paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
RLSh(((0)))cker Thursday, June 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
vlocity,
empire magna.
Marker Setup: RL Nxt
RL virtue
CP on/off
full freak kit
halo v35
crossfire 68/45
mini-backup
ndz bolt
ndz spring kit
virtue
full freak kit
Strengths: Speed (with v35).
Weaknesses: Weight.
Review: This is a very good hopper, it is definitely fast enough for any gun and is an enjoyable hopper. The v35 is an extra that was ten bucks more if you buy it with it and i highly suggest you do get this upgrade. The only downside is the weight it is fairly backheavy and with my mini is a major factor because its so light, but if you have something like a shocker it is fine.
edit:i played with it a few more times and every time so far i have had to change the batteries at least once a day.
Conclusion: You wont be dissapointed with this product. after playing with it some more i dont suggest this hopper the victory board is terrible if you are getting a halo get a regular one.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 23rd, 2008 at 9:45 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

victoralphac. Sunday, June 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Evolution 2
Marker Setup: I have a black/red epiphany with virtue board, virtue eyes, smart parts q-lock feedneck, smart parts s-rail, smart parts freak back/all american tip.
Strengths: Perfect loader design
Weaknesses: Eyes cant pick up too dark paint shells, batterys
Review: I bought this hopper after a year of use with my Evol 2. Mine has the Rip Drive and Victory 35 board pre installed and works like a dream. Easy to program, take apart and has several aftermarket upgrades avaliable. Magnetic lid makes reloading that much faster and easier, nice small profile shell, feeds very fast and consistantly. Only issue i've encountered is that some paintball shells that are on the darker side color wise can't be picked up by the loaders eyes and will flash a jammed signal when it trys to feed and gets on no where. Otherwise good loader.
Conclusion: Nicely priced and customizable, get it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Padrino Sunday, May 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg 2 with z board(nowhere close)
Marker Setup: 05 Alien Interceptor Blk to gold fade
CP ASA direct mount
Redz Stickz kit
Halo B w/RIP Drive and V35 board
Crossfire 68/3K steel tank
Strengths: Durable
sleek
Fast feeding
easy to use controls

Weaknesses: Kinda loud when you run out of paint.
Review: After sometime got a great deal on this hopper. I also bought the dogg bon battery pack, which i recommend to anyone who buys a HALO. So i played with the HALo and it never let me down. I never had a jam, so i was unable to use the rip drive but im sure it would not have failed me. With the dogg bone i never experience any power downs, so it was like a fresh battery all the time. The hopper took some hits due to my noob like skills behind the bunkers. Never once was the HALO affected. Even slide into a wood bunker and still the HALo kept up.
Conclusion: I would recommend this loader to anyone who needs a true force feed hopper. While the market is flooded with force feed hopper the Halo seem to just still remain the norm. There are a pleothora of accessories you can get for this hopper to make it faster, but honestly it was plenty fast for me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blitz5 Friday, May 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shi**y gravity feed or paddle hoppers
(seen in action never used)
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5
X-chamber
car stock
x-7 hopper
freak/freak juniour
tacamo ak-47 sight rail
nc star red dot sight
howitzer bolt


Smart parts epiphany
halo v35 half n half pink shell russian legion back plate
pure energy 45cu 3000psi air tank
Strengths: Fast, very fast
sexy looks
pimpable
Weaknesses: Pimping process
capacity batteries
Review: So after buying an epiphany (my first speedball gun i was really pi**ed id have to save up a lot to buy a good hopper and air tank
low and behold christmas morning comes around and after telling my parents not to worry that id buy my own tank and hopper i was graced with a halo v35 under the christmas tree (undoubtlably the best present ever especially cause i didnt have to wait two paychecks for the $150 it cost)
so the first time i used all my new gear together everything ran very smoothly. i tested the halo out and without a gun it could empty the full 180 capacity in a matter of seconds on the highest setting and only a little slower on the lowest. it fits great onto my epiphany and works great.
looks
the halo is sleek and comes in a sh**load of good colours not to mention the fact that theres also a boatload of dif coloured shells u can buy and combine for all sorts of nice colour combos. theryes also awsome backplates with tons of stuff on them like chucknoris jokes or team logos.my halo is currently half balck half pink with a russian legion backplate and its f***in nuts however assemblying everything is a little difficult as i mention at the bottom
capacity
the halo holds a decent 180 balls. its the perfect size and there ore im mostly happy with the capacity though you can run out of paint in no time which is a double edged sword and which also brings me to the most important catagory...
speed
this thing is crazy fast. its got like 6 mods ranging form 17 bps to 35 which is just f***in nuts., i kep it on 17 because thats what the epiphany is capped at and i think it saves batteries
batterie life
the first time i used the epiphany i didnt really get a staggering # of hoppers out of it mostly because i was playing with it alot before when i first got it
however the next time i used it with the old batteries that gave up the first day and it worked the whole day unitll my bro took it out a couple days later and had to replace them (thanks rob and jamie froem pro adavtage belleville for givin him some u guys rock)
so i have no idea whats with the batteries im gonna have to see how the batters go over the summer and ill post my findings
customization
though u can make the halo anycolur u want and add back plates i had a couple porblems constructing mine. the pink shells i bought were forme empire and they didnt quite fit the v35 shels so i had to shave and cut some stuff. they dont fit quite together so i have to do somemore modifying which i dont mind but i hade trouble with the back plate i bought. the back ahad a clear rubber membrane which wouldnt fit properly into the slot for the back plate. while forcing it in (as i was gettin really pi**ed) i acidentally broke the button on the v35 board right off. i cut the rubber off and put the broken button inside the backplate where it would usually go and its stayed in place and ive had no toruble so far but i still dont liek havin my sh**broken
Conclusion: So far i have broken few balls in the hopper probably due to sh***y paint. the hopper looks sick feeds fast and has a good capacity as well as a tight profile i would recomend it to everyone and anyone cause ure gonna use it on everygun u have so buy this i give it a 9 becaue the only probalems ive had are with another compnaies ups and my own stupidity as well as batteris but i will change my ratting as i learn more about this problem
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

richboy96 Thursday, May 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo 2 ( not even close )
Evo 3 ( still not there )
reloader b ( about the same )
Marker Setup: Nexus Ego
hybrid contract killer grenade grips
14" dye boom stick
4500 psi dye throttle

Smart Parts Vibe
trinity roller trigger
16" impulse barrel

Spyder Pilot ACS
20 oz. co2
Strengths: Fast
reliable
strong body
rip drive
not very exspensive ( only $90, new )
Weaknesses: Lid ( mine broke off )
Sorta heavy
Review: Overall the halo b is great. Its very fast, it feeds in excess of 22 bps and keeps that rate. Still today it is a great hopper. I got a gret price at only $90 with a rip drive. This keeps up with my ego.( i can only shoot 18 bps ) I never skip a shot and is much better then the evo 2 and 3. This hopper is still one of the best on the market and keeps up with all the players on my team.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this hopper to anyone from the new woodsballer to tthe team speedball player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderMan1492 Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
68ci 4500psi pure energy tank
Halo B with rip drive


32 Degrees Icon Z
Rocking Trigger Frame
Steel Braided Hose
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Viewloader Revolution w/ X Board
Acs and Stock Bolts
20 oz Co2
32 Degrees Univerdal Drop Forward

Strengths: Extremely fast
Extremely consistant
Easy to use
Rip drive is awesome
Capacity
Weaknesses: Battery door a little hard to put back on when batteries are installed
Review: Wow! The Halo B with rip drive is absolutely amazing. Consistant, fast, good capacity and reliable. Definitely the best loader on the marker today, especially being classified as a force feed. Has the ability to keep up with any marker on the market today as well. Basically its the greatest investment i've ever decided to make!
Conclusion: Find it, Buy it, Load it, and be amazed before your very eyes.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iMunchpaint Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. First force-feed loader
Marker Setup: All stock Mini
Halo V35 w/ rip drive
48/3000 tank
Strengths: Good feed rate (17-35bps).
Nice design and shape.
Magnetic locking lid.
Weaknesses: Read review.
Review: This is a great loader.It can easily keep up with my Mini. The first halo I bought had a completely defective board and only fed about 5 balls then would not feedanymore balls. It just started flashing red and green on the LED above the power button. My local store happily replaced this free of charge and repeatedly appologized for it. The new Halo works like a dream. It feds the balls with no problems, and at a constant rate. I have only chopped 1 ball in the 700+ balls I've shot with it (I haven't had it that long).

The only other problem i have with this loader is its size in relation to my Invert Mini. The loader is as big as the gun without the barrel (This is just a mini specific comment)! I can deal with it though. The Mini was meant to be small, so the halo is just a normal sized loader.

The loader at full capacity with batteries in it is quite heavy. This shouldn't be a problem if you shoot at least 20 balls of the break or before you start to move about a lot.
Conclusion: The Halo V35 is a sick loader. It is what almost all force feed loaders are based on today, and it is quite popular. I am going to take 1 off the final mark and give the loader a 9 of 10 because of the defective loader i purchased (new) from my local store.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ionkiller Friday, February 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire reloader 2
Empire B2
VL revy
VL egg
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Pure Energy preset 68 cu 3000 psi Compressed air tank
Cp Razor drop
12 in Freak barrel w/ All american tip

Diablo Wrath
Halo B w/RIP Drive
Pure energy 48/3000 preset air tank
Strengths: Sturdy
Battery life
Speed
Rip drive
Weaknesses: Doesnt fit alot of feed necks unless its clamping
Heavy
Hard to clean
Review: This Loader does exactly what it was made to do. That is feed paint efficently and quickly. So far i havent have a problem with it except that i have had to sand it in order to fit it into some feednecks. I even had the battery die once and i still didnt have a problem (im loving myself for paying the $20 extra for rip drive). The only problems is that its pretty heavy for a hopper and its hard to clean if you do ever get a break inside the hopper.
Conclusion: I think it deserves a 9 out of 10 because the problems arent really that bad and the loader is amazing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-Viper- Wednesday, February 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity (eww), and my Cyclone
Marker Setup: + A-5, WAS board, Freak kit, Smoke R5, Gen-X reg., PB front bolt, ST drop and ASA, macro, QEV, Vortex, BT spring kit, polished internals, universal drop adapter
+ Model 98, E-Bolt, Musashi M6 board, Freak kit, V35 Ripped Halo, Gen-X reg., macro, milled down
+ ION, V35 Ripped Halo, ST drop and ASA, Freak kit, QEV, CP Rake trigger
:PROJECT: 98C, WAS solenoid etc, capacitor, Proto SLG board
+ Crossfire 68/45
+Ignition 68/45
+Bulldog 45/30
+ Smoke Dye i3's with smoke lenses
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: No one is probably gonna read this...

It's fast. It's heavy. It does what it needs to do well. I have a Smoke Halo B witr Rip drive and V35 board.

w00t...

-_-

I have it on my ION and 98C's. Don't hate on the 98's, they're my project markers. I got the ION in a cheap deal. Don't hate on it either.
Conclusion: Nice loader... probably why it's the best known loader out there... -_-
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 20th, 2008 at 3:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjlaxdog Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vlocity, Empire B2, Draxxus Pulse, and evlution 3 egg.
Marker Setup: Stock DM8, CP 68/45 tank, halo b with v35 and rip drive
Strengths: Fast
Light
Fairly easy to clean
Weaknesses: Somewhat inconsistant
Jams somewhat easily, but thats what the rip drive is for. :-P
Review: It is a good hopper. I like it better than all of the other hoppers i've used. It is fast and light. It can be used with an adaptor to an 9v battery hich can be helpful if it runs out of battery. Not too expensive. All and all it is a good hopper. I have yet to find a hopper that i love though.
Conclusion: I would buy it. It is one of the best on the market.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media