paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator

Bob Long Alias Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Alias Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Alias Intimidator
[ View Photos (54) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 132
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Bob Long Alias Intimidator - Features: Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge, Bob Long 2K4 Board. LIFETIME LABOR WARRANTY
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Alias Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Mcbane Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 4- No comparison
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator Black To Red
CP Barrel Kit
Crossfire 68/4500 LP Tank
Empire Reloader B
CP Swoop Trigger
CP ASA
CP Regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable Ram Cap is a must
Barrel Kit or a good barrel, ultralight, stiffi, ect.
ASA (not really an upgrade, but it makes hopper hits substantially less.)
A good regulator like Cp
New Trigger
These upgrades are just to make sure you get the most out of your gun.
Strengths: Accurate
Low Maintenance
Fast
Very Light
Weaknesses: Maybe price, but you get what you pay for.
Manual is a little outdated
Review: Pros: The Alias never lets me down. Not to bash angels, but when I used my angel 4 I was spending more time on the sidelines cleaning my barrel and internals more then playing. Out of a case of marbs I chopped 3 times, I'm not really surprised because that was the first time I used my gun at the field. This gun can go faster than you can pull the trigger, and with the right loader you will be shooting strings of paint out of the gun. This gun is so light, I actually had a guy test out my gun with a full paint and tank. He claims its lighter than his shocker with full setup. This gun has never gone down on me, and so far have not had one problem with it.
The efficiency on it is great, I have not seen one gun out there that can beat it.
Its basically a point and shoot gun, you point at something you want to shoot and watch the paint fly straight at the target.
The Assassin Barrel that comes stock with this gun is very accurate. I've shot many barrels on my alias. The accuracy of the assassin barrel is just the same as the kits, ultralight, etc. The only difference really if you buy a kit for your timmy, is the paint selection, don't think you are gonna get any better accuracy.

Cons: I was a little frustrated at Bob for not upgrading his manuals. The only thing he gives you is a 2002 intimidator manual, stapled together with little black and white pictures of older intimidators. Some of the pictures I cant even make out. If you compare the manual with other guns that are 1000+, you will see that they spent time putting in huge detailed color pictures of the actual gun and it isn't cheaply stapled together. But keep in mind there are plenty of reliable sites out there with good detailed pictures of alias schematics, ect.


*Just a reminder to everyone reading this. Intimidators are obviously high end guns and require high end paint for it to work the way its supposed to. You will see a difference in performance if you use low grade paint. Its worth it to pay the extra 10 dollars to get good paint. Heck, the manual even tells you to use good paint.
Conclusion: If you are deciding between this and a matrix, I would reccomend this. If you have the money go out and buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 6th, 2005 at 8:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alias ripper Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
other timmys
Marker Setup: alias timmy carbon fiber tank,empire b checkk it,critical trigger,infamous board
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, may be a infamous board
Strengths: Light,fast,small,good trigger,looks good,never breaks,accuracy
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: great looks,fast,never breaks,even works in the rain,good trigger,Hot gun everyone wants one so easy to trade with i wouldn't never trade it best gun i ever shot best timmy i tried out of 2k2,storm,lasoya,empire,alien series.Best timmy no prblems with it.good sloid gun.
Conclusion: I would get this gun in a heartbeat best timmy,good price get this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 16th, 2005 at 4:51 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

leopard 80 Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel about the same only heavier, louder, but more accurate
Autococker slower cycle rate about the same accuracy and heavier
ion slower cycle rate less accurate maby a little heavier more chops
mini slower cycle rate a little more accurate, lighter
epiphany same as ion only alot heavier
Marker Setup: Bob Long Alias
stock
halo w/ rip drive
pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maby a new barrel depending on position see review
a fast hopper
Strengths: Fast, Light, Price, decent accuracy
Weaknesses: Not the best accuracy
Review: This is a great marker that can be found for a good price. My dad got one with some upgrades on eBay for $200 and it is as good as new. When I told my friend with an ion he about crapped himself wishing he would have got one instead of his ion. The gun is one of the fastest guns I have shot constantly people will get mad at me for shooting them and say I was ramping. The gun is very light too it is only a little heavier than the mini. I love the stock barrel it is easy to clean and does great with chops, but it is not the most accurate. If you are a back u would probably want a new barrel (I play snake and don't need a real accurate barrel) so you can capitalize on the other teams mistakes like an elbow sticking out or something like that (or you can do like some people and shoot so much paint you can't miss it). If you play a front you don't really need a new barrel because you are so close to the other team it is hard to miss
Conclusion: This is a really great gun and can be purchased for a great price if you look hard enough.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Timmyballer Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ground Zero Intimdator
Aced 2k3 Matrix
Marker Setup: Black to Blue Fade Alias Intimidator
68 4500 DynaFlow Tank
14" Empire Barrel Kit
Clear Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo and an Empire Barrel Kit
Strengths: Very Fast. Oh so Light. Small Profile.
Weaknesses: Price.
Review: I have had my Alias for about a month now and let me say this thing is the best gun ever. I have shot all other kinds of guns and this gun by far blows them all away. It has the speed of a Matrix, the accuracy of a cocker, and the weight of an 03 shocker. The first thing I noticed when I picked it up was how light it was. 1.7 pounds to be exact. Let me put it this way my gun with 68 4500 tank and halo weighs less than my friends storm with just tank. The body has been shortened and it is not as tall as the other Timmys. The grip frame has also been moved foward which balances the gun much better. As for firing, well let me put it this way, on my Matrix I used to be able to get 14 if I was lucky. On my Alias I can get 15 without even trying (no bounce). The range and accuracy are fenominal and with my empire barrel kit the pattern is out of control. It is still the real easy gun to breakdown just like all other Timmys and is still super reliable.
Conclusion: For people that say that the only thing different between Timmys is the milling, I have to say that they have never shot an Alias. This is not the cadillac of paintball guns its the Ferrari. This is all around the best gun ever made and I recomend it to anyone who has the dinero to get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jr300000d Thursday, June 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've tested most top-end guns around but the few comparable that come to mind are:
Nerve
Shocker
Various Electric Autocockers
Marker Setup: 2k3 cocker , freak, e2, nexus. IM DONE. for now on $ goes to actually playing instead of buying more and more upgrades!
Recommended
Upgrades:
none are necessary.
Strengths: Head-turner. Weight. Not having to worry about upgrades.
Weaknesses: Im not a fan of the trigger. The money aspect.
Review: I'm going to attempt a honest review without being flamed to severely, which apparently is going to be quite difficult due to the overpopulation of tippmann newbs that worship this gun because it cost a lot and some people with jerseys use it. As for this guns looks, IMO, the are top notch only competing with one other, that many other people think are hideous, the dye DM5. The stock barrel was satisfying. I'm not one of those "Freak or Nothing" people when it comes to barrels however you could improve it if you care to do so. I wasn't a huge fan of the trigger. Perhaps I'm only critical because I'm used to the snappy feel of me E2. I'm sure if you buy this gun you will get used to it and/or adjust it and come to love it (I was miserable with my E2's trigger until I personalized it and became used to it). This is a very speedy gun. I was able to walk in semi mode to 15bps (which is what i believe that mode was capped at) and the owner of the gun was shot 17bps (I am not sure which mode he was in). I'm sure we all know the major hangup of this gun. The outrageous price was enough to keep me from getting attached to this gun and IMO it should do the same to you. I was able to get my Autococker for a shade under $1000 and I believe the only thing the Alias has on my gun is weight. The Smart Parts Shocker with vision is only $800! Although I have had major mechanical issues with the Shocker it is still the better buy IMO. If you factor in the upgrades on the Shocker it would bring you in around $1000.
Conclusion: My final recommendation is to decide against buying this gun. The product is great but the price insane. Admit it, there should be a buy one get one free sale on these things.
BTW -the current going price i found was $1,094.50
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 30th, 2005 at 8:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kallen000 Sunday, February 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Assorted timmies
Strengths: Lighter, supposedly faster, looks tight
Weaknesses: Had no experience with eye issue but it was brought up by owner
Review: This marker is a sweet marker it really tells you that bob is thinking on ways to still improve on these awsome markers. If you buy this marker plase tell me your not going to be trying to hit people with one shot off in some woodsfield. The markers shoots like most other timmies and as fast as you can go is as fast as that baby will rip.
Well its nice but its a Timmie and the great thing about Timmies is that you can upgrade the boards and essantialy it is all looks. What you have here is a great marker but 33bps no actually I believe it is 25bps or so same as other Timmies but that is not the point. The point is that the Timmies out right now will rip just as hard as this Timmie and it is retailing at $1300. You can pick up an ironmen Timmie for $1200 or some of the other models at $999 or beyond that even $899 for the 2k2.
Conclusion: Bottom line is these markers kick ass and no matter which one you will buy they will rip. While this is a great marker and will make any owner happy it just dosnt step it up enough to justify its price. I have mad respect for all timmies but in my opinion this timmie picks up an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

MarkParris Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 50 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Matrix w/ preditor mod, and rocky cagononi signature edition angel ir3 w/ preditor II mod.
Marker Setup: Rocky Cagononi Signature Edition Angel Ir3 with Preditor II Mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
Alias Timmy
Cp Roller Trigger
45/45 tank
Frenzy Board
Strengths: Light
Speed
Accuarte
Weaknesses: Easy to break
High matiance
Low effeciancey
Review: I dont like the alias timmy, i think the milling is ugly, like all other timmys, and is very overated. All the timmy owners say that they get up to 30 bps on there timmys, But thats inpossible, bob long even said that it was prenumatically impossible for the timmy to get that high. Any Timmy. They are prenumatically capped at 22. They may go higher but it wolt be a full cycle.
Conclusion: Over Rated. Go with a matrix
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
27 Comments - Add Comment

Maizeballa17 Friday, December 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marq 7, Marq Rapper, ion
Marker Setup: Marq 7 rapper!!! stock with dye rotor and crossfire 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Fast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: Big thats about it
Review: Love this gun but i had to go with the Marq rapper because i play front ant its a little lighter and smaller then the alias timmy.. This gun is the funnest gun i have ever shot in my life.. Its easy to maintain very accurate fast. This gun rips just being stock.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you wouldnt mind it being big.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nick49 Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Tippmann A-5, Black Dragun, Autocockers, Bushmasters, and a Angel ir3
Marker Setup: i have a blue alias which has a freak barrel kit, 3d flame drop forward, a empire on/off valve, a intimidator mini gauge, a empire fuel 4500 tank low/high pressure, a silver empire reloader b hopper, a empire vegas grip, and a alias superfly bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The freak barrel kit which i bought for $100, the alias super fly bolt which was $60, and the empire on/off valve which was $60.
Strengths: This product is ultra lite
Weaknesses: The manual is horrible
Review: This is a amazing gun and it is perfect for any hardcore paintball players that can afford this gun. I reccomend anyone who buys it should get the alias superfly bolt. I think the barrel shoots too many stray balls to be trusted. So i reccomend you buy a stiffy, Freak, Empire 7 piece barrel kit, or a dye boomstick.
Conclusion: It will help anyone who wants a reliable gun that hasnt broken once on me or any of my friends then this is your gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pattawa Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Timmys
Freestyles
Marker Setup: SP ION
Strengths: A bob long
Price for the quality
Speed
Weight
Best Marker i ever shot!
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: I Was at my shop two days ago and i got to shoot some guns. this guy came out and let me shoot his alias which was really nice of him. It was the lightest marker i have ever held much lighter than proto matrix. It was so smooth and so fast. I want one so bad. The Stock trigger is the so nice the trigger pull is so small. THE NICEST MARKER FOR THE PRICE!!
Conclusion: If you have $1200 for a marker Go buy an alias
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 27th, 2005 at 6:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media