paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator

Bob Long Alias Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Alias Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Alias Intimidator
[ View Photos (54) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 132
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Bob Long Alias Intimidator - Features: Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge, Bob Long 2K4 Board. LIFETIME LABOR WARRANTY
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Alias Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
relyT Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Russian Legion - alias and RL are the same (all timmys)
Angel Speed 05 - yeah it's fast, but the Alias owns it in maintnance and efficiency
Eclipse Ego - fast, but Alias owns it
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator
68/4500 Dye Throttle
Freak Barrel (.689) insert
Egg II w/ Z board
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
-CP two piece, Dye, or Smart Parts
Strengths: Speed, comfortable, easy maintnance, efficiency
Weaknesses: Barrel, but stock is fine
Review: Awesome milling! It's incredibly light, and with the new Frenzy 116 board, it's extremely fast. Stock setting are perfect. Best gun i've ever shot or owned! I find it easy to manuver, and very comfortable to grip. The reg is closer to the trigger frame, very nice, a lot more comfortable. THE KEY IS COMFORT, then comes performance and all that other great stuff you look for in the PERFECT GUN.
Conclusion: Go buy one
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 17th, 2005 at 4:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Culptr Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Texas Storm
Dragon
A4 Fly
DM4
E-Class Orracle
Regular Cockers
other angels
Marker Setup: Blue to Black Alias Intimidator
Unimount
Halo B w/ V-35
Crossfire 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, im going to get an empire 4 piece barrel kit but the stock barrel was very accurate shooting menace.
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Efficent
LIGHT
Balanced
Did i metion fast???
Weaknesses: My LPR need to be adjusted
Trigger is garbage
Review: When i first got this gun home from my proshop i was eager to show it off to my buddys. However when i gassed it up the gauge on the reg only when up to like 10 psi, that was corrected with the adjustment of the LPR. After that i began to rip this gun like crazy. WOW this thing had to of gone at least 17 balls a second and it was on debounce 12!!! It is pretty danged accurate to. Also, all these people who say the adjustable ram cap needs to be replaced are crazy. This thing is to fast to do anything at all to. It beats out every gun ive ever used in speed. By the way. If anyone knows how to get this board on debounce 1 put it in a comment or IM on aol; my sn is Culptr202.
Conclusion: BUY IT NOW! This is the best marker ive ever used or even seen used in my life. Way to go Bob my hat is off to you!:)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 at 10:21 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbjunkie1220 Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impys
B2K's
other Timmys
Angels
Marker Setup: Black Alias Timmy with blue sleeves
Black CP Unimount
Clear Halo B Loader
Freak Barrel ( Coming soon before the next tourney season)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only thing I can think of is a new barrel and maybe a new reg if you really want to. I personally have no problem with the Torpedo reg and I plan on leaving it on there for as long as I own this gun
Strengths: 1)Fast
2)light
3)small
4)gas effcient
Weaknesses: Barrel isn't great
owners manul is not great
Review: Well I got tired of my Impy and I needed a new gun. I started looking around and I found the Alias Timmy which I fell in love with. I went to the local pro shop and tried this gun and I could no believe how small, light, and fast it was. This gun was perfect. It is gas effcient (I get around 1000+ shots from a 45/45 HPA tank) and it came with an LCD. It also comes with a good feedneck, good LPR and good regulater. The milling is awsome and helps to make it very light. The delrin bolt is very light and small and best of all it doesn't have to ever be lubed. This is one of the best high-end guns I have ever used. The only few problems I can think of with this gun. Maintence is a little bit of a pain but its not hard. The stock barrel is alright but nothing great and the owners manual is horrible.
Conclusion: If your looking for a great electro tourney gun definitly take a good hard look at the Alias. Its fast, small, gas effcient, light, comes with good guts and doesn't need any real uopgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlueTurboEGG Friday, April 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 AKA Viking with WAS board, eyes and switch, SCM, razor trigger -just as fast, but heavier, just as reliable, lower maintenance, better on air, accurate.
2k3 Vision Shocker w/ aluminum bolt- Not as fast, smaller profile, gas hog, questionable reliability, unique barrel threading, accurate, higher maintenance.
2k2 Eclipse Vision Impulse, NDZ internals, Shocktech LPR, I-Frame- Not as fast, heavier, higher profile, questionable eye logic, not quite as good on air, not as accurate, higher maintenance.
2k3 Shocktech SFL Worrbladed -Not as fast, not as efficient, questionable eye logic, smaller profile, just as light, accurate, high maintenance.
2k AKA Mini Merlin -Not as fast, almost as air efficient, heavier, accurate, higher maintenance.
Marker Setup: 2k4 Red/Black fade Alias Intimidator
Stock Torpedo reg
Hammerhead Barrel Kit
CP Rail
Kapp On/Off
Halo B
72/4500 Preset
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good barrel kit
And maybe the stock LPR gauge could be changed, it's accurate, but a little large and ugly.
Perhaps a trigger
Strengths: Excellent Anodizing
Light, tight
Cocker threads
Truly a multi-role marker Front or back
Weaknesses: Price
Board programming can be complicated to those new to electro's
Stock LPR Gauge
Review: Light, tight, and can be used by front or back players

Anodizing is thick, very hard to scratch, and highly polished,

Easy to use board programming, although the menu buttons are a little close for my tastes, all aspects of marker timing can be adjusted.

Trigger switch is nice and light, comparable to the WAS switches

Very well balanced compared to older Timmy's.

Fit and finish is top notch. Visually, this has to be one of the most awesome markers out there.

Will work with existing Timmy triggers (there have been some complaints about having to file to fit them) reports of the marker "chopping balls" are mostly unfounded because you do have to adjust your board timing especially the BIP (.5 will work for almost all hoppers out there) breaks in the barrel is just paint that is too large for the stock barrel.

There have been some proven problems with the LPR and the Torpedo Reg springs in that there are burrs or barbs hanging off the springs in which they can bind on the internal walls and cause inconsistencies, check these springs!. If you;re serious about buying this marker, I'm sure the Pro-Shop wouldn't mind gassing it up for you.
Conclusion: The cost of owning one is high, but so is the satisfaction of owning one. For the price of one Alias, surprisingly, it needs little in the way of modifications. It is nearly perfect out of the box.

The Alias is insanely fast without being overly complicated, heavy, or ugly, or have doubtful reliability. So long as you make sure it works from the shop, there are a few defective ones out there, but they are easily fixed.

I call this marker a 10 for sure. Every other marker I've ever owned has needed some sort mod or upgrade to work "perfectly reliable" the Alias literally needs nothing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 10th, 2004 at 5:06 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

1ofkind Friday, January 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder <--- hahaha
Marker Setup: This marker pimps itself, all anyones needs is a air intake source and hose setup.
Oh and maybe a fmb trigger or carbon fiber if you got the serrious cash.
Recommended
Upgrades:
PBkingdom timmy detents, there black rather then see threw and last forever rather than 1 case.
Strengths: Accurate
Faster than fast
no chopping
simple maintenance
Easy to turn on
Girls love it!
Weaknesses: It can have its time of the month... you can guess what that means.
Review: I remember looking at the box, opening the lid and gazing at a master piece. This marker looks so beautiful it leaves you feeling shocked and disbelieved.

Setting it up made me a little nervous because I didn't know it was so simple. All you have to do it get the lpr around 75psi and go chrono. Out of the box its about 12+/- fps.
The only problem I had was strange chopping. After readjusting the ram I was going threw solid pods and seeing solid streams of paint flying. BTW thats what I ment by its time of the month, its good to monitor the lpr gage, and where the bolt sits in the cocked position it will become offset after 2 cases (LPR gage will change -10 everytime you gas up the alias).
Conclusion: Can't wait to play paintball... and OMG get used to being asked to trade.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PcP Thursday, March 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Storm Timmy, 2k2 timmy, system X sonix, wgp worrlock, wgp black magic,2002 wdp angel, angel speed, shocker, 2002 dark angel, generation E matrix , Tes, and many many spyders or e spyder variations
Marker Setup: 2k4 alias intimidator, halo B, shocktech mini drop, and cross fire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrade your wallet cause you going to need it with the amount of paint this beast shoots. Get a Job
Strengths: tighter, faster
Weaknesses: cost, and how much paint it uses
Review: I have played with many guns but this by far blows them all away.
I first saw the gun up at world cup back in Oct. I figuerd I would give them a few months to work out the bugs.

picked it up about 5 days ago. this thing out of the box just rips no doubt about it.
lighter, faster, quiter, and above all more accurate.

this thing just RocKs !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!
better than the old timmys no matter what anybody says. I was debating on getting a Dm4 which I have tested and I realy am glad I picked this up instead.
Conclusion: if you got the cash dont delay get one today and start PimPen

scale of 1-10 this gets a 20
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Fire_Wall Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob long's Intmidators
Ego
Marker Setup: 07 PMR
Lapco SS barrel
PULSE loader
70/4500 CF tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Infamous Board
Strengths: Accuracy
Weight
Fast
Maintenance
Looks
Everything about it mostly
Weaknesses: Nothing I had never had a problem
Review: The Bob Long Alias is an awesome gun. Its fast and accurate. Not to mension the looks. This gun is one of the best guns i have ever owned. I have played with this gun in all climates. It has very little kick. This gun is very low maintenance. It can take a beating.

I like LED boards so i recomended the Infamous board
Conclusion: I would suggest this gun to any Timmy Owner. This gun is great.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 3rd, 2007 at 11:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KorporateChild Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Autococker: No Comparison
Automag RT Classic: More control, more user tweakable, had it since '98 and its still going.
Toxic Impulse: Alias is definately faster and more gas efficient.
Marker Setup: Blue/Black 2004 ALIAS with FRENZY
CP 2 PC Barrel: 12 in.
VP Teflon Bolt
VP Adjustable Ram cap
Techna Trigger: Schythe II
Crossfire 68/4500 LP Tank
ST Drop & ON/OFF
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think the stock Alias is fine. However, stock is never good enough because paintball lovers are all rich! So, here's my recommendations:

1. A custom barrels of your preferences should be priority.
2. Adjustable ram cap would make your life easier when it comes to maintainence and tweaks.
3. A fast hopper like Halo B or Egg II is a MUST.
4. DOW55 & Tri-Flow is a MUST for maintainence
5. Alias o-ring kit in the best interest of your $1000+ toy.
6. Techna trigger will make you very happy, but not an absolute necessity.
7. A nice drop forward will balance out the hopper very nicely. I use ShockTech.
Strengths: Fast, light, & efficient.
Weaknesses: Awkward foregrip and oversized input pressure gauge.
Review: 1. The torpedo reg is not a bad reg, but the design is not the greatest. Many owners go with the CP reg because the lines can be connected from under the reg instead of coming out from the side like the stock torpedo reg. It's a very awkward foregrip. Also, the input pressure gauge could be smaller and stick out less, which also causes awkwardness in a foregrip.

3. The stock Empire grip panel is poor quality for the price. The LCD screen is foggy and you can barely see through it unless you angle it right. It's not the most comfortable grip, but the clammy frame is fine.

3. The bolt pin is FLIMSEY. A word of caution, if you pull out the pin too hard, you will lose the ball bearing the the spring that holds the bolt and the bolt pin together. I highly suggest you to tigten the allen screw in back of the bolt to further secure it. This actually happened to me so I ended up spending another $50 buying a aftermarket bolt.

4. Product quality uniformity issues: I want to raise this issue because most of you may have zero issues when your Alias came out of the box. Aside from the flimsey bolt pin, my gun frame was also came loose after firing about 200 rds in DRY FIRE mode. This wasn't a big deal because all I had to do was tighten it back. But, there should be no reason ANYTHING comes loose when the product is new and cost over $1200.

Overall, I think this is a very nice gun. It's the nicest gun I ever owned. There was a few mishaps right out of the box but none of it was really considered a big deal, which I consider myself lucky. I shot a few hoppers of paint through it and it fires fine. I haven't take it to the field it, but I think it will do me fine.

Conclusion: For those of you who are considering buying a high end gun, when the price is over $1000, it really comes down to preference. The ROF for all the $1000 + guns these days are pretty much the same. What you really want to narrow down to is probabily efficiency, tolerance, durability, & ease of maintainence. Alias will certainly help you achieve an insane ROF, however, don't be suprised when a noob with a Tippmann or Spyder send you to the deadzone. Because all it takes is 1 shot with skills.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

chino Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Bushmaster B2k2, Intimidator Classic
Marker Setup: Freak 14", Dye Ultralight 12", Techna Katana Trigger, Shocktech adjustable Ram cap + Ram, Magnetic Trigger Mod, MacDev 2k4 Gladiator Reg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA Regulator (or modify the HPA spring), Barrel, New Square LPR seal, Adjustable Ram Cap + Ram. 0.5 BIP board setting. Hard ball detents.
Strengths: Insane rates of fire, rock solid consistancy once tuned. Tournament level marker.
Weaknesses: First batch had quality issues.
Review: Absolute dream of a marker. Light and well balanced. Extremely low pressure. Great anno. Built in snatch grip. Bob's new board has all the features I would expect of a high end market marker (except PC programming). I had problems with my torpedo regulator AND my LPR. HPA regulator spring and issues with the LPR o-ring (causing shootdown or spikes). But warranty repair fixed it all. I emptied a Halo B in no time flat and I had a grin from ear to ear.

Only issue was with the regulators in the first batch - I would expect for the price I paid that these issues would be taken care of. But thankfully - the dealer fixed with no charge. For $1250.00+ I would expect better quality out of the box. Not sure I like the LCD in the grip - limits the aftermarket grips available for it.

However - not trusting the torpedo afterwards - I decided personally to upgrade to a MacDev and have a CP as backup. I rate it a 9 of 10 because of the quality on the regs. But I suspect that will be taken care of in this latest batch of Aliases 2k4s.
Conclusion: Get it and own the field! I promise you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

criticalerror Wednesday, June 8th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Force 4 (better)
2k3 E-cocker
Silver Bullet
Marker Setup: Royal Blue Angel Force 4
68 ci 4500 psi fibre tank
Halo B
Strengths: Looks nice, -sometimes- shoots fast.
Weaknesses: Breaks down, price
Review: Problems I faced:
- Spiking velocity (+- 20fps)
- FSDO (First Shot Drop Off)- Basically the first 2-3 shots would go about a foot from the barrel
- Not knowing much about the gun because the manual was outdated and crappy at best. You can pick up a newer copy of the manual on Bob Long's website.
- Pain in the ass to set up, and clean.
- No extra goodies (eg: modes).

Some good things:
- When the gun actually did shoot it shot ropes of paint in a decently accurate pattern.
- "Bling Factor", people that saw me always looked twice and complimented my gun.
- Decent on air. I dont remember the amount of shots to a tank but it wasnt that bad
- You get some stickers with it.
- Looks pretty nice.
- Great to use as a paper weight.
Conclusion: Basically I was not impressed with my Alias. Dont get me wrong, its a decent gun. But when I go out and spend 1400$ (canadian) on a paintball gun, I should be blown away by preformance. I was not blown away at all.

My suggestion is to get an Angel or a DM4/5.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media