-15 bps. Not one chop or hiccup. Smooth operation indeed. One straight rope of marbs. Nice!! Now time to bring it into a game situation.

GAME PERFORMANCE

Playing straight woodsball is where I used it first. It rained the day before, so it was a bit muddy. Running around one of the bends, and WHOOP!, fell face first right into a tree, the hopper hitting it as well. "Sh*t!!!!", I thought, I had to have broken it! But no, it only suffered a smal scratch!! And it was quite a hit, so that has to say something about the construction. Continuing on, the performance was great. Force feed was quality, no chops, and smooth shooting. What else can be said?


Conclusion: Yes, the Halo B will use a ton of batteries. Be smart about it, and go get rechargable ones. Bring some back-up AA's to the field, and your all set. People have complained it can't see black paintballs. Just don't be using them. The Halo B w/ Rip Drive is a great product, and if you do some quality searching, they can be had for $119. For that, it can't be beat.

BTW, how necessary is a Victory Board??? Ask yourself, "Do I really need to shoot 35BPS anyway?" Most of us can't break 20BPS legally. Spend your money elsewhere.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow_Lang Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months24 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I love this hopper and I haven't used anything else that was as fast as this.
Marker Setup: Ion
Stiffi
Blue Body Kit
Blue Halo B w/ rip
Blue CP reg
Blue Q Lock
Blue Line/hose
Virtue + Membrane
Strengths: Everything I love it so much I wan't to mary it.
Weaknesses: Nothing.
Review: I love this you can't go wrong with it I love it so much. I can't stand it. You can use it for any gun in my case on my Ion. I know that if you ge4t this amazing hopper you will understand what i mean. This hopper has unlimited awesomeness but I can't go on for ever and ever. This is such a cool hopper it is fast sexy cool. You can get this in many colors. You can get mmulltipul shells like lepord or even glow in the dark. I konw this is one of the fastest haoppers on th market. You will love it. Also if you run out of batterie in the middle of a game you can just use the rip drive or as I call it the star you can manually load your gun. Yes I am saying this hopper is great wich it is but however it is kinda heavy but I don't care about my gun weight that dosen't slow me down I just work harder at running and moving from bunkers. This is a very fast hopper you can get this from any price from $120 until $90 you can get it new or even used. You can get it pretty much anywhere. You can get a new board and make it faster you will really see a difference in your shooting rate if you get this hopper because when I used the Empire reloader not realoder B the reloader couldn't keep up with me. So I would start to shoot and I would skip a lot and my firing rate when down. I know that the Ion is pretty fast to start with but with this halo skipping in my fire rate went out of the picture.

Everyone that reads this please rate review.
Conclusion: This is a good hopper but be awaer that it isn't the lighest hopper on the market but it is very fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 11th, 2006 at 9:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Angel4boy Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution Hopper with Y-Board
Evolution Hopper with Z-Board
Revolution 9-Volt
Revolution 12-Volt
Ricochet Ak
Ricochet 2k
Marker Setup: Brand New Dust Blue Angel 4
Freak System with 12 inch Silver Front and Stainless Steel Back
68 ci. 4500 psi. Max-Flo System
Blue Halo B with rip Drive
Strengths: Fast, Doesnt Break Down, can unjam balls
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: This is the hopper to get. If you were thinking about getting an Evolution Loader forget about it. It cant keep up with the Halo B..The Halo B the best feed system in the world plus the back up Rip Drive and the Halo B is unstoppable..Lets say you are playing and your batteries die.. A little bit of turning on the Rip Drive and you have yourself a working Force Feed System. And if a ball gets jammed then just turn the Rip Drive The other way and it clears te ball.. So just go out and buy it because it will surely help you..it did for me when i played in tournaments....
Conclusion: I highly recommend that if you have a Halo then upgrade with the Rip and if you don't have a Halo then get one as soon as possible..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
31 Comments - Add Comment

fadsjflajf Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Grav Hopper (Standard Stock Hopper), Egg 2
Marker Setup: Impulse
Strengths: Durable
Sleek and sexy(opinion)
Fast
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: First off, I dont like the egg 2, so I might be bias at times. Halo B is reliable, durable, and does what its supposed to do. 23+ bps. I have seen more eggs taped up to get keep it from falling apart than I have seen them without tape (usually because theyre new- not for long). Sleek and Sexy. Runs on a belt drive. Silent. Prevents clogs. What more can you ask for?
Conclusion: This is one of the best hoppers you can buy other than egg and Empire. If you have the money buy this hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
grav hoppers
Over Drive hopper
Marker Setup: Shocker '03 vision with all necessary ups
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B with Rip
Scion HPA
Strengths: Speed
Durablility
Balance
Reliability
Weaknesses: Eats Batteries
Doesn't see dark shelled paint
Review: The Halo B is a name that comes up time and again when talking about top of the line hoppers. There are plenty of good reasons for this, which I will list below. I would like to point out that one of my greatest dislikes about some of the reviews I see are people just give the product a 10 because they bought it, and they want it to seem like its good when its really a piece. I will do my best to place an unbiased review.

Strengths:

Speed:The HaloB is one of the fastest markers on the market at this point, it can keep up with any marker you have, and I have never chopped paint using this hopper.

Noise: The hopper is incredibly quiet. Its completly silent until your ready to fire, then gives a low whir as it feeds 20+ BPS. When your firing your marker, its not even noticable that its feeding.

Balance: The layout of the Halo B, unlike the Eggs, is a very balanced one. The feedneck is in the center, you have the batteries at the front, and drive cone at the rear, balancing the weight. It sits very nicely on your marker.

Durability: People have talked about the shells breaking, I have never had a problem with this at all. Just holding the hopper you can tell that the thing is built to last. All parts are well manufactured and have yet to let me down.

Looks: Not that this is a huge deal, but seriously, we all like a hopper that looks as good as it feeds, the Halo B does an awesome job at this.

Profile: The Halo B has an incredibly low profile, with its feedneck and layout, one more thing to help with taking as few hopper shots as possible.

Lid: The lid is placed at an angle as to allow you to see how much paint is in your hopper, without having to lift or move it, so you know when you have to reload. The lid is also easy to open and close, making reloading that much easier. There is not a load "pop" when opening the lid telling everyone that your reloading. Its only happened to me a few times that the lid has popped open on my after a dive.

Rip Drive: A great addition for the extra price. If your run outta batteries in a game, you can still feed manually, keeping you in the game. If your hopper jams, spin it the opposite way, and it unjams the paint, great solution for the jamming problem.

Weaknesses

Battery life: The Halo B does eat through batteries quite vigorously, but not as badly as everyone makes it out to be. Ive played 3 hours straight, and put over 2000 round through the hopper, and didnt have to change my batteries once. Just be conscious to turn off the hopper when its not in use. When the red light is showing, change your batteries, it will not work at all on low battery.

Eyes: Eyes dont read black paint, or can have trouble reading paint with glitter in it. Simple solution, dont use black shelled paint. Most tournaments dont use black shelled paint because they know many teams use Halo's, so this is really not that great a deal.

Strong Drive cone: There are many complaints about the Halo B pushing balls through the ball detents, just buy good ball detents instead of crappy ones. It using this force to feed quickly, and yes it might be a little more than necessary, but Ive never had a problem on my shocker with it pushing through the ball detents.

Battery change: It is somewhat annoying to have to unscrew the lid to put that batteries back in, somewhat of an inconvienience.

Conclusion:
The Halo B has some problems with it, that many wish could be fixed. The eyes would have been better to be a break beam system instead of reflective so it could read any color of paint, that is the greatest flaw in this hopper. The only hopper that i think tops the Halo B is the Empire B, which I believe to be the best hopper on the market at this point. I am giving the Halo B with Rip drive a 9, because it strongly deserves it, the eyes are the only real thing that holds it back
Conclusion: The Halo B gets a 9 because it is one of the best markers out there, and one of the fastest. You really cant go wrong with this one. If you need a fast hopper, a Halo B or a Reloader B are definetly the way to go.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JD9940 Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reloader- Cheaper, but A LOT slower
Revy- Slower but cheaper
Marker Setup: 2003 Spyder Imagine
14in. Smart Parts Teardrop barrel
Halo B w/ rip
Shocktech Trigger
50g micro switch (1/5 of stock!!!)
12oz co2
Strengths: FAST
Rip drive is cool
Weaknesses: Price
Kinda heavy
Review: I got this for Christmas, I duno why, my dad bought it for me, I thought I didn't need it, and that it would double feed on my Spyder, and be a complicated mess. After playing yesterday I'm glad I have it! I installed a 50g microswitch on my Imagine whitch is 5 times lighter thean the stock one on my Spyder Imagine, so it take only 50 grams of preesure on the trigger to shoot a ball as opposed to 250 grams of the stock one. Had I used my old Reloader I would have chopped a lot. With the Halo it semed my Halo was darring me to shoot faster!
I have heard that Halos on Spyders cause double feeds or jams, but no! The Spyder didn't double feed or have any trouble even with just one ball detent. All in all the Halo B is great and the Rip Drive it a nice touch ad good idea if you ever run out of juice in your batteries.
Conclusion: I would buy it if you have the money, and have a high end marker (I know my Spyder isn't high end, but I paln to move to a Shocker later), it is very fast and will not let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 28th, 2005 at 12:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coolicarboy Saturday, July 14th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
eVLution 3
Marker Setup: Silver invert mini
3000 psi 48 cu tank
eVLution 3
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
Rip drive
Weaknesses: Heavy
Price
Doesnt hold much paint
Battery change
Review: I know im gonna get disputed for this but Im gonna be honest on what really went on with this hopper . I did not like it at all. I only got to use it once before it totally broke down on me. My paintball shop told me that I should get a new hopper because my Halo was completely messed up. (they didnt even tell me what was wrong they just said that it completly broke.) All they said was that they would give me a free eVLution 3 and most of my money back. I was dissapointed because I thought the Halo was gonna be a great hopper and was looking forward to using it again, because the first time I used it it was great.
Conclusion: From my experiences I really expected more out of the halo b. When its working its great, but mine broke right away. If your going to get one I reccomend you make sure its working before you buy it. Since it was a great hopper for a day and since its a great hopper when its working ill give it a 6. I would give it a 10 if I had no problems with it.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 14th, 2007 at 8:20 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

irshpnkrckr Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares to a HALO
Marker Setup: -Blue AKALMP mini slotted Merlin
-Blue Zcoded ripped Halo B used once, less than 3weeks old
-Blue AKALMP mini front block
-Blue AKALMP cocking rod
-AKALMP delron lightning bolt
-AKALMP tornado valve
-AKALMP stationary hammer
-Black palmers micro rock
-Black AKALMP short sidewinder
-Black Planet Eclipse Eblade frame
-Black PBUK twist-lock feed
-Black 16" All American one piece barrel
-Black Kapp DZII w/kapp on/off
-Chrome solonoid manifold
-Chrome Palmers ram
Strengths: Fastest, SOOOO Durable, keeps pressure on the stack
Weaknesses: low capacity, weight(?)
Review: Best loader ever and everyone knows it. If you dont have the RIP drive, get it. Thats what sold me over the Zboarded egg. If any other force feed hopper breaks (egg batt door comes open, ball breaks in hopper, moter burns up, batts die, etc.) you're screwed. With the RIP drive you can stay in the game. When i first got mine, i used just the drive for a game. Still no chops. I love you Odyssey.
Conclusion: Everyone with a marker shooting 13+bps should probably use one. Weight isnt a big deal in your hopper, worry more about the weight of your gun.

PS. i dont give 10's because nothings perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media