paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
cool_b_63 Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
200 ViewLoader Gravity
ViewLoader VLocity
Marker Setup: Lasoya Promaster with Black to Blue fade
CP Razor Drop Forward
CP on/off ASA
CCM no Pro feedneck
Redz Pepper Sticks Barrel Kit
Halo B w/Rip Drive
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Durability
Reliability
Rip Drive!
Design
Weaknesses: Heavy
Battery replacement
On/Off button
Review: I decided to switch to a Halo B from a VLocity because I would rather save the extra cash for a different upgrade to my setup. I'll never need to shoot that fast. The rip drive is incredibly handy to have, just like everyone has commented before. It's easy to feed a few balls and chrono or test fire.

The Good :
As I stated above, the rip drive is so convenient. The weight distribution of the hopper is also very nice. The batteries sit in the front, so you have a better balance over your hand on the grip. The feedneck is nice and thick, so you can tighten down onto it with your clamping feedneck easily. My friend couldnt tighten his gravity hopper because balls would get stuck feeding through the clamp.

The not so good :
It's a heavy hopper. 6AA's does have a lot of weight, but contains more mA than 2 9V's, hence longer lasting. You get used to the weight though. Battery replacement requires a screwdriver and quite a bit of prodding to align the cover correctly to close. The on/off button is manageable, but would be easier if it were a toggle switch. The push button switch takes a couple of tries to work.

The Extra :
So far, I have put about 2 cases of paint through this hopper and have yet to replace the batteries. If you are going to use alkaline batteries, use name brand batteries. There's a reason why those other batteries are so cheap. I'm sure that I'll need to replace them soon, so always have an extra set of batteries handy.
Conclusion: Overall, I love this hopper. Price could be better, but so far, it has performed up to its value. I'll probably keep this hopper until the prices on hoppers start to fall. Then, maybe I'll migrate to a newer hopper. This will probably last me well for the next couple of years.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protofreak Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt revy w/ x board
Marker Setup: proto rail black dust
newdesignz slik trigger
proto alloy back cap
halo b w/ rip drive
68/45 cf tank
Strengths: Speed size and capicaty
can hand load the cone
Weaknesses: Im not going to say the weight
Its more of the small lid
The button
Review: Ok first off if you think the weight of this hopper is to much go hit the gym
Im a front player and use a 4+3 harness(i use all 7) and still make the fifty on break
do some squats

K back on topic
This hopper keeps up with my rail nicely
With the rip in it you can pre load your spring and also get rid of jams
Its tuff i play snake and it takes a nice beating and sit rips out nicely
The button is a little small to hit with gloves on
My biggie problem with the hopper is the small lid its hard to get a whole pod in there without spilling some of them but when your runing and reloading is a realy big pain in the a$$

Edit 3/22
ive had a speed feed awhile and it works a hell of alot better
Conclusion: Overall this hopper rips
besides the lid this hopper is nice and if 22bps is still slower then your gun get the victory board for it
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 19th, 2007 at 5:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hmmmm Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Halo Backman
-Other agitated hoppers
Marker Setup: Ion
Halo B w/ Rip
48/3000 Tank
Q-Lock
Strengths: -Fast
-True Force Feed
-Looks Awesome
-Great Loader (so far)
-Rip
Weaknesses: -Kinda Heavy but not as heavy as TSA
-Not Cheap
Review: Okay well it just came in the mail like 30 min. ago and I put in my litiums put a locklid full in it and went out back. emptied it in like 10 sec or somethin like that (wasn't clockin it). Well so far it rules and i hope it stays that way, oh and it isn't super heavy on my ion, it was super balanced. I'll edit when i go play.
Conclusion: well I'll give it an 8 right now because of the price but i'll edit in like a week or so and i'll probably change this.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Dark_Spartan Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire, Egg
Marker Setup: Ion
Halo B
Virue board
Rolling trigger
Q-lock
Strengths: --See Review--
Weaknesses: --See Review--
Review: PRO
-Holds 170 paintballs
-Fast (20+bps)
-Strong shell (polycarbonate)
-Force fed (no gaps)
-Very quiet
-Looks cool
-Rip drive unjams balls
-Rip drive can pretention up to 15 balls with no batteries
CONS
-Heavy due to 6 AA's
-Hard to clean when ball breaks
-doesn't do well against prolonged pressure (AKA between two boxes in trunk)
-the batteries will die out fast, invest in rechargable ones or get crackhead to steal them(lol)
-The feed neck is thick (its so you can sand it to feed any feedneck on ure gun)
Conclusion: Yeah this is worth getting, and dont skip out on the rip drive. worth every penny
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 15th, 2006 at 9:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Money Lover Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Strengths: Fast
durable
quiet
upgradable
Weaknesses: Heavy (when full)
takes lots of batteries
only 140 pballs
price
Review: OK i just finished my first test run with this hopper and it worked great it was quiet, fast and durable

i took direct hits on the same spot twice but it didn't crack or scratch.
absolutley no jams
there is not a lot to say it is a great hopper.
Conclusion: GET ONE they rock it may be a little pricey but the are one of the best hoppers out there

BUY ONE NOW u will love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Banana Slayer Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA -- Good internals, crappy shell. The feedneck broke... Twice.

Empire Reloader II -- Agitated so not as fast as the Halo. Still a good hopper.

Ricochet Loaders -- Good quality from what I've seen
Marker Setup: Palmer's Pursuit Shop Blazer
--Palmer's Pursuit Shop Stabilizer
--Sheridan Gripframe
--Lapco Dropforward
--10.5" Brass Barrel

PMI/ACI Trracer

PMI USP Pistol

Halo B
--Rip Drive

Pure Enegry 68/4500

Strengths: Fast
RIP Drive
Strong Shell
Thick Feedneck
Quiet
Snap Close Lid
Weaknesses: Poor Instruction Manual
Shell Likes Blemishes
Not easy to clean
Weak LED light
6 AAs
Review: The Good:

This hopper is fast! With just the stock board, it can feed around 20+ bps. That keeps up with my Blazer no problem as it's a mech. For those shooting on semi-auto with their electros, it will keep up no problem.

The RIP drive is another nice feature. For an extra $10, it's well worth it. You can wind it up at the chrono so you won't have to turn on your marker, or if you happen to run out of batteries in the middle of a came, you can still feed paint into your marker. I've never had a jam, but you can reverse the direction of the drive cone to clear one up if one occurs.

The shell is of good quality. Much better than the agitated Halo TSA series. I've taken some hard "gun goes flying" dives with it and it's held up great.

The thick feedneck is a plus (for me). Some complain that you have to sand it down to fit your feedneck, but no having an adjustable feedneck on my Blazer, I was able to get a nice and tight custom fit. Also, like I've said above, I've taken some really bad dives and the feedneck held up great. Sadly, I can't say the same about the Halo TSA.

Another plus is that the Halo is quiet. I guess it doesn't really matter for playing speedball, but in the woods, or during a night game at a scenario, if you run out of paint, you don't want the motor running until you get some more paint loaded.

I like the snap close lids. The magnetic ones always seem to come open on me. The Never had any problems with a lid that snaps on and the Halo's lid stays on tight, but not so much that it's hard to open. Just perfect.

Now onto some of the bad...

The instruction manual wasn't that great. It told you how to turn the loader on and off, how to put in the batteries and not much else. It is colorful and includes pretty pictures though.

While the shell may be strong, for some reason, it likes to pick up blemishes and fingerprints. It's kind of annoying, but nothing too serious. I just don't like my equiptment looking dirty because I was messing around with it in the house.

The one thing that really bugs me is how hard this can be to clean. The suicide shell makes it a lot easier to clean the drive cone if that's needed, but you have to take the entire loader apart to get to the eyes which is very annoying. It would have been nice if a "how to dissamble" section was included in the manual, but I had to take my loader to my local proshop to get it cleaned the first time I broke paint in it.

One thing that is more annoying than really a drawback is the weak LED. If playing indoors, or on a day that isn't too bright, it's fine. But if the suns out, don't plan on seeing that LED with ease.

The 6 AA batteries is a bit annoying too. The weight doesn't bother me at all, but the fact that it takes 6 batteries compared to most loaders 2 9volts is a bit odd. Batteries are expensive and I don't really want to put six in the hopper.
Conclusion: So in conclusion, while this loader has some small annoyances, it is for the most part a great buy.

Some people may complain about the weight, but those are girly-men. Also, some people say that it's a battery hog. I haven't found this to be true, but I also don't go through half a case a game. So far, I haven't changed my batteries and have shot approximently a case and half through the loader.

Overall, I give the Halo B a 9/10. I has some great features, but there are some small drawbacks that could have easily been fixed by Odysses.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 at 4:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protopber17 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo tsa but that was bad
Marker Setup: Blue 2006 Proto Matrix
Blue Halo B with rip
68/4500 macdev legion air lp

virtue and cp trigger coming
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Customer Service
Unjams Balls
40,000 Shot Battery Life
Weaknesses: heavy
very heavy
6 AA
price=about 100
Review: I got this a couple of monthes ago and it has kept up with my proto fine. I haven't had to change the batteries either. When I do a drop test there are gaps and it takes about 8 seconds to do a pod.
Even though I have yet to jam a ball, with the simple spin of the rip you can unjam it. Also its kind of heavy and I got it new with the rip for 102.00. Also after I used it, I wanted to take it apart and i couldn't. Two of the screws wouldn't come out I have tried every screw driver there is. If you have an idea please tell me.
Conclusion: Overall great buy. The only reason I would get this over the reloader is because I don;t think that you can out halo boards (i.e. cheetah board) in the reloader. Correct me if im wrong.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Superdude169698 Sunday, July 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo II with Z-board
12 Volt Revi
Shake and Bake
Marker Setup: Dust Blue Angel Speed with volumizers, freak barrel, 72/4500 armageddon system, halo B hopper, a-4 bolt.

Dust Grey Ebladed Evolution X cocker with matching freak barrel, silver 68/4500 Maxflo, all top of the line Belsales parts, evolution II with Z-board

Dust Red Shocktech Intimidator with freak barrel. Halo B with Rip drive and Bulldog 68/3000
Strengths: -Lightning fast
-Z board to detect jams
-Rip Drive when your batteries die
Weaknesses: -Battery hog, have to change after each day of play
-A little heavy
Review: I really like this hopper and I think that its worth every penny. I already listed the pros and cons, so theres no use for you reading it again. The only thing that I suggest is that you ball up a piece of paper and tape it over the on/off button. Its really hard to detect the button when you have gloves on, so this will help you find it easier.
Conclusion: I reccomend this hopper only for fast guns. If you have a mechanical cocker and I see you have one on it, im gonna slap ya. Save the money and buy an egg.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggapull Friday, June 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VLocity
Qloader
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with
flatline barrel and stock
viewloader quantum
daisy red dot sight
12 and 20oz
Strengths: Over 20 bps
Rip drive
Fast
Weaknesses: None that i can think of
Review: Wow, this is my favorite hopper. I prefer the Halo over the VLocity mostly because of the looks. The halo b also has more upgrades.
I was thinking about getting the Qloader because it gives you a smaller profile and loads more bps. But a short while later, I realized that you can buy a chip for $25 and it will load just as fast as the Qloader, leaving the Q with just a smaller profile for an advantage.
Overall I don't like the idea of Q only having 100 ball capacity. If it gave more ball room(ha ha) I'd get that but instead i'll get the halo.
Conclusion: If you need room for more than 100 rounds the Halo B w/rip drive is for you but if you are conservative on your shots get the Q.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LMNO 87 Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I work at Pev's @ AG Paintball, so naturally I have shot just about every gun/hopper. Big thanks to Stephen and Dale over at the Sterling Store. And Todd, Cody, TEAM FATE, The Waller's, Twins, The RAB'S, Quinn, Eric, Katie, Matt, Ziggy, Craig, Jay, Beth, Jimmy, Dan, Robin, Bob, Jimmy B, Puffy, Timbrook, Dustin, Ashley, over @ the field; And anybody I left out ya'll know who you are THANKS For Everything.
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Impulse 000184, WAS Board, Full Freak Barrel Kit, Modified Intimidator Bolt pin, Custom cut Voodoo bolt, Warped Sportz trigger, NEW DESIGNZ (Chrome) Ball detents, Eye Cover, Talon Grip, 15* Vertical ASA, R.I.P. Valve, Smart Parts LPR treaded into a CP Chrome front cap, CP Pro-rail, AKA Sidewinder low pressure reg., Hybrid Grind on/off, I've balanced my guns internals to weigh 1142.12 grams, And other little impulse gun mods I've learned over the years.
Strengths: If anything breaks Odyssey sells parts from screws to motors to the jelew logos.
Weaknesses: Weight. Not even a weakness. But people notice it.
Review: The HALO B w/ Rip-Drive is heavy. But it's a small price for speed and quality. People always say "nobody shoots 22 balls a second, so why do you need a HALO B?" and I just say And this affects you how? Oh when I'm ripping a rope of paint your way and you can't move then my teammate bunkers you.....Right- HATERS.
Conclusion: If you what it go get it. It's fast and heavy, but reliable. If you want pure speed then it's a must.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media