paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Expansion Chamber Kit / Tippmann A-5 Expansion Chamber Kit / Tippmann A-5 Expansion Chamber Kit / Tippmann A-5 Expansion Chamber Kit

Tippmann A-5 Expansion Chamber Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Expansion Chamber Kit

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Expansion Chamber Kit
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This kit contains the parts you need to install the GTA Inline Expansion Chamber on to your Tippmann A-5. The complete kit includes the expansion chamber, gasline, gasline fittings, Loctite thread sealant, and complete installation instructions.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Expansion Chamber Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Byder Friday, June 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Expansion Chambers
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, 16" Smart Parts Progressive, Tippmann Expansion Chamber, Egrip, Daisy Red Dot Site
Strengths: Does what it is supposed to, more in review
Weaknesses: In review
Review: I've been able to use this for a little over 7 months or so of testing. I would also like to note that on some of the reviews it says this ex. chamber increased their gas efficiency by hundreds of shots or something... I personally have not really seen a change in my shots per tank, if it increased it was so small I hardly noticed.

++++Positives++++

I did not find that the installation was too difficult to assemble, If I remember right the only tools I really needed were a pair of vice-grips, and a large vice. I'm pretty sure you could do it without these tools though. The kit comes with everything you will need which is a big plus (right sized air tube, loctite (sp?) O-ring, instructions) No need to spend another $30 on extra parts just to install it. And it is pretty cheap too, I found mine for as low as $35, while some sites wanted as much as $50. >.> <.< Crazy

I am going to point out that this ex. chamber does what it is supposed to do. It prevents liquid Co2 from entering the gun. Before I got this, I was playing with a stock A-5 in mid-winter during colder months, in the snow, in snow/slush storms (very slippery, I fell like 6 times and the one time it was on a pile of sharp rocks and I got cut up ^.^) ect..
Anyways.. my A-5 would often become encased in a thin layer of ice (good ol' Tippmann durability), after I got the ex. chamber that put a stop to that. It also completely got rid of that cloud of Co2 that would leave my barrel, hence sometimes giving away my position.

The ex. chamber also acts as a second foregrip. For awhile I took the front grip off and used just the ex. chamber. It looked pretty sweet, but it got uncomfortable after so long, so now I stuck the front grip back on.

- - - -Negatives- - - -

I've been trying to think of some weaknesses.. hmm.. Well one thing is that there are better expansion chambers out there, but probably about twice the price. And also the ex. chamber at first made my A-5 kinda akward looking, but after so long I got used to it. One more thing is that it doesn't really make a good foregrip due to it's positioning so close to the trigger, people with big hands may have trouble holding onto it
Conclusion: This is a good product, you should buy it. I give this a 9 because although it is good, it is not perfect. I personally think that my Tippmann wouldn't have been too harmed without an ex. chamber, but I figure why take a chance?
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 23rd, 2006 at 4:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderFyder Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 05' Spyder Imagine w/ LED
True Flight 16" Barrel
or
Tear Drop 14" Barrel
Flame Drop Forward
T-Board
Check It* Aluminum Feed Neck
Shocktech Velocity Spring Kit
ACS Delrin Bolt
Tippmann a-5 Expansion Chamber
Check It Bottomline Adapter w/ ON/OFF
Ricochet Apache Electronic Hopper
Strengths: Easy Installation
CHEAP
Weaknesses: None Yet
Review: First off I just want the Spyder owners to know this is also a direct replacement to their stock chamber even though its designed for an a-5, all you need is a universal bottom line adapter and youre set. I actually believe that it looks a lot better on my 05 imagine. Anyways, Im reading these reviews of how "hard" it is to install... Maybe its because Im a mechanic and work with my hands all day but it couldnt be easier, I installed it on my marker then my friends a-5 in less than 20 minutes and they both work awesome, consistency in shots are better and i cant complain about that. Im pulling almost 20 bps with my apache and never break a ball, always consistent velocity. id defintely spend the money if youre in the market for a new chamber, cant go wrong with this one.
Conclusion: Buy it, you wont be disatisfied
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nadrethepadre Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: a-5, 16'' dye boomstick barrel, 20 oz co2 expansion chamber
Strengths: cheap price,more co2 efficient
Weaknesses: very hard to install. be careful not to crush 90 degree elbow in a vice
Review: I thought that the a-5 expansion chamber is well worth the $35 I paid for it. Do you know what its like when you are running low on co2, when the paintballs come out the barrel and drop? With the expansion chamber it shoots like it still has a full tank even on the last few shots. I took it out and shot it and was amazed at what this thing could do. If you are looking for a good cheap upgrade for you’re a-5 this is it.
Conclusion: buy it for your a-5
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

USA A-5 Saturday, October 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have not used any other guns than my A-5.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 flatline, RT, expantion chamber, remote,
Strengths: Keeps from geting to cold
Weaknesses: Looks cinda differnt uf u dont get the right for grip
Review: The expantion chamber is very usful if you are using co2 and realy usful if you have a RT/EG. It keeps your gun from freasing up so when you are geeting shot at and your gun needs to cool off ,but u dont have the time. The only option is to hide and that is not fun so bleve me this has happend to me befor. It also lets you fire a little faster and you can have more rounds in a co2 tank than if you dident have one.
Conclusion: No geeting cold so you can stay safe. Bye it it is realy cheep
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kirk_Nelson Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5 / Psycho Ballistics A-5 Bolt / E-Grip / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / T6 Adjustable Stock/ Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Mucho quiet (no white stuff), more shots, better consistency.
Weaknesses: Leaked a little bit....
Review: I bought this product today 8.4.06, installed it today, and tested it today. It was a bit of a pain for me to install because of the little things. I had to go into my garage and search for the wrenches and stuff and it was like a brazillion degrees in there so I was annoyed before I got started. The directions were straight forward and everything even thought I did not use them. I browsed over them afterwards. One thing was that I did not use lock tite like the directions said becuase I did not want to so I had to make it a bit tighter so that was pretty much the only thing I did not like and I did that to myself so I take responsibility for that. Nothing against the product or anything. It was really easy to understand the directions and install the product. It was just me that made it a pain. But the gun does leak a little tiny bit but thats nuthin a little bit of sealer wont fix. It leaks cause I did not use the lock tite or that was the only reason I could come up with.....
Overall it is a great product because I tested it afterwards in my backyard and there was a humongous difference in the noise. So much quieter. There also no white stuff (FROSTIES!!!) that came out the barrel, not even a spec as before a whole bunch came out maybe three inches off the barrel tip. Less kick back etc etc. It was cheap too, like 30-40 bucks I think....completely worth it. I highly recommend it.

-EDIT-
I took it apart and put it back on the way the directions said with the glue and stuff and it was really easy to install. No trouble at all, fabulous product.

-EDIT-
Gonna sell it and get the Palmers Stab, I use Co2 and HPA so yea.
Conclusion: Great product blah blah blah. Read above.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 24th, 2006 at 11:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eastcoastkilla Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, starfire bolt, E grip, expansion chamber, double trigger, compressed air 3000 psi, sp tactical barrel, sp all american, flatline.
Strengths: Makes the ball hit the same place each time.
Affordable.
Light weight.
Weaknesses: Freezes up with response or e grip.
Review: This is a must for your A-5.
The expansion chamber makes it alot more accurate,
This also saves you some co2.
Do not get this if you have compressed air because it wont do anything.
I got it for thirty dollars at hectors outdoor have and he put it in for me.
Alot of people say they dont do anything but i can definetly see and feel a difference.
Conclusion: Get it it looks cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UMP45 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ones
ACI Sub Zero 4 and 6 stage
Lapco
Marker Setup: A5, Lapco dual trigger (mech), trigger job (mirror polished sear, ot mod, slack mod)
12" Lapco Bigshot, Lapco drop foward and adapter, 20oz CO2
Palmer Stabilizer (male)
Pro Team Hyperstar bolt, JCS Power Tube

ICD BKO 2004
14" Lapco SnapShot
Palmer Mini Rock
VL Evolution II hopper
Lapco drop foward
PE 68ci 4500psi
Strengths: Gets the job done
Easy install
Weaknesses: Finish sucks
Ugly
And its really ugly
X-chamber can only do so much
Review: It works and gets the job done. There really isn't much when it comes to x chambers. They all work about the same.
Construction on it is not bad but the finish on there is piss poor. It chips if you scratch it with a nail hard enough. Its not anodizing. More like a thin coat of spray paint.
Tippmann really ought to revise this kit a bit. Good idea, bad plan.

Installation was pretty easy. Took less than 30min while taking my time.

Its just so ugly and when the finish chips, its even uglier. It solves the problem with liquid co2 but does nothing with consistency and velo spikes.

You are probrably looking at this review because you are looking make your Co2 A5 work a bit better. That means you are somewhat serious about getting into the sport.
If so, get an anti-syhpon, and save the rest for a reg. (a good one) Both my markers, CO2 or HPA, depends on it.

Conclusion: If an x-chamber is all you need, get it. But you are wiling to pay a little more for a hose and two fittings, go with the ACI Sub Zero or Lapco. Its a better made and looking product.
If you can , save up another $50 or so and get the Palmer. That's one product you will not regret.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 5th, 2004 at 9:23 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ryanhedden1 Friday, April 22nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann a5 mechanical with response trigger, techt squishy ds paddles, 14" straightline barrel.
spyder mr1 16" barrel clamp feedneck, viewloader evo 3 hopper
Strengths: Looks great very solid easy install if your strong enough to break the loctite
Weaknesses: Doesnt fit on the new model a5
Review: I dont have access to hpa where i live so when i decided to add a response trigger to my new model a5 i knew i would need an expansion chamber so i wasnt shooting snowballs instead of paintballs. So i ordered one from amazon(theres nowhere that sells paint gear out here either).Put the response trigger in ok and went to add the expansion chamber. Took everything apart, put on the expansion, put on the loctite, got everything ready to go and boom. The new model a5 has a larger trigger housing which goes all the way to the tombstone. So the whole thing wouldnt line up and i had to take the whole thing apart and restore my gun back to normal. Called tippmann they said sorry it dont fit they dont know of an expansion that does. So much for fully customizable
Conclusion: Looks great im not knocking the product just warning anyone with the new model a5 to stay clear
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MF.dosah Monday, December 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, JCS RVA, Maddawg Designs Spring Kit, Flatline barrel/Lapco teardrop 14", JCS Red Hot Power Tube + Hex Bolt, Tippmann Expansion Chamber, polished internals.
Strengths: Inexpensive, excellent Co2 efficiency, saves you money easy installation, great consistancy.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Installation of the expansion chamber is very simple, just follow the instructions. I installed this 3 months ago and it works just as its supposed to. I have doubled the life of my 20oz tank. I also dont get those puffs of Co2 coming out of my barrel when I shoot. I have also noticed a slight decrease in report when firing, but not much since the flatline and the power tube make my marker sound like a beast!! I like my gun loud though, but if you are all about silence this will quiet your marker a little bit more. This product is great, its built to last.
Conclusion: Best $12 I've spent on my marker, made my money back on not having to refill as often, keeps my internals from excessive damage. Great product, buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghillieyetti Tuesday, February 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: a-5, tippmann X-chamber, jcs folding stock, 14" j&j ceramic barrel
Strengths: Concistency
Looks kick-butt
Nice cold front grip
Weaknesses: People say instalation, but I had no problems.
Review: I was looking for an upgrade for my a-5, saw this thing on e-bay for like $20, ordered it, love it. This thing helps w/ concistency, wich in turn helps with accuracy. If I buy an upgrade, it's for iether accuracy, or stelth.I've noticed alot of peoply whining about installing the thing, but if you have the right tools (a couple monkey renches works for the hose fittings) it's not that bad! This thing makes a diferance, not only was i getting better groups, but i was getting around 900-1000 shots from my 20 oz co2! it's good, it's cheap, just buy one.
Conclusion: If you have an a-5, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media