paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Throttle Preset Air System / Dye Throttle Preset Air System / Dye Throttle Preset Air System

Dye Throttle Preset Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Throttle Preset Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Throttle Preset Air System
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 63
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $280

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Throttle Preset is a technologically advanced yet simple hassle-free regulator and is quickly becoming the favorite style among professionals today. The Throttle Preset is factory set to an efficient 850 psi. This unique design provides maximum unrestriced air flow at a constant output pressure which is more than suitable for any marker available today. As with most preset systems, this regulated air system should be used in conjuction with a good in-line reg, such as our Hyper Reg, so all you have to do is just screw in and play.
Product Availability 
The Dye Throttle Preset Air System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
McEd Saturday, July 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy 88/30
DXS 68/45
Marker Setup: SP ION XE
Dye Throttle hp 70/4500
VLocity jr.
Dye Rhino Cover Olive
Smartparts q-lock
Techt l7 bolt
Virtue'd
Strengths: SHORT
High Air Flow
Good Recharge Rate
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Well I had been looking at this tank for a while and i really liked it over other tanks, and when i bought that stayed the same. This thing is pretty durable in my experience, i have dropped it on it's reg a few times (doh!) and it still works fine. I have never had shoot down, or first shot drop off or anything with this tank.
Conclusion: I recommend this tank to any serious paintball player beginner to pro.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpeedballSniper Friday, August 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
C02... no comparison
PE tanks... light, no shootdown with a virtued timmy maxing on dry fire
Marker Setup: First Kick Ass Gun

'05 Empire, gloss Black
Redz Kit
Black Reloader B with suicide shell
70/45 Dye Throttle
Black Hyrbid Rail, 1/4 turn On/Off/Bleed, Lady grips, Hyper flow kit
Shocktech torpedo piston, superfly bolt
Virtue Board!

Other Kick Ass Gun

Nasty XPL Shocker (Custom Brown to Orange fade)
Hybrid adjustable detents, rail, '06 1/4 turn on/off, K2 clamping feedneck, old school grips
black CP reg
SP high efficiency bolt
Matching Anno Freak with AA tip
Critical Trigger
Virtue Board!
70/45 Throttle
Reloader B with suicide shell
Strengths: Light, Short, Consistent
Weaknesses: Aluminum threads wear over time
Review: I bought this tank for $270 CAN (70/45 peanut) with a rhino cover from a friend, it's 1 year old. After having read some of those reviews about it's horrible recharge rate, I was a little worried, but my Timmy shooting perfectly when it maxed my reloader on full auto put my mind at ease. I mean... push the pin down, does the air drop off, as that article suggested it should? No, it works fine.

The tank is very short, and feels like a longer tank with a drop forward, only without the drop forward. Being fat, it makes your gun a little taller, but only by an inch or so. Plus, it looks freakin sexy.

The only drawback is the aluminum regulator. The threads always strip a little bit every time I remove the tank, despite my best efforts. I mean, it's only a tiny bit, but i'm still pulling aluminum out of my ASA and off my reg. If that gets into your solenoid...!!!!!

On the plus side, the aluminum reg is lighter than one made of steel, so I guess it's a tradeoff, although I'll take the extra ounce or so and save myself the $90 bucks for a new solenoid. This is why it gets a 9.
Conclusion: Awesome tanks, the only drawback is the aluminum threads that can wreck your gun if you're not careful.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 25th, 2006 at 11:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DM5GUY Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Co2
Marker Setup: Dye DM5
m6
contract killer grips
dye throttle 70/45 stubby
Halo w/ rip
Strengths: Lightweight (mines a stubby)
Cool Looking
Fast to fill
Sweet Regulator
Weaknesses: Loses air due to settling (nothing that any other tank doesnt do)
Review: I got this tanks used and i thought that it was going to be the greatest tank in the world. I was correct. Dye products are amazing and are high end products. You cant go wrong with buying this tank. I went to the proshop to get it filled and it took maybe 10 seconds tops to get it filled to 4500 psi. I thought that was great. I couldnt wait to use this on my new gun. I screwed in the tank and was amazed to see how light it was. It was about the same weight as my halo w/ paint in it. To me that was definetly a plus. This tank gets about 1250 shots with my dm5 which is a great thing. This is an awesome tank and i would definetly continue to use this tank as long as i can. DYE ROCKS !
Conclusion: You may read other reviews on this tank that say that this tank is bad, or it leaks, but if you just take your gun to the proshop, dry fire it on your gun, and see that it works and doesnt leak, then you know that it works. Get this tank, without and doubts in your mind.
P.S Get The Stubby, It Is The Best One.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

team_evasion Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
68/45 maxflow
various nitro duck tanks
pure energy 68/45
crossfire 68/45
Marker Setup: 2k5 alias
techna trigger
infamous board
&
Karni with e2 frame and upgraded front end.
Strengths: Light
capacity
Weaknesses: Threads can be worn down kinda easy I recommend a thread saver.
Review: Well I have used this tank as my primary tank now for a little over two years on several guns. The size I have is the 71/45 which is supposed to be the same size as a 68/45 though it is a little longer however I have never had a problem getting any tank cover over it. Many people complain about the reg having a slow recharge but I have yet to have a problem with it. The only problem I can see is the threads getting messed up. Well I have not had a problem with it cause I use a thread saver it could happen. However the reason that could happen is the threads and reg are aluminum instead of stainless steel. This makes the tank a little lighter than it's competitors though. When comparing the difference between my 68/45 crossfire and this tank you can tell this one is lighter.
Conclusion: If you are looking at getting one go for it. I give it a 9 because of the thread potential for getting messed up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guricchio89 Thursday, December 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ACI 45/300, Crossfire 45/300, Crossfire 68/3000, C02, and others...
Strengths: Light, Clean Looking, Cool Color, Small, Comes with Carrying Bag, SUPER HIGH FLOW
Weaknesses: O RING and hard to find stubby tank covers
Review: I recently recieved this as a christmas gift and it is the best tank i have ever used. It is light, has the highest flowing regulator, it comes with a black regulator and the tank itself is black, the smallest 70ci tank on the market, it came with a bag to carry it in, and i have had no problems with it and i have filled it three times so far. The only weaknesses were that the o ring that it came with was crappy but that was easily fixed and that it is hard to find covers that fit stubby tanks.
Conclusion: I would say if you have the money to get this it is by far the best preset tank available.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MisterMister Monday, October 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nitro Duck, Pure Energy
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, RT, stealth stock, flatline, drop forward, Dye Throttle "peanut" 45/70
Strengths: Size, weight, looks, capacity
Weaknesses: price (as with any HPA tank)
Review: This is an awesome tank. First of all, the people who say it takes forever to fill dotn know what they are talking about. They are either filling at stations which are sub-par or are filling them out of scuba tanks intheir basement. My local pro-shop fills my 4500/70CUI "peanut" throttle HPA tank in less then 30 seconds from empty to 500PSI over full (the heat expands and the extra 500PSI is to compensate for after it cools). This is done with a regular compressor using an inline booster. nothing fancy. As for weight, my Dye peanut weighs 1.5oz less then my friend's 4500/88CUI Pure Energy. Of course my tank is also much shorter then his so close quarters combat is eaiser on my part. I can really tuck the tank in close. I also love the looks of the Dye vs the "clear" straight fiber style plus it makes for better "cammo" out in the field. Add a Rhino cover (you want to protect an investment like this) and the tank is nearly indestructable. I have a gas-hog A5 w/ reacting trigger and I STILL get about 1000 shots out of my gun, spraying paint at full auto 15BPS speeds, so I love this thing.

Also, cost is average. Whoever said it cost "nearly 300 bucks" is either a liar or is getting SERIOUSLY ripped off (or lives in Canada). I paid 200 out the door (same price as the larger style 4500/88 Throttle tank) and that included 12 free refills. This was NOT on sale either, nor was it used or off of eBay or some other online dealer.

The ONLY thing I KIND of disliked (and this is my fault for not checking before I bought) is that I cant use my collapsable stock in its collapsed position because the peanut tank is wider then most and it hits. A drop forward corrected this however.

As for leaks, Ive had my tank sit fully filled for nearly 2 months without 1 PSI of pressure drop. Whoever said not to buy this tank because of leaks is either talking about some oddball problem, or works for another company. Im the 3rd person Ive known to buy one of these without problem 1 as far as leaking, ans the owner of my local pro-shop (who sells every major brand HPA) backs up this statement. he uses these tanks for his teams and sponsorships. he also uses them in store to gas-up markers they work on/test/show to customers.
Conclusion: Average price, so why not strp up to the better choice? As far as looks in concerned the Dye wins, as far as reliability it matches the best out there, and for size? Well My "peanut" style tank beats other "standard" tanks and even the stubby knock-off designs. So the Dye throttle either matches or beats everything else out there, while costing just as much or a tad bit less. Go for this one, you will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 2nd, 2006 at 9:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbinredneck Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
crossfire,Co2
Marker Setup: smartparts ion pro, spyder e99 avant
ricochet apache
crossfire 68/4500
dye throttle 91/4500
Strengths: Large tank (91ci)
Good effencey
Good price $225
Weaknesses: Doesn't have loc tight on it (expalained in body)
Review: I got this tank today and i thought it was a good tank cause its dye.But! After 4 hours of use i took of my ion and put on my e99 to test it worked great.until i took of and the regulator came off the tank. took back to store and got loc tight on it to seal the tank.
I'll update this next time i test it to see if it works.

I just tested it again on my e99 and it works great now the tank and regulater are sealed now.

update 1/15/06 broke again peace of junk my opinion

update 1/16/06 dye has given me another tank and is checkin out my old one. It might of just been a dud but ill change my oppion when the tank stays in 1 piece!
Conclusion: I recommend this tank for any gun that can use nitrogen. But get loc tight on it when u buy it or before your next fill!
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 16th, 2006 at 2:52 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

b00z4r Saturday, June 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy 68/4500, Crossfire 68/4500, Angel Air.
Marker Setup: '05 WGP Superstock, Egg hopper, no other mods yet.
Strengths: Appears to be high quality which is very deceiving.
Weaknesses: Leaked the 1st time i got it filled.
Review: So I had heard from a couple of friends and read in some forums that these tanks have been know to leak on occasion. So of course I come up on a brand new 70/4500 "peanut" at my local pro shop for $200 and I buy it thinking "oh those were just rare exceptions, every Dye makes is great and this tank will be no exception." Of course with my luck the 1st time I get it filled not only does it start leaking out of the fill nipple, but out of the gauge too! I could'nt believe it, there was no way I had gotten a lemon, but I did. Needless to say I'm taking this piece of junk back ASAP and going back to a Crossfire.
Conclusion: I have read and heard of far too many instances of these things leaking. Don't buy one of these pieces of junk for any price, except maybe free and then you gotta consider what it's gonna cost you to fix it when it leaks. Please learn from my and many others mistakes and don't buy this lemon. I have used Dye products for many years now and something like this from a company known for making such superior products is ABSOLUTELY UNACCEPTABLE and for that I give it a 1.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 11th, 2005 at 11:29 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

indrul1.0 Monday, October 2nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nitro duck 6845
Marker Setup: nasty impulse 3.5
ndz ram assembaly
mid weight hammer
rip valve gen 2
gen 2 nasty maxflow
cp uni
cp roller
splpr
halo b
tape worm
voodoo bolt
ti pull pin
equilizer
freak barrl sys.
talon grip
ccm no rise feedneck
sp stickies
nitroduck 68/45
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: Leaks like a mother trucker
Review: ok, so I hear this throttle system is a good tank system. I decide to go pick one up at my local store. I buy it take it in my car and notice a leak out of the nipple. No big, so I take the thing in and they just give me another one. This one doesn look like its leaking, it sits in my room for a day and the gauge reads less than 1000 psi 24 hrs later. So then I drive 45 minutes to the god damn store and get ANOTHER one, now this one is leaking from the connection between the bottle and reg. all I can say is this thing is a piece of crap do not get it unless you really enjoy driving to your local paintball store and echanging it about 5 times until you get one that doesnt leak.
Conclusion: Nitroduck pwns this pos
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerd91times Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Not much, I upgraded from a CO2 Tank.
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion
Roller Trigger
CP 16 in. Barrel
SP Q-Lock Feedneck
Strengths: Very Light
Looks
Weaknesses: Aluminum Threads Wear Over Time
Price
Factory Oring
Leaks Badly
Wasnt Consistent due to Leak
Review: At the beginning I loved this beast but it started to breakdown. I bought this tank(s) because of its looks and that is was made by DYE but this was a great mistake. The first thing I noticed was that the air was leaking right after i got my tank filled. I would fill it to 3k and then it would leak to 2k. People said this is because it loses air due to settling but that was too much, 1k. I hated this a lot because my first gun was a Tippmann A-5 and that was a fat gas-hog and I needed all the air I could have.Then when I took my tank home with 2k, two days later it would be a zero. This pist me off, so i went to my local paintball store and the people were nice and they exchanged it for me. And of course that one leaked too. So I'm really mad and I just don't know what to do. I have no money for a new gas tank, so I sell my upgraded Tippmann and buy a stock Ion just so I can get more shots per tank. So now I have tried two of the same dye tanks and they both leaked and did the same thing.
Conclusion: To make a long story short, I tried two Dye 45/45 Tanks and they both leaked. I might have been unlucky but if you feel lucky buy this tank but I surely don't recommend it. Thanks for reading my review
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media