paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman

Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 41
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Halo TSA, LCD has sound activation that agitates on the sound of your marker.

Features:

Lean left, paddle spins right
Lean right, paddle spins left
Two 9V or 8 AAA battery operation
Set Timer function
Shot Counter
Motor Duration (range: 3 to 15)
Sensitivity Threshold (range: 5 to-95)
Bolt Style Selection (open/closed)
Motor Speed selection - 3 options
Timeout adjustment (range: 5 to-50)
Capacity 180 paintballs.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
PBDUDE93 Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy-halo B wit rip(on current gun)
Marker Setup: SP ION yellow body kit with new disignz no rise feedneck, and NDZ trigger (aluminum). With a Freak barrel kit stanless inserts with a 14" AA, and a shocktech asa on/off, and a sp black heart board.
Strengths: Check review
Weaknesses: Check review
Review: Halo Tsa lcd frontman

-Pros-
-nice magnet cap
-tilt
-small

Cons
-wide
to many settings to keep track of
-The one setting that changes the sensitivity on the hopper
-heavy with hopper
price

One time when i went to a tourney with my ion and my tsa and some thing happened to the senstitvity and it wouldnt feed after every shoot so i would have to shake it every 5 secounds or so just so i could shoot 7 shoots......very confusing at times .....sometimes cant take direct heat or else board fries at the time and cant shut down or change settings.

Updated on 6/23/06

This is the worst hopper ever!........I go to play in my tourney last weekend and i play my first game...and my motor breaks..it just breaks...so i go to fix it all my gears are striped and sort of melted....luckly i knew one of the refs and i used his hopper from his gun.
Conclusion: Get it if u have like a electric spyder or a autococker but not on any ions or high end markers
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 23rd, 2006 at 1:09 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

cmndr suds Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Egg2
-Apache
Marker Setup: T98 Sniper
Rt
Exp chamber
CO2

'03 VF
Empire Twister 14''
dye sticky 3
anti-siphon
Strengths: Cheap
Accurate ball counter
game timer
adjustable sound sensitivity and loader speed
15 max bps
Weaknesses: Neck too small for my gun
Backman is a banana
Review: The HALO TSA comes with a great mannual so u won't get lost trying to adjust the sesitivity, motor duration, motor speed, and game timer. the wheel even spins different directions if your leaning to make sure the balls get into the feedneck. for $60 its a great loader and since its from Odyssey it comes with a one year warranty.
Conclusion: Buy this hopper! its cheap, its fast and it has a warranty plus its from Odyssey.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

msmedalj Wednesday, May 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy, EGG
Marker Setup: SP Ion w/blackheart board, Redz Pepperstick barrel kit, Redz Low-Rise clamper, SP Firebolt, ND Roller trigger, SP QEV, CP Reg, SP Angle Drop.
Strengths: Price
Speed
Customizable Board
Weaknesses: Shell a little weak
Review: I bought one of these with my ION because I didn't have the money for a Halo B. Strangely enough though, I've never out ran this hopper; even at 20 BPS! This is very strange because at most online stores the LCD "Frontman" is only advertised at 13-15 BPS, although I have seen other sites advertise the "Frontman" at 17-19 BPS. I simply tested this by turning the eyes off and turning on the PSP mode on my Blackheart Board. When Doing so I didn't observe any chops or dry fires. Maybe it's just because the ION has less blow back coming through the smoke stack or something, I'm not sure.

The only problem I've had with this thing is the feed-neck portion of the shell broke after almost a year of use. I don't think this is nesasarily due to a cheap plastic being used, I think this is because of the "Frontman's" profile. To minimize this hopper's profile, Oddyssey put most of this hopper's mass in behind the feed neck, so with a loaded hopper there's a considerable amound of weight in the rear and not so much in the front. If you play front like me, all the bouncing around will eventually cause the neck to become brittle and crack. In all fairness though, I use a clamping feed neck and it's possible that I might have just over-tightened it once or twice.
Conclusion: This hopper is probably the fastest agitated hopper in production right now and for the price, this is your best bet. If you're going to buy a TSA "Backman" or "Frontman", I defineatly recomend spending the extra $10 for the LCD version. It is very customizable and features a game clock.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

127 Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader vl200, evo2, and halo b.
Marker Setup: Spyder imagine, delrin bolt, freak 14" barrel, system x expansion chamber, hp valve, ans feedneck, cp drop forward,planet eclispe gauge, halo frontman, and 20 oz.
Strengths: Loads fast,looks, and sound agitated.
Weaknesses: Maybe a little slow.
Review: I got this for my imagine because the stock hopper just didn't work. It is great and really compares to some other hoppers. The sound activation is great. It also has tilt activation. It has a timer,shot counter, and other accesories. It holds alot of balls too. The only thing is the little legs that spin broke off but that is okay it still works.
Conclusion: I would only buy it if you feel like spending cash. Or I would just save up for a B.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bowler9904 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion with a Smart Parts All-American 14in Two piece Barrel. 20 oz. Co2
Strengths: Fast, sound and tilt activation.
Weaknesses: I keep having problems with the feed neck breaking off.
Review: Excellent hopper, the company is great(fixed my hopper with no questions asked). Just be carefully with it because the feednecks will break I just had a new body put on mine and its already starting to crack. Very easy to take apart and clean, all you need to do is clean it with soap and water and its like new.
Conclusion: I would highly recommmend buy this hopper, its all around a great piece of equipment.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ion_master Tuesday, January 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy, Eggs, Grav-feed
Marker Setup: Black Ion w/ Freak Jr kit
New QEV's
45/3000 Worr Air Tank w/ CP Drop
Smoke Halo TSA LCD Frontman
Strengths: Magnets on lid
Wide range of settings
Timer and shot counter
Weaknesses: Thin and fragile feedneck
Difficult to dis/re-assemble
Review: I love this loader!!! It's magnatized lid doesn't require force to open or close, just a light tap. It's clear design makes it easy to check how much paint you have left. The agitator spins the opposite direction the loader's being held, so you ALWAYS have paint. The game timer is very usefull as well, especially when playing with a ten-second silent start.
The only things I don't like about it is that the feedneck is made of pretty thin plastic, so I'm always worried that I'm gonna break it when I clamp down my feedneck. Taking it apart to clean is somewhat of a challenge, but I love working on my gear, so it's no problem for me (it may be a problem for a YG or someone who is technically disenclined). My lid has become yellowed from getting hit, but that's only a cosmetic problem, and that's no problem for me.
Conclusion: A great loader for any midrange elecro or any mechanical marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 at 8:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carrion Fields Wednesday, July 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy, Egg
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II (Go on, Laugh. Everyone does.)
Delrin ACS Bolt
15* Assault Block
Six-Stage Expansion Chamber
Spyder Bottomline Regulator w/ Macro Line
Halo TSA Frontman
Strengths: Works great for most average markers.
Durable as all heck.
Lots of neat LCD functions.
Weaknesses: LCD is easy to mess up.
Lid pops open wayyyy too easy.
Eyes pop off.
Review: I'm pretty new to the game, but I actually love this hopper. I've tried the Evo II(without Z-Board) and the Revvy, and this does just as well for me. I will have to get something different for the Electra '05 I'm getting, but this will work for a start. I can get about 15 BPS out of it, which is about as much as my Victor II can get with the spring kit in it.

Strengths:
- Durable as all get-out. I've never had a concern or worry about the shell or the feedneck breaking on me. I've banged it against trees, dropped it on the ground and all that and it works great still.
-All the features on the LCD are pretty cool, but most of them really are not all that important or necessary.
-Low-profile front makes the paintballs bounce off, which really ticks off the people I play with now, because I'll run with it way out front just to do that.

Weaknesses:
-I've gotten water in the LCD before, as I was stoopid and washed it out to get paint out of the inside (I had some awful balls when I first started and well, it got very ugly when they chopped in my gun, not the hopper). BUT, and this is a great BUT. The water inside hasn't effected anything that I can tell, no streaks or screwy circuits.
-The lid seems to pop open way too easy, I fixed it easy with some magnets, but it's still an annoyance when you first get it. Lost a few hoppers full of paint like that.
-The shot counter, I didn't notice it before the water accident, but since nothing else seems to be out of whack, doesn't work right on mine. I've gone through a case of paint and the shot counter will tell me I've shot only like, two or three-hundred rounds. BULLKRAP!!!
Conclusion: All in All, this is a wonderful hopper for the price, for anyone who wants something better than a Revvy or Empire. On Par with the egg, but with a Z-board, the halo frontman can't compete. I've never had a problem with customer assistance or help with this company and I trust them. Great product and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants something different.

I give it a 9, only because VERY seldom is anything perfect and this thing does have a few flaws. But still a great little hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Cbar Monday, June 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
regular hoppers
Marker Setup: 2005 Autococker Trilogy/Competition w/Evil Driver, Crossfire 3K, Black Magic 2K Bolt, Halo TSA LCD Frontman
Strengths: Quiet, easy on batteries, tough, a must have upgrade.
Weaknesses: None that I've encountered.
Review: The halo fontman was a great investment. Its fast, reliable, silent and its paddle design allows it to keep the paint moving without it breaking like force feedloaders. I find it to be easy to use and light on battery useage. The low profile has been a definite help in those close encounters, not to mention this thing looks fantasic. No one should have to shoot above 14-15 balls a second, so I'd prefer this to the Halo B which weighs more and has a larger profile.
Conclusion: Althogether I'm glad I purchased it, any one without a electric hopper should get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DyE4aReAsOn153 Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL revelotion 1
Marker Setup: tipmann 98 costom w/ response trigger/halo frontman tsa/14in empire twister
Strengths: Tilt sound activation
Pretty fast
Price
Weaknesses: The screen was a confusing but i got a freind to help me out with
Review: i think this is a great hopper for$60 its relible but DONT play with the lcd screen in the rain my freind made that mistake and it got screwed over big time and the hopper could be a little faster but its only $60 i cant really complain over all i like this hopper i only gave it an eight because i thought the screen was a little confusing and it could be a little faster.
Conclusion: Yes i recommend this product
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wenyadh Wednesday, January 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revolution: Little slower
HALO B: much faster
Marker Setup: ill state later
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: GOOD

-One of the fastest non belt driven loaders out there
-LCD has some good features
-Keeps up with all mech's and electro's shooting bursts up to 15 BPS
-Tilt sensor activation is pretty cool
-fairly quiet
-feeds properly
-narrow front end will help to deflect balls
-smaller profile
-shell is fairly strong

BAD

-feedneck seems a bit weak and could easily be broken if put it under too much stress
-Only 3 colors
-2 batteries (9 vlts)
-halo stickers fall off (not very big deal)
Conclusion: I would say go for it if you want some extra features that the LCD has to offer like a shot counter etc and a lil bit of more speed and options then other loaders.
However if you dont need the speed and dont want LCD features go with an empire reloader or a revy for a little bit cheaper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media