paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Throttle Preset Air System / Dye Throttle Preset Air System / Dye Throttle Preset Air System

Dye Throttle Preset Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Throttle Preset Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Throttle Preset Air System
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 63
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $280

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Throttle Preset is a technologically advanced yet simple hassle-free regulator and is quickly becoming the favorite style among professionals today. The Throttle Preset is factory set to an efficient 850 psi. This unique design provides maximum unrestriced air flow at a constant output pressure which is more than suitable for any marker available today. As with most preset systems, this regulated air system should be used in conjuction with a good in-line reg, such as our Hyper Reg, so all you have to do is just screw in and play.
Product Availability 
The Dye Throttle Preset Air System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
mark lanski Saturday, February 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: promaster silver
tiller barrel kit
70/4500 dye throttle(rhino cover)
evil reg
halo b
planet eclipse asa (great)

Strengths: Works
Weaknesses: The reg
Review: I got this tank for a great deal but it had problems first it had the leaky burst disc so i fixed that and now the regulator is messed up and air wont go into the tank i went to a cheap 48 3000 tank and it works great. a a

edit; replaced the reg works wonders
Conclusion: Get a working one
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 20th, 2010 at 7:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nmerc001 Wednesday, June 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Dye DM7
Empire Reloader B
CP Continuous Flow Plug
Critical Raze Magnetic Trigger
Dye Throttle Nitro Air System (68ci/4500psi)
Tadao Yakuza OLED Board
Dye Ultralite 2-piece barrel (.688)

** Planned Upgrades:
Dye Ultralite Barrel Backs (.684 and .692)
Empire Magna Loader/RF Transmitter Kit
Speed Loader

Strengths: No Leaks and reliability.
Weaknesses: Price.
Review: I feel this is a pretty good product due to the fact that it has never leaked on me. It's difficult to provide a complete review since this is my first HPA tank and I have nothing to base this product against.

Time and time again when I go to the paintball fields, I always encounter someone who has a leaky tank. I'm glad I'm not one of them! I primarily purchased this tank since the brand name is well known and that its the same company that makes my paintball marker.
Conclusion: If you decide to purchase this product, I strongly recommend purchasing some case to help protect it since these bad boys are not cheap!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MetalMaiden966 Sunday, March 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: #1 Spyder pilot, Proto 1 piece barrel, standard hopper, 20ounces C02 #2 all black Epiphany with Q.E.V. Freak Jr, 3000 HPA, Drop forward, Cp Feedneck, The eggy, Sp All-American tip, Throtle HPA 68/4500
Strengths: Looks, reliable, light,
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought this tank because i wanted something more than 3000, and because it was too heavy. I got dye because it is we'll known. its a bit expensive/cheap depends on which way you look at it. has not failed me, and does not leak. I am very happy with this tank.
Conclusion: I recomended because i've had a great experience.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaDragon23 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy, Nitroduck, Crossfire
Marker Setup: Proto PM5
Dye UL Frame
CP Feed Neck
CP On/Off
Halo B
Dye Throttle 91/45

Dye DM4
Dye UL Barrel
Shocktech Trigger
Tadao M3 chip
Hybid Grips
eVLution 3
Dye Throttle 91/45
Strengths: Weight
No Leaks
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have two of the 91/4500 dye throttle air systems and i love them. They are extremely light weight, lighter than other systems ive used, and in my opinion much more durable. In my opinion the performance is also better than the others ive used. The retail on these tanks are 240-280 which is outrageously expensive, but on ebay and some websites you can find em as low as 140. I got both of mine off ebay for $300 shipped with two tank covers.
Conclusion: Definitely look around for a good deal on one, it is worth it. It deserves a 10 in the air system category because it is the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maxsutter Saturday, September 22nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
macdev - best crossfire close second only due to weight.

Pure energy, Nitro Duck, cannot handle higher then 15 bps

dye - wont support their product
Marker Setup: olive 06 cyborg macdev 68/4500 - halo cheetah,
olive 07 cuborg macdev push button - pulse
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: They wont support the product
Review: I called in a RMA request as this new bottle leaks and they would not take it back for reapairs - they told me to put into a bathtub of water and to try to find hte leak that way - that some teflon could do the trick - I was disappointed they would not take it back and replace it. I dont have time to fix prodcuts that faulty to begin with so I have decided it is easier to sell it on ebay and believe me there are quite a few and I am sure they all leak
Conclusion: why buy a product that the company wont support - just stick with macdev or crossfire - crossfireinc.com has a reg awap and hydro program. I prefer th macdev due to the aluminum regulator but crossfire is jsut as good
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PBOverlord Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy Tanks (All sizes)
A few Crossfires
One or two Guerrilla Air products
Marker Setup: Red and Black 06 Ego
Tadao M7 Board
Ultralite barrel
Strengths: Light
Durable
Light
Recharge
Light
Weaknesses: MUST have a good ASA - Regulator threads are soft
Review: Over the years I've used many different air systems. When I first began I used a cheap Pure Energy 48/3000 steely. As time went on I got bigger tanks, lighter tanks, and tanks that gave a lot more shots. After using a wide variety of labels, brands, and sizes, I deduced that my personal favorite was a 45/45.

I had an Ion laying around and took it onto the nation in order to trade it off for a 45/45 tank. After some posting, a man offered me a Dye Throttle 45/45, which I had always wanted to try. After looking on here for a while, I realized that often times these tanks were hit-or-miss. Half the people loved them due to their fast recharge, lightness, and reliability. The other half hated them because their fill nipples or burst disks had blown off and emptied their tank. The man I was talking to claimed he had used it quite often for some time, and in that time the tank had never failed him. So I took a bargain and shipped out my Ion that I never used for a Dye Throttle I hoped would be effective.

About 4 or 5 days later my package arrived. I opened it up to find an incredibly light tank, wrapped in a tank cover he included, with about 1000 psi remaining. I figured I'd take a few test shots, so I screwed it onto my 06 Ego and dry-fired a few rounds. No problems. The stock ASAs on Egos have always been nice, and after discharging any remaining air in the tank I unscrewed it without any complications. Very impressed.

I had heard about the complications with ASAs and the threads of the Throttle, so I decided to test it out. I took my Nerve with the stock Smart Part's ASA (one of the worst ASAs you will find today...truly terrible for any tank threads) and threaded the Dye tank onto the system. Catastrophic. The dye Throttle barely made it onto the ASA, and once I aired it up it wasn't even alligned properly, so the recharge on the marker's HPR was abysmal. After de-gassing the marker I attempted to take the Throttle off. Once again this was terrible. I got it out, but as it came off a flurry of metal shards and bits came out with it, and when I tapped the SP ASA even more fell. I looked at the Dye Reg, and although it could still function just fine, you could tell it had been damaged by the ASA. Never again will I thread this tank onto a cheaper ASA. Although in all fairness, it's not simply the tank's fault. I attempted to use a 70/45 Pure Energy tank in the Smart Part's ASA with similar results.

I recently replaced the stock ASA on my secondary marker (which is my Nerve) to a CP Direct Mount, and the throttle has no problems any longer.
Conclusion: From my personal standing, I highly recommend this product. It's reliable, durable, light, and has never failed me in the recharge department. However, due to the little hassle with the Smart Part's ASA, I must insist that you USE A VERY RELIABLE, VERY RECOMMENDED ASA. I cannot stress that enough.

Besides that, I do realize that some of the regulators on these tanks have problems. Sometimes the product is hit or miss; sometimes it works perfectly, and other times you get a dud that bursts something. However, this has not happened to me, and the reviews on this site are of your personal experience with the item. The only reason I have to dock points is because of its intolerance towards bad ASAs. The soft metal it's made of tears away too easily in bad ASAs, and I think Dye could have developed a reg with more resistance towards this type of thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigTom21 Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gurrilla air 48ci 3000 psi
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C (silver), RT, big drop forward, double trigger, rocket cock I, 12" barrell
Tippmann98C (black), RT, Apex barrel, AK folding stock, Trinty AK mag and expantion chamber kit, DOP proseal, Rocket Cock II, Remote line, off set mount rail, red dot sight, cyclone feed, custom black to olive fade paint job, custome made rifle rag
*NEWLY ADDED* Tippmann A-5 hammer, 2 A-5's dually mounted and on a crank system, flatelines on each, i can walk around like a mobile tank mowing down anything in my path.
Strengths: Looks, light weight
Weaknesses: "soft threads"
Price
Reliability
Review: There were two reasons i needed a bigger better air bottle. i play a lot od big games and i now have an A-5 double trouble hammer system. well i was going to get the Cross fire 92ci air bottle but even the factory was out of stock so the company i was ordering from sold me the DYE bottle for the same lower price as the Cross Fire. so i lucked out on that. The first time i brought the bottle down to use it at my next big game the pin valve broke and would not hold air anymore and then it started to leak out of the gauge. i sent it back to DYE to have them fix it. filled it again when i went to use it at my next game and it still wouldn't hold air. I called them again and they sent me a new pin valve. still haven't got to get it filled again since i got it but hopefully it will work. another thing is the threads. they are really soft. i nicked them the first time i tried to screw it into my gun. and i can't find a bottle cover anywhere that will fit it.
Conclusion: The bottle is fine. the regulator is for crap. if you get one get a new regulator. but i still say not to get one.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

alex perrone Friday, March 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Carbon fiber pmi 68/3000, carbon fiber pmi 68/3000, and aluminum 50/3000 wgp.
Marker Setup: Black proto matrix rail
-dye ultralight frame
-proto eye covers
-proto bolt cap
-red macroline
-red virtue break beam eyes
Black halo b w/ rip drive
68/4500 dye throtle.
Strengths: Light, durability, and most of all air flow.
Weaknesses: Price, and the o-rings on and in it are poor. May need fixing.
Review: I absolutely love this tank! it is the greatest tank that i have ever used. it is extremely light, durable, and also the air flow is phenomenal. The only down fall with this tank is some what high, but you really get what you pay for.Also the o-ring that the tank comes with is very poor, it broke as soon as i screwed it in, and the regulator on my tank leaked on and off for awhile, but it was an easy fix, only a couple of bucks.
Conclusion: All in all i love my tank, also i suggest you purchase a dye rhino cover for your investment. Once again, dye pumps out another outstanding product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 19th, 2007 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Customproducts7 Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Aluminum 3k psi- suckkkked
Marker Setup: Vision Impulse/CP reg/Lo-rise feed/ Voodoo bolt/Eclipse blade/ Dye throttle stubby/Halo b
Strengths: Light
Reliable
Efficient
Never leaks!!!!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: soft threads
Valve pin hides alot
Review: To me, this tank is top of the line. At 220$, it better be good. It is very professional and very light weight. Along with the weight, there are numerous sizes that you can choose from. Like the 88,45,68,70 STUBBAY! Also its very efficient on air. It just can not get any better then this. Dye is top o' da line for n2 tanks!!
Conclusion: Its reliable and will help you take then next step.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 28th, 2006 at 3:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

n3twrkm4n Friday, November 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 47ci Steel 3000psi
Marker Setup: ICD FS-8, Nitro Duck Plasma 90ci (4500), Eggy III, CP lightning drop with a new designz on/off.
Strengths: Seems durable
Weaknesses: Large
Review: This tank worked great, didn't leak and held a 4400PSI fill for a month before a game without dropping. Regulator is nice and provided enough flow to shoot at an ION's capped speed (15bps on my gun). Tank was large but I did purchase a 92ci, the 'huge' size was handled by installing a drop forward. Great tank for those who live further away from a fill station such as myself. I purchased two of these and had no problems with either. Pin valve was a Shrader ping valve and the pin stuck up beyond the top of the threads, this could cause a problem with some ASAs. Great tank but there are others available for a lesser price.
Conclusion: Nice tank, solid and pretty durable. Definitely need a drop or something to move the tank because it is so large. Massive amount of shots per fill if you can get the full 4500psi.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media