paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
talon118 Saturday, August 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg 2
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot Acs, Anit CHop Bolt, New Designez Clamping Feedneck, 47/300 Centerflag Tank, Check it sweet spot trigger, Halo b W/rip drive z-coded
Strengths: Fast, Reliable, Balance, Looks,Un-jam paint, pretension the balls.
Weaknesses: Eyes cant see black paint, havnt tried yet.
Review: When I first put this on my Spyder Pilot I was very Impressed, By the way it balanced everything and how strong the feedkneck/raceway on the halo is. After I shot some on my spyder pilot I did a Drop test and It was FASTTTT! The halo keeps the balls stacked together at all times. This is the best loader next to the Empire Reloader B. I was Very Impressed With this product. A+++
Conclusion: This Hopper is Basicly "The Best" It was well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 20th, 2005 at 7:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballsk8er3 Wednesday, April 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reloader.
Marker Setup: I shoot an 03 cocker. with a shocktech superfly bolt. I have The complete nexus front kit. and i have the eclipse valve. i am shooting a stock hammer off it and i have the e2 blade of course. i am rocking a 14in freak barrel off the front and a Bob Long Torpedo Reg.
Strengths: Fast loading
Weaknesses: There are alot read below.
Review: Well to start off they sold out to empire which kinda sucks but hey empire is a great company no complaints. The problems with the Odyssey Halo B w/ rip drive starts now. First off its hard as all hell to take apart. all the wires and stuff are just taped on and its hard to fit them back in place. the cone broke alot of my paint it just kept turning it into a milkshake. and when it does break paint you have to take the cone completely off to get under it. and thats a task in itself. the battery compartment is a job because you have to reach your fingers in and push the wires in a certain way of the batteries wont sit in there and you cant close the battery lid. The eyes suck. if you get any paint on them you are screwed unless you clean them out with is a job unlesss you have Q-tips and i dont normally carry them with me when i go to a field. So yea be careful what paint you put in cause if it isnt up to standard your halo will become one giant blender. The button to get it started is a task it doesnt seem to alwasy want to turn on, on the first push its like a 50 50 thing when i push it the first time. The lid is kinda hard to pop up its a little tight and when i am in a heated shoot out i want my loaders lid to come off clean not give me problems. it snaps down fairly tight. If you do take it apart be careful because its a job and a half putting it back together and the feed port at the bottom doesnt always sit back together that well. also i had to sand it down to get it to sit inside my feedneck..
Conclusion: If you decided to go with the Odyssey loader. because careful cause the eyes will hurt you if they get paint in them. consider either the empire b. or the empire upgrade board. sound activation is alot nicer. trust me it works better.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

4skins23 Sunday, June 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg 2, revvy
Marker Setup: stock angel 4 fly graphite/ black fade, angel air
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Eyes suck, seems heavy,
Review: Ok I love the speed, its great, but there is too many negatives for this thing to cost $140. Why does this operate on 6 batteries? It would cut down on batteries if they did something else; 2 9volts, how bout a lithium rechargeable baterry or 2. Bottom line that is a poor design.
The eyes are tempermental. Any kind of dark paint and it will not work right. Colors that you cannot use would be: black (of course), purple, blue, possibly green and silver, but also any marbled balls that have any of these colors on it. Recap; that leaves you with solid colors or marbled colors like white, yellow,orange or pink. Did I miss any? Anyway, why can't they take a few tips from viewloader( a company who has had it right for a long time now)?. Don't hear anyone complaining about the revvies. Why can't they revamp the eye system like an Angel eye system?With positive detents as eyes so there is no trouble at all? It is a force fed loader so pushing in detents would not hamper any operation, right?
I am not all about bashing halos, just trying to give some constructive critism, and ideas.In my opinions,until Oddysey addresses a few key issues ( as stated above) that they have, they won't get any more money from me.
There are a few things I'm not happy with after that what I've already mentioned. Like I think the lid spring is too weak, and I don't like the fact that you have to carry a screwdriver with you if you need to change batts in between games( it takes too long.) Believe it or not there are better designs out there, they must have just slapped this together. Now if they revamped the battery area like I suggested, It would cut down on weight, and profile.Every thing seems to be going carbon fiber these days, why not a hopper body? Plastic window and reinforced neck? Would that make it lighter? Maybe somthing to check into, eh? Oddysey, are you listening?

Edited: now, it does not feed properly. it always shows its jammed.I believe the motor is bad. I have been told by a store around my house that these loaders only last about a year and a half on average.I'll end up buying a new loader but not a halo .never again.for the price I paid I should have gotten a lifetime warranty with it.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this due to the expense. They need to revamp the eye system and the battery compartment and a few other little areas.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 4th, 2006 at 9:18 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

lite-u-up3 Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reloader B
Marker Setup: Black 2k2 impulse with...
ND blade trigger (red)
ND stubby bolt (white)
ND ti bolt pin
ND slick shot
ND 15* asa (black)
SP smart grips (red)
SP tapeworm (red)
SP on/off
Shocktech mini drop (black)
AKA sidewinder (red)
32* micro gauge 0-300 psi
Check It no rise clamp (red)
Rat Hole Hammer
Strengths: fast
well built
rip drive
Weaknesses: battery usage
battery door
lid (mine at least)
fat/wide
heavy
chopping
Review: I regret to inform you readers that the bad outweighs the good on this one. Let's start with good though.
This is a very hopper and it consistently feeds fast. Also the plastic is very sturdy and the hopper is well built. Lastly, the rip drive was kinda handly because it let me manually feed balls into the marker at the chrono without having to turn on the hopper and waste batteries.
The bad...
This hopper ate up the first round of batteries I put in it. I found that duracel (sp) works the best but it stills eats them up and takes 6 AA batteries. Good Goblins!! Yes 6. The battery door is a f**king b**ch to open and close and stuff and you need a screw driver to do it. (cussing for emphasis) Another bad aspect of this hopper is the lid only stays 3/4 of the way open because the lid spring is screwed up. However, I believe that I just recieved a crappy lid spring. It's also wide/fat and I've been hit twice in the hopper because of that. It's heavy as well. (A pound and half I belive it was.) To me this didn't matter greatly because most people tend to not think about the weight of thier gear when they're in a game. Lastly, it is a force feed hopper causing dopuble or triple feeding at times which causes chopping which causes me to become pissed off. To stop the chopping you either must get an eye or new ball detents.
Conclusion: In conclusion, if you want a fast hopper that's pretty light, and doesn't require strong detents or anything....GET AN EGGY 2!! This thing ain't worth.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

pbBrett308 Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA
Halo B w/o Rip Drive
Various grav fed hoppers
Marker Setup: Spyder 06' Electra (soon to be DP Fusion)
Halo B hopper w/ Rip Drive
J&J Perfomance 16'' Ceramic Barrel
Speed feed for Halo B
Strengths: EXTREMELY fast. Balanced weight. Pretty quiet. DURABLE. Helpful customer service.
Weaknesses: Heavy and bulky. Feedneck is oversized BUT DON'T sand it down.
Review: Overall this hopper is great. I've had it for a little less than a month and am very satisfied with this hopper. I was wavering between this and the Evlution 3 and after using my friends Halo decided on this. I would recomend the Halo for guns capable of over 20+ bps.
which is pretty much every elecric gun on the market. Buy this hopper and you will be very satisfied.
-Durable poly cabonite shell won't break on hard landings.
-Halo can keep up with almost any gun
-Upgradable softwear for Z code or V35 boards (although Halos made after August 2001 come w/ Z code.)
-Rip drive and speed feed are must haves and are great help on the field.

DO NOT SAND DOWN FEEDNECK. It was made that way for a reason!!! If you're putting this much money into a hopper BUY A CLAMPING FEEDNECK!!!
Conclusion: This hopper is great and reliable. A bit on the heavy side this hopper will add some weight to even the lightest marker. A+++ BUY IT!!!

(I gave it a 9 because of the weight NOT because of performance.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zaphod66 Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity hooper, Egg II
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3 w/red body & barrel kits, Halo B w/ victory & rip, ANS 68/4500 HP
Strengths: Fast and Reliable
looks really cool
Magnetic lid
Rip drive
Weaknesses: Clean up (taking apart)
Review: The Halo B w/v 35 and Rip is an awesome loader. It always keeps up with your gun with out creating a paint smoothie or double feeding. I found this loader really easy to operate with out gloves. I haven't tried it with gloves, but it seems like the button might be hard to activate while wearing gloves.

I really like the magnetic lid; it secures your paint in your hopper. I shaked a fully filled halo upside down and the lid never popped open. So you can feel secure that during action you will not spill you paint due to the lid popping open.

The neck is really thick, but it fits nice and snug on my VS3 with out having to sand down the neck like some people have stated. The overall durability feels really good. But I haven't dropped it or smashed on something yet.

The rip drive comes in really handy if your batteries go out or in case of a jam. Neither has happen to me yet, but it's nice know am prepared if I get a jam or my batts go bye bye.

The only real con on this hopper is that if you need to take it apart to clean, it's not really easy. And there is always the chance of loosing the lid spring.
Conclusion: Overall this hopper is just awsome: it works fast and relable, durable, blalanced on gun and it just looks really sharp.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 at 2:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Buckfrenzy Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Eggs, Revolutions
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Response Trigger, MP Air-thru Mag Kit, Longbow Stock, JCS 5.5 Inch Barrel, 32 Degrees coiled Remote, J and J 14 inch one piece Ceramic, lots of other stuff, Dye 91/45

Invert Mini, Halo w/ Rip, 12 inch stiffi, crossfire 45/45
Strengths: Feeds Fast
Feeds Consistent
Looks Cool
Manual Feed
Weaknesses: Weight compared to newer products... kind of
Review: I am a big fan of Halo loaders. they offer a consistent, fast shooting loader that operates well with almost any type of marker. I got one for my Mini, but i use it on my friends Ion. It has never jammed on me, and I have never experienced any kind of double feed problem. It just shoots as fast as you can pull the trigger. Some people would say you need a victory board, but I think 17 bps is plenty fast. I love this loader. I also use a speed feed and would recomend combining that with this product any day.
Conclusion: The Halo w/ Rip is still state of the art. It can keep up with almost anyone's fingers, and with a few ups, it can keep up with any gun out there. I would buy one if you are looking for something consistent and well designed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RyanS Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gravity hopper played a lot of scenario
Marker Setup: Stock ETek Ego
68/4500 hpa
Halo V35 victory with rip drive
Strengths: Speed
look
magnetic lid
consistent
quiet
Weaknesses: Cleaning is a pain
But it's a great hopper so unlikely you'll chop
Review: This is a great hopper with a victory board it can do 35bps!! that's flipping fast. The magnetic lid makes it a breeze to load/reload. It's great because when you open the lid it flops open like nothing and when you close it you can hear it close it has a very distinct nosie so you know it's not going to open and spill all your paint across the fild as your running and diving towards the snake. There is one problem I have with it. This is my first force hopper I have only used gravity hoppers before I got this one. So I was talking to the guy who sold me this (BADLANDS PAINTBALL) awsome store recommend it very helpful. I asked the guy what do I need to know to keep my halo working right. He says basicaly nothing except for you have to lubericate the drive belt or it will get dry and chopp paint. He recomenned to use a very light drop of DOW 33 he said DOW 33 is awsome and lasts a very long time. So I said ok. I got home tryed out my new ETEK EGO,Halo with rip drive/victory board and pure energy 68/4500 tank. It worked great but from some reason my gun chopped the last ball. I thought it was the hoppers fault.So I remebered what the guy had said about the belt drive having to by lubericated so I got the manual that came with it and it didn't really say anything about how to take the halo apart.And I don't want to do anything wrong to hurt the proformance of my halo. So I called the guy he said it chopped because the ball was the last one so it had room to move so it bounced and wasn't all the way in and chopped but all guns do this when your ripping at crazt fast speeds.
Conclusion: so after all that I would definitely recommend this hopper to anyone it awsome go buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 at 9:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderpilotuser Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy
Grav Fed
Empire B2
Marker Setup: Proto PMR
UL Frame
Virtue Eyes
CP Drop
CP ASA
Crossy 70/4500 stubby
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I got this off of a site for $135.95.(its cheaper now) I opened it outta the box and i just took a good gander at it. boy was it a beauty. i installed the batteries but i tried to slide the cover back over and it wouldnt fit. You have to situate the wires a certain way or they wont fit. i got them in and started it up. press the red btton firmly then it flashed green 3 times then red 1 time. i didnt know what this meant until i read the manual.just for fun, i set it to mode 6 to see if it really loaded 35 bps or if it was crap. it loaded faster than a revvy ill tell you that. i put a pod full of reballs in it and let it go. since the reballs are diifrent size and texture, they jammed alot. it would drop like 45 then jam. i put a tube of DRAXXUS Gold through it and it loaded like a god. man the satisfying buzzing the thump thump thump. i tested it with a stop watch(not really) but i did time it in my head. it cleared a whole pod in less then 6 seconds. is that fast or what??????A good thing about this hopper is that you will have absolutely no trouble finding one. almost every online site sells them.Halo B w/ rip, Halo B Standard, Halo B w/rip and v35...you name it. you can walk into your local proshop and look around and find them.the only thing is, people buy these for the crap guns like spyder mechs, or pumps which i think is crazy.!!!!
Conclusion: An awesome hopper with many twists and turns(hahaha)...(get it?..twists and turns!!!!)oh well its good like i said but overpriced. its a hopper for goodness sake.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 25th, 2007 at 1:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nexxus Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy-no
Stock HALO B-pretty much same thing
Revvy-no
Quantum-no
Marker Setup: 2004 WGP "Blood Red" Nightkast(E1)
CIP asa w/ on/off and rail
14" Stiff!
47/30 Crossfire
HALO B w/ Rip Drive and V35
*soon to come*
Nexus dart bolt
Eclipse ram
Strengths: Speed
Strength
Rip drive
Looks
Weaknesses: Tid bit heavy
Price?
Battery life isn't great
Review: I bought this hopper to replace my Ricochet Apache, which had a dissapointing circuit board break. I am almost happy it did, because i got this. Here's te facts:

Speed: Very fast. Will keep up with pretty much everything

Strength: The polycarbonate is very strong. You can only break this thing if you throw it against a solid brick wall.

Rip drive: A nice feature that allows you to manually feeds incase the battery dies.

Looks: This is a very stylish hopper also. It also has great weight distributation.

Weight: A little bit heavy, but nothing a man can't handle.

Price: Not a huge biggie, got mine witha V35 for a great price of $111

Battery life: Could be better i guess. It is a pain putting the battery in evertime you play and taking it out when your done.
Conclusion: Overall great hopper. One of the best hoppers you can buy. If you want something lite, then go for the VLocity. I do reccomend this to any type of player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media