paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85

ATS AT85 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ATS

Buy ATS AT85

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ATS AT85
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $599

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi or full auto gun that can shoot up to 12 rounds per second. It holds 85 rounds regulary, but with an adaptor that allows a hopper to hook into the magazine it can hold a lot more.
Product Availability 
The ATS AT85 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, February 19th, 2001
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun can achieve 14bps, I timed it myself. It can also maintain its accuracy(VERY ACCURATE!!!!) at that rate of fire. The hopperless design is very nice, and you can carry extra forends in your existing harness. The gun has never broken a single ball in the 10 cases I have put thru it.
Weaknesses: ATS claims you need to lube the gun every 500 balls. This is very true. I damaged my gun after about 1500 balls and because these are not popular guns, there are NO parts available over the counter. they all come from ats. You not only have to buuy the gun, you have to keep a small inventory of spare parts available. This gun needs HPA, period!!!! You cannot play this gun to its full potential without it.
Conclusion: This gun is a true innovation in paintball. The only time I broke balls is when I got dirt in my barrel, and when I did break paint, the gun was useless. You get a huge rate of fire without fear of chopping a single ball, the design of the gun makes that impossible and the accuracy is phenomenal. It's very hard to say whether the gun is worth the money, because you can't use it all day non stop like I can my spyder or Autococker. It has few aftermarket upgrades because it doesn't need a single one. The amount of maintainence, coupled with the lack of readily available parts makes me rate this gun a 7 and not recommend this gun as a primary gun, just as a really cool back up
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Forgotten4Ever Wednesday, September 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paintball: All Tippmanns, Many Spyders, Several Cockers, And Several Other Unknown Name Brands.
RAP: RAP4 LE
Airsoft: JAC, Many AEGs, And A Few GBBs.
Marker Setup: 1x AT-85 Kit
1x 9oz Anti-Siphoned Chromoly w/ Butt Plate (With Smart parts On/Off Screw-In)
1x RAM Series R-Sling
(Dont Have These Yet, As of September 05)
5x ts1300t Mags
5x Forward Loaders
Moded Trigger Kit
Viewloader Tripod w/ 200rd Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA (See Below)
I suggest using a rig to use the tank it self as the stock
Support Role: Hopper Adaptor w/ Electric or VL standard hopper
Rifleman: 5-10 1300t extra mags
Sniper: 3-6 1300t Extra Mags, Moded Trigger Kit, & 23" Barrel (& Red Dot Scope)
Strengths: Select Fire
Sure-Fire
Sniper, Rifle, or Support
Looks
Great Range & Accuracy
Lighter
Durable
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Non Field-Strippable
Little Expensive
Review: If you hate the hopper and the position of the bottle, but want to use .68 cal. paintballs, and want an all-pneumatic gun, get it. The A-5 has its Pros, But Many Cons, As is with the RAMs and Airsoft, The only con here is gas hog and price. I bought my older one for 480.00, buying a new one for 430.00. Yes, Im planning to use CO2 by the way, but I must recommend using HPA, I had one about 6 months back (as of now) and got rid of it due to stupidity, and I ran CO2 on that one too, and I must say, these guns work well on CO2, but if your intersted in cold weather play and/or Max. ROF, dont use CO2. Also, dont take the gun apart or buy it for that matter if your a Pneumatically Inclined person, or just dont like to fully dissassemble your guns, I like doing it. And unless you have experience in PB, AS, or RAP, go with something alot cheaper in the Mil-Sim category first.
Conclusion: A must for a respnsible Mil-Sim or even Scenario Player!
I would give it a 9.5, cuz there is no perfect gun (yet) but .5 averages to the next number..
Donate to the Mil-Sim Is Alive Corp??
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 18th, 2005 at 11:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zguy95135 Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II- cannot compare in any way
Ariakon SIM-5N- great gun, but fails in comparison
Marker Setup: CAR stock
Tactical Trigger
Straight ASA
Weaver top mount
M4 grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA (never use C02, it will destroy all the tiny o-rings this marker has)
red dot
sling
CAR stock
Strengths: Very Accurate
Durable
Loud
Unique
Full Auto
Very realistic
Weaknesses: Loud
Unique
Ball Breaks are a pain to clean
VERY complicated and finicky
Gas Hog
Review: First off this marker is the best I have ever owned. Super durable, very unique and an excellent performer. I've only had it for a month and I've fallen in love with it, there is nothing else like it.

Accuracy: I can get 5-6in groupings at 110ft with Zap Tork, I can only imagine how good it would be with Marbs. The Zap is a bit too small for the barrel, it falls through. But... the unisizer does its job and accuracy isn't greatly affected. I've tested the ID with marbs and the paint to barrel match is perfect.

Durability: This thing seems indestructible. It's made of military grade polymer (the same stuff Glocks are made of), its insanely strong. The only weak link is the magazine itself, it seems rather fragile. A direct hit from a paintball would likely break it. Also there are many things to break through user error. Guide plates are easy to fry if you don't follow the right airing procedures and the regulator can be finicky. Not to mention the small parts that are easy to lose. Although, 99% of the problems will be user error, so watch the video and study the users manual religiously.

Features: Auto-cocking, full auto, m-16 like select fire, built in freak system, clip fed. What's not to like?

Uniqueness: Pretty much the only clip-fed .68 marker. The internals are also completely unique, even though its a cocker, it doesn't have the standard pump like internals. There's no 3 way, no cocking rod, no macroline, no back block, no timing required. Also this gun is near impossible to chop. The magazines are synchronized with the marker to load only when fired...cool. The only way to chop is if the mag is not indexed (synchronized), I accidentally forgot to check to see if it was indexed, and ended up pinching a pb between the bolt and receiver. I tried to clean it, to no avail. Because of it's design it ended up shooting paint into the rear of the gun, getting the internals covered in green paint. Which also got paint in the bolt, so it is pretty much impossible to clean in the field. Also, parts are EXPENSIVE!!!!!
Conclusion: This is an incredible marker, and was worth every penny. I bought mine used, and got a great deal, but it is definitely worth the list price. Even though it does have some problems. the advantages far out weight the bad. I would love to give this a 10, but because of the complexity and the easiness to break I will have to give it a 9. Buy one, you won't regret it!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005 at 12:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Marine88 Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C/M98/A-5, all setup with response triggers/E-grips/tactical setups, stocks, flatline barrels, the max. WGP Autococker 04. RAP4 RAM. Airsoft M15A4 - highly Upgraded, M16A2 - spring upgrade. Aisoft Gas machine pistols / SMGs.
Marker Setup: I just bought the hopper adapter (which I really suggest for better feeds on Auto, but is a little bulky, but still 150% better than the dumb Vertical or side feed PB guns), Run CO2 directly into the gun from the ASA, which by the way is OK TO DO!!! people are blabering about how bad it is (the only thing bad is that Auto ROF is down to about 7 RPS), I also run HPA which is good in colder wheather unlike CO2, Also - Tactical Sling, Tactical 6 Zoom Scope.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definentley like I said, the Hopper adapter, because of how much of a Pain In The *ss it is to reload the mag with the foregrip loader (But no E-hopper, as you can't go submerged or in heavy weather with it), Lots of spare parts (I havent used any yet but it takes to damn long too get 'em if there ever is a problem), and w/e kind of person you are, upgrade your gun to suit you.
Strengths: COMPARED TO A-5
Durable
Accurate
Distance
Selector Switch
LOUD!!!
Weaknesses: COMPARED TO A-5
Same Air Hog
Kinda Dumb Chain Layout
Picky About Balls
Review: Ok, the gun overall is just -wow- I love it.
It is all gas run, select fire (with a switch), the tank is in the perfect position to act as a stock (BUT! your mask with interfear with that a little), it is so light, perfect length and width, I hate the chain deal but can easily be overlooked with the hopper adapter, very secure and comfortable grip. And I love how you can remove the mag and insert a new one like a real weapon. Things other people say like - its very fragile, its too long, it hates CO2, and its not good as a primary - is 100% BS!!! 1 - this is the 3rd strongest gun ive ever come across, 2 - its as long as an M4, 3 - it only shoots slower Full Auto on CO2, 4 - if you use this gun as a 2ndary, sell it and stick to Cockers and Angels. Next, do not even look at it if ur a championship player, this gun is soley made and designed for scenario players only!!!! Finally, the gun is not simple but if you have half a brain, it is not complicated to disassemble and re-assemble.
Conclusion: If you are planning to be infantry in the marines or army or any other type of In-battle soldier like me, or if you just love scenario PBing, Get this gun, treat it right and it will treat you right but, the gun is only half the killer, the rest is you...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fred_PBjunky Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental markers, spyders, tippmanns, cockers and they cannot match the AT 85!
Marker Setup: AT 85
with hopper adapter clip (too lazy to preload clips)
nitro duck
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote line would be nice, i tried it and its much better, get the Straight ASA version and get a CAR stock with remote plug decreases weight and makes it easier to aim.
Strengths: Accuracy
LOUDNESS
Speed
comfortable to hold as well
Weaknesses: none really
It is an air hog though!!! need to fill regularly
Review: read eyes review

It is an incredible marker, the only problem at the moment is that i cant increase the fps above 250, its very strange. And one of the screws is worn out so i cant take it apart but that happens when you buy it second hand...

Overall must be tried at least!
Conclusion: You must buy this marker, it is incredible altough it is not for beginners, a lot of maintenance required. Cant just throw it under the stairs after playing.
over all must buy! Its the biggest attention grabber in the field, nobody cares about the
£1000+ guns anymore :P
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nsf_kingpin Saturday, December 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
just about every gun, i have fired.
Strengths: *copies Eyes' review and pastes it here*
Weaknesses: again, what weaknesses? not noobie proof is all...
Review: *copies and pastes Eyes' review again*(read a few pages down to find his review) Accurate, badass, looks cool, mechanically original, and such. BUY IT NOW! Again with not enough words here.(If eye hadn't already said everything i was going to, i would write a book, but why waste my time, when he stole my thoughts??)
Conclusion: everything Eyes said is true. this gun rulezors! I don't have enough words.....so, I'll tell you why I bought this gun. It looked cool, so i researched it forever and a day. Also, someone else @ my local field had one, and i witnessed first hand it's awesome destructive power, and sheer indimidation capabilities. If you have enough money, go buy this gun right now, unless you like to tinker with it, w/out reading manuals first. READ THE MANUAL 49 TIMES!! then take it apart, then read the manual again, and watch the video that comes with it. Most accurate gun I've used, eye grabber, and only gun to use an actual magazine to feed the paint....nuff said!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 20th, 2003 at 5:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pezman Sunday, November 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: AT-85, remote line, pmi 45\ 5000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote line
Strengths: NO HOPPER!!
lightweight
low profile
stock barrel is good
accuracy
looks cool
LOUD
Weaknesses: It did not grant me three wishes ; )
Review: Just because this gun can do fully automatic does not mean that you have to spray the whole time in order to make use of what you paid for, it is real easy to take minimal shots and do just as well with the gun's good accuracy.
Speaking of which, full auto is really fun : )

Get a remote line or bottom line, because you cant really see the sights with the tank sticking out the back of the gun(at least in my case). Unless you raise the sight rail.

LOUD, its a good thing.
Conclusion: I love this gun, It is worth every penny I paid for it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ST.Rage Thursday, June 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Tippeman, Spyder, Automag, Brute
Marker Setup: AT-85
M16 carry handle
four extra foreloaders
M4 CAR stock
gas thru adpater from funsupply.com
32 degrees Coiled Remote
ACI quick Disconnect
Angel A.I.R. 4500 psi 88ci HPA tank
Flurry Tactical vest with 4in1
sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gas thru adapter and CAR stock
Extra fore loaders or else the VL magazine.
Strengths: Extremely accurate.
Intimidating
Loud
The ability to switch to full auto on the fly.
Light
Weaknesses: Parts are expensive
requires some maintenence
low carrying capacity
Loud (not good for sneaky players)

Review: I just used my AT-85 at the Oklahoma D-Day Scenario game last weekend and I was getting hits that were amazing me. I would fire and think to myself "there is now way I hit him" and then suddenly up would go the marker and he would walk off the field. This happened again and again. Players were constantly coming up to me and asking how I liked it, how much it costed, what is it etc etc etc. When I was running around in the hot Oklahoma sun I was really happy with the weight. I was using my autococker in the morning since my squads mission needed more stealth, But when the afternoon cam around and Wisconsin Death Trip was cut loose I switched to my AT-85 and ruled the airfield. I noticed a big difference with the weight then since my cocker is kinda a pig. Do not I repeat do not overfill the foreloaders. It becomes extremely hard to get the balls to fall into the magazine. I think they should have made the foreloaders opening a little bigger. The range is incredible. I think ATS is kinda ripping people off with their prices though. Not so much on the base model of the AT-85 but with the accessories. I purchased a carry handle from an airsoft store for $50 compared to ATS's $150 pricetag. I also purchased an M4 stock on Ebay for $25 and a gas thru adapter from funsupply.com for $35 w/ shipping. ATS charges $100 for those two parts and refuse to sell the gas thru adapter separately if u already have an M4 stock. A real M4 CAR stock works just fine. www.funsupply.com are the guys who make the gas thru adapter. You will have to email the guy asking for the part but he will sell it to ya no problem.
Conclusion: If u can get past the ATS high priced accessories it is an awesome marker! I love mine. If you don't mind some basic maintenence u will love yours. I give it a 9 due to the high prices.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

modernbackwoods Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
thre are no other markers like this one
Marker Setup: at 85 with car stock, vl mag, 12v revolution loader, 91 ci hpa
Recommended
Upgrades:
no upgrades needed but i would get the vl mag and a regular mag to fit all styles of play
Strengths: extreamly accurate. shoots layers not groups

no batteries to run down or worry about
Weaknesses: not for new player. you must maintain it to get the best performance.
Review: I got mine off of e-bay for a good price but now that I have it I would have paid twice msrp for it. It is great for scenario games and open play even though you may have to block the switch from full-auto. The vl mag is great for those who use alot of paint, but the regular mag really completes the look.
Conclusion: This marker is worth every penny you spend. I does take a few hours to completely understand everything you need to know about it but the video helps a lot. Thats right video not a 4 page manuel, these guy didnt mess around. The out of box accuracy alone is worth the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

[CWB]warmachine Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
the only product that i can think of thats similar is a tippman a5 with an electroni trigger and i perfer the at85 to it because i dont need any electronics or batteries
Marker Setup: stock at 85 with a 47ci crossfire steel tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a bottomline if you have an angled asa
Strengths: the fact that there is no loader blocking you vision and the auto fire feature
Weaknesses: steep learning curve and can be complicated to get running
Review: very impressed with this gun it reduced my amount of paint useage and i found it very effivient on air i got an averrage on 500 shots with a 47 ci tank i like the idea of having to change pre loaded clips and mags it adds a new dimennision to the game. and it is a real haed turner on the field and it loud so it gets poeples attention. i alos like not aving the loader especially when you play gun shot eliminations because it reduces you porfile
Conclusion: i would highly reccomend this gun for someone who want something different and who likes the not having a loader in the line of sight.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media