paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dragun DragunFly LED / Dragun DragunFly LED / Dragun DragunFly LED / Dragun DragunFly LED

Dragun DragunFly LED Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dragun

Buy Dragun DragunFly LED

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dragun DragunFly LED
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Two colors to choose from: Black or Blue.

Features:
Electronic LED Operation
10BPS Preset, programable to 20BPS
Aluminum Double Trigger
SMC 5-Way Valve
Custom Milled 45 Frame
Custom Milled Body
Quick Release Bolt
2-Piece Vertical
Dragun Thread Barrel (Uses Spyder threads as well)
Custom "Fly" Beavertail
Low Pressure Operation
Product Availability 
The Dragun DragunFly LED is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Neko Sunday, July 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-Blade Cockers, Angels, Shockers, Imps, Timmys, ProStocks
Marker Setup: 2k4 Sapphire Dragunfly LED, FBM Mercury bolt, Scenario Dreams T-Board, FBM Delrin trigger, 50g T-Switch, Gel Grips, Torpedo Reg, FBM Stiletto Drop, FBM on/off, FBM 15* ASA, Shocktech FGP reg, ANS mini ram, Eclipse QEV's, FBM Hooker feedneck, Empire barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitrogen
New Feedneck (There's no kind of clasp on the other one...)
Quick-recharging reg
ASA, no drop (Drops decrease accuracy)
New board (Eyes)
Bolt
LP on pneumatics
Grips
Strengths: Mostly potential. This gun, when properly set up, can totally scream.
Weaknesses: Has the problems (and maybe the strengths?) of multiple markers.
Review: Well, I'll start by saying that this gun may appear cheap at a selling price of $100, but it's not going to stay that way. Even to get it running, you need another $100+ for a reg and an ASA. Then there's the stock parts. Oh boy, what a journey.
To start off, the board is capped at 10bps (and the checking rate sucks, making it nearly impossible to reach even that). Though I personally shoot a T-Board, I don't really recommend it, as I have had my gun in the shop literally for two months while the board was replaced and a groove was milled in my body to get the eyes working. But it seems like I'm the only one, if you look at the T-Board reviews. As for performance, this board makes your gun SCREAM. If you have the money, though, I'd get a Tag Sportz Predator board (that, upon time of writing, will be released for this gun in a week or so).
Next, There's those grips. They aren't too bad, but the feel could be a LOT better, and the look doesn't do the gun justice. To scrap those, I tapped three holes in my trigger frame and added stock mongoose grips. Yeah that's right. Mongoose. Dragun has yet to release any aftermarket grips that fit.
Third, there's that feedneck. I found no hopper that fit it. It is not adjustable in any way. ANY aftermarket feedneck will be a massive improvement, but I like the FBM Hookers especially well.
Lastly, there's the LP. Upon inspection, this LP contains THE SAME F%$#ING VALVE THATS IN A BICYCLE TIRE. What the hell were they thinking? This marks the end of the desperately bad stock parts.
Finally, as a favor to all my fellow Draguneers, I will write out a list of which gun's parts go where. This took a lot of experimentation for me to figure out, so I'll save you the time. Here you go:

Feedneck: Intimidator Threaded
Bolt: Most cocker bolts do the trick. Some people have gotten timmy bolts in there, but I havn't tried it. Alamo City Paintball will custom-make a delrin bolt if you contact them and send em $30 and your stock bolt.
Barrel: Spyder Threaded
Front Pneumatics: All cocker stuff. Body is long; you can't get an aftermarket linkage arm, though.
Front Block: Cocker set-up, spyder-style mounting (irreplacable)
Back block: Irreplaceable. The setup of the three connecting pieces (bolt, cocking rod, linkage arm) are spread wider than cockers. Back block also includes a handy quick-strip system, though.
Trigger Frame: Custom spaced holes, but cocker spaced holes are tapped for use with the mech fly (comes w/ a mech cocker frame)
Board: Dragunfly Board, maybe autococker/e-blade?
Vertical Adaptor: Cocker
Cocking Rod: Cocker
Grips: Custom Dragunfly (can be fitted w/ Wrath grips if holes are tapped)
Hammer: Cocker
Trigger: Dragunfly custom. Zenitram makes an aluminum one, but FBM's delrin Wrath trigger can be fitted to the gun if the t-switch set screw is moved up.
Valve: Spyder
Valve Stem+Cap: Spyder
Body: Spyder-cocker-timmy thing. Don't try to replace it.

Hope that helps. Post any questions about parts I forgot or any others in comments, I'll check often.
Conclusion: This isn't a perfect gun. In fact, you may call it the most labor-intensive gun out there (maybe next to one of those plastic B.E. thingies.). Unless you have some experience in marker customizing and/or a lot of extra money for upgrades, this gun may not be right for you. But should you get it, I say to you, good choice. It WILL rip when set up right. 9.4/10 because it needs a lot, but I do love my own. Good luck with yours.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005 at 4:29 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

frumpyman333 Wednesday, June 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Superstock Autococker, The One, Drallion.
Marker Setup: 2 piece bonez barrel, eclipse ram with qev's, eclipse lpr, hybrid stage 2 reg, jam bolt, drallion board (eye board on order), bullet drop.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (stock one is decently acurrate), new drop, reg (stock reg equal poop), ram(stock ram is very stiff, qevs help it to cycle a little faster but it still needs to go), and a new board.
Strengths: Very accurate. Price (paid 150 for mine), durable, once timed extremely reliable.
Weaknesses: No replacement parts are available. Eats batteries. The wieght is really annoying.
Review: I love this gun. This gun is not supposed to autococker compatible, but a autococker lpr, pump arm and a ram went right on. Now the gun out of the box was a mess. Everything needed tweaking. Timing these things is really annoying if you don't go to the right website. Once the gun was setup, it was beautiful.
The stock ram is very stiff. It also tends to hang up and overall it just feels sluggish. Definetly need a new one. I got the eclipse and it is beautiful.
Now the jam bolt actually worked in this thing. In my experience the anti-chop bolts never worked right. Springs were usually to stiff and it would chop. But this bolt works very nicely.
First time that it took this gun to my friends woods i was really impressed(still stock at the time). Wasn't the fastest gun, but with a cocker who needs to be. Very accurate. But my problem was actually playing. The whole time we were playing i was mesmerized by the block moving(resulting in a very painful day). Now what i did notice was that the gun was not consistent at all. Felt like i was running Co2. The gun would shoot fine then just crap out and have a velocity spike. The ram was not smooth at all. Take it apart and oil the crap out of it. This kinda helps. Other than that the gun was great.
This gun loves to drain a battery. Low battery = crap on the field. Doesn't drop the sear and just keeps on loading paint and then it will fire randomly, exploding whatever was in the barrel.
Biggest complaints are the piece of poo reg and lpr.The reg is not the worst, but consistency is what makes a good reg. Now the lpr has to go as well. Stupid tire valve looking thing is what they stuck on the gun. But for the price what can you expect..
Now the dragun website claims that this gun is 15 balls per second capable, but the gun is actually 8 bps. Not bad but not great. Now the last thing that pissed me off was a lack of replacement parts.You can't get new 5 way gaskets for the gun. But a friend found a website that sells replacement 5 ways. I'll post it once i talk to him.
(Update)
Went to my local paintball store and there are no feed necks that fit.
(Update)
The Bonez feed necks or tes feed necks fit and they aren't that expensive on ebay.
Also 6000 rounds later with the new upgrades the gun has not chopped once.
Conclusion: Decent cocker for the money but with a little work and a new board, nothing should stand in your way.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 14th, 2005 at 7:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SumGuy41 Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A tippman 98 custom, this blew that away
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LED(blue) with a dye boomstick 1 piece barrel,Halo TSA , Superfly bolt, 32 degrees drop forward and on/off switch, and a 48ci nitrous system
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new bolt (got one) and a new barrel perhaps (got one too)
Strengths: Speed (when tweaked), light, cool
Weaknesses: Tweaking, Rod jams
Review: I got this gun on ebay, stock, the barrel wasnt to accurate, so i used my boomstick from my 98 custom and it worked perfectly, thanks to these reviews i didnt use CO2 so i bought a nitous system after waiting 2 weeks. The rod jammed at first, but twist the back block a little and it re-cocks. I bought a new jam rod for it cuz the balls were breaking, but it turns out i used some REALLY bad paint. The gun looks awesome, i finnally got to use it at a nearby field and people kept asking me about it. Nobodys ever heard of Dragun Empire, hmm. I got a halo TSA right away, so i wouldnt know what it was like without it, because now its working perfectly.
Conclusion: I DEFINITELY reccomend this product, it looks cool, shoots very fast with some tweaking and not too expensive for the cocker-like quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

EVILDaddy07 Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2000 Autococker
Marker Setup: 2004 Dragunlfy LED, PMI barrel, Drgun LPR, D-reg, Shocktech ram, P;anet Eclipse Guadge, Phsyco Ballistics Drop, Rev 2/ x board, WGP pump rod, 5 way electronic valve, PE steel 48/3k Nitro tank, and PMI barrel cover.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New reg
--New LPR
---Different drop
----Different barrel
-----FAST hopper
------Delrin bolt
Strengths: -Fast
--Electronic
---Quiet
----Closed bolt
-----cheap for the quality
Weaknesses: What I said in recomended upgrades.
Review: I like this gun and I think you would to but most people rate this ok but im going to rate it better because I think it is. This gun will work for any beginner, woods ball, or pro. I really thin you guys should buy it, its a great gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to any body that wants a cheap, fast, good looking, quiet, accurate, and good looking gun and im going to give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Twmagoo Saturday, August 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
non
Marker Setup: Halo TSA, HPA, CP Reg, Dye Reg Gauge, Sweet spot trigger and 14" Freak.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definatley put a good Reg. on it and get a barrel kit.
Strengths: Acurrate, quick enough to put some heads down and price.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel really suck, not all dragunflys have a place for a beaver tail.
Review: BAD; Manual is poorly done, if you want to use it for a tournament a beavertail might be required....theres is no where to mount one (depending on the model you get). The sear wears to quickly because the metal is soft.

GOOD; Shoots fast enough to keep head down, it shoots pretty straight and its price is hard to beat for a rec. player looking for a marker thats electronic with the accuracy of a cocker.


Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who likes to play rec. ball and if you got a beaver tail somehow mounted on..I think it would make a great backup marker for a tourney.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shakman119 Saturday, December 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive shot a WGP mech cocker, but thats it in terms of thease markers
Marker Setup: Currently:

Dust red proto
Virtue
ST clamp neck
ST On off
Lucky 15
Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, you can not save this
Strengths: Omg its a value!!!
Quite
accurate when its not chopping
Weaknesses: Chopzilla
brick
Dragun isnt a company
slow
Review: In my 4 years of playing I have had and shot plenty of markers, this is 2nd worst. Maybe I got a dud? but I have heard that thease problems are a standard.

The sob story of the Dragunfly:

I see a 200.0 NIB ecocker online, so I take a risk and purchace it, I think Boy what a bargan.


At this point in my PB life, I have only shot mech markers so right when I aird it up I was wowed with its 10bps speed. This does not fly as of december 2005, and is extreamly slow.

This is the markers cap, as of now on a nice semi blowback I can hit that. Bad stuff for an electro.

the marker came set up (no macro or asa neaded, and did not leak out of the box. this gets some points for this

Using a Xboard revy, and PMI premum along with a basic steeley nitro, I headed out to crono.

Consistant numbers led go solid accuracy when 1 balling

When I ripped on it all hell broke loose, the marker was slower than my fingers but somehow still managed to chop with a 10bps cap! my modded revy feed 12-15 so this is weird.

I cleaned out my barrel and headed out to play.

On the field, more chops, and no this isnt because of paint, I tried 3 different brands. 1 balling was fine, but anything over that was chop city. The detents were so poor paint rolled out of the barrel.

than, without any adjustments, it leaked out of the noid somehow, I tried to get some help but no support at all from dragun. They got sued and are no longer a company

I sold it for 75.00 on ebay and cried because it was such a waste

Conclusion: Unless you are getting this for 75.00, and are a 1 ball stealth sniper hero

Stay away.

1 point for not killing me

1 point for coming set up, and being quite
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

m3_dragUnflY Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a 3a invincible, viewloader triton, wgp trilogy (used once), and a spyder victor 2
Marker Setup: M3 Dragunfly autococker
double trigger
e trigger frame
ricochet rhino
Recommended
Upgrades:
-hopper. better than a rhino, vl200, quantum,
-barrel
-and if you like them get a drop.
-new ram.
Strengths: Very durable
Has a cool unique look to it
The colors are really nice
Weaknesses: Stock board is slow
Trigger frame is really big.
Cocker so it could have troubles
Review: Ok i got this gun bout a year ago and i love it. I cant shoot really fast becaues i only have a ricochet rhino but still. I like the gun because its nice compact and pretty durable. If you have it timed right it is a blast to shoot out there on the fields. Its a very great beginner autococker. and its electric so there is a plus++. I was really happy seeing this in my present this christmas.. lol.
Conclusion: If you are new to paintball. And like the look of this gun. Go for it. it will be worth it trust ne. Just remember to get a better hopper the rhino lol.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SWAT2291 Sunday, February 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Excellerator 3.5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Angel Force 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is important of you have to buy the reg.
Strengths: Accuracy is a bit okay
Weaknesses: Board
No Reg
Spyder Threads
Review: I think this gun would be a lot better if my friend bought a new reg and board. I can out shoot the board is its really irritaing and his reg sucks really bad so I can't really test this gun for real. His reg when shooting at about 3 bps or more the consistency is liek an earthquake. Stays at about 10 +/- which is okay. But if you shoot faster then your in trouble loses up to 200 fps. MOSTLY was the bad Reg. Otherwise I think this gun would be great.
Conclusion: I don't know for sure just be sure to get a good reg.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 20th, 2005 at 9:56 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

goldengun Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, spyder E-99 and 2k4 impy, the impy dominates, the others can't compare.
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LED
Prototype T-board
JAM bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get rid of the stock barrel, get a CP or evil driver or a kit.
If you can find detents that fit, get em.
New bolt-(JAM bolt rulz!)
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Price
from what I can tell, high quality
Also get a new regulator
Weaknesses: DETENT, BOLT, BARREL. Nuff said.
Will experiance BIG problems, but only minor fixes.
Review: Well I got this off ebay plus the JAM bolt, spare parts, 47/3000 tank and egg hopper for

249.95. I was totally psyched(I never want to even try to spell that again) when it arrived

a week later. I was very pleased to see it came with its own case.(Too bad, I bought

one before I got the gun.) I took it out of its case, and it is not the lightest marker, but it

is not heavy(unless you are weak). I took it to my local feild and aired it up. It was timed

to some exstent(don't want to spell that either) so I got a guy at the feild to work on it.

Perfect. I took it to the chrono, and it came at 278 fps. The reg is less than good(+-9 to

15 fps) The accuracy was pretty good for a stock barrel, but I suggest getting a new one.

The trigger is a little stiff for my liking(I mostly play with an impy), but not bad. It is still

very easy to rip on this, and I think i'm getting the Zenitram trigger to help with speed.

After about 150 balls it turned into the widely feared paint-blendo-matic. I cleaned out

the barrel, and there were at least six paintballs in it. DETENT PROBLEM. I tightned the

detent, problem solved. After that it started to leak out of the air fittings, a little teflon tape

patches it right up. I loved the gun and played the whole day with it, and after about 3

hours and 2 cases of paint, the regulator stops working. I go home and look at it, but I

can't figure it out. So I bought a CP reg. I don't know what was wrong, but the reg was

bad anyway.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you can keep your wits about you when facing a problem. Lots of them will occur, but they are mostly minor annoyances that most anybody can handle. This gun is fast, good looking, and a steal for the price (you can buy three on ebay for $200!!!)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media