paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit / Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit / Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit

Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Freak kit with stainless steel inserts
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
ObExXs Friday, April 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomy, Odyssey Kit, Evil Pipe, Freak
Marker Setup: 2004 Strange Impulse
WAS Equalizer Board
CP Vert Reg
Strange LPR
Strange Bolt
New Designz Titanium Pin
New Designz Halo No Rise
New Designz Slik Shot Ram
New Designz RIP Valve
New Designz Detents
New Designz VA
Rat Hole SS Hammer
OTB Frame
05 DYE Mini-Drop
05 DYE on/off
Full Freak Stainless Steel Barrel Kit
Egg
3A 71/4.5k
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, Personally I Like PMI's or RPS
Strengths: No Bends, Accurate, 8 Inserts, Perfect Ball To Barrel Matching
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I got this kit for my Strange Impy, I've shot all kinds of paint through it. So far i havent had any problems. I've put all kinds of paint through it, no breaks. From an $80 case to a $40 case just match the insert correctly and your good to go.
Conclusion: A must have if you're wanting to improve your game. Would deffinately recommend to anyone with the money. A great investment. Awesome Kit
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a5flyr Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
regular freak inserts, ultralite, boomstick, jj ceramic, flatlines, kaner
Marker Setup: all my guns have a 14" stainless freak kit /w the stainless steel back and an all american front
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything! even field paint
Strengths: Accurate /w all american front
Never have bore problems again
Durable
Weaknesses: Hahahahaha
Review: FIRST, LET'S GET ONE THING STRAIGHT: THE BARREL DOESN'T MATTER AS MUCH AS THE PAINT-BARREL MATCH. THIS IS WHY THE FREAK OWNS EVERYTHING OUT THERE! When i first got my 03 shocker, it came with an all american barrel, which was ungodly accurate, except that soon my field purchased paint with a large bore size and my barrel would constantly break paint. It was then that i decided to buy a freak. I looked at what was available and i decided that nothing but the best was going on my gun. That's why i bought the total stainless steel kit with a stainless steel back. The freak is a three piece barrel, which mean its three parts are a back (what screws into the gun), a front (what screws into the back), and inserts (little tubes with different bore sizes). If your paint is very big, simply pop in a larger insert. If it is smaller, pop in a small insert. Never break paint again. I have never broken a ball since i put the freak on my gun. ALTHOUGH IT'S EXPENSIVE, REMEMBER ONE THING: THIS IS THE LAST BARREL YOU'LL EVER HAVE TO BUY... OR EVEN WANT TO. Also, it is incredibly sick how accurate this barrel is with an all american front.
Conclusion: Do not buy this product, I might stop winning
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rusnak167 Thursday, August 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Teardrop 12"
Bob Long Longshot (Stock Barrel)
Angel Infinity Barrel
Marker Setup: AIM Bodied Timmy
-Was 1.4
-Halo B
-CF Dynaflow 68/4500
-SS Freak Kit
Dark Angel LCD
-All Stock
Shocker SFT w/ Vision
-15* ASA

Recommended
Paintballs:
Any should work as long as you match the paint to an insert
Strengths: Interchangable Barrel Lengths
Interchangable Bores
Does't Change Bore Size with temperature
Relatively Quite
Accurate
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: Well i woke up this morning and guess what i found on my front steps... a new SS freak kit hooray!! As i proceeded to happily air up and then went on to empty 2 hoppers on my neighbors fence. My backyard isnt that big so for longer shots i had to back into my house and through the patio door. The paint i was using was all deformed and well just looked like crap after a day in the trunk. It was diablo formula 13. All the balls came together in a tight grouping that i would guesstimate to be around a 3" diameter. Save for the few balls that flew wildly(mustve been those egg shaped ones). I havent had time to try out the different inserts as just about every field up here uses the same paint(Diablo Formula 13).
Conclusion: So far im satisfied with the SS Freak Kit. I would recommend it if you have the money to spare or live in canada where the temperatures can change quickly and vary quite a bit.
When the temperatures change the aluminum inserts expand or contract changing bore sizes, but this doesnt happen to the SS inserts.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patriarch Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT two piece, tear drop (Testing the hammerhead barrel over the next year)
Marker Setup: Black Dust Angel Speed, Cradle with On/Off, CP locking feedneck, SS Freak Kit with AA Tip, Killer Gripz sightrail/pull knob/snatch grip/back plate, A4 board, 91/45 bulldog tank, Smoke Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any except really cheap, only had problems with Zap rec series paintballs.
Strengths: Stainless steel, amazing accuracy (best I've tried so far), great selection of bore sizes.
Weaknesses: Price, extra weight if using the stainless steel back.
Review: I've experienced some amazing feats of accuracy with this system in tournament play managing to hit players with a small burst (the entire string of balls hit) from almost clear across the field with only the top part of their hopper showing. I was amazed at this and also got a warning from a ref for overshooting. Though I think it must have been obvious it wasn't on purpose considering the how far away I was. Interestingly enough the opponent I eliminated wasn't impressed by the accuracy of my shots.

Considering the problems I've heard other people have with smart parts barrels in general I can only say I either have the only well made production model they have ever made or only those people with problems mention anything about this system. I can easily shoot through a barrel break (I have three different threaded backs for my kit) and have only broke a ball twice in this barrel on my Angel but my sensi was shut off both times as well and the paint wasn't all that great.

I'm sure this isn't the greatest system out there, they all have their strengths and weaknesses and I'm not sure if you really need the stainless steel back unless you put your marker through hell on the field! This barrel system as great as it is won't stop me from trying others to compare them.

All in all I am impressed with this system and would recommend it without any problems with one exception. I would suggest the AA tip not the Freak tip unless they have fixed the problems I have experienced with it. Specifically the Tear Drop porting tore up my squeege and rips off parts of my swab making it hard to clean.
Conclusion: Its durable and accurate. Price sucks!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Green4028 Friday, July 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Americans
Marker Setup: SP Shocker Green!!!!!!-
Logic 90* Frame (custom annoed)
Pred 2 board 5.0 Code
HE Bolt
CCM No-Pro
NDZ Roller
Slim gas threw
Full SS Freak kit!
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything. With the bore master kit you can use the best from the worst. I use Draxxus.
Strengths: Bore Size Abilities, Accuracy, Style
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have had a freak for all of my paintball guns and am curently using one on my Shocker. It is the only Barrel I would buy. It is by far the most interchangable and accurate system out there. I can use any type of paint and have it match perfectly.
Conclusion: The best Barrel Ever!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sparten118 Friday, June 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye ultalight, Boomstick TI
Marker Setup: DM4, EVIL Scion 68, Qloader. Freak
Recommended
Paintballs:
team colors, evil, high grade ones
Strengths: Accurate, quite, looks nice
Weaknesses: Balls can get stuck in insert,bore sizes are small
Review: You really need good paint with this, if they have dimples they have problems. The inserts loike to have perfectly round balls, if the balls are to big I have them get stuck in the insert and the they will either break or have three shoot out about 2 feet. The look pretty sweet and are really accurate. Every shot looks the same so it is easy to get used to. they dont go to far (for me at least) and are expensive. Its almost worth it. I like the ultralight myself but these arn't bad. I have them for the angel and autococker threads.
Conclusion: I like it, I like the ultralight's better in my opinion, try it out before you buy it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

isaacs18 Sunday, August 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak with Al inserts and AA front
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Tech L7 Bolt
Deadlywind Fibur barrel with SS Freak inserts
360 QEV
Fully Upped Empire B2
Scenario Dreams T-board
Function rail
Proto On/Off
Custom Grips

CCI Phantom
Dye Stickies
Acid green anno
Matching L-stock
Matching trigger shoe
Barrel bored for SS Freak inserts
Spyder feedneck with holes for OC
15 round feedtube for SC
Back mounted 13cui 3000psi Air tank
Matching Ghost ring
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, its a barrel kit. Expensive is alaways better tho.
Strengths: Great honing
Sized correctly
Durable
Weaknesses: Heavy
Expensive
Review: I use the SS inserts inside my DW Fibur barrel and they are soooo nice. THey won't break if you drop them, are actually sized correctly, and have really good honing so are more accurate than the Al freaks. Defenitly get these over the Al ones. You won't regret it.
Conclusion: Get them with a DW Fibur barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cranky Yankee Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None like it
Marker Setup: Schrager Brothers Factor X2 (stock and upgraded)
Schrager Brothers Shadow (stock and upgraded)
Tippman 98 custom, Response trigger, expansion chamber, velocity adjuster, rocket cock and powerfeed
Freak Barrel (Spider thread and Tippman 98 adapter) All diameters in stainless
RADARchron chronograph
Pure Energy 3000 PSI-72 Cubic Inch Steel air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any because the system allows you to match ball to bore
Strengths: Wide variety of inserts, adapters and end pieces to adjust to play conditions.
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I have tried and failed to find barrels to meet all paint diameters.
I had (5) barrels from different manufacturers with me while playing.

I could, most often size the balls and use one of the barrels.

Some time older paint was available and was larger than what I had for bore size.

This means keeping a huge stock of barrels in different diameters and lengths to meet available paint diameters and play conditions (winter, summer, etc...).

I play at fields that require the paint be purchased onsite. They often get different paint weekly which means also varied paint diameters.

I played at my field and purchased Marbalizers. I sized the balls and found them to run very small in diameter (.684) My normal barrels are .691.

The Freak system allowed me to find the best insert and match the paint.

The resultant match was perfect. Long distance accuracy due to ball bore match.
My teammate used the same balls with standard barrel and his shots were all over the place.

I can range from (.682 to .697) in size and still maintain effective ball bore matching by simply swapping out inserts. I can also change from my Tippman 98 to my Schrager Brothers Shadow (Spider thread adapter) by changing base components. Back into the game in minutes.

Conclusion: The Freak System allows you to match ball diameter to bore.
You can't get much more accuracy from a round paintball.
Using this and an High pressure air tank instead of CO2 will also improve overall results.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

odawg315 Sunday, July 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire kits, alllooottt of different barrels
Marker Setup: angel g7 fly, freak with stainless incerts
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Adjust to any paint, get a new gun sell your back buy a new one
Weaknesses: Takes at least 15 minutes to figure out what insert to use
Review: I here the inserts bend if you sit on them or step on them.I dont do this, they work perfect when you put them in the barrel and shoot. some people say they dont shoot through breaks, I havnt had this problem. I used to use a an aluminum freak kit then I left paintball for a while and now there are so many kits out there and everyone bash's the smart parts kit, why??? Cuz it was the first one out so all else is compared to it. You probably will never use 3 of the inserts, who cares Id rather have them instead of not. the fact that you can buy different lenghts is awsome, and when you buy a new gun just buy a new back, with the dye or any others your screwed. If you use a decent paint its easy to match to an insert, if you use crappy paint you shouldnt be looking to buy an expensive barrel kit, save your money and shoot better paint!!! I know all paint isnt perfect but it should atleast be round!!
Conclusion: Maybe Im old school, but playing on and off for 17yrs now I have always found smartparts to be either the best or on par with the best and I still feel this is true. There are a ton of dye loyalists and evil lovers but alot of these people never owned anything else, my advice is if you get the chance to borrow a kit from someone do it and youll find this kit on par with the best. after all smartparts set the standard yrs ago when making the freak kit. nothing is 100% perfect but this is close as far as barrels go, i only wish a stainless back was available for my g7 fly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rocker33 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
evil pipe
freak alum.
cp classic 14inch
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ion-
halo b,
tech T L6 bolt ,
Virtue green eyes,
Virtue QEV,
Virtue board,
Freak ss back,
aa front,
ss inserts,
cp slingblade trigger,
cp shorty reg,
freak grips,
max flow,
Recommended
Paintballs:
High grade
Strengths: Changable bore size
STAINLESS STEAL
Weaknesses: Price
Big carring case
All same boring color
Review: STAINLESS STEAL people listen DO NOT GET ALUMINUM FREAK INSERTS. ss will last so much longer, are less likly to bend or come out of shape. If u ever drop an aluminum insert it WILL come out of shape, these things are designed to be incredible accuarte in bore size. if u drop it it will lose its exact shape. ss will not, much more durable. ALSO ss provides better flow for the paintballs. it is smoother causeing less friction and all accruecy. the alonly thing i was bummed about was that they were all silver. if ur a matching FREAK (ha) then get 1 aluminum insert to match ur gun. the ss is all preformence and is one of the best. Freak is a symbol of u got a lot of money and ur gun will own.
i recommend to find out what size paint u will use at the feild so u will not have to bring all of ur inserts. just incase sumone wants to steal ur shinnner ss inserts which would suck!
Conclusion: spend the extra 25 dollars and get the ss IT IS WORTH IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media