paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Throttle Preset Air System / Dye Throttle Preset Air System / Dye Throttle Preset Air System

Dye Throttle Preset Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Throttle Preset Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Throttle Preset Air System
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 63
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $280

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Throttle Preset is a technologically advanced yet simple hassle-free regulator and is quickly becoming the favorite style among professionals today. The Throttle Preset is factory set to an efficient 850 psi. This unique design provides maximum unrestriced air flow at a constant output pressure which is more than suitable for any marker available today. As with most preset systems, this regulated air system should be used in conjuction with a good in-line reg, such as our Hyper Reg, so all you have to do is just screw in and play.
Product Availability 
The Dye Throttle Preset Air System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Esau Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmi, crossfire tanks.
Strengths: very light, cool looking, reg is great no leaks at all, very consistant air pressure.
Weaknesses: you need a good inline reg for your gun if lower preassure.
Review: What can i say. These tank is great get it, there only $217 . these is probably the best preset out there.
people dont really have these tanks, because they say the price is to much, but your paing for what you get and these is a tank that I pay forwhat deserved. The O-rigs had not gave me a problem at all, I have probably play about 15 games and i have no leaks yet, you need to just keep the threads clean.
Conclusion: Get it ,there very nice, I have not had a problem with any dye products, they make great products, and these is one of them.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 14th, 2004 at 9:04 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

CarlosLN Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire Reg Tanks and other presets
Marker Setup: 2 DM4's one red to black and one cobolt to black, one with shocktech mini drop and the other with a mini stumpy, 71 throttle and 70 peanut throttle, Evo II "egg" with z-board, and Empire Reloader B, Evil Pipe Barrel System
Strengths: This has a very consistent output pressure
Weaknesses: comes with a crappy tank o-ring
Review: The Throttle is a great preset air system and has very consistent pressure i used to have some spikes on my crossfire reg.I didn't like how the crossfire reg was like a huge beast and wouldn't fit well in most mini drops. The throttle fits perfectly in every drop i've seen it screwed into so far (which have been CP and Shocktech). I like the 71 Throttle so much that i bought a peanut Throttle but what was Dye thinking with that tank o-ring it is like the cheapest rubber o-ring in the world my original throttle it lasted less than one practice. I swaped it for a urethane one and my Throttles been and it works great. I would definitely say Dye has there stuff together and has created an awesome preset compared to a lot of tanks out there i don't think i would ever want another crossfire tank. You might want to look into a centerflag doolie if your guns input pressure optimum is lower than the preset (most timmies) this will give you a slight improvement in accuracy. If they fixed the tank o-ring i would be much happier though but considering it's a like a minor fix anyway buy yourself some urethane tank o-rings and get a Throttle you won't be disappointed.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this to anyone that needs a preset air system but i would be sure to warn them about that cheap o-ring. Other than that the Throttle rocks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

childofkorn Thursday, June 24th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire 68/4500
Nitro Duck MegaReg 45/4500
Air America Armageddon 114/4500
Marker Setup: Omega Series Autococker, E-Blade, Shocktech Pneumatics, Halo B, Dye Throttle 72/4500
Dark Angel Series 1 LCD, SS AA Freak, MegaReg 45/4500, Evolution 2.
Strengths: Light, Consistent, Very high flow
Weaknesses: length
Review: This tank is much better than any other tank I have used on one of my guns. At approx. 14+ CPS, my Autococker does not drop off. This bottle keeps up with me in sweetspots and long walks. The tank is very light and has enough air to get me through 3 or 4 games without a fill. Approx. 'gas mileage:' 1300 shots per fill with E-Bladed 'Cocker.
Conclusion: Very good performance at a reasonable price, I would recommend this tank to any paintballer looking for Dye quality in an HPA system.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballfreakcb Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion,Halo B,Dye Throttle 71ci 4500 psi
Strengths: Preset
Light
Durable
Consistency
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Overall this tank is awesome. I have had it for a little over six months and yet to have a problem with this system. It is very light weight and a lot more durable than other tanks like it. The best part about it is that it has a very precise flow of air. I shot from 50-100 shots over the chrono with my Smart Parts Ion and experieced only tiny changes in rate of fire. I shot from 290-294,which is very consistent. Another thing is that I had always used CO2 until i got my new gun and it was very easy for me to set up and use.
Conclusion: Great air system. I think this is such a good product because it is very easy to use and extremely light weight.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 3rd, 2006 at 4:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheGuyWidDaWDP Wednesday, July 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
centerflag
Marker Setup: B2K3 all stock w/ halo b + revvy hoppers , aci bulldog2 , and system x w/ centerflag reg tanks
coming soon-shocktech or sp reg, freak, sp drop w/ on off shocktech bolt
Strengths: LOOKS
SIZE(mine was a70 ci)
REG IS AWSOME
PRICE
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought this at my proshop for $250 newand it worked awsome on my led angel then my cocker was even better
the flow is great and the tank looks great.
it was good for the 6 mnths i used it for i could get close up on my gun
Conclusion: great tank by DYE buy buy buy

NOTE:i traded mine for a centerflag dynaflow and a bulldog 2
so thats why im used past tense
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntcocker Saturday, July 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI 47ci/3000 psi....WEAK SAUCE!
Crossfire 68/4500
Marker Setup: 05 Smart Parts ION, Black, CP Flame Drop/CP on-off (Both black), Smart Parts 14" Tear Drop barrel, Smoke EGG 2 / w Z-Board, Eclipse QEV, Cp Black SWING trigger.

02 Vert Black Cocker WGP, Dye Boomstick 14" FOR SALE:250 OBO jnewcs@comcast.net
Strengths: 70ci "STUBBY" is Very Compact
LOOKS
PERFORMANCE
HOLDS MORE THEN 68ci!-10 bucks more
Weaknesses: None DA STUBBY OWNS ALL!
Review: I recently gave into all of the hype and bought an ION. It is very sick. I had a 68/4500 crossfire on it and it was just way to long and since i only play front i thought why not give da stubby a try. i would have got crossfire cause a da price, but they r backordered 4 ever it seems like do I went with DYE. I love the tank. I put a flame drop and on/off on the ion and man is this baby really compact. I have had no problems and get TONS of coments on how sick my tank is, for under 20 bucks more then a 68 ci you get a compact STUBBY tank (if you get the 70ci) that is more compact and cooler then a normal tank. GO BUY ONE.
Conclusion: BUY A STUBBY, they are compact, made by DYE and not to much more then a 68 ci. I love mine and it fits my set-up very nicely.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twiztid baller Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
crossfire, pure energy, bulldog3, wdp air preset(same as pure energy only with lok sok and cool skin)
Marker Setup: i have this on an impulse with lpr and new designz internals reloader b and newdesignz trigger and locking feedneck aka sidewinder reg 14 freak with stainless inserts
Strengths: very light consistent stylish
Weaknesses: none that i have found
Review: i bought a 71ci throttle preset for an impulse of mine i was origanally going to go with a crossfire wich is an afforable consistent preset, instead while i was online shopping for tanks i came upon a throttle for $200 i thought it was a good buy so i got one. i took it to my local field and aired up and went to the chrono station it provide very nice consistinecy at about 5fps either way. the light weight was a definite advantage on the field too
Conclusion: very nice light weight cosistentant tank that looks as good as it works
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

liquidpaper Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
crossfire, throttle WAY lighter
Marker Setup: wrath ltd
14"boomstik
halo b
68/4500 throttle
32 degrees universal drop
custom expansion chamber
Strengths: Light. Compact. Cool lookin.
Weaknesses: Mabey Price($230) not really though. may need mod (rare)
Review: This is my second nitro tank after a crossfire and it is WAY better. more efficient, cooler lookin, and more compact. It's a preset so its very nice. This is an all around great tank but for some people there asa might need a mod.

MOD-Everyone has that little pokey thing in there asa which releases the gas to the gun. But some peoples pokey thing is alittle to long meaning that when they insert the tank, gas goes evrywhere except in your gun even if screwed all the way on. This happened to me and i brought it to my proshop. The guy told me a great trik on how to prevent leaking from happening. all you do is take 2-3 o-rings and insert them into the asa. this creates a cushin for the tank so that the poker doesnt go any farther than it needs to.

Anyway, i would reccomend gettin a cover for it because the high gloss finish can get scratched easy.
Conclusion: Dye has made a very nice tank and is worth it for the commited players. If you dont go alot like 1-2 times a week i would recommend a cheaper tank like PMI Pure Energy. They make very nice tanks. I give it a 9 cause nothin's perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyedude6 Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire steel tank 45/3000
Marker Setup: DM6, Dye Throttle 70/4500,Halo B w/Rip,Cp Reg
Strengths: LIGHT
SIZE( mine was a 70/4500 stubby)
LOOK
REG
PRICE (GOT MINE FOR 205$)
Weaknesses: None that i can see. Might need new Grip Reg (cp or Hyp 2)
Review: Ok I got my tank today and opened it out of the package and realized right away that this was probably one of the lightest tanks ive ever held. My Friend has an Air America 45/4500 and mine was still lighter than his even though mine was a 70/4500. I went to get it filled at my local shop and right away the guy (Huge paintball noob. I was more qualified then he was to work there.) said i was missing a burst disk. I said look buddy dye made it inside the tank so its better now. He went in the back filled it up no problems. DO NOT PANICK IF IT LOOKS LIKE A PIN IS MISSING THATS HOW IT IS!

Heres where the problems started. I gassed up my ION too see if it would be ok. It as a pretty much stock ION. I gassed it up and it cocks back. So far so Good. Then I start shooting mad fast and next thing i know it stops shooting. Im pretty sure the reg might've blown out or the solenoid is clogged. Not sure its still in the shop (update will come). Heres what i have to say. Listen to Dye's Warning. Buy a good in line Reg . You dont hafta buy a Hyper 2 ike Dye says. They are just advertising. I say get a Cp Reg.
Conclusion: Great tank. Overall despite my problems (prolly just bad luck) I give it a 9. If your are looking for a very small and light tank get this tank. Also watch out for the grip reg. Get a new one prolly. Unless you already have a good one. Empire regs are good, C[P Regs are beast, Hyper 2 regs are good(little pricy). Only real problem is the reg which isnt the tanks fault.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lil' C Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy
Crappy CO2 tanks
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with E-Grip
Dead On Products Delrin front bolt and power tube
BT Paintball rear velocity adjuster
Empire 7-pc barrel kit
Opsgear Fast On Target post sight
Ricochet R-5 hopper
Dye Throttle 70CI 4500PSI HPA tank
Strengths: Light
Rugged
High-Quality
Weaknesses: Delicate pin valve
Price (worth it though)
Review: It only took me a couple of weeks of shooting CO2 to want to move up to a high-pressure air system. After doing my homework, the Dye was the obvious choice for me. Dye has a well deserved reputation for quality, and their Throttle tanks continue to support that reputation.

I chose the Dye Throttle 70CI 4500PSI "peanut" tank, because it is a nice compromise between size, weight, and capacity. I was originally looking for a tank I could use with my Tippmann A-5 to run remote, and the 70's stubby shape fit nicely in the pouch on my Special Ops vest (as well as other, vests, packs, and harnesses I use). In a belt pack the tank fits snug and low in the small of your back, and it's light weight is barely noticeable. On the gun, the stubby 70 tank works in a variety of configurations, including with a reversed-ASA "Dagger-style" woodsball setup.

I own four of these Throttle tanks now, including a second 70 for dual-wielding with on-gun air and Shocktech relocator bars and two 91CI 4500PSI units for my A-5 Double Trouble Gatling gun with the firestorm crank. (The DT uses a remote line on each tank, primary and secondary, for quick changes to fire a case and a half of paint without refilling!) They are sexy looking and durable. The only issue I have had over several months of use has been screwing the tap for a remote line in too far (well past the point where the line was aired up) and causing the Schrader-style pin valve to get stuck. It wound up being a $9 fix at my local shop, so it was no big deal, a relief when you break your otherwise-awesome $200 HPA tank.

Lastly, if you have a standard 3000 tank and are satisfied, you have no idea what you're missing! If your local fields and/or shops do 4500 PSI fill, get this tank!
Conclusion: I recommend the Dye Throttle tank in any size without reservation.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 at 8:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media