paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Lemons 6245 Tuesday, September 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo. 2
Marker Setup: 03' Autococker Superstock, Halo, 14' barrle, 50 ci, 3000 psi
Strengths: Z Code
True Force Feeder
Cool Shape
Holds 180 pb's
Fast
Weaknesses: It will break a weak ball in the loader due to the "Force"
Review: This hopper is the best i have ever played with, when i got it i put batteries in it and turned it on and it seemed to go slower than the Evo 2, but when u actuially put paintballs in them both you can really tell the difference. i would recomend this hopper to anybody that has a fast gun, if u dont have a High-End electronic marker then there is really no point to buy one, so dont waste the money just to buy one, even though its the sweetest hopper out(next to the empire) and if u dont have the money for an empire reloader B then just buy a halo and buy a empire reloader shell and change them. but great product
Conclusion: Great. Best hopper period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

smartguy41 Thursday, June 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL Quantam (Doesn't Compare)
VL Evlution aka The "EGG"
VL Revolution
Own an Empire Reloader B, same thing, just sound activated.
Marker Setup: Primary Marker
*DYE DM4*
-M3 Chip
-Contract Killer Grips
-WS Lucky 15 Barrel Kit
-Function Delrin Trigger
-Function On/Off

Backup Marker
*2k4 Impulse Vison*
Strengths: Loads Fast
Quiet
Rip Drive
Looks Pretty Cool
Weaknesses: Eats batteries like my principal eats twinkies.
Weak body shell (see review)
Heavy
Review: Most people have told me that I really don't need a Halo on an Impulse. They have told me to stick with a Revolution. The thing is, I have outshot some Revolutions. There is NO way that I can outshoot my Halo. It says on the box that it loads up to 20 balls per second and it does. There is no way I can shoot that fast. So I'll stick with my Halo.

The button is a little hard to press, especially when you have gloves on, but you will get the hang of it. It is very hungry for batteries, so if you own a Halo be sure and keep some extra batteries with you. It is a little heavy too. If you have a hi-rise feedneck then it will make it wobble. A few weeks ago my battery door broke off, but not just the door, the little slot that holds the door on broke as well. That very same day when I was taking the loader off of my gun, it broke off into my feedneck. This is not a bad problem because you can buy body shells online or at a pro shop for about $30 or less.
Aside from the problems the Halo is a good loader. Unlike the Empire Reloader, which is sound activated, the Halo has eyes that see the paint and let it know when to load. Any dark colored shell won't work to well in it. But it loads really fast and I haven't seen anyone outshoot one. Also, you will have to sand it down unless you have a feedneck that adjust to your hopper. But on Oddyssey's website they say that they purposely make the neck too big so it will fit any gun. A great loader for ANY gun.
Conclusion: Even though I have had a few problems with mine, I still give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 9th, 2005 at 12:13 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

matt900293928 Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo II close but not quite as good
Revy not foce fed
Reloader same as revy
Marker Setup: Vision Impulse, 68 4500 Centerflag, Q Lock Feedneck, Halo B with Rip
Strengths: Feeds fast ~ 22 bps
Strong Shells
Rather Quiet
Force feed
Weaknesses: Rarely jams but thats reasin for rip
6 AA batteries
Can't read dark paint
Review: The Halo is a great hopper. Next to the Q loader it is the fastest hopper on the market. I have used my HAlo for about 6 months and I have yet to break the shells. The eyes can't read dark paint, but I have rarely seen black paint. The six batteries get heavy and they are a pain to change, but they do last about 5-6 cases I have noticed.
Conclusion: If you have the money get a Halo and if you don't have rip in your Halo get it because it helps you stay in the game if your batteries die.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirsaechao Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 12 Volt
Marker Setup: Dye MaTrix LCD
Custom Product regulator
Custom Product drop forward
Custom Product on/off
Crossfire LPA 68/4500
Halo B with rip drive
Chipley Machine mid rise clamp
Dye Rhino tank cover
Strengths: Pro:
20+ bps
Look
Weaknesses: Cons:
Cost
Weight
6-AA battery
Review: I got the Halo B with rip drive to go with the speed of my MaTrix...This is probably one of the best upgrades to get on my gun...fast feed...I heard 20+...but the only problem I have is of course the weight...it takes 6-AA batteries...I got the Halo with a rip drive just in case if I need it...Another thing I found it without paintball in the hopper it is really loud...Some times it doesn't detect dark colored balls...
Conclusion: For $150...I think a egg with do just fine but Halo...who wouldn't want a Halo...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wickedlytwisted Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Q loader eggy revy warp feed ect..
Marker Setup: Angel lcd cobra
custom products barrel
dye 05 full drop with asa
q loader
chain trigger frame
jam-bolt int. bolt
custom products small reg
blue tint kit
3000 68 ci crossfire tank
(2) twister voulmeizers
check it products feed neck
Strengths: Fast
Quite
Looks
The rip drive
Weaknesses: Heavy
Battery hog
Cant see black balls
Review: My friend uses one of these and it seems like he is always changing the batterys in it and 9 times outta 10 it will not feed black paint rite or sometimes at all. I would still recomend this hopper to poeple that dont use black paintballs. But im happy with my q loader so ima stick with that for now.
Conclusion: Buy it if you dont use black paintballs and if you not a lil panzy that cant hold a heavy hopper for a game
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Andrew Orde Sunday, August 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular halo
Evo 2 i guess...not as fast
Marker Setup: E-bladed cocker
Nexus stuff
Ans Inline
Nitro duck plasma
Halo B rip
Freak ss inserts 14"
Strengths: Fast
Force Fed + rip
Sturdyest loader have seen (no more broken necks)
Looks
Weaknesses: Heavy
Eats bateries
Review: Halo B was fast and this thing is just as fast. Now it comes with a backup system. If your batterys die during a game the rip drive lets you load and keep pressure on the balls by turning the thing on the bottom. It also lets you try to unjam balls by turning it backwards. Just be carefull its still a halo and it you put it on a low end gun it will just keep feeding. Detents might not stop it.
Conclusion: If you have a fast gun that relys on your loader for speed buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 28th, 2004 at 3:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stephenbartone Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
evy II w/ z-board
Marker Setup: silver 2k3 BKO with clear halo B w/ rip-drive,68/4500 crossfire,bob long torpedo, vaporworks volumizer
Strengths: wicked fast
doesn't jam w/ rip-drive
balls sometimes ricochet off
Weaknesses: eats batteries for breakfast, lunch and dinner
Review: This is a friggin sweet hopper, People say that the egg is just as good with the Z-board but it is still not force feed so the first couple of balls are really slow so you can't snap shoot at all. With the halo B the first couple balls are the fastest so your snap shoot will improve and you can stand in the back can and just shoot ropes.
Conclusion: Everyone needs to but this hopper because it is the sweetest thing that has ever happened to paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

TeamRC_Lunchbox Friday, May 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader
Q-Loader
ViewLoader Quantum
Marker Setup: Stock Dragun "The One"
Nitro setting activated
Strengths: Fast... Really Fast!
Weaknesses: Size and weight.
Review: Excellent hopper for both the beginner and the seasoned pro. How fast is it? I was unable to out-shoot it with "The One" set on Nitro - 25 balls per second. Very clean, no nonsense set up and I didn't have any trouble with the button as some peeps have described. Even at 25 bps I had no breach breaks, barrel breaks, or jams in the hopper. There's been a lot of talk about the new circuit boards for this loader, but i have to say I'm pleased with mine right out of the box. Granted, with six AA batteries in it and loaded with paint, it's heavier and bulkier than the Q-Loader... Of course, it does hold twice the balls as the Q (220 balls for the Backman vs. 100 for the Q), and it's a lot easier to load lol... In all, this hooper will shoot as fast as you're gun will spit balls... Mine was blowing ropes and the only breaks I saw came from the balls colliding in mid air. Nuts, huh?
Conclusion: Well worth the cash and doesn't require all of the modifying and connecting that the Q-Loader requires. Excellent loader and it just doesn't get any faster... Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

f2f4 Tuesday, April 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every other hopper, from the VL-200 to the Eggy2 w/ Z board.
All worse.
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Strengths: - Fast
- Newer ones are gentle on paint
- Rip drive helps a TON
Weaknesses: - Pricy
Review: This hopper is incredible. I haven't had any issues with jamming (but if I ever do, the rip drive will let me clear out the jam in a couple seconds without opening the hopper), breaking paint, or falling apart. It just appears to be extremely solidly built, and fixing any damage that might be caused is very simple, due to the hopper's modular design.

The spring-loaded drive cone allows for burst feeding rates in excess of 50 BPS, with a claimed sustained feed-rate of around 22. With an upgraded board, this number can be raised to as high as 35, which is incredible. Since owning this hopper, I have not had any problems with breaking paint inside of it, and the one time that the Halo couldn't "see" the paint (it was really cheap, almost transparent), I simply shut it off and used the rip drive to play that day. One full wind will get you about 15 balls, before you need to turn it again.

I would reccomend this to any player with a marker that can handle it.
Conclusion: The strengths by far outweigh the disagvantages. Nothing else compares. Get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tommygunpb Thursday, March 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used all the hoppers but the Reloader B. The Halo leaves them in the dust.
Marker Setup: Blue/Black Fade Syndicate Misfit
Crossfire nitro
Halo B
New Designs Feedneck
Bandit bolt
Strengths: Light For my gun
Looks
Speed
Loudness
Consistency
Weaknesses: Should have a 9.7.
Review: When i received my Halo the first time it did not work well at all, but i found out that it was a defective product so I sent it back and got a new one. After that I was ripping it up. What really amazed me was the sound of the hopper, it was twice as quiet as my evlution. I thought that it was not working correctly because it was so quiet. Another strength was the look it was a great match with the fade of my gun. I highly recommend the rip drive since this hopper is a force feed. I have also found that the consistancy of the hopper is really great, I have never had a misfire. This hopper can easily keep up with my marker that shoot 16 balls a second on full auto. I would not recommend this hopper for markers that cannot shoot more that 13 balls per second simply because you would out shoot the gun causing it to misfeed and chop (at least this is my experience with my friends spyder) .
Conclusion: I would recommend this for any one that can get their gun over 13 balls per second. I have had no problem with the non-defective hopper that I have now. I just wish the overall rating was higher.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 6:23 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media