paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85

ATS AT85 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ATS

Buy ATS AT85

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ATS AT85
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $599

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi or full auto gun that can shoot up to 12 rounds per second. It holds 85 rounds regulary, but with an adaptor that allows a hopper to hook into the magazine it can hold a lot more.
Product Availability 
The ATS AT85 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Eyes Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months34 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Name a semi-action blow-back, semi-action closed bolt/full auto open-bolt, full auto closed-bolt/custom alien crap and I've probably shot it.
Marker Setup: Stingray II: www.stinggroup.addr.com Everything and then some. (plus it's magic!)
Back up gun:
ATS AT-85, bottomline addon and tourny trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ummmmm......Lot's of clips (forward loader), bottom line is snazzy.
Strengths: Mechanical awesomness.
Weaknesses: Ummmmm........
Review: We'll start with the fireing system:
semi/full auto (12bps is handy and fun to say) and.....ready for the cool part?.....NO FREAK'N BATTERIES! Select fire switch at easy reach for your thumb, no annoying dip switches to flip with an allen wrench whilest you're being shot at. The semi auto is very formitable too, I have used this in a speed ball tourny and it can hold down anything (the wonderful accuracy has a great deal to do with this but more on that later) This is all done by a NASA engineered three way which is impossible to describe.

Accuracy:
So many speed ball players have fallen to the use of the Freak barrel system, based on the known fact that "If everyone has it, therefore; it must be cool." (That, and they're too lazy to find paint that matches their barrel. A fun thing to do with your Stingray II to pass the time.)
This fact also goes with the "I have to have an Impulse/Angel/'Cocker/E-mag to win" mentality.
Anyway.....
Buy a freak system and you have bought half the gun. The barrel has an ingenious devise in the base of the barrel that when the ball is chambered (this is a closed bolt system which really means nothing, but it's also fun to say and makes 'cocker owners cry) it adjusts to the shape of the ball. This is due to some spiffy urethane rings.....that's about the best way to describe them.

Loading:
"How does a gun without a hopper load?"
Well I'll tell you O'Curious One. It has a POCKET WARP FEED! Lower profile and feeds just as fast. It's a bloody clip. "Does it use air?" No! It's chain driven mechanism feeds the balls from the clip UP (defying gravity here) and into the gun with every shot.

"Sounds Complicated, doesn't it jam more than a neglected 'cocker?"
Nonsese poopy pants. All the parts are engineered to the highest degree of accuracy (Von Braun engineers teamed up with NASA and Swiss watchmakers to design this thing) making it impossible to jam due to the guns mechanics. The only way to jam it is to grasp the feed disk thingy on the right side of the clip (AT owners know what I'm talking about here and have probably done it) while the gun is shooting. In return the gun will start mashing the half way fed ball into pulp.

To answer some other questions; Yes, the gun is made of plastic. This has been for some reason labled as a bad move by players on the gun manufactures part. This line of thinking right up there with "My gun has to have batteries to be intimidating." The ATS AT-85's body is made of the same material that Glock makes their pistols. To break it, the head Dude at ATS, Rob, cranked the gun up to 490 feet per second and went full auto balistic about two inches away on the thinest part of the body (reciever, where the mag is loaded) of another AT. After about thirtyish rounds the part broke. But ofcouse, if someone shot you from that far away going that fast, you'd have more problems then just your gun breaking.

Oh, and on regulation of velocity. Most people will brag at a tourny about +- 3fps on their chrono. I chronoed mine at a tourny at 298.....for the WHOLE day. Without any shoot down. Needless to say, the refs checked me after each round, and still nothing moved. This was on my $120 Pure Energy nitro tank. This beat out the others' Max Flo's/ADG Flatlines/Angel AIR's/ and Armageddon tanks ALL of which, I might add, are well over 300 bucks new.

The BadAss factor: on a scale of 1-10= 4,000,000.
This brings us to the next aspect of this beauty: Uniqueness.
Nobody has this gun. People take pictures of me with it, while they don't give the $2,000 Angels a second glance.

One more thing....

It's loud and scary....and black and awesome
Conclusion: BUY ONE!

Now you fool! Why are you still reading this?!?! Go! And lay wast unto your friends' world and feast upon the bones of their children!


(Scenario games RULE!)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 1st, 2012 at 11:08 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

elco Thursday, August 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 (good value, very customizable, very common, and benchmark for scenario markers)
Ariakon SIM4 (good value, reliable in mech mode)
Armotech WG-65 Electronic (decent, but had some QC issues later addressed by MilTech's updated line)
AutoMag RT (reliable, costly, and HPA only--so is the AT85)
Marker Setup: AT85 customized with 16" barrel, ATS weaver rail, Armotech parts (front sight, carry handle, RIS, and muzzle brake), T-stock, generic red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
A remote setup in conjunction with ATS's gas-thru stock, or bottomline

Any combination of the millions of Mil-Sim accessories out there.... know your style, and assemble something that works best for you.

Strengths: Durable, ergonomic, reliable, easy service, no batteries, lots of mask clearance.
Weaknesses: Cost of mags, mediocre gas efficiency, inconvenient velocity adjustment.
Review: This will be a long review, and I will not regurgitate the many good points common to other reviewers. Instead, this review will focus on issues seldom mentioned, but useful or interesting to readers/potential buyers. (Be sure to take a look at the AT-4 reviews too. Both AT-85 & AT-4 are identical twins in different clothes.)

History:

Second-hand buyers should beware the TS-1 which is a 1st Gen AT-85. TS-1 was made by Tagline (later sold to ATS). The TS-1 had major reliability issues and teething problems. The AT-85 addressed all problems by introducing a high-flow system, and by going HPA only.

**Tagline TS-1 vs. ATS AT-85**

1st caveat: the Cog. The TS-1's old mag cog looks like a saw with all teeth filed down. The AT-85 cog has only the first 4 teeth filed down (much more reliable feed). You can fit an AT-85 cog into the TS-1.

2nd caveat: the Mag. The TS-1 mag's right-side has a metallic "turn key" (looks like the turn key on those antique wind-up toys or clocks). It is very easy to grab it by mistake during firing, and jam the marker. The ATS mag has a pop-up wind key that is snag-proof. Although ATS sells a replacement winder kit, it's very difficult to swap the winders. The age (or wear-n-tear) on TS-1 mags almost always guarantees that the plastic will shatter on any attempt to pop out the metal turn key. The ATS mags also have a unique anti chainslap plate *molded* into the mag housing that extends chain life. The old vs new mags can make or break your marker.

3rd caveat: TS-1 had a slightly different regulator assembly. This is very prone to stripping, and can seize from HPA usage. You can easily refit an AT-85 regulator to the TS-1, but this won't change the weak regulator threads inherent in the TS-1 chassis. You can, however, buy a new ATS valve housing. This updates the TS-1's reg and valve system to an AT-85.


Why Choose ATS?

I own & love the scenario benchmarks: AutoMag & Tippy A5. If you were to combine the best of both, what would you get? Well, I don't know.... but the ATS comes pretty darn close.

The ATS markers are made for players who want something different. Gone are the days when ATS markers dominated tthe realistic look department. There are plenty of reasons, other than looks alone, to justify getting an ATS.

ATS epitomizes the saying: " the whole is worth vastly more than the sum of its parts."

In terms of looks, feel, ergonomics, and ROF, many companies excel on one or 2 key strengths. But the ATS delivers the *whole* combination--all of the above. It's designed for players who want it all.

My decision for buying an ATS hinged on a few other reasons, different from what other reviewers have said. Here are some of my favorite ATS features:

1. The Profile:

AT4 or AT85 equipped with a carry handle, RIS, and a 30mm Red Dot scope has the *top* of its hopper sitting at least 1" lower than the scope. Try this with a flat-top hopper (eg the Ricochet), and you will notice how much lower the hopper sits relative to the scope. This translates to a 180 degrees of unobstructed view during maneuvers. No hopper or Cyclone feeder to obstruct your right hemisphere.

**It must also be noted that the Q-Loader, compatible with nearly every marker, also offers the same no-obstruction benefit. Both Q-Loader & ATS magazines employ unique feed mechanisms that require user care. A Q-Loader pod has a more durable plastic than the ATS mags. However, an ATS hopper adapter plate allows much easier reloading and you can "top up" your hopper constantly. The ATS also has a more blended design. But the choosing either ATS or Q-Loader depends on what you're willing to tradeoff.**

When you add an ASA-mounted collapsible stock, the benefits of ATS's clean design become more obvious. You can aim without straining your neck on an ATS, unlike most milsim markers. The clearances on the ATS are VERY well-thought out. You can compare it to many scoped, M4 look-alike markers out there, and you'll be amazed that on the ATS, the collapsible stock does not hit your mask.


2. The Trigger:

The AT-85 has one of the best mechanical triggers, period. The normal trigger has a pull less than 3 lbs. If you opt for the factory trigger job (aka "tourney trigger mod"), the pull is light as a mouseclick. The trigger travel is approximately 3mm, either way.

This is one of the most underrated features of the ATS line. The trigger system performs and feels very similar to AGD's ULT. If you own an ATS, don't overlook its excellent semi mode. It is fairly easy to go as fast on semi as it is on full auto! (Note that this excellent trigger has been the same on EVERY ATS marker, regardless of manufacturing date.)


3. Ease of Maintenance:

Huh? You say.... Isn't the ATS a very complicated marker? Yes and NO! The actual maintenance required from the user are the following:

-5 drops of oil on the ASA at the start of your game day. Keeps the cycling mechanism happy.

-LUBE SPRING PLATE: save yourself a lot of grief by removing only the spring plate, and only the spring plate. Put a dab of grease, and re-install. Always complete this process *BEFORE* removing the valve housing and you'll never break a spring. BTW lubing the plate is needed after about 5 cases of paint, not after every game.

-LUBE Regulator as specified: this is the only tricky part of ATS maintenance; it is not difficult, and the reg is made up of only 4 small parts anyway; however, the parts are very small, and it's easy to lose them if you're not careful. ALWAYS do this on a well-lit area, on a clean work table.

-Lightly lube the sleeve, bolt, and hammer: this is needed very, very RARELY. See mfr instructions on how & why.

-above all, always keep it clean: wipe all paint splatter with a damp rag

So there! The user does not need to take apart nor service anything inside the valve housing, ever. There is no reason or need to ever take apart the 4-way cyclic valve.

Note also how little servicing is needed on the internals.... you don't have to physically dismantle the marker to lube the bolt after every game.

In actuality, here are the parts you need to inspect semi-regularly: magazine chain, cog, spring plate, hammer, bolt, and bolt sleeve. If you aren't intimidated with taking apart a Tippmann A5, the AT-85 will feel right at home, if not easier.

In summary, maintenance is just a bit more involved than a Mag, parts count somewhere near the A5. The engineering, intelligent parts layout, and ease of use are very similar among the ATS, AGD, and Tippy markers.

I hope this really dispels the "very complex mechanism" myth for many potential ATS buyers.


4. Full Auto

Everyone's raved about this on the ATS, but nearly every competing marker has this feature now. The ATS mechanical full auto is, to this day, the benchmark of reliability and elegance. It's reliable because the indexed ratchet system prevents chopping. It's elegant because it requires no batteries, no RT mechanism, and no fine-tuning needed. (Feed/cycle problems occur only if someone has improperly re-assembled or wrongly adjusted the regulator.)

5. Flexibility

The ATS line is exactly identical except for external configuration. What this means is that you can buy any body kit, and barrel set, or, a spare valve, and swap at will. You can start with an AT-85 kit and eventually buy just the AT10 or AT4 bodies and never worry about fit problems!


6. High Precision Workmanship

The high precision manufacturing of the ATS is very apparent in its velocity consistency. If you ever owned a blowback, you know that you need to rechrono and recalibrate every time you gas up the marker..... what was 240fps yesterday could be much higher (or much lower) the next time you gas up. This practically never happens with the ATS markers. The velocity and regulator settings do not have the tendency to "wander" or fluctuate at every gas up. I am NOT saying that you can skip chronying by owning an ATS. (Always chrony--it's for everybody's safety!!) Rather, on the chrony line, you can dial-in the correct velocity in little or no time at all. Just don't lose the velocity adjusting rod!!!!


**Recommend ATS Accessories for New Owners:

If you want to invest in an ATS, be sure to keep the critical spare parts. When you need them, nothing else will suffice. Here are some very useful spare parts:

-Ricochet Hopper (not from ATS, but the angular shape works very well for RIS-crazy setups)
-at least 1 spring plate
-1 spare mag
-seal kit (it includes regulator maintenance parts!!)
-2 screw kits (you will lose a bolt or 2--always keep one kit in your toolkit)
-spare plastic handle & 3-prong cap for the velocity adjuster (must be custom ordered from ATS--less than $1 each!!)
-spare velocity adjuster (one of mine has been mistaken for a "broken" stick squeegee, and was tossed away by an ignorant player.... this is very likely to happen to you)
-lube


Conclusion: The ATS line of markers has always been a niche in the Mil-Sim market. There are markers that are very reliable (AGD), those that shoot fast (Mag RT, A5 RT, electros), super customizable ones (A5), or slick looking types (Ariakon, Armotech, etc).

If you're happy with 1 or 2 particular strengths, you can easily find your dream marker. If you want all of the above, then the ATS is one of those rare, do-it-all markers. It does not excel at a particular strength. Rather, it is good at everything, with a few trade-offs mentioned previously.

You can shoot fast when needed, have an unobstructed view during maneuvers, shoot lots and not worry about chopping or dropoffs. Accomplish all of these without batteries. And, impress others with a killer-looking marker. All of these right out of the box!!!

Price-wise, the AT-85 is very competitive with many customized Mil-Sim products. You can customize it to a near AT-4 lookalike, and spend the extra change on paint or Mil-Sim accessories.

That's what got me to buy an AT-85, and to never look back--it's basically as if my Mag and A5 got fused into one... Just enough uniqueness to make you WANT to use it.



Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 26th, 2006 at 5:23 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Kutulu Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL+ (compare? OK, they both shoot paint.)
Viper M1 (Getting there, but AT-85 is way better)
Marker Setup: ATS AT-85 Tactical with Leapers 3-9x40mm scope w/mount, 23' AT-16 barrel, Harris bipod, ATS modified trigger assembly, PSG-1-style sniper grip, CAR stock with remote to 3000psi Maxflow or 13ci HPA tank w/stock from ATS
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, you could go all out and turn your gun into a sniper rifle with all the upgrades I have, or do just about anything you want to it to suit your style of play. Oh, and get the modified trigger assembly. It's only like $25, and it's the best non-electric trigger I've ever felt.
Strengths: Durability
Versatility
Reliability
Innovativeness
Accuracy
Intimidation (notice this is last on the list)
Weaknesses: Complexity
Uniqueness
Review: This gun is truly a piece of work. There is literally nothing like it on the paintball market as I am writing this review. Even as countless Armotech-clones fill the milsim/scenario market, they are just Spyder and Tippmann copies, dressed up to look like M-4's. The first thing you notice about this gun is that it looks scary, but that is the least important thing about it. This is a review of the 85's performance, not its appearance, so here goes: Since my mantra as far as all of my equipment goes is "Durability, Versatility, Reliability," I'll handle those aspects of the gun first.

Durability: This thing's made out of high-impact plastic, which I believe is an innovation in itself for paintball. I don't know of any other guns made of this kind of quality, lightweight plastic. And the gun is much lighter as a result. The bottom line is: The gun will not break if you abuse it a little, which you shouldn't, if you can help it, of course.

Versatility: Well, you saw the list of what I did to mine! It's true that there aren't many aftermarket accessories for the '85, but most of these accessories of which we speak are redundant teflon/delrin/venturi/super-bolts, all of which are claimed to be superior by their manufacturers. ATS just gets everything right the first time with their guns. And the line of ATS accessories is plenty enough for me. You can even buy new receivers to convert the gun to AT-4, 10, or 16 models! As you can see above, my gun is an AT-85 "Tactical" or "Tactical-85," which is the model that comes with a flat-top rail and removable tactical carry handle (a la M-16), which also affords you access to the plethora of M-16/AR-15 accessories that can be found in today's gun market.

Reliability: This is the most important. The gun has to work for you when you need it to, which is always, and the AT-85 does. If this gun screws up on you, it's your fault. Trust me; it's happened to me before. Enough about that.

Innovativeness: This gun has more unique innovations than a Maxim machine gun. It's basically completely unique. The operating system is incomparable to anything on the paintball market today. It's operating system is actually more closely related to gas-operated, select-fire assault rifles than paintball guns. On top of that, the magazine-fed system prevents you from ever chopping a paintball, provided your magazine is properly indexed, and is also a miniature warp-feed-type thing. There's just too much to list here, just go to their website or save yourself the trouble and buy one.

Accuracy: Oh yes. This is THE most important performance aspect for me personally. I am always in pursuit of greater accuracy, and this gun has it. This is due to it's extremely good bolt and the bolt's operation, as well as the unisizer (any paint size fits perfectly, no inserts, no barrel changing, period), and the high-quality ATS barrel. This thing shoots like my brother's autococker with freak system.

Intimidation: It's beautiful. And it's loud. I love to shoot this thing on full auto. If you want to hear it, there's a recording of it on the website as well.

OK, now the weaknesses.

Complexity: Yes. This thing will confuse even experienced paintball players. Just get used to the fact that you're going to blow out like ten guide plates, so buy extras when you order the gun! (OK, so I exaggerated, but those things are easy to blow out!) Just never dry fire the gun without a magazine, OK?

Uniqueness: OK, so this can be a good thing, but it really cuts down on the normal customization options you have for your gun. Fortunately, ATS supplies some pretty good customization options, but the path of the AT-85 owner is a lonely one.
Conclusion: I don't give many tens. Today, I give one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2004 at 1:06 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Lavahead Tuesday, June 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c and 2001 Autococker
Marker Setup: 2001 Autococker w/CP barrel, Tippmann 98c w/Flatline, AT-85, PMI 88ci 4500psi Nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Contact ATS for CAR stock or bottomline kit
Strengths: -Nearly impossible to chop balls due to chain feed
-Very accurate, with unisizer you can use any paintball, even mixed in same batch, with good accuracy
-Lightweight, balanced well
-Has full auto, but it can rarely be used
-Lowers profile significantly, due to hopper on the side or no hopper at all
-Manual and video are VERY detailed and useful, manual is like 50 pages, not the usual 6
Weaknesses: -A bit of an air hog, uses quite a bit
-This gun HATES co2, you should really run HPA or at least co2 from a remote (so the bottle is vertical, which is most important)
-Not many upgrades, just replacement parts or conversions to other models (AT-10, AT-4, AT-16), due to the gun's uniqueness
-Very complex, don't try to fix it without a table, the manual, and watching the video it comes with
-Non-standard grip doesn't allow for things like drop forwards
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun. It can easily keep up with nearly anything out there. And since it's nearly impossible to chop a ball, you won't need to clean out your barrel as much as the other guys. This gun is very accurate, although I don't think it's as good as my Autococker, but it's pretty close. The fact that you can hit the field without a hopper sticking up is neat too. And the manual is great, as well as the video on taking care of the gun. Just don't use the gun without watching the video first! The only problems I have are that I can't put a drop forward on it, so I have to use a remote or a very small tank (48 ci variety). This can be a pain since it's a bit of an air hog. Finally, this gun doesn't run good on co2, due to it's internal regulator. I would suggest switching to compressed air (I would suggest that anyways), but if that's just too expensive at the moment, run co2 from a remote to keep the liquid out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:36 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 18th, 2000
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: this is truely an inovative marker, i love the rate of fire one can accive and the sleek hopper-less design. the chain drive system is one of a kind.AND IT SOUNDS COOL!!!, but thats second :-).
Weaknesses: the downsides to this are few, but obviously they are there.
one thing is that you really should use nitro because co2 can freeze the internals and screw up your insides. also, the sleek hopperless design i already mentioned also isnt without problems, you dont get more than a hero's supply of ammo, plus while quick to change the clips take a while to load.
Conclusion: in conclusion. i think that the at-85 is truely one of the greatest guns i have ever fired, i think it stands pretty well on its own, regaurdless of fancy upgrades, this gun is a work horse, it is quite expensive but you pay alot you get a great gun. your buying quality. as far as it could compare to other guns like it, thats just the best part, there is nothing like it...
i would recomend this gun to almost anyone, except my opponent!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chilly Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
F/A Rainmaker
Marker Setup: eForce with a powerfeed, 14" J&J, 68cui 3000psi HPA
AT85 with the trigger kit and a VL clip, sometimes a gas-thru T and a remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger upgrade, VL Adapter Clip
Strengths: Rapid fire, accurate, loud/intimidating, low profile
Weaknesses: Loudness (potential stealth issues), Complexity (at first)
Low capacity for paint, (get a VL clip)
Review: I've been after one of these markers for a while now, ever since I first saw one in about 1998. I finally got one last summer and it has been everything I hoped it would be. Something about fully automatic fire has always intrigued me. I aquired a Rainmaker a while back, one of the old models that was select fire, and I loved to shoot with it, unfotunately, it ran on C02 and that meant that extended full autoing tended to freeze the gun over, and it wasn't all together accurate. The local paintball outlet finally got a HPA fill system and I decided it was time to get an AT85. The first thing I did was put it into full auto and empty my clip. It's extremely satisfying to hear the bark and feel the kick when you squeeze the trigger, and everybody else on the field knows that someone is on the recieveing end of a lot of fire. I play alot of woods ball and the AT85 works perfectly there, I have yet to play speedball with it. I don't know how well a front player could manuever with it but it should work fine for a back guy.
Conclusion: I would say this is one of my best paintball investments, and believe me, there have been lots. Get a VL clip for it and its just like any other marker except more accurate, reliable and much more fun to shoot!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bergman Wednesday, October 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trracer pump
Marker Setup: AT85 w/bottomline 12oz CO2 (soon to upgrade to HPA), PT Xtreme w/bottomline 4oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottomline, Gas-through stock, remote tank, ***HPA***
Strengths: Durability, Reliability, Coolness, Uniqueness, Accuracy
Weaknesses: Doesn't like CO2, hard to modify much (not that you need to)
Review: I'm used to good, accurate paintguns, but my first thought upon using my AT85 for the first time was that someone had swapped my paint for homing missiles and had neglected to inform me. It was THAT accurate! That entire day, I fired some 300 rounds of paint and (I counted) missed exactly 14 times. Wow.
Conclusion: Best marker I've ever used. Impossible to chop a ball unless you're a total idiot, shoots 6 inch shot groups at 100 feet, looks and sounds amazing, and is equally useful for backwoods sniping as it is for speedball. I once slipped off a log and landed on my gun; Not a scratch or ding, and once I squeegeed the mud out, it continued to shoot like a dream. The stock barrel is better than the $100 barrel I had on my old Trracer, and with the breech sizers, it accepts ANY paint flawlessly. The only time anything on it ever broke was the time I checked it as luggage when flying to California, and some clumsy baggage handler dropped the suitcase, apparently. The lockout screw for the safety/selector switch snapped off but the gun itself shot as well afterwards as it did when brand new (and still does, a year later). The only real drawback is the gun HATES CO2; But since new guns are no longer sold with CO2 use as an option, this isn't a big deal (and once I get around to mailing in my gun, it won't be a problem for me ever again).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPARTAN-II Sunday, July 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals
Marker Setup: Tactical AT-85 with Red Dot Scope.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A gas through CAR Stock is a must for this marker because it provides you with an easy and comfortable route for your remote line to leave your gun into your HPA or Co2 (note that you have to have a remote line for a gas through stock). I also reccommend that if you order this from ATS that you mention you want a straight Air Source Adaptor (ASA) rather than an angled one (trust me it is much more comfortable and it can get rather costly if you decide to change it later on where if you get it when you order the gun, I think it is only $10 dollars more).
Strengths: ACCURRACY! This is the most accurrate gun I have ever seen! Also realism is incredible.
Weaknesses: Buy HPA. This gun is very tough to run well on Co2.
Review: Where to begin. This gun is my prime choice in a marker because it is soo much different than any of the competition out there. I'm not saying Tippmans or Angels arent cool or anything, It's just the satisfaction you get from changing the selector from safety to semi or full auto with the flick of a switch and sighting (or scoping) in on your prey and hearing your teammates yell "HIT THE DECK!" or "TAKE COVER!" The next Key factor is magazines and forward loaders, Hoppers anyone? You wont find one on an AT-85 unless you don't mind having a hopper and want to have extra ammunition and buy a hopper adaptor clip which inserts right where a normal magazine does except it sits more on the side rather than the top giving you less of a chance of being hit in the hopper still.Next up is accurracy. I can honestly say I dont know any gun out there that can match up to the accurracy of an ATS gun. This bad boy can shoot at 4 to 6 inch groupings at 25 meters. To me that comes in pretty handy when taking the role of a sniper.Now if this doesn't get you drooling already then there are only a few other things I can tell you that will; ball breakage 0/6000 for all ATS guns which basically means throw away your squeegee. Non-electric full auto, you heard me right throw away your batteries while your at it. Finally, Loudness, yes I said loudness and it's a good thing and only fellow ATS owners can know he satisfaction of your enemies running away from you while your opening a can of whoop@55 on their sorry buhtays.
Conclusion: All around, the AT-85 is a very reliable gun, and being an owner of one I know just how good this baby is, so therefore I give it a perfect *10*. Just remember, if you treat it right meaning dont bash it up and abuse it, it will treat you right as well. Now that I'm through with my review you better have another browser window pulled up ordering an ATS gun as your reading this. If not, lets hope you don't meet an ATS toting player on the field or you will wish you had taken my advice and spent the money and bought one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 13th, 2003 at 8:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

+aPe RuNnEr Friday, July 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: custom 98 flatline, x chamber, double trigger, M16 stock, remote, 12v hopper
in less then 3 weeks will have a impluse with a **** load of upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
get nitro, not to good with Co2 in the winter
Strengths: this is a very good gun, accurate, shoots fast, and can be used as auto, probably could preform up with high class semis and electros. also it is very durable. it has the 25 round clip with chain pull threw, with the 75 round hopper that goes as a handle under the barrel, so there is no need for a big bulky hopper, but you can still put one on which is very cool.
Weaknesses: This is NOT, I SAY NOT a newby friendly gun at all. my friend got this as his frist paintball gun (well he is also an idiot) he put paint in it that was baking out in the sun and shot it, which the paint ball got stuck between in the bolt. also seeing how you cant cock it back can cause problems which i dont like how it cocks by it self.
Conclusion: very very good gun if you know what your doing, if not stay away and get a tippmann or spyder
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 17th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: As many before said, this gun is very accurate. During practice shots others with their guns can't do as well as I can do with mine. That's of course subjective, but when we switch guns I can't do with theirs what they can do with mine.
It is very light which makes aiming much easier (you don't get tired carrying the gun). It has great look and feel. The feeding mechamism doesn't obstruct your view, which again, makes aiming much easier.
Select fire is just awesome, you can switch with your thumb pretty much while aiming and shooting (sometimes it is good to switch fire mode during the game - saves paint). Single mode itself is good enough to keep up with high end guns on commercial fields.
Not the quickest maybe but very good and helpful customer service. These guys are engineers, not salesmen, so they won't get back to you immediately (sometimes actually they do) but when it happens your helper will be very competent. Great manual and video showing how to take care of the gun.
Even if the gun with part and maintenance isn't cheap, it also places below really high end guns, delivering really comparable or outstanding performance.
Unisizer (the soft plastic ball detent) does a great job matching to any size painballs. It is kind of like a self-adjusting "freak" barrel.
Stock barrel is top notch. In general you don't need to spend extra $$ on after market parts as everything the gun comes with works great.
Weaknesses: Relatively expensive to maintain. Magazine mechaism is very delicate. Doesn't get damaged by itself, but at the beginning you'll be error prone and eventually bend pins. Once this happens you're out of the game for the day (unless you have a spare). Forget about field fixing it unless you've got proper tools and a table with a clean cloth ;)
Velocity adjustment is a pain in the butt. After you chrono, you have to take the magazine out, shoot the remaining paintball, and then insert your adjusment tool into the barrel. The good news is that most of the time you'll be doing it only once at the beginning of the game.
There is a danger that this gun will become your hobby. ;)
Conclusion: I bought this gun a month and a half ago as a third gun (after Tippmann ProLite and Tippmann 98 custom with addons) and have been playing every week since. I was looking for something very accurate. I wouldn't call my style of playing a sniping, but it does involve not shooting a lot of paint with a lot of manuvering, flanking, etc. Turns out that I got a perfect gun to match my style. Even with the auto enabled I use twice as less paint as my friends with higher end semis. I often get twice as many kills too.

This gun requires to be taken care of. If you expect accuracy and consistency you have to keep it clean and properly lubricated. None of this "run hot water through it and forget about it stuff". So prepare to have time for it. Since it is - like somebody here said, as a swiss watch - you'll have fun if you like playing with mechanical stuff. Otherwise you may consider getting a different gun.

The bottom line is, if you are prepared for maintenance, this gun will "pay you back" and you will not be dissappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media