paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
paintball31093 Sunday, October 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye rotor higher end,prophecy also higher end,eggy3 this is way better,velocity they are about equal halos better on batteries
Marker Setup: invert mini bones stock
empire 56/45
dye rotor
Strengths: Speed,price,rip drive,consistant feed rate on gun!!works great with reballs
Weaknesses: Shell strength, weight its on of the heaviest loaders nowadays,hard to clean.
Review: Ok so i got the halo b with V35 as a christmas present last year and at a first glance it had great looks wasnt back heavy and was very fast!! The first time playing with it it fed great not a single chop or gap in the shots on my mini on ramping. The only problem that i had with it was hitting the button to turn it off and on through my gloves. however about 6 months down the road i dove into the snake and my hopper flew off of my marker no idea how and hit the turf and cracked the shell. the shells on these are not nearly as strong of that of my dye rotor but IT DOES HANDLE SHOTS AT A CLOSE RANGE i have never had problems with it cracking from being bunkered or what not most of those storys are not true unless the shell has already been damaged. so in the and id give this hopper an 8 out of 10 because it does break fairly easy compared to other high end loaders and its hard to take apart and lastly the weight.
Conclusion: So in the and id give this hopper an 8 out of 10 because it does break fairly easy compared to other high end loaders and its hard to take apart and lastly the weight.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Landerpurex Friday, September 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed, Extreme Rage Overdrive, EVO III
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
universal spyder virtue board
infiniti trigger
12" CP barrel
new designz feed neck
HALO B w/ rip and v35 board
48ci 3000 psi NO2 tank.
Strengths: Feeds fast
Reliable
Looks cool
Rip drive is useful
Durable
magnetic lid
Weaknesses: Battery changing
Low profile power button
plastic paddles
Review: I picked this thing up a week ago for 100 bucks with the v35 board already installed. I was looking for a faster feed than my Egg. My new Halo lived up to the challenge. The board has several settings, but it can be confusing before you get used to it. It does come with a very handy manual though, so that wasn't a problem for me and it shouldn't be for you. The rip drive is obviously a nice idea, unjam your hopper without opening it, or load balls if your hopper dies during a match. Very useful. This loader is reliable, I haven't had a problem with it yet and I played with it for 6 hours straight during speedball. It was always feeding consistently, never chopped inside the hopper or jammed up. It seems very durable, it did get jostled around a bit with slides and dives, but it took it great. The magnetic lid is also very cool, no more yanking on your lid to get it open, and it never popped open on me during play.

Now, battery changing with this thing takes tools, which is just something I don't like. Not a huge problem, I just miss my Egg here. It DOES take 6 AA batteries, but it also seems to have a spot for a 9v so I'm assuming it can run on one of those? Haven't tried it yet, will do so soon. The power button hassled me, I sometimes had trouble turning the loader on and off with my gloves on. I personally don't care for the plastic paddles, I prefer soft ones to insure no balls will chop, but I haven't had a chop yet so this weakness is still unproven.

Conclusion: Fantastic hopper, if you're a serious tourney player or are looking to become one, check this loader out. You will probably want the v35 board, and with that, it completes this loader. The ONLY thing that bothered me really was the power switch, in which case I might just need to get used to it or I may just be an idiot. Overall a great loader.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dcsparks Sunday, June 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
View loader force. Constant running sucks.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-2, Smart Parts 16" All American Barrel, Halo B w/Rip Drive
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Loose Battery connector
Review: Had problems with the loader shutting down mid game. I traced the problem down to a loose battery connector packed with paint. I have no idea how the paint got in there. Loose connector plus paint equals a bad connection. Cleaned it out and gently tightend the terminal with a pair of needle nose pliers. Seems to be working better but have not had a chance to play a full day with it yet. I am confident that was the problem.

Loads faster than I can shoot

Rip drive is a great backup

Dropped it once due to a loose feed neck. No damage.

Just found out that the neck needs to be sanded down to fit. It thought it was a little tight
Conclusion: Great loader! 9 out of 10 due to the loose connector.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hellsmilitia12 Monday, April 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire B
Marker Setup: Special Edition 2007 Proto Matrix Rail - Camo
Halo B w/ Rip Drive - Smoke
48/3000 PE Hpa Tank
Strengths: Pretty Fast, Rip Drive to fix jams fast even though you don't have many
Weaknesses: Battery Door, It is Random if you get good or bad one.
Review: Great fast hopper that has Rip Drive.

I reccommend if you have a Proto or Dye to get the V35 board becaue you can shoot 30 bps. Just a great hopper for a first electric hopper user. In the future I do reccommend to upgrade to the Dye Rotar. Even though this hopper is great, sooner or later you will get tired of how much it weighs and how fat and big it is. If your looking for something exactly the same but cheaper, I reccommend the Empire B. It is sound activated though. You may not like that.
Conclusion: Great hopper if you get a good one. ALWAYS get rip drive, trust me it will make your playing better!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdykev Monday, March 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fasta (faster, lighter but can break paint)
Evo II (Larger, strange center of gravity)
Cyclone feed (light but somewhat bulky)
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion-
Freak Barrel Kit
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Crossfire 68/4500
360 QEV
Ion to Ion XE conversion kit
Smart Parts Q-Lock

-Tippmann 98 Custom-
Flatline Barrel
Cyclone feed
Double Trigger
32 Degrees Remote
a different front grip
Strengths: Rip Drive
Reliability
Consistent Feed
Looks
Weaknesses: Heavy
If pointing gun down when low on paint, balls wont feed
Jams if overfilled
Review: -Strengths-
Rid Drive- pure genius. When batteries are low or if you accidentally over fill the hopper, the rid drive can quickly un-jam the hopper.

Reliability- I have never had a problem with this hopper. Every time I turn it on it feeds paintballs to my marker without any problems.

Consistent- The feed is pretty consistent and 22bps is enough to keep up with my Ion.

Look- this is just personal opinion but I think this is the best looking hopper available (excluding the Rotor and the Prophecy)


-Weaknesses-
Heavy- After installing the 6AA batteries, I began to realize how heavy this hopper actually is. My friends Fasta is a feather compared to this. Weight might not bother some but it annoys me.

Once you start to run low on paint, say about 30-40 balls left in the hopper, the hopper will not loaf if you are aiming down. No, i dont mean directly down i just me at a decent angle downward.

Jams- If you over filled the hopper, meaning you literally squeeze the paintballs inside the hopper, it will jam. This isn't so much the hoppers fault as it is mine for cramming my pods into my Halo. This still just gets on my nerves a little but so i though i would bring it up.


-Alternatives-
The VLocity and VLocity JR are 100 and 80 respectively and are both lighter and faster than the Halo. The fasta is also lighter and faster but it can sometimes chop paint inside the hopper. The fasta usually sells for about $80.
Conclusion: The Halo B is a great hopper but I think it's time is slowing drawing to an end. Lighter faster and cheaper hoppers are being produced so the Halo B is becoming out dated. Check out some other hoppers but if you can get a deal on this hopper ($40-$60) then go for it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noob slayer43 Thursday, January 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: proto slg
stock
halo b hopper
(clamping feedneck on the way)

Tippmann 98 custom A.C.T.
Double trigger
JJ 16 inch barrel
Car stock
Strengths: Fast, Built well, Rip drive, looks cool, quiet.
Weaknesses: On/off button is low profile, feed is a little big
Review: I love this hopper i got it for christmas this year and i love it! its fast strong quiet etc. Took it out to play a few weeks ago and i was impressed. The feed was a little small but that was partly my slg's feednecks fault. I really liked this hopper i can tell its gonna last a while.
Conclusion: Get this hopper if you're into speedball i guess for woodsball if you have a fast gun love this
hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint_Baller33 Monday, December 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revolution-v.v not even close (but a great value loader)
VL Eggy 2-more capacity(was bored) but slower
Marker Setup: 05 Superstock
Trinity CFN
NDZ on/off
Sly Barrel Kit

Spyder VS2
Trinity FB
CP reg
PMR asa
Redz Pepperstick
Shocktech Bolt
Tadao Board
Dye UL
Strengths: Fast,reliable,eyes,nice shell,upgradability
Weaknesses: Kinda Heavy,expensive comared to Reloader B's
Review: This hopper to start off has put me through some headaches here and there. I can't lie about that. Sometimes this hopper just wouldn't work and I'd try not to toss it aside on the field. But the truth is this loader is my favorite loader of all time. I've havent used the Pulses or the Dye Rotors or the Pinokios so I cant say this is the best loader out there.(I know it isnt) But this loader is amazing in its own right.

Weight-Yes this loader is heavier than most loaders but the weight is balanced
Speed-Stock board is sufficient but if your like me and you like a little bit faster feed rate than what your shooting then there are countless boards you can get for the Halo (V35,Cheetah,Hater,etc.)
Shell Design & Strength- This design allows for a good many paintballs (170-180) but also improves the design of this loader. The strength of this hopper allows to be hit with paintballs without the risk of cracking or whatnot. Also survives great abuse (if you saw the fall I took and how the loader landed you'd be amazed at how it was in one peice.)
Internals (Eyes,Raceway,drive cone,harness' etc.)- The stock internals and guts of this loader is well made. There should be no reason you should need to replace internals anytime soon if ever.
Upgradeability- Boards,Shells,Drive Cones, Lids, Speedfeeds, Magna Clutch, list goes on and on...
Reliability- In normal weather (35 degrees+) this hopper is amazing and is very consistant. When it gets colder it starts to malfunction but is usually a problem with all loaders.
Disassembly & Assembly- Doesn't take too much time and is kinda straight forward when you look at it.
Price-A little high compared to Reloader B's and B2's now but its a fair price for a wonderful loader.
Why should I get this loader over others? See Conclusion below
Conclusion: Yes. If you are looking at a loader that will keep up with you and allow you to customize your loader into what you will (function or looks) and your looking into force-fed loaders then this loader is an excellent choice. If you decide to buy one(I suggest using one first before you buy (just like all paintball gear).)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jake644 Friday, December 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: ion with halo b hopper tippmann 98 custom with 16 inch barrow co2
Strengths: Fast
Iooks
Weaknesses: weight
On off button
Doesn't work good with reballs
Review: This hopper is the best i have had it for about 6 months and i love it it is fast looks good all The players i play with ask to use for a game all the time. but the it is a little heavy but not Too bad but some paint will jam in it but not bad most paint will work. but reball if they are Not clean they will jam. it get so old when me and my friends r playing and it jams. you Have to tern off the hopper and turn it back on every time it jams it get old some times
Conclusion: If u got the money go get one right now it is my most praised position go and buy one
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Homan13PSU Sunday, July 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader VL200
Empire ReLoader
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Lucky Stage 5 (Dust Silver)
Smart Parts Q-Lock
NDZ Blade Roller Trigger
NDZ QEV
Halo w/ Rip Drive
TechT L6 v2
Tadao Raider Board w/ LED relocation mod
Hybrid Gunslinger Leather Grips
Killa Reaction Magnetic Detents
AKA 2Litre + Regulator
Element V2 Grip Frame (Dust Silver)
CP Mini On/Off ASA
Strengths: Extremely rugged build quality
Keeps up with anything
Weaknesses: 6 AA batteries opposed to 9 volts
Not as much capacity as a VL
Review: This review on this product is a little late in coming, I have owned my Halo for three years. I will preface this review by saying that I have just replaced this loader as half the feedneck area has broken off. I am not factoring this into the review as I have owned this loader for three years and in that time it has gotten A LOT of use out of it.

I purchased this loader when I bought my Impulse over three years ago. I will admit I was at first hesitant at picking up a loader like this as I had been using Viewloader hoppers since I began playing and was used to the look of them. Upon picking this up the first thing I noticed was how much more robust this loader felt compared to a Viewloader. Granted, I have never cracked or busted the shell on a VL, the feel of the body just made this loader feel that much more sturdy compared to the VL products. The only body issues I had with this loader were having to replace the battery cover door two years into owning it after repeated shots over those two years broke off part of the cover around the screw, in the grand scheme of things, no big deal. I did not have an aftermarket board such as a V35 so it tended to be tough on very brittle paint, I think I only had 3-4 instances where this happened.

My only gripes with this loader are its use of AA batteries as opposed to 9 volts, its paint capacity compared with VL loaders is somewhat smaller and if paint broke inside it cleaning was rather difficult.
Conclusion: Great product, has stood the test of time in terms of quality and performance. Definitely recommend this loader if you are using ANY type of electronic paintball marker. Get's a few MINOR dings for battery type, paint capacity and ease of cleaning.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

double agent Monday, June 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader EVLution 3
Ricochet KX2
Marker Setup: Proto PMR
UL trigger
NDZ feedneck clamp
Proto Aluminum back cap
Strengths: Rip drive is nice to have when the eyes get dirty. And they will.
Weaknesses: Eyes get dirty alot, making the hopper useless
Review: I bought the Halo B for my PMR, for scenario ball use. I run on semi-auto, so I didn't necessarily need the speed, but I wanted the reliability of the Halo's unique ball staging system (much better than the agitator type). The first time I took it out, it stopped working and the lights flashed red/green. I looked at the useless owners manual, but it didn't say anything about the lights flashing red/green. I didn't know what was wrong, but someone who knows halos took it apart and cleaned the eyes. Good as new.

Until I played with it again. Another ball broke, eyes dirty, hopper useless. I have to take the whole damn thing apart of clean it! Cleaned it, works like new. Next time I played, eyes dirty, useless hopper. Come on! I use Draxxus Silver, so the paint isn't crap. This has gone on for months now. When it works, it works great (I mean, besides being a complete pig with the 6 AA batteries set-up).

Conclusion: Bottom line, I am selling this to try the Reloader B with its sound activated feeder. We'll see if that works better. Halo has a good reputation, so am surprised that my experience with this hopper has been so dissatisfactory. I give it an 8. Halo, think about sealed eyes, ala Dye Matrix.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media