paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator

Bob Long Alias Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Alias Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Alias Intimidator
[ View Photos (54) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 132
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Bob Long Alias Intimidator - Features: Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge, Bob Long 2K4 Board. LIFETIME LABOR WARRANTY
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Alias Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
fox5100 Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months74 of 78 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker,Shocker,Toxic Matrix
Marker Setup: All stock with a unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable Ram Cap not required at all.
Strengths: Accurate
Efficient
Easy maintenance
Consistent
Weaknesses: Horrible Manual
Barbs
Edit:(06/15/05) New Manual on www.pbnation.com
Review: Accuracy: The accuracy is outstanding, i was easly playing hopper ball because it didn't take alot of paint to get people out but that isnt fun. When i played in my first tourney ,with the marker, i was easly putting ball on ball. The whole tourney i didn't chop once and had a barrel break because of a leak that formed down the barrel. Go down to maintenance.

Weight: When i first got this marker it is about the lightest gun you can buy. The shocker is lighter but the weight distribution in the alias is better which makes it feel lighter.

Maintenance: This gun is very easy to work on. Not including the regulators there are 3 parts that move. Most of the orings are just tank orings so that they are very easy to find. Problem is that out of box the marker had a couple of bad orings. The ram cap, hpr, and reg housing had bad orings. Just looked like a bad batch, i dont know what kind of problems this would have caused because before i gassed it up i took the marker apart. When i called blast they sent me new orings and i received them a week later. I had orings of this size so i didn't have to wait but its nice that blast sent me replacements. The only bad thing about this marker is the barbs, if your new to this type of marker buy new ones because unless you want to cut your hose, which i do, you may break the barbs. Once those hoses are on the barbs they arnt coming off without a lot of force. Just cut the hose so that you dont rip apart half your marker. Hoses is not expensive and you shouldn't have to do this unless you have to remove your sleeve. The reason why i had to remove my sleeve is because during the tourney a leak down the barrel formed. To get to the orings on the sleeve you must remove the sleeve. To do this you must remove the hoses and unscrew the barbs. Everything up to this point was easy to do, take your time if you have to do this. Those sleeve orings are 013 even though the manual says 015. One of the orings is liped but an 013 fits fine. Also the manual says put the sleeve back in through the back do not do this it will tear up those new orings and you will have to do this again. Put it back in through the front trust me. As for ram bumbers they have been removed so that you dont have to replace them anymore.

Adjustability: Anything you would like to adjust you can the marker feels and shoots great out of the box. No need to adjust anything but you can if you want.

Efficiency: This marker easliy gets from 1800+ per 68ci 4500 tank. Dosn't get any better. Out of the box the gun get +-15 fps. Don't be dissapointed, once you get a couple of cases through the marker you should get +-3fps. If your not relube the regs.

Kick: There is a slight kick that can only be felt when your dry fireing. The reason is that the marker only weights 1.4 pounds. Yes the matrix dosnt kick but the thing is a rock of course it isn't going to move. During play you do not feel it.

Speed: Everyone wants to know this questions, how fast is it? The marker is capable of shooting a max of 25 bps. It is very fast, it is really easily for you slow guys to shoot 12-13 balls a second consistently. The important thing is consistent. I have shot the shocker and matrix and you can shoot fast but its really hard to get a rope going. You have no problem with this marker doing that. Most people will shot around the 15-16 bps, try running through that if its a rope, you won't. For you people with the older timmies that say they shoot 20bps sorry but those boards are wrong by a lot. The frenzy board has the most accurate bps counter on the market.

Manual: As far as the manual its complete junk. If something dosn't seem right in the manual call blast they will help you out. If your guessing you may run the risk of damaging the marker. I think this is the reason why most newbies that get it say it is unreliable because the manual is horrible and they are just guessing on how to work on it. Dont do this if you dont want to call blast take it to your local pro shop.
Edit:(6/15/05) Bob Long sure take a long time to make a manual but its a good one. You can get the alias manual at www.pbnation.com in there intimidator section.

Edit:(02/01/05) I just found out that now blast offers a ramp upgrade for all 2k4 and up markers. Don't know as of yet if its stock but if you send your frenzy board and 40 bucks you will get 3 modes of fire including ramp. Now this marker kills the competition in every area.
Conclusion: This gun is a great marker and i wouldn't buy any other marker. I give it a 9 not because of the oring problems, its an oring no big deal, its because of the manual. I think this is either greed or laziness. Every manufacture has a manual for there markers and there is no reason they could not hire a person for a week to make a manual. It dosn't cost that much to go to your local copy shop and make a thousand copies. If you get this marker you will be very happy, if we get enough people calling blast with questions then maybe they will release a new manual.

Edit:(6/15/05) With the new manual it makes it alot easier to work on your timmy. Just wish it didn't take so long for them to make one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 15th, 2005 at 5:15 pm PST
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment

leons Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel 2005, other timmys, dm4 and 5, karmivor.
Marker Setup: silver with blue slive alias intimidator- 4500psi/71cu dye tank- unltraite barrel- halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe new barrel
Strengths: LIGHT *****
FAST *****
efficient ****
accurate ****
Easy maintenance ****
looks *****
Weaknesses: Manual
Review: when I got my alias I couldn't wait for trying it. first I made all the adjustments that I saw in the forum and it was very easy.
this is my first timmy and it was very easy to lubricate and all that staff.
when I checked the speed of the marker (fps) it variated very little.
i was kind of scared about chops, but in all the day I didn't chop one ball.
the accuracy with the stock barrel isn't the best, but it was ok.
about the speed, im a little slow with my fingers and was shooting easily 15-16 bps (the stock trigger is really good).
this gun is one of the lightest markers in the world and it rips.
with my tank of 71cu, that i could fill just to 2000psi, i was able to shoot about 1300 (maybe more) with out filling the tank again.
the manual is kind of useless, but in the forums of pbreview you can find all you need to set your gun and you have all the need that you could need.
one of the best things that this marker has is the looks. it just looks sweet and you can find it in many colors.
Conclusion: Of al the markers that this compares to, this is the best.
about other timmys this one is one of the lightest and one of the cheapest. the a-bomb and The ripper 2 are a couple of ounces lighter, but they are 200- 500 usd more expensive.
The only thing that variates from the alias is the looks, so i would definitely recommend this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 26th, 2005 at 8:41 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

knivez Monday, March 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other Bob Long Intimidators, Angels, Matrices, Vikings, Shockers, and more. Out of every high end gun I've had the chance to play with, and I've played with a lot, I prefer this gun by far.
Marker Setup: Bob Long Alias Intimidator
Cross fire, Inc. 68ci/4500psi LP tank
Empire 7 piece barrel kit
Odyssey Paintball HALO B
ECX Slasher Techna Trigger
CP Rail
CP On/Off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit. I went with the Empire 7 piece.
Fast hopper, such as the HALO B. It's extremely easy to shoot this gun fast. Trust me, you'll need one.
Paint. You're going to need a lot of it.. ;)
Strengths: *NO* on-gun upgrades needed, including adjustable ram caps. Read main Review Body for more.
Weaknesses: A lot of idiots own the Alias, and hurt its rep.
Review: Assuming you readers have had the chance to shoot Intimidators, and you already know their strenths, wait until you shoot this.

The new electronics (more efficient solenoid and new Frenzy LCD board (faster than WAS) with a built-in LCD, similar to Angels) will simply amaze you. The operation of the board is 10x simpler than the popular WAS boards of older Intimidators, and many Alias owners have found it to be much faster while still being field legal. The eye programming and logic is far more advanced than any other board out there.

The grip frame has been moved forward, and the feedneck has been moved backward. This makes the gun incredibly comfortable and balanced.

The body has been heavily milled, and not only looks nice (huge understatement), but also weighs under 2 pounds!

The LPR housing has been redesigned for maximum airflow, eliminating the problem older Intimidators had with the need for a volumizer.

The need to replace ram bumpers and buy adjustable ram caps have also been eliminated with the new ram and ram cap design.

The bolt has detent slots to lengthen the lives of your detents, and there are several o-rings to prevent blow back.

With a 68ci/4500psi LP Crossfire tank, I get +/- 1 over the chrono, and over 1900 usable shots!

*** NOTE *** This is not the 2k4 Intimidator. The 2k4 Intimidator is a 2k2 Intimidator that comes stock with a clamping feedneck, Species trigger, and the Frenzy board, similar to the board Alias.
Conclusion: You simply must try this gun to understand why I love it so much.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 1st, 2004 at 1:27 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

locostah Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4, 03 shocker, angel 4
Marker Setup: Alias Timmy
CP reg
DYE UL
Halo
70/45 HP crossfire stubby
unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, fast hopper (halo)
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, weight, looks, balance, and air efficiency.
Weaknesses: Sometimes bouncing can be a problem.
Review: ALIAS=OWNAGE

Basics-When I just got it, I couldnt wait to try it, but I was scared of geting disapointed because of stories by dm4 owners that Alias chop. Well, first time I shot my timmy, NO CHOPS.

-AIR EFFICIENCY-I noticed a HUGE improvement in air efficiency from my shocker (with HE) to the timmy. Off a 2000 fill I can get about a hopper and 4pods. On the chrono ive been getting +-4 with my cp reg.

-SPEED- VERY FAST GUN. This gun is absolutely the fastest gun ive ever had. Beats my teamates dm4, angel 4 fly. I have SLOW fingers and I can get a 16 bps constant.

-ACCURACY- Darts, lasers, ropes watever u wanna call it. Straight up kills people. I mean no gun is pinpoint accurate but this one comes close, when you have a matching bore size with the size of the ball you are shooting, then you are money. Very accurate gun.

-BALANCE/WEIGHT-This gun being so light is VERY balanced, my old shocker was light, but so unbalanced, I remmeber having the gun always tilting back when ripping with a halo. Well with the Alias this would never happen. I AM a gun whore, but I really like the feel of the Alias, so Im keeping this baby.

-LOOKS- Looks amaizing. By far the best looking gun out right now. Especially with all the color option, the black guns with red/blue sleeves are my favorite. So HOTT.
Conclusion: This gun is a def 10/10. If you are deciding between this gun and a dm4, a4 fly, or w/e. Get this. I did and I am VERY happy. This gun rips and its very accurate. If you guys want to start mowing some people, well then this is the gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

captaincodeblue Thursday, August 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ebladed cockers
Evil Omen
Couple angels (just tested)
Imps
Marker Setup: Blue black alias timmy
freak kit
Evil On/Off
Empire dove tail rail
68 45k pure energy
Die Rhino Tank cover
Gun itself is all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
this is my first timmy so i dont really kno, comes with great reg, guage, awesome bolt.....
Strengths: Super Fast, Super Effeicent, Super Quiet, NO kick, low pressure operation, looks
Weaknesses: Ball detents arent that great
Review: Wow...... This gun is my dream gun. Its got everything u could ever want and is DEBATIBLY the best gun out. Its got the new frenzy board and an lcd screen which is nice. The break beam eyes are flawless and work well. IT shoots much like a matrix lcd but its faster, and more effiecient, also in my opinion a little more accurate. Even when i had only 100 psi in my tank and the velocity slowed, it still shot within a 4 inch pattern!!! I was even able to stick my finger in the breech and shoot it cuz the pressure is so low on the bolt. the only prob with this gun is that sometimes it double feeds cuz the ball detents are so weak. this only happends if the gun is tipped down. Luckily, the gun is so good, it was able to push both balls out with not breaks at about a loss of only 25 fps.

Update: I got some new spider detents which are stiffer and longer, no more double feeding at all, gun still rips.
Conclusion: If u have the money try a dm4 then try this. Pick whichever one u like more. I liked this gun just cuz it felt better to shoot for me, the performance difference between them is too low to distinguish. Buy this gun, its basically perfect!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 30th, 2004 at 12:06 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kubags Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Magic autococker
2k2 angel lcd
2k3 smart parts shocker
2k2 timmy
dm4
proto matrix
Marker Setup: alias intimidator
evil driver 14inch barrel
bad habbitz unimount w/drop
stock bolt and soon to be orange bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
maybe new ram cap
if needed get a new bolt, but stock bolt is great
Strengths: Fast, reliable, easy to use and maintain, accurate, efficient, and very light
Weaknesses: Could come with new ram cap but other than that, nothing
Review: OUT OF THE BOX- this gun is awsome i aired it up and it shot ropes. it is accurate and fast. did not chop at all since i got it .

*Trigger is awsome. i would reccomend to adjust it when u get it. mine is so light and smooth.

*very easy to maintain just keep it lubed after about 2-3 cases of paint

* very light

*no flaws

*nice milling

*the lcd does everthing for you, when you get it everthing is set for you, unless you want it to bounce then keep the d-bounce at 2 and m-bounce at 0.

Conclusion: Fast, reliable, and light. awsome out of the box. only upgrades i reccomend is a new barrel, ram cap and maybe a bolt
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trons Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used quite a few high end markers.
Ego alot of them!
Dye DM6
Dye DM7
Ion
Proto PM6
Shocker NXT
Bob Long
Angel
Marker Setup: Well I use an 05 Alias
With a short Cp Regulator
Kila Eye covers with magnetic ball detents ( a really good upgrade!)
A Bob Long Gauge wich is better cause its smaller! =)
Stock barrel ( The stock barrel is not too bad!)
CP Rake trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well when this gun comes out of the box it rips pretty good! So the first thing that I changed is the Kial eye covers with magnetic ball detents. It saves you alot of frustrating days at the field breaking balls like all the time!
You could change the trigger to get a bitt more speed but with my stock one i could get up to 16 bps (but with the stock trigger you do need to adjust it well!) but now with the CP Rake trigger I get up to 19 bps.
Then the last thing would be a Barrel like a Dye Ultra Light. But not a must need upgrade.
Strengths: Well this gun strengths is
1. Maintenance:
Weaknesses: 1:
Cleaning is a little hard cause of all that nice mealing!
Review: Well this gun strengths is:

1. Maintenance:
After a good day you just pull out the bold and grease it!
2. The Board:
Well the board is 6 screws away and you have access to all the electronics of the marquer. Just remove the board and then you have access to the solenoid thingi! =)
3. Very consistent with shooting

Weakness:
1:
Cleaning is a little hard cause of all that nice mealing! Paint gets in all the little parts of the gun is kinda hard to clean!
2:
The ball dedents break and then you have a sucky day! They should not be made of rubber!
3.
When you buy this marquer it has no hoses so you need to get an ASA hoses so that is like an extra 60 bucks.
4.
The stock board doesnt have any fire settings but I dont mind cause i only play on semi
5.
If you dont like kind of noisy guns this one is. But not a weakness
6.
I guess then the price but you pay for quality!
Well this marker is great! Its made in America! Its a Bob Long!
What makes a good marker?
Well maintenance, consistency in shooting and the final thing is not a ball breaker! This marker has those three very important things and thats what makes a good gun!
In the beginning i only used to break balls but now I can play the the crapiest paint out there and I will never break a ball! I will give you all my settings on my marker!
Dwell: 110.0
Eye Mode: Force
BIP0. 5ms
Bolt: 15ms
Deb: 12.0
MBNCE: 02

I only like guns with open bolt so its a Bob Long or Ego for me but im not sure about the maintenance on the Ego
Put those settings on your marquer and see the difference! You will love your marker even more! But if its working well then dont put those on. It works very well for me.
Im getting my self the 06 Empire 2 cause its smaller lighter and has the 06 boards on them. But im still keeping the Alias.
There is nothing else to say! If you have the cash get your self this marquer.
Peace out homies.
Conclusion: My recommendation is get this marker if you want quality and a great gun!
Why? Because have fun on the field let her rip!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

uReBUNkered Tuesday, January 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra, Species Intimidator, couple autocockers
Marker Setup: Black to Grey Alias, CP Pro kit, CP Reg, Check-it on/off, crossfire 70ci tank, Egg2 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, CP swoop trigger or Techna
Strengths: Feels better in your hands than other Timmys,faster,less recoil
Weaknesses: I had one problem with the eyes, with an easy fix (will cover in review)
Review: This Gun is amazingly fast, the new "minor changes" made a major improvment in the way the gun shoots and feels in your hands. The grip is placed to have a perfect balance when the tank is on the gun, the feedneck is placed perfectly as well.

The only "problem" I had with the gun is the way the gun is designed the eye cover do not put enough pressure on the eyes so on some guns the eyes think there is a ball in the breech all the time. This can be fixed by putting a couple small pieces of electrical tape or tissue in the eye cover to put some pressure on the eyes.
Conclusion: Outstanding gun, I had a hard time believing that it would be better than the other Intimidators but it really is, It is extremely light and even the newest player can pick this gun up and rip on it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 30th, 2004 at 12:00 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Buffinator Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL66, 06 EGO, 05 EGO, 05 Speed, G7, 06 Empire, 04 lasoya, 05 dragon, DM5, DM6, XSV EGO, A-Bomb, 05 Shocker, NXT Shocker, PM5, PM6, Ion, Promaster, 2k5 timmy, Onyx.....etc.
Marker Setup: Alias - CP 2 piece, CK grips, CP on/off, CP rail, Techna Scythe 2, Hybrid LPR, CP ram cap
(Back up) Promaster - Cp Sling trigger, DW whisper barrel, SS freak inserts, CP on/off,
CP rail, Hybrid lady grips, CP reg

I also use the VL VLocity with an AA 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel i suppose...
Trigger (personal opinion)
pretty much nothing else
Strengths: Look below
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: PROS

SPEED!!! (have reached up to 18 easy on stock board and 21 when i was pumped, my friend can back me up)
Weight - Weighs slightly more than my friends NXT
Reliability - have used these before (borrowed) and me, nor my friends have ever had one break down when properly cared for
Report - Not loud at all with the CP barrel
Accuracy - with good paint my shots have been ball on ball

Ive played with my alias 2 or 3 times whole day and have only needed 1 air fill between beginning and end, It never gave out the whole day. This gun was put to the test in Christmas classic here in Houston with my teammate and brother Aaron who helped lead us to a victory in 2nd out of 18 teams, it shot true for him the whole day.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun to anyone who loves Timmy's and wants one at a slightly lower price than the newer Timmy's such as the Onyx and the 06 infamous and 06 empire.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 at 7:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

epaintballer Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
2004 Shocker SFT - the size & weight are almost identical, but the Alias is much faster and better balanced.
TES - this marker looks similar but in no way does it cycle nearly as fast...its pretty fast for a sear but not close to the Alias
Marker Setup: Alias (Black to Red)
Empire B (Black) or Halo B (Smoke)
Check It Sure Fit Feed Neck
Shocktech Mini Drop & On/Off (Black)
AKA 2 Liter Reg (This reg is amazingly great)
Violent Proucts LPR Cap
Violent Products LPR Piston
RMR LockDown adjustable ram cap
RMR RamRod
Crossfire 70/4500 Stubby or PE 45/4500
Empire Barrel Kit (7 Piece with 14" Black Tip and one additonal 12" Red Tip)
Dye Tank Cover(s)
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) Clamping Feed Neck - The stock feed neck is just harder to use than it should be.
2) Regulator - The stock Torpedo reg works just fine, but does not compare to the AKA 2 Liter.
3) Barrel Kit - The stock barrel is really pretty good, but not as versitile as the Empire, or any, barrel kit. NOTE: the Empire red barrel tip color matches my Alias red perfectly.
4) LPR Cap - The stock cap is too smooth to get a good grip to take it off if you need to. VP LPR Cap looks great and is easy to get off.
5) Grips - With the stock grips the LCD Screen window is so thick that it is almost more translucent vs transparent (ok maybe that's a bit extreme but you get the point). Hybrid makes a nice Alias grip.
6) Trigger - I think the trigger is ok, most don't though. I will be adding the Techna Trigger.
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Small
Fast....really fast
Easy to use
Efficient
Reliable
Weaknesses: Manual - absolutely worthless
Feed Neck - hard to use
Grip Screen Window - hard to see through
Review: The Alias, Empire and other 2005 Timmy markers are all pretty much the same, except for the milling. My specific Alias came packaged in the standard Intimidator box - the Alias looks really nice and is really well built. The Alias is really easy to work on. However, I have to say that the operating manual is basically worthless - its like buying a 2005 Ford Mustang and Ford supplying you with the 2000 Ford Mustang operating manual. The Alias does come ready to compete at tournament level (you of course need to add the obvious so it will shoot, etc.) and there are real good upgrades available now and more coming out soon.

The biggest difference for me is that the Alias has been more reliable whereby I can concentrate on playing without worry of when it will chop, or shoot down, or are the batteries getting drained too fast, or is the air efficiency bad and I'm running out of air, or did I lube every part of the gun that needs lubing until it is practically dripping to make sure that the bolt, valves & pistons, etc. work properly. I just want to get my marker ready to play (eyes are clean, barrel is clean, a drop of oil or a spot of lube) for the day and clean it up after the day is over if need be, or get it ready the next time I play. I can do this with the Alias.

And man does this thing rip! I'm slow and I can get 12bps with the stock settings, but a tech at our local PB Shop picked it up walked outside and got 17bps with no effort whatsoever....his comment - "Not bad, but you need to adjust that trigger and it will shoot faster".

Shot Total for Pure Energy 45/4500 = 1,008 shots (XBall Bronze & DBX) 285 (-+2) 70LPR
Shot Total for Crossfire 70/4500 = 1,506 shots (XBall Bronze) 285 (-+2) 70LPR

Trigger Update: I did not get the Techna Trigger because I heard others were coming out. I opted for the Critical Trigger - easy to install and really did increase my bps from 12 to 14/15.

Bottle Update: I started using a Crossfire Low Pressure 45/4500 and the low pressure (450 psi) has really made a difference in the shot being tighter. I don't have those random "weird" balls when walking the trigger. Recharge seems better/faster. Shot count is basically the same = 1,090 (White Box)

Barrel Update: The Empire kit works great, but since switching to the Low Pressure Crossfire, the shot is even better. I added a Dye 10" Boomstick for playing front and the shot is dead-on accurate like the 14" Empire when playing back. I've used White Box practice paint and it shoots great.

Lubrications: I tried Dow 33, Dow 55, Slick Honey, and Tri-Flow. I use the following combination and my Alias shoots faster longer:
1) Slick Honey on the Ram & Ram Orings - well coated
2) Slick Honey on the Bolt Orings - very light coating (this worked better than the Tri-Flow)
3) Slick Honey on the LPR Piston Oring - very light coating
4) Tri-Flow in the Regulator (AKA) - 2 drops periodically
5) Dow 55 on the Orings that seal - Adjustable Ram Cap & AKA Regulator
Conclusion: I think I'm like most people and started out playing paintball just for fun or as cheap as I could to see if it was something I even wanted to "get into". From there we all try and get our markers to shoot straighter (barrels), then better (reg, compressed air & bolts), then faster (triggers, springs & shims) and then it hits us - a little better marker will make it all better, and so on. Don't frustrate yourself any longer than needed, just go straight from "I just started playing paintball and really like it" to buying the Alias (or a higher brand/level marker).....you will not regret it! I would have saved lots of money doing it that way.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 13th, 2005 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media