paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit / Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit / Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit

Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Freak kit with stainless steel inserts
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
BigGTheTree Thursday, February 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
no kits just single barrels like the Kaner, and stock
Marker Setup: Classic Intimidatior
WGP 70 ci. 4500 psi HPA Tank
LPR Conversion
Smart Parts Total Freak Kit
CP Flame Drop forward
WGP Black Magic Reg.
CiP Full Force II Bolt
S.O.B. Circuit Board
Clear Egg II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that is consistant in size and roundness
Strengths: 1. Eight different inserts
2. Stainless steel
3. Ability to swap back/front size
Weaknesses: 1. Price
2. Semi-loose insert grip (not as bad as some make it sound)
Review: Although this is my first barrel kit, I have used quite a few different barrels. The inserts are made of stainless steel which are honed to higher tolerances than the aluminum inserts and are far less likely to bend or wear down over time.. This means better accuracy and distance. This kit has surpassed my thought of how it would perform, no thanks to my friend who hates Smart Part's guts. When i first received this kit i was amazed buy the convenient carrying case and variety of the inserts. You never seem to realize the difference in size in the balls until you have different bores to compare them to. When i first time I used this barrel I was more than satisfied with the results.

Test was at about 50' with one month old PMI Big Balls. Fired 50 rounds though each barrel

WGP 14" Kaner barrel .689
After rounds fired almost all shots were within a 5 inch diameter circle with two shots that went off to about 7 inches. I had 1 break in the barrel. The tip of the barrel had begun to come unloose.

SP 14' AA barrel using the .689 insert
After rounds fired ALL but one shout was within a 2 inch circle with one that went off to 5 inches. I had no ball breaks. No separation of front and back., and no movement of the insert that i could tell
Conclusion: Overall think that in the long run the extra money that i had to spend to buy this kit. I have heard that the inserts can move around but i haven't witnessed that happening yet. If you have the money I would buy this kit. And if you do pay the extra money and get the stainless steel inserts, the investment will pay off over time. I would rate it a 9.5 because of the price and the fact that nothing is perfect but this is a close as it gets.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 26th, 2004 at 7:06 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

toothpastedog Saturday, January 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
the normal freak kit, boomsticks, jt barrels, javelins, other various lower end barrels
Marker Setup: Ratpulse, vision, OTB trigger frame blue, VFF (non functional), custom adrenaline thunder freak set, GP valve w/ lpr set-up (run through the asa), rip valve, 5" equalizer bolt, hsw derlin bolt pin, nd silk shot ram+ND mid wieght hammer, rat halo low rise, 88/4.5k pmi tank, aka sidewinder, and the most important part, the chrome on/off button. also halo b
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything as long as it hasn't been sitting in the sun for months
Strengths: accuracy, look, changablity
Weaknesses: price
Review: this is my favorite barrel as far as barrel kits go. the incerts are actually relitlively hard to break or bend, unlike the normal aluminum freak incerts. the ss incerts don't help accuracy as much as some would like you to think, but they do help. my favorite thing about the freak kit is that i can also buy a 14" and a 10" tip. good barrel if you plat tournements and need a barrel for many different types of paint.
Conclusion: as i said, only buy this if you are a "hardcore" (and i know all of you are) woodsball player, or you play tournements. now that dye is making different back widly avalible, that is another choice, but if you want great accuracy, and the most versitle barrel in the world, go with the freak. oh yeh, the reason to the ss freak kit is because the ss incerts don't bend or break and the accuracy is slightly improved.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mcbane Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No kits really
Marker Setup: Angel 4 Polished black, Halo B Smoke, Cp razor drop and cp on/off valve, SS Freak kit w/ freak front, BullDog 3 68/3500 =(
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANYTHING
Strengths: Accuracy is very very nice, the inserts dont bend,
Weaknesses: If you dont have the right insert you chop of course.
Review: Ok one word this thing rules. The inserts dont bend or break at all. I was firing to test accuracy no joke it was a straight line of paint. Comes in a case, big plus over the pipe. What more can you ask for? Incredible accuracy, looks really nice, inserts wont bend or break, need I say more? If you want the ss freak kit MAKE SURE you order the Freak front and not the all american front. Freak front is way better. Save yourself the grief pay 15 dollars more and get the ss freak kit, its just WAY better.
Conclusion: Buy it if you have the money its a HUGE improvement to stock barrels. Go out and buy it, and see your kill count go way up!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

vbpaintball2 Friday, August 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye ultralite
scepter
empire twister
empire revolver
stiffi
aluminum freak kit
Marker Setup: black 06 smart parts shocker
stainless steel back with 14 inch all american tip, and stainless steel insert kit
dynasty m6 board
ton ton frame
fbm wave delrin trigger
hybrid ball detents
new designs feedneck
smart parts dovetail bottom line
smart parts s-rail
cp reg
hybrid Tyler Michaud bolt guide
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any thing consistent, or you'll break paint
Strengths: Removes some kick
looks good
accurate
strong
Weaknesses: Heavy
doesn't shoot through breaks very well
Review: I've used tons of barrels and this is the best so far, it's insanely accurate, takes kick out of the gun because it's a little on the heavy side, the inserts are alot stronger than the aluminum kit (some of mine were dented), and it looks good

the only problem i've ever had with this barrel is that inconsistently shaped paint will break in it and this isn't the best barrel for shooting through breaks, so this is pretty much a high end paint only barrel
Conclusion: For a long time now i've been looking for the perfect barrel, and the ss freak comes damn close, it'e the best barrel i have ever used but it's not the perfect barrel i've been searching for, it's not perfect, but it is the best barrel i've ever used and it performs amazingly so it deserves a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Viperdds Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick
Tippman Flatline
32 Degrees
Marker Setup: A5 with E grip/N2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Can shoot any paint without barrel breaks
Weaknesses: none
Review: This is a great barrel. I've tried many different ones from other people and have bought a few but was always dissappointed. The Flatline is a total waste. It can't keep up with the speed of the EGrip. I used this last week and had no problems with breaking at any speed. Which could be why I won a 4 on 1 and got our team the win. The accuracy is good. The only time I had any breaks was when I mixed several kinds of paint and didn't use the biggest insert.
Conclusion: I finally found a barrel I can use with any paint, anytime. Best purchase you can make.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Be0da0o Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, too many other to list
Marker Setup: New 04 impulse vision
Freak(stainless steel inserts)
evo w/ z board
shocktech bolt
On the break Frame
Psycho drop forward
Lpr
cricket board
tapeworm
91/45 Dye Compressed air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: no bends or breaks
Weaknesses: dont put in the wrong insert
Review: these ss inserts are great! S M A R T P A R T S has overdone themselves on this one. there are no bends, breaks, or any ware from the 3 monthes i'v been using them. only one break when i was trying them in my cocker, but i guess it isnt fine tuned enough, it wasn't the inserts. When using my impulse vision, no chops anytime.
Conclusion: great product. If u cant get the ss back, its ok, the inserts are way worth the extra money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WiccanBaller Saturday, June 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock angel, stock ion, teardrop, j&j cereamic, and phat system. I kind of liked the phat system that i use to have a little bit more than my freak...but just read the review.
Marker Setup: angel a4 fly with SS freak system, 04 macdev conguest, 4.0 software and force fly warranty.
Recommended
Paintballs:
i dont really recommend low end paint during cold weather because they seem to get chopped up inside the barrel. Anything else seems to work though.
Strengths: Reasonably accurate, cost efficient in the long run.
Weaknesses: Initially, very expensive, and you only need like 3 or 4 inserts.
Review: Well, i got a used ss freak when i got my angel 6 months ago. I sort of have mixed feelings about this system. First off, to address why i said i liked my phat system more. I had a phat system for my old spider and it worked great. It was only three backs a front and cost about $130. It was very accurte and very pretty. The smooth bore really helped with shooting diffferent paint in different weather. The only thing about it was that buying a new gun required buying a new kit, which blows. That is where the freak comes in strong. Because it uses inserts i can use it on both my ion and angel just by simply changing backs. Another funny thing is that it seems to work better with my impulse and ion than it does with my angel, but i might just be crazy. Accuracy is okay. I wasn't that impressed by it. I think that the stainless steel finish isn't as smooth as your ceramic and aluminum barrels, but barrels can only be so accurate anyway. Just look at russian legion, their probably one of the, if not the best teams out there and they use the stock barrels on their timmies. Now, the negative aspects of this system...This kit costs way too much. Especialy since you only need like 3 or 4 of the inserts. The other issue is that it doesn't handle very well in cold weather. I think that steal tends to shrink when it gets cold so that might explain some of it. I've just noticed that when i use the kit in cold weather with medium to low grade paint, i get a lot of barrel breaks. When i used the stock barrel during the winter, I didn'thave that problem.
Conclusion: I don't recommend the full kit, just find a used freak back and front off ebay or wherever and then get a couple of inserts where you can find them. I mostly stick with 691 and occasionaly ill use my 693. I think those are the only inserts i have ever used in that system.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintball44 Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
evil pipe
Marker Setup: 04 vertical feed autococker
3DS LiteStick Bolt
Black Magic Reg
Shocktech Hollow Point 3way
Shocktech Ram
Apache Hopper
Freak SS kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
any xcpt brass eagle
Strengths: VERY accurate
8 incerts
Cool Colors
Shoots through breaks well
Weaknesses: None!!!!
Review: I used this barrel with alot of differnt paint. It is so accurate. There is no weekness to this barrel it is the best barrel on the market. If you want the best buy this now! I love this barrel it is the most accurate barrel there is and the balls will not curve not even after 100 feet. The people that gave this barrel a bad rating dont know what they are talkin about
Conclusion: This is the best barrel buy it now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

KTaDD x 23 Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye UL
Stiffi
06' Progressive
Stock Ion Barrel
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Virtue Board
Clippard QEV
CP Shorty Reg
CP Sling Trigger
CP Direct Mount On/Off
TechT L6 Bolt
Hybrid Lady Grips
SP Q-Lock

14" Freak Kit w/ SS Inserts
Halo B w/ Rip
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. This kit has 8 inserts allowing you to get a perfect paint to bore match.
Strengths: Accuracy
Paint to Bore Match
Quietness
Looks
Inserts
Weaknesses: Price can be for some people but it is definitely worth it.
Review: I got this barrel kit upgrading from a '06 Progresive and all I can say is "Woah, Big Change". This kit drastically increased my accuracy. This easily is one of the best barrel kits/barrels out on the market today and can definitely compete with the Dye UltraLite, SLY and a Stiffi just to name a few. The Freak allows you to use any paint because of the 8 Inserts it comes with (Except Huge Swollen Paint). The ability to have a perfect paint to bore match is amazing, giving you ball on ball accuracy with the right gun. In my opinion the Freak made my gun more quiet. The looks are great. Gives you a chance to give your gun some style as well performance. I feel inserts are better than backs because you have a limited number of backs and with the Freak it gives you the same or better performance. Backs cost more then inserts do and I feel it is easier to change inserts in and out rather then having to change backs.

Get this Kit. Best kit for your money!
Conclusion: This is a great barrel for the price and will last you forever. Especially with the SS inserts. This will give you much better accuracy and a great paint to bore match.

Trust me! You won't be disappointed. 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shawnhu Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Pro-barrel kit
Marker Setup: FreeFlow Rhythm
Planet Eclipse E2
Smart Parts Freak Barrel System
Nexus Ram /w QEVs & Outkast Sledgehammer LPR
Custom Products Shorty Reg
Smart Parts S-Rail
Max-Flo Inline45 LP 68/45
ViewLoader eVLution II Z-Board

Smart Parts Ion
Smart Parts Freak Barrel System
CenterFlag 45/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that is consistent in size and shape
Strengths: Interchangeable fronts
Inserts allow for a cheaper kit
Weaknesses: Heavy compared to most barrels
No o-ring on autococker backs
Review: Pro's
This barrel system is probably one of the lowest cost out there that covers a wide range of ball sizes. The insert kit comes with 8 different sizes in the form of inserts. They range from .679 all the way to .695. The front's are interchangeable with the All-American also made by Smart Parts. Depending on what kind of game I play, I switch from a longer AA, to a shorter Freak front.

Con's
This barrel is quite heavy. It's nearly double the weight of my CP Pro 2-piece barrel. Even with the lighter aluminum back, it's still heavier than the CP by a good amount. The style for the front may look good, but the back needs some improvement. Without an o-ring by the threads where it screws onto the marker, the back usually comes loose, or gets stuck.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel system for the money. If weight and overall style isn't a big factor, then it's a great barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media