paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26
        Next Page
murcilago Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution II, y-board and z-board
Marker Setup: Naughty Dogs FS7
Reloader B
PMI 68/45
Strengths: Fast, consistent feedrate
Keeps constant pressure on balls
great looks (personal)
Weaknesses: Battery usage
Weak rip drive knob
Review: the feedrate is fast and consistent. it keeps a constant pressure on the stack of balls so you'll almost never chop. it looks great (personal preferance), and it makes your gun pretty low profile.

some things i don't like about it is that the battery usage is not that good. it requires 6 AA batteries, and it runs out pretty fast. my old evolution II lasted like 5 cases off of 2 9v.

another bad thing is that the rip drive knob is weak. both of my freinds with halos already broke their rip drive knob.
Conclusion: I guess this loader is good. remember, i've only tested this halo, i don't know how this loader works long-term-wise (is that word?)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

empire timmy Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Strengths: Fast
quiet
the rip drive can really save your butt.
Weaknesses: Famming
and goes through batteries very fast.
Review: this is one of the fastest hoppers
there is. However if you do get it
dont expect for you to not have any
problems with it.
take extra batteries when going to
play trust me you will need them.
Reads ball pretty well and the
rip drive can really come in
handy because more than likely
you will run out of batteries.
Conclusion: Its a great product its just that today this hopper let me
down and we lost first place.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ion_Rojo Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12V revvy w/ X-Board
Marker Setup: Red Ion, Smoke Halo B w/ Rip Drive, Worr Gas 50/30, Red Dye Stickies 3, Dye Armageddon drop forward.

Coming Soon: Dye Ultralite, Shocktech clamping feedneck, trigger.
Strengths: Fast.
Reliable.
RIP DRIVE!
Weaknesses: Heavy?
Review: I jsut got the Halo B w/ RIp drive for my birthday and played this past weekend w/ it for the first time and i tell ya what, man was it awesome. Of course, with an Ion, i only shot 17 BPS. But it still ran faster than the P.O.S. Revvy I used to play with. Back then i only got out 12-13 BPS(not very much for a midplayer). It worked wonders for me and had no problems at all with it!
Conclusion: If you are currently using anything else besides a Halo, go and buy one now! (unless you are using an Empire Reloader B.) It is definatly worth the money and will keep up with virtually anybody(unless they use ramping--which shows the lack of skill--or they are Chris Lasoya).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 at 2:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reloader B, zboarded eggy ii.
Marker Setup: Icon T PDS, Reloader B, 72/3k, rest is classified ; )
Strengths: Speed, upgrade boards, rip drive.
Weaknesses: Relies on eyes.
Review: This is the only loader that can compete with the reloader b. This hopper uses a bounce beam eye system which offers a few disadvantages. Dark paint takes longer to register, and there is a small delay before the system activates to push the balls into the marker.

Upgrades for the halo include many different boards, feed components, and rip drive components. However, with the introduction of the B2 from empire, the ripped halo is going to have some serious trouble keeping up. The halo b is insensitive to feed jams. In my reloader, if there is a loading problem, the system will rarely overdrive it and crush the ball. The halo however will crush paint. This is why boards like the cheetah and equalizer are very wise upgrades to get.
Conclusion: Frankly put, the reloader b is better. But this hopper is still a winner.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoFLaBaLL3r Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg, revy, quantum, empire reloader &2, gravity feed loaders.they all cant compare.only the egg w/ a z board can take it too a halo b
Marker Setup: olive proto matrix
fbm trigger
musashi 5
shocktech feedneck
hybrid grenade grips
cp on-off w/ rail
71/45 throttle
halo b w/ rip
Strengths: Very fast, has a rip drive, solidly built
Weaknesses: It is known to be a little heavy w/ any aa batteries, read on.......
Review: Overall this is a must have for everyone because its a great loader and its very fast. the whole heavy factor can be solved by buying energizer lithium aa batteries....they're around 20 bucks for 8 batt. they are weightless and you can shoot around 20 cases of paint through them.it looks awesome and it doesn't have a big profile.it is a very strong hopper and nothing compares to it. when it comes to this or an empire reloader b, they are really the same sh** but this has eyes and reloader is sound activated.this is very good and is capable of a high rof and ur gun will never starve
Conclusion: I think every1 should get this because its really good and just go buy it.trust me!u wont be dissapointed!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

takenoprisoners Sunday, September 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine LED
12" Teardrop Barrel
Shocktech Superfly Short Bolt
16 Oz
Strengths: Fast
Nice Looking
Weaknesses: A little button trouble, probably just me.
Review: My friend lent me this hopper for a day or so. It was really really nice I didnt chop a ball all day long. The only problem I encountered was that if you forgot to turn it off, it would go off by itself (nice feature) but then when you went to turn it back on, you had to fool around with the button. I dunno maybe I was just having a really stupid moment. The rip drive was way better than the regular spinners. It also only feeds balls when it needs to, and doesn't keep running unless theres nothing in the feed neck. Its very durable and felt strong. And for a revi hopper its really quiet, or atleast it was quieter than my marker.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this hopper for anybody who chops alot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nastyimpulse256 Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
9 volt Revi
Egg
Marker Setup: 04 Nasty Impulse
-stainless steal freak
-super fly bolt
-halo with rip drive
-E Blade Magnetic Trigger
-CCM feed neck
Strengths: Lighter than other high end loaders
Many colors to choose from
Fast
Rip Drive
Weaknesses: The lid was messed up because you could tap the lid and it would open.
Review: When I had my old Revolution II hopper i would always chop balls when i would walk my gun, but ever since i got the Halo i havent chopped a ball yet.

You can use either a 9 volt or 6 AA's

Rip Drive keeps you going when your batteries die.

May have to buy a new neck for your gun because the neck on the hopper is wider than most other hoppers
Conclusion: This is one of the best hoppers you can buy, and has many colors to choose from.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

CarlosLN Thursday, March 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo II with Z board
Marker Setup: 2 DM4's one black with a long shocktech drop forward and custom products reg and one cobolt with a shocktech mini drop and custom products reg Dye Throttle 71
Strengths: Extremely fast 27+bps
Weaknesses: Heavy, poor capacity
Review: The Halo B is pretty neat it's fast and if you shoot like a madman down the lane like i do it will keep up with you (especially if you put the z-board in it) The downside is that the weight of it makes your gun feel somewhat awkward and this can be pretty irritating at times. With my Evo II my marker feels balanced and control isn't a problem my Halo B makes my marker very front heavy (thats where the 6 double A's are!) My only other complaint about the Halo B is it's capacity they really could have designed this better it holds a lot less paint that the Evo II and whenever i'm playing with it i can tell. If these problems were fixed i think this hopper would be a lot better and even more popular than it is right now.
Conclusion: Problems aside the Halo B is still a great hopper and i'm happy i own one. If they were to fix the problems i pointed out it would be even better than it is right now. I would say if you can outshoot your egg with a z board and like to shoot as fast as humanly possible go ahead and pick one up it'll get the job down just fine just make sure to get rechargable batteries
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

illagod Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
View Loader Revy 12v. (X board and sound board upgrades) and an egg
Marker Setup: System X NME, Proto Matrix '05, Smart Parts Impulse w/ vision eye, Wdp Angle G7 w/ 45 grip frame
Strengths: Very fast (when these no gap in the paint)
Weaknesses: Just read the review
Review: This loader has issues!!!! I've tried not to give this piece of s#!t a good or decent review but I can't lie to myself or no one else. When you put in fresh batteries and content paint going down the tube there is no problem but you should not need to force feed the paint down the feed neck every time there's a gap in the paint!!!!! There have been too many times that I've pointed my markers down, pointed back up, shoot 5 consistent balls and had to give the rip drive a couple of turns in order for me to continue shooting. Several times I would forget to do so after emptying my halo and reloading, a mistake I would pay for later but shouldn't have to if this peice s#*t would do what it made for. Even with the View Loaders as cheap as they are they would still stay consistent when the eye registers no paint, it would load more paint!!! Isn't that why I bought the f@*king thing for!!! Also why should I have to change the batteries after only going through one(1) case of paint in order for me not to have any other issues. This is a big upset for me!! The funny thing about it is when its dropping paintballs like it should, not one ball is chopped or damaged in the force feed. Even when I turn the anti-chop eye off on any of my markers, it feeds with no breaks in the breach so I can give 1 plus sign.

Up date 6/17/06

I went to a new field and was ready for war but not ready for what my halo had in store for me!!! The battery door and the front of the shell cracked so I had to get a new shell. Instead of the normal halo or empire shell I purchased the hybrid shell. First thing this shell make it easier to clean inside if there is a break because you can open it in half ( the entire top comes off to expose the paddles) with just 3 screws. I also found out that the hybrid shell has special slot that places the eye in a better position so that the eye registers the paint better for a better feed. I must said it is working better than before but the f@#king still eats batteries like I own stock in EverReady!!! I also still bought an Vlocity loader, check out my view in the near future. So far its going to be better than this one!!!
Conclusion: In conclusion if your looking to and the halo b w/ rip drive, don't waste your money. The Egg is good but I'm about check out the VL VLocity loader. I've been told that it blows the halo out of the water
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 17th, 2006 at 6:28 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

crazymexicankid Sunday, November 26th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA
Marker Setup: I'm using a Smart Parts Ion with a new design clamping feedneck with a cp rake trigger and a smart parts asa and a blue body kit.
Strengths: Very fast and has the rip
Weaknesses: Eats battery like crazy
Review: I think its a good hopper for a high-end electronic marker but people that buy it for a spyder are wasting there money because it will never get up to the speed of the hopper. Its a big battery hog though. I'ts very fast though. The rip comes in handy when the battery dies.
Conclusion: I would recommend getting the reloader b it sound activated therefore it saves battery. But the halo is a decent hopper.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media