paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
S-dog Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
empire B with rip (TESTED)
Eggy 2
VLocity (testeed)
Marker Setup: 1.KINGMAN SPYDER FENIX
with 14" 32 Degrees WHISPER barrel,DYE STICKY 3 E GRIPS,Green Halo B withh rip drive,68ci 4500psi tank and 20 oz Co2
Strengths: Fast
Rip Drive is cool feature
unjams balls
lightning fast
built to last
Weaknesses: You have to sand the neck if its too big
Battery hog
Review: the first time i used this hopper was wehn my friend lent me it because my Vlocity broke
and when i used it i was like WOW.. it was soooooooo much faster then every other hopper i have tried. when i finally bought it a week l8r i took it outside and slammed in 140 rounds and shot a staight rope at a tree about 20feet away. it was really good. then when i brought to a game i was on fire with it even when i forgot to bring extra batteries (a must)during the second game my batteries died but luckily i had the RIP DRIVE and it worked pretty good. The on/off switch is pretty low profile so you shoud take the cotton of the tip of a Q tip and use electrical tape to tape it on the switch so its easier to feel with gloves.
Conclusion: I reccomend this to anyone who wants a super fast hopper that is built to last but if you dont have the money go make some! to buy this hopper
i would give it a 100 but you cant so 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j2theflo Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
egg, tested the vlocity
Marker Setup: Ion
l6 bolt
all-american barrel
360 QEV
T-board
vp trigger
ccm no rise
system x drop
Strengths: Fast, consistent, anti jam and rip drive features are nice to have too
Weaknesses: Horrible shell, battery life, a pain to dismantle
Review: The HALO is an awesome loader. The feed rate is consistent, haven't had any problems in opening and closing the battery door. the shell however is straight c.r.a.p. after a day of playing the outer shell of the feedneck broke. my friend finally talked me into cutting the excess off (the showing blue part) to give it a lower profile instead of buying a new shell. turned out to be a blessing in disguise. but a month later the shell started cracking on the battery door and eventually on the left side of the hopper. also its a pain to clean the hopper because you need to dismantle it in order to get the inside clean out.
Conclusion: I would reconmend the product to pretty mush anybody. Its slightly better than egg and almost on par with a velocity. And at a 125 dollars for all the bells whistles it ain't to bad.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Daeagleeye8 Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader B
Viewloader Velocity
VL revolution
Gravity hopper (LMAO!!!)
Marker Setup: Primary Setup:
Smart Parts Ion
New Designz Pro Ion Low Rise campling Feedneck
FIrebolt
360 QEV
14'' Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Hybrid Contract Killer Hitman Grips (Blue)
Custom Products Direct mount on/off (Blue)
Custom Products Ion Sling Blade Trigger (Blue)
Virtue Ion Ez on button (Blue)

Hopper:
Halo B w/ rip drive (black)

Goggles:
Dye Invision Googles

Tank:
Crossfire 70ci/4500psi Stubby tank w/ Dye Rhino cover
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Customizable
Quiet
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: well, this is the hopper to get if you have a fast gun are if u are looking for one of the best hoppers out of the three best hoppers out there on the market. This hopper is very very good looking, customizable, and with the rip drive you will save u from situations when your paint jams (Although IT NEVER HAS to me). People here have said cant read dark shelled paint. Well i have used dark shelled paint and had no problems with it, except if the paint is COMPLETELY black. Some paint i use are black and other colors and do fine. I mean.....how many GOOD paintballs out there are ALL BLACK? so i guess that doesn't make a difference to me since i use Marbs, Premiums, and higher quality paint most of the time and although they vary in colors at times, i never got an all black bag.
Another good point is that this hopper allows for customization. You can get just about ne colored shell and replace them as u wish. You can also buy a victory board and make it even faster if u have some more money left over. (planning on buying one soon since my shocker goes faster than the hopper). Well, that's about it.
Conclusion: Buy this hopper if u are looking for the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 14th, 2007 at 3:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBPete610 Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing because i wen't from a revolution to this.
Marker Setup: Stock Blue nerve with a Virtue, Hybrid Contract Killer Grips, and Smoke Halo B w/ ripdrive and a 68/3000 pure energy tank with a blue dye rhino cover
Strengths: Looks, easy on/off (usually), ripdrive, speed, easy to fill with pods.
Weaknesses: None really other than 6 AA batteries, but no big deal
Review: When i got this for my ion it worked perfectly, i threw a few stickers on it and took it out to the field. worked really fast it never chopped, and when my batteries died in a game i used the ripdrive. Then i got my 06 nerve, it works even better on that, i fly through paint in a game (not a bad thing for me) in the front, or anywhere else. this is a great hopper.
Conclusion: I recomend it if you have a gun that is really fast, and if you want to upgrade the halo i have seen quite a few boards u can change in it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer1815 Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gravity hoppers and evvy2
Marker Setup: ion black
freak barrel kit
low Q lock
psyco ballistics drop forward
halo b w/rip
crossfire 68/4500 low pressure

bob long lasoya 05
XSV on/off
freak barrel kit
halo b w/rip
same tank
Strengths: Fast and for a belt driven not that loud
Weaknesses: weight but that is cause of the 6 AA batteries
Review: This hopper is one of the fastest and the best. the only other one i would want is empire reloader. have not dry fired a single shot even with a low battery and the battery is great on it. with a rip drive its the best upgrade for any gun.
Conclusion: Buy one there is really no better models
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darthevix Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA - I Out-ran that easy... and I can only shoot 11bps (consistant.. 12bps here and there)
Marker Setup: O3e:
Alamo City Derlin Bolt - RED
Smoke HALO B w/ rip drive
45/4500 Air America HPA

SOON TO BE: (I mean, I'm buying them today... hells yea!)
Black Dye hyper inline 2
Black Eclipse QEV
Black FBM Stiletto Drop
Strengths: Fast
Rip drive
Weaknesses: Weight
Makes you feel sorry for everyone else without one...
Review: When I had the Halo TSA, it was nice. I mean, it worked great and all, and KINDA did a good job, but once I started to walk the trigger, I would out-run it. Well, that didn't go good and I bought this.

PROS:
This is fast! I mean, its day and night. I spent $40 on the TSA, and that was useless. So I had to put another $90 for this for a total of $130... I should have just bought this instead and saved the $40... The rip drive is nice too. I can pre-feed balls for chrono and not have to turn my hopper on and off to do it.

Another nice detail is how easy it is to turn on... its like the ION with Virtue board... one quick press and BAM its on!

CONS:
Its heavy... Noticeably heaver than the Halo TSA. But you know what? I can still play just as easily. So the weight is a minor weakness. Also, this makes you feel sad for everyone else. With their TSAs and other various loaders... I suggest you think of it as they will be the people that can't seem to shoot a solid string... makes the bunkering of them easier...
Conclusion: I love this hopper to death! If it ever slows down, I'll drop $80 and get a the cheetah board! I recommend it to EVERYONE! Even the noobs with rentals...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 16th, 2006 at 8:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CoreyD911 Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Apache
eggy
revy
vl 200
Marker Setup: A4 Fly

Dye ultralite

Ccm Feedneck

Halo B
Strengths: fast

Rip drive

Looks

One lock lid will get you almost a whole hopper

Weaknesses: Some times there is gaps in between bursts

Doesnt hold that much

Paintballs get stuck
Review: I just got this hopper about a month ago and it is great


strengths:


Rip Drive: the rip drive is really cool with out it you could'nt prime the feed spring. One cool feature is like if the jam sequence doesn't get the jam un done you could use the rip drive,and its looks pretty cool too


Looks: the halo "I think" is the best looking loader out there.the shape and the design is really good


Speed: this is one of the fastest loader "besides vlocity"it can unload a whole hopper in about 6 seconds. compared to an egg and an apache that's is really fast,apache and eggy 100 balls 9 seconds. But on topic ,i don't know why people say halo's break paint i ran allot of paint through my halo and it never broke any paint.


Weakness:


Gaps:after every burst there is maybe a half a second gap sometimes. most of the time priming your feed spring fixes' this. to prime your feed spring you need to turn the halo on and fill it up and the turn your rip drive counter clockwise until it stops and you cant turn any more. but sometimes this doesn't work


Amount the loader holds: the halo doesn't hold that much as the reloader b .there isn't much to say about this it just doesn't hold that much.


paintballs:after you load it and the shot of the rest of the paint some times about 7 or 8 paintballs get stuck on the side all you have to do is shake the not really a big problem just get annoying every now and then
Conclusion: In conclusion this is one of the best loaders out there its just the little things that bother me but Ilike it alot and you should get
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 19th, 2006 at 12:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pman09 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo 2
Empire Reloader
Marker Setup: WGP Mini Orracle (Black/Blue)
Planet Eclipse E2
Nexus Ram w/ QEV's
Halo B w/ Rip
2 Centerflag 68/45k
Dye Rhino 05 cover (Black/Blue)
Strengths: Feeds fast
You can unjam it
Looks cool
Durable
Weaknesses: Kinda Heavy
Sucks batteries
Review: Some of my friends have Halos so I decided to pick one up after hearing how much they liked them. It comes in a nice box and includes clear directions. The hopper itself is a nice design and keeps my gun balanced, unlike the Evo 2. Although it is somewhat heavier than other hoppers I've used I don't really notice it when its on the gun with the tank too. As for speed the Halo is very fast and I have yet to see anyone outshoot theirs without ramping features. Its probably feeds around 22 bps witht he stock board. The rip drive is a nice feature to have incase you get a ball jammed up inside or something, but I have yet need to use it. One other thing i have noticed is that the Halo has very thick shells and so far has been able to take a beating without much damage to the appearance. One big weakness that brings the Halo's score down a bit is how many batteries it eats up. I can only go maybe play two days for 6 hours and it will be dead next time I use it. With my other hoppers I could go play multiple times and still have battery life. Batteries are one thing you might want to bring more of next time you play with a Halo B.
Conclusion: The Halo B w/ Rip drive is a great hopper and It hasn't broken on me or fallen apart yet. If you have the money go buy one they are great, very fast, and very durable. It won't break on you but you're gonna have to spend some extra cash on batteries. I'll give it an 8.5 but that rounds up to 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrutishOpus Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader (Lower End)
Evolution 2
Gravity Feed Hoppers
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant with a 16 inch Nightstick barrel, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Dye Sticky Grip

Ion Pro with rail and On/Off ASA, Freak Barrel, CP Blade Trigger, CP Reg, Halo B hopper and a 3000 PSI HPA Tank from Pure Energy
Strengths: FAST
Quite
Easy to Use
Rip Drive
Weaknesses: Battery Hog
Review: This is a very nice hopper, it is very fast and I have had 0 problems with my hopper, no loose wires, bad parts, nothing, it works great

Pros-

Its quite, unlike some hopper that I've heard its really quite, at most you might hear a hum

Very easy to use, just turn it on, when you see a green light your ready to go, to turn it off just press the button for a fe seconds and it will flash red and its off, it also has a automatic shut off thingy so it shuts off to save batteries after a while

Very Fast, THERE WILL ALWAYS BE A BALL READY TO SHOOT, very very fast, I love its speed, its like a feeding demon from hell

The Rip Drive is a nice upgrade, you dont have to turn on your hopper for chronoing or if it may happen, you run out of batteries you can load with your fingers, its a nice add on worth the money

Look great!!! Very sexy and modern looking, and the feedneck is freakin huge and strong, you would need a hammer to break it
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper for the fast guns, but may be a little overkill for the slower/loer end ones, the only hopper that comes close to the Halos preformance it the Evo, but I like the Halo, very nice hopper, get one if you have a fast spitter, it will never starve your marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alex.will Sunday, December 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200, Halo, Eggy2, Revy
Marker Setup: 05 WGP Prostock Autococker (Black), brand new, but coming soon:
Red E2
Black Eclipse QEV's
Palmer's QuickerRam
Red Shocktech Feedneck and Beavertail


Halo B w/RipDrive (Smoke - I like to be able to see ball count)
Crossfire 68/45 w/ Red Dye Rhino Cover
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Strong
Visually Appealing
Great customer service
Weaknesses: Thick neck that you have to sand for HOURS
Loud? (IMO)
User interface
Review: I've had this loader for little over a month, and so far its been great. I like the many color choices available, and the appearance of the loader overall is quite nice. It feeds fast (22+ bps), and with alot of force. This is great if your tired of shaking your egg. The worst thing about this loader is that it takes hours to sand down the neck to fit most non-clamping feednecks. But once you get it on, I think most people will like this loader. As for the ripdrive, I think it is well worth the extra $10. It helps clear jams, and the pretensioning is a great feature. Also, due to the HALO's heavy battery consumption, a backup means of loading balls is welcomed. I would recommend that, if your buying a mechanized loader, instead of spending less on a revvy or an egg, to cough up the extra dough for this. I would also recommend not buying a more expensive Reloader B, because the Halo w/ ripdrive will be sufficient for almost all purposes, and you can upgrade to a sound activated board at a later date if you find it necessary.
Conclusion: Get this if your looking for a high quality, fast, mechanized loader. Great product!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 25th, 2005 at 6:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media